It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
650 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews


Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.


Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Highlights of Andalucia QAH

Visiting: Spain
Trip Duration 8 Days

Reviews for Highlights of Andalucia

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Highlights of Andalucia trip available at present.

Please select a date:


Highlights of Andalucia reviews verified by reevooReevoo

28 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Highlights of AndaluciaScores 8.6 out of 10 based on 28 reviews
(9 out of 10)


A packed week, but fun. Each day is different, each city is different and the walks out in the national park were a good break.
Confirmed traveller: 16 October 2016
Published on: 23 October 2016
(6 out of 10)


1. Explore Tour Leader - Craig

Craig is an excellent tour leader. He cares about each and every person on the tour and treated everyone equally. Craigs gets you where you need to go on time and in time (not too soon as was the case on my other tour).

Craig provided excellent orientation walks at each location. He is passionate about the history and makes it interesting and easy to listen to.

I do have reservations about the use of Craig's property - Posada del Castano - as this arrangement does pose a conflict of interest scenario. As with all accommodation on this trip, the Posado del Castano is not of acceptable standard. For example, our toilet was not working properly. And the place was not clean, the floors were dirty and the towels were threadbare.

2. Accommodation
As noted above, in my view the accommodation standard was poor.

Granada - Hotel Sierpes
The bed was terrible.
The shower in my room did not work.
I did not have a toilet in my room, so I had to use a share bathroom. I paid a single supplement!
The breakfasts were a joke!
On the first day, another guest and I waited half an hour for our breakfast. The table at which we were seated was set up for three and when a third person came to the table we were finally served. We got a saucer sized plate with three forks and some fruit salad, which was only really enough for one person. Then we got a huge bread roll, with a bit of meat, a bit of cheese (not enough to cover the roll).

The location of this hotel was in a residential area. Yes, it was quiet, but quite a walk into the main town area.

Cordoba - Hostal Maestra
I stayed in the Hotel Maestra next door - this was of acceptable quality.

Castano del Robledo - Posada del Castano
See comments above

Seville - Hostal Sierpes
This hostal was terrible.
I was on the third floor. My room was so small it was only the width or one arm extended!
The sheets had yellow stains all over them.
The towels were very thin and did not towel dry.
The bed was not comfortable.

Lets face it, the accommodation is about bed, bathroom, breakfast. None of these elements were of acceptable standard (save Hotel Meastra where I stayed due to not enough rooms being available in the Hostal).

3. Itinerary
The itinerary was well planned (albeit a little rushed at times but Craig makes it work. Whether another guide would, it questionable).

4. Group meal
The restaurant in Granada was terrible. My main course was served before my entree. The food itself was ordinary.

The restaurant that Craig booked for us in Castano del Robledo on second night was great, the first night was awful.
Confirmed traveller: 06 October 2016
Published on: 20 October 2016
(10 out of 10)


Well organised and very interesting tour. Definitely 'full on'.
Confirmed traveller: 24 September 2016
Published on: 01 October 2016
(9 out of 10)


This was my first Explore tour and I'm sure it won't be my last. The Highlights of Andalucía tour offered a great mix of culture, history, nature in city and rural town experiences and included a couple of walks. Nice to stay in a rural village half way through for a complete change of scenery and pace. Each of the cities had their highlights to visit. I really appreciated Craig, the tour guide, letting us explore places like the Alhambra in Granada, Mezquita in Cordoba and Alcazar in Seville at our own pace. I took much longer than most of the group to go around these places as I liked to take 100s of photos. Craig gave us a really thorough orientation tour in each of the four places we visited on arrival. He is very knowledgeable and passionate about the history of Spain and also full of information on the fauna and flora and industries of his local area, the village where we stayed half way through the trip. We actually spent the middle two nights at Craig's own guesthouse.

I mention the highlights of each city above, but also wish to add that my highlight of staying in rural village was the optional excursion to the 'Gruta de las Maravillas' (Cave of Wonders) which the whole group (8 of us in total) went on. This excursion made it into one of my highlights as not only is this series of caves so amazingly packed with more stalagmites and stalactites that I ever imaged I would see together in one place but I felt our group had a very special VIP tour of the caves thanks to Craig's knowledge and acquaintance with the cave staff. Instead of joining a group of around 30 other people on a tour conducted in Spanish Craig arranged for us to lag behind one of the groups so he could conduct a special small group tour for us. It felt very special to have time in these amazing caves to ourselves and our tour lasted an hour. Biggest regret is that we were unable to take photographs so I can't share this experience with my friends.

Accommodation in most places was simple but adequate. Very much appreciated at Craig's guest house the afternoon tea and biscuits served on the patio. Kettle not provided at any of the accommodations but I cheated and brought my own travel kettle and teas which I really appreciated.

I stayed on two extra days in Seville and was grateful that Explore had arranged for me to stay in the same accommodation where the tour ended so I didn't need to move hotels or even rooms.
Confirmed traveller: 12 September 2016
Published on: 16 October 2016
(9 out of 10)


Highlights were visiting the Al hambra, Corborba mosque and Seville and balanced well with the walking in the Sierra Aracena. The village and accommodation and food were lovely and our guide Craig was very helpful, efficient and full of information about every location. The use of public transport went very smoothly and made an interesting change to the usual minibus. A great holiday!
Confirmed traveller: 11 June 2016
Published on: 18 June 2016
(9 out of 10)


Exmouth Devon
I enjoyed every bit of this trip especially the time in Granada and visit to the Alhambra which was wonderful and the weather was wonderful too. We had some lovely meals and evenings in good restaurants. The walks in the 'mountains' we're really good - beautiful flowers and lovely scenery. Everything was very interesting.
Confirmed traveller: 08 May 2016
Published on: 12 May 2016
(9 out of 10)


St Albans
Fantastic trip, busy mix of towns, history, culture, walking and countryside. Craig was an extremely knowledgable guide and staying in his guesthouse in the village in the mountains was absolutely wonderful
Confirmed traveller: 07 May 2016
Published on: 17 May 2016
(8 out of 10)


Fantastic introduction to the Moorish influence in southern Spain and Islamic architecture and decoration. The itinerary is full but not overly strenuous and even we were tired by the end of the day - good tired! Our leader, Craig, is very experienced and knowledgable and the couple of nights in his house/pension were a highlight and a nice taster of village life in this part of Andalusia. The walking is really very gentle and contrasts with the city sightseeing elements and there is no reason to be put off by that although it would perhaps be a different matter as the summer heat builds. Food everywhere was very good with generous portions. The accommodation is simple as it says on the tin but perfectly adequate and travel by public transport was just fine (in fact quite plush in parts) Everyone we met was helpful and charmingly pleasant. The cultural highlights did not disappoint but we will probably go back to Seville for a city break as there is much more to see and do than we, at least appreciated.
Confirmed traveller: 07 May 2016
Published on: 16 May 2016
(8 out of 10)


not for the feint hearted! Simple accommodation eg not always hairdryers, no tvs, not always en suite, in the main. There is lots of walking every day in the cities and some hilly walks in the countryside
But the itinerary keeps plenty of interest with contrast of city and country, stunning places to visit like the Alcazar of Seville & the Alhambra
most enjoyable
Confirmed traveller: 07 May 2016
Published on: 10 May 2016
(9 out of 10)


This is a very well balanced tour, with a good mixture of city culture, countryside walks, guided tours and free time. Travelling in between places ran smoothly and the guide was knowledgable and enthusiastic about his country. Highlights were the Alhambra, the gardens and Flamenco show in Cordoba, staying at the guides guesthouse in the countryside, exploring Seville on the free day, the delicious food and the other people travelling on the tour. The only downside was the accommodation in Cordoba which had thread bare,dirty sheets and stank of smoke and the hotel in Seville, which had double booked my room on the last night and a couple let themselves into my room at 1 in the middle of the night, the phone in the room didn't work to call reception to tell them what had happened. As you can appreciate this made me feel extremely anxious. When I told the receptionist in the morning he was unconcerned. The hotel was also dirty and there was no choice for breakfast. As a single female traveller to lock the rooms from the inside would have made all the difference. I could only lock the first bedroom door in Granada from the inside, something you need to think about. Accommodation aside, this is a great tour and I got to see lots of amazing sights. I had a fantastic unforgettable experience.
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2016
Published on: 16 April 2016

I’m glad that overall you enjoyed your holiday in Spain, but I’m disappointed to hear that you were unhappy with the hotels in Cordoba and Seville. It’s not acceptable for the hotels to be dirty, or for your bedroom to be unsecure, so I’ve passed your comments onto our local agent to investigate and to ensure this is improved.