It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
652 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews


Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.


Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Wine, Walks and Tapas in Spain CWW

Visiting: Spain
Trip Duration 11 Days

Reviews for Wine, Walks and Tapas in Spain

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Wine, Walks and Tapas in Spain trip available at present.

Please select a date:


Wine, Walks and Tapas in Spain reviews verified by reevooReevoo

17 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Wine, Walks and Tapas in SpainScores 9.0 out of 10 based on 17 reviews
(9 out of 10)


A fantastic trip. Jon our leader was excellent. It s not an easy job managing 16 peoples expectations. The best hotel was in Alcacar(excuse spelling)It might be worth trying to fit in a wine tasting at a better Rioja bodega(eg Muga)as although the walk to and from Ontonan was lovely the wines were unimpressive. All the wine buffs agreed that we left Rioja without tasting any fabulous wines. The walk at Montserrat was too hard for me but my husband loved it. I loved the Basilica and the museum ,so we were both happy. This is our first Explore trip, it will not be our last.We stayed 2 extra nights I'm Bilbao and in Barcelona but at different hotels, I think our transfer costs should still have been paid
Confirmed traveller: 09 October 2016
Published on: 20 October 2016
(9 out of 10)


Excellent itinerary
Good hotels
Loved the walks
Only critique, for those with a keen interest in wine, it would be nice if a tasting could be done of higher end wines(as an option for additional cost)
Confirmed traveller: 09 October 2016
Published on: 15 October 2016
(9 out of 10)


good selection of wine tasting from small units to giants. the food and drink in bilbao is remarkably inexpensive, and this carries on till you get to Barcelona. the walking is in pleasant areas and not too strenuous.
Confirmed traveller: 02 October 2016
Published on: 06 October 2016
(10 out of 10)


The tour was wonderful. I felt I got to see parts of Spain that on my own I would have missed. I particularly liked Alquezar where we walked in the Gorge, visiting Scala and walking up Montserrat. It was a very busy and interesting trip.

The accommodation varied in standard but was always of a good standard. The itinerary was varied and kept everyone engaged.

The food and wine were delicious and Maxi our Explore Leader really went out of his way to make sure we had a great holiday.
Confirmed traveller: 22 May 2016
Published on: 31 May 2016
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Throughly enjoyed this trip, saw some very beautiful parts of Northern Spain with lots of food and wine with some walks (fortunately to walk off all the calories!!) Recommend this trip for anyone who enjoys a more relaxed type of holiday. The walks were varied and interesting, and there is always the option to not do them.
Confirmed traveller: 13 October 2015
Published on: 14 April 2016
(10 out of 10)


St Albans
I enjoyed all of the tour but you need to be prepared for the first day - a couple of long steep inclines at start of the day. True you can opt out of the second steep part up to the church but you have no choice with the first.

Although the our is easy as graded, walking poles would be an advantage on some of the descents especially if it is wet underfoot.
Confirmed traveller: 04 October 2015
Published on: 19 October 2015
(9 out of 10)


Ellesmere Port, Cheshire
Architecture and varied nature of the itinerary. The wine and food were of course also a major highlight.
Confirmed traveller: 04 October 2015
Published on: 09 October 2015
(9 out of 10)


Every day was fun and interesting. I loved the wine tasting, every visit was different, from ultra modern huge wineries to small cottage industries. The people who took us around were all so passionate about their wine , the area of Spain and explaining about the varieties of grapes. I really appreciate how much work goes into producing my wine now. Advice, you need walking boots with good ankle support, not all the paths are smooth walking surfaces. Our tour leader Alex Ferreiro Torrent was excellent, I cannot praise her enough. Her knowledge of the history, geography and politics of the areas was outstanding. Montserrat was my favourite place because of the amazing views, the most enjoyable walk for me was from Montblanc to Poblat and then Milmanda.
Confirmed traveller: 27 September 2015
Published on: 28 October 2015
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

This was hugely enjoyable trip as we visited old family wineries, large well established vine yards set in beautiful locations, organic wine and olive producers established in ancient hill side villages. The tour took us to wonderful walled villages and towns, we saw amazing Spanish contempory art and architecture and much that was ancient. As highlights, the wine and tapas tastings were very enjoyable. We experienced so much more of rural northern Spain than I expected.Goyo was an excellent tour leader and guide and made the trip memorable for all of us. His knowledge of Spanish history, culture and the environment added hugely to our understanding of this beautiful region. The trip ran smoothly, all arrangements ran to time and our Explore group was welcomed every where. Highly recommended.
Confirmed traveller: 13 July 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015
(8 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Enjoy Bilbao's old city and modern achitecture;the monastry at Najera;the tapas bars in Laurel Street in Logrono;lunch and the wine tasting at Malmanda winery;underground trains and Cava in the cellars of Codorniu and any bar when FC Barcelona wins and Real Madrid loses.Charm personified.She handled all our problems with speed and efficiency.
Confirmed traveller: 25 May 2015
Published on: 11 December 2015