It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
608 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Have you considered?

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Reviews for Fjord Norway

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Fjord Norway trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Fjord Norway reviews verified by reevooReevoo

10 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Fjord NorwayScores 7.6 out of 10 based on 10 reviews
(7 out of 10)

Jacqueline

The tour is great in terms of itinerary . Accommodation not bad as Norway expensive . Rooms are smallish . Despite paying the single supplement youbstill get given the trim cupboard and that sucks given the additional payment . Why be given a lousy room for paying more . Aware that costs in Norway are high but an inexperienced and fairly ignorant guide not welcome . No enthusiasm , texting st breakfast . No knowledge of sites or sights or much interest either in us as a group or Norway . Not one question about me or any sign of interest . It was tantamount to having an escort not a guide . The guide reading the xenophobe guide to Norway in front of a Norwegian driver was at best insensitive. The trip succeeded on the basis of the places visited and the enthusiasm of the group not the leader
Confirmed traveller: 13 August 2017
Published on: 17 August 2017
(8 out of 10)

Bree

London
Nice mixture of cities and countryside. A couple of long travelling days but those were necessary for such a compact trip. It would have been good to have spent a few more hours in Alesand, which is a really cute town that most people (who didn't go out exploring at 10pm when we arrived) missed out on.

The final hotel (Scandic in Bergen) was a little scruffier than the rest had been. The sister hotel across to road was refurbished to a much higher standard.

It was disappointing that, despite pre-departure information saying that an airport transfer would be provided regardless of the day of departure, only people leaving on the day the trip ended were given bus tickets for the airport. The tickets are, apparently, not dated so it really makes no difference to Explore when we travel. For the sake of around £10 it left a slightly sour note to the end of the trip.

All in all, a very good trip that I hope Explore provides again in future
Confirmed traveller: 12 August 2017
Published on: 21 August 2017
(6 out of 10)

Dawn

Hi. I sent an email on my return but didn't get a response. Overall the tour was good but there was far to much lugging around of cases. Also we weren't accompanied from the airport and had to ask locals for help.
Confirmed traveller: 12 August 2017
Published on: 17 August 2017

Hi Dawn, I'm pleased you enjoyed the trip overall though it's a shame you weren't so happy with your arrival arrangement. We do explain in your trip notes that you'll be guided to a bus and provided with directions to the hotel so I'm sorry you didn't find them clear enough. In terms of your luggage, we also highlight that you shouldn't pack too much as you're responsible for transferring it. I can see that you wrote to us 2 days ago with these concerns and we'll respond to you shortly.

(8 out of 10)

Janet

It was a great quick insight into southern Norway. Looking at whether we could arrive earlier in Alesund would be good. As the guide wasn't local she had less insight into where to eat and drink.
Confirmed traveller: 08 July 2017
Published on: 16 July 2017
(7 out of 10)

Yuri

New York
I liked the tour over all
It was ok to take public transports since that gives us the sense of travel independently and if we would like to come back next time we know what to expect. It would have been little bit more less hectic. For example at Geiranger after hiking we had to leave to another destination at 6 pm. Instead we can have one more night to relax there. We are staying at nice hotel with SPA but no time to appreciate. We can go to Alesund next day and have time to look around the town next day for lunch. In this way after hike we get rested and don't have to rush to go. Also give us free time to do optional activities at Geiranger. Other parts were ok but we don't need to come back to Bergen so quickly. Because make the tour end at night instead of in the morning in that way we still have full two days at Bergen and people from England can still catch the flight back at Saturday night. And for the other we can go home in Sunday. That will give us more time to enjoy the fjord area more than being in the city. Bergen is small so we only need one and half day. or tour can end Sunday morning. Still ok for British group to go home and other traveler. Of course that will be more money for hotel and tour leader cost. So if that is considered maybe the last section is fine. But I just felt that I wanted to stay in fjord area one more extra day either in Geiranger or Sogne area.
Confirmed traveller: 08 July 2017
Published on: 12 July 2017
(8 out of 10)

Bridget

Leeds
Great leader, who was very discerning, unflappable & not afraid to change plans at short notice for the benefit of the group.

The combination of a very long day on Monday followed by an early start (including leaving hotel after an overnight stay) was tough.

The walk scheduled for Geiranger couldn't happen due to the weather conditions & we had a lovely alternative. However, the planned walk was clearly very much more taxing than your literature suggests & I think this information needs to be modified accordingly.

Alesund was lovely with a great hotel & spending a full day & a 2nd night here would have been wonderful.

Overall we enjoyed our holiday & were very glad to have added on additional days at the end where we could go at a more leisurely pace & see more.

Thank you.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 13 July 2016
Published on: 02 August 2016
(9 out of 10)

Alan

Leeds
I enjoyed the trip very much. Ten people exactly right. I would improve it by doing the same tour, but taking an extra day or two to make it less rushed. It is important to me that I dont have to travel from London.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 13 July 2016
Published on: 23 July 2016
(6 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Very disappointing
3 of 8 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 15 August 2015
Published on: 30 September 2015

We’re very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your holiday to Norway. The customer feedback that we receive for this trip is usually positive, but we will monitor this closely and take any comments on board as to how the trip can be improved for the future. If there's anything you'd like us to address directly, please don't hesitate to get in contact with our Customer Relations team.

(8 out of 10)

Ann

Birmingham
I have lost count of how many tours I have done now, but it must be in the late 20's. Does that summarise my overall experience with Explore?
3 of 5 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 15 August 2015
Published on: 28 September 2015