It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
608 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Highlights of Andalucia QAH

Visiting: Spain
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Highlights of Andalucia

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Highlights of Andalucia trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Highlights of Andalucia reviews verified by reevooReevoo

38 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Highlights of AndaluciaScores 8.7 out of 10 based on 38 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Prue

Surrey
A wonderful itinerary jam packed with the highlights of three vibrant cities as well as village life and beautiful easy walks. The tour leader’s knowledge is second to none, and every moment is brought to life with his stories and the history of the area.

It isn’t for the faint of heart, we were on the go for much of the day and it is an incredibly rewarding trip as a result. The hotels are called “simple” but I found them full of character, in good locations and you don’t spend much time in them anyway. The public buses we used were actually standard coaches, always on time and comfortable, and the whole itinerary ran like clockwork.

I had a fantastic week in Andalucía and would thoroughly recommend the trip to anyone, if you have time at the beginning or end to extend the trip yourself then all the better, there is so much to see and do in cities such as Seville.
Confirmed traveller: 27 May 2017
Published on: 15 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Susan

Dulverton
Three wonderful and culturally rich cities explored with a tour guide who knows pretty well all you need to know at this first visit. We were given full explanations of the classical features ( must sees) with some suggestions of alternatives.

Timing and punctuality was first rate.

Hotels were better than expected, given they were rated ' simple'. Two had charm and one was so centrally located, other aspects could be forgiven.

This tour is FULL ON, that is to say, if one did everything, it's quite demanding. A couple of restful days could be really advantageous at the end.
Confirmed traveller: 27 May 2017
Published on: 12 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

Joan

Buxton
This was a very enjoyable tour. There was a lot to see and do and the days were very busy for those of us who wanted to see and do everything. I was a solo traveller and can say that this trip was ideal for me. I particularly enjoyed the days walking in the country which I would not have been so accessible to me on my own. If you want luxury accommodation this trip is not for you, as it states in the notes, the accommodation is simple, but it was perfectly adequate and as I was late to bed and up early I wasn't in my room very much! It would be hard to find a better tour leader than Craig who is friendly, enthusiastic and really knows the history and geology of the area. He found us some delicious meals in family run restaurants. For me it was more of an adventure than a holiday, a thoroughly enjoyable adventure.
Confirmed traveller: 27 May 2017
Published on: 09 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Jane

Bromley
Highlights were the Mezquita in Cordoba, the Alhambra. Craig, our guide, was excellent and very knowledgeable and enthusiastic about the places we visited. We fitted a lot into each day which was quite tiring. I wished we had a few days at a beach at the end of the holiday to rest!
Confirmed traveller: 27 May 2017
Published on: 09 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Tina

Ashford
A great way to explore Andalucia. A knowledgeable and friendly guide who always got us to the train or bus station on time! Great orientation tours of each town/city and also time to explore them on your own if you wanted to. Both Granada and Cordoba were fascinating places, the Alhambra was stunning. We had a lovely day or so in Seville and will definitely be heading back. Accommodation is simple, just as the trip notes suggest, but every place we stayed was just what you needed for a night or two. You don't come on a holiday like this to spend time in your room!! Overall great value for money and Craig was a fantastic guide.
Confirmed traveller: 27 May 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Anthony

Bristol
Structure of trip with mud point walking very good. Only quibble is rather basic accommodation at times. Eg Seville.
Confirmed traveller: 29 April 2017
Published on: 05 May 2017
(9 out of 10)

Antonia

Hertfordshire
Amazing caves in Aracena"Gruta de las Maravillas", beautiful nature walks, excellent guided tours! Your guide knowledgeable both in history and culture.
Great experience!!
Confirmed traveller: 29 April 2017
Published on: 04 May 2017
(8 out of 10)

Denise

Bristol
A busy and thoroughly enjoyable trip. Craig was an excellent leader and the 2 nights we spent at his country guest house was a highlight . Accomodation a bit mixed- Seville was central but pretty shabby.
Other people on the trip were all very nice though a lack of male company for my husband due to the dominance of single ladies.
Confirmed traveller: 29 April 2017
Published on: 02 May 2017
(9 out of 10)

Sarah

London
A packed week, but fun. Each day is different, each city is different and the walks out in the national park were a good break.
Confirmed traveller: 16 October 2016
Published on: 23 October 2016
(6 out of 10)

Antoinette

Melbourne
1. Explore Tour Leader - Craig

Craig is an excellent tour leader. He cares about each and every person on the tour and treated everyone equally. Craigs gets you where you need to go on time and in time (not too soon as was the case on my other tour).

Craig provided excellent orientation walks at each location. He is passionate about the history and makes it interesting and easy to listen to.

I do have reservations about the use of Craig's property - Posada del Castano - as this arrangement does pose a conflict of interest scenario. As with all accommodation on this trip, the Posado del Castano is not of acceptable standard. For example, our toilet was not working properly. And the place was not clean, the floors were dirty and the towels were threadbare.

2. Accommodation
As noted above, in my view the accommodation standard was poor.

Granada - Hotel Sierpes
The bed was terrible.
The shower in my room did not work.
I did not have a toilet in my room, so I had to use a share bathroom. I paid a single supplement!
The breakfasts were a joke!
On the first day, another guest and I waited half an hour for our breakfast. The table at which we were seated was set up for three and when a third person came to the table we were finally served. We got a saucer sized plate with three forks and some fruit salad, which was only really enough for one person. Then we got a huge bread roll, with a bit of meat, a bit of cheese (not enough to cover the roll).

The location of this hotel was in a residential area. Yes, it was quiet, but quite a walk into the main town area.

Cordoba - Hostal Maestra
I stayed in the Hotel Maestra next door - this was of acceptable quality.

Castano del Robledo - Posada del Castano
See comments above

Seville - Hostal Sierpes
This hostal was terrible.
I was on the third floor. My room was so small it was only the width or one arm extended!
The sheets had yellow stains all over them.
The towels were very thin and did not towel dry.
The bed was not comfortable.

Lets face it, the accommodation is about bed, bathroom, breakfast. None of these elements were of acceptable standard (save Hotel Meastra where I stayed due to not enough rooms being available in the Hostal).

3. Itinerary
The itinerary was well planned (albeit a little rushed at times but Craig makes it work. Whether another guide would, it questionable).

4. Group meal
The restaurant in Granada was terrible. My main course was served before my entree. The food itself was ordinary.

The restaurant that Craig booked for us in Castano del Robledo on second night was great, the first night was awful.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 06 October 2016
Published on: 20 October 2016