It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
626 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Highlights of Andalucia QAH

Visiting: Spain
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Highlights of Andalucia

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Highlights of Andalucia trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Highlights of Andalucia reviews verified by reevooReevoo

33 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Highlights of AndaluciaScores 8.6 out of 10 based on 33 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Anthony

Bristol
Structure of trip with mud point walking very good. Only quibble is rather basic accommodation at times. Eg Seville.
Confirmed traveller: 29 April 2017
Published on: 05 May 2017
(9 out of 10)

Antonia

Hertfordshire
Amazing caves in Aracena"Gruta de las Maravillas", beautiful nature walks, excellent guided tours! Your guide knowledgeable both in history and culture.
Great experience!!
Confirmed traveller: 29 April 2017
Published on: 04 May 2017
(8 out of 10)

Denise

Bristol
A busy and thoroughly enjoyable trip. Craig was an excellent leader and the 2 nights we spent at his country guest house was a highlight . Accomodation a bit mixed- Seville was central but pretty shabby.
Other people on the trip were all very nice though a lack of male company for my husband due to the dominance of single ladies.
Confirmed traveller: 29 April 2017
Published on: 02 May 2017
(9 out of 10)

Sarah

London
A packed week, but fun. Each day is different, each city is different and the walks out in the national park were a good break.
Confirmed traveller: 16 October 2016
Published on: 23 October 2016
(6 out of 10)

Antoinette

Melbourne
1. Explore Tour Leader - Craig

Craig is an excellent tour leader. He cares about each and every person on the tour and treated everyone equally. Craigs gets you where you need to go on time and in time (not too soon as was the case on my other tour).

Craig provided excellent orientation walks at each location. He is passionate about the history and makes it interesting and easy to listen to.

I do have reservations about the use of Craig's property - Posada del Castano - as this arrangement does pose a conflict of interest scenario. As with all accommodation on this trip, the Posado del Castano is not of acceptable standard. For example, our toilet was not working properly. And the place was not clean, the floors were dirty and the towels were threadbare.

2. Accommodation
As noted above, in my view the accommodation standard was poor.

Granada - Hotel Sierpes
The bed was terrible.
The shower in my room did not work.
I did not have a toilet in my room, so I had to use a share bathroom. I paid a single supplement!
The breakfasts were a joke!
On the first day, another guest and I waited half an hour for our breakfast. The table at which we were seated was set up for three and when a third person came to the table we were finally served. We got a saucer sized plate with three forks and some fruit salad, which was only really enough for one person. Then we got a huge bread roll, with a bit of meat, a bit of cheese (not enough to cover the roll).

The location of this hotel was in a residential area. Yes, it was quiet, but quite a walk into the main town area.

Cordoba - Hostal Maestra
I stayed in the Hotel Maestra next door - this was of acceptable quality.

Castano del Robledo - Posada del Castano
See comments above

Seville - Hostal Sierpes
This hostal was terrible.
I was on the third floor. My room was so small it was only the width or one arm extended!
The sheets had yellow stains all over them.
The towels were very thin and did not towel dry.
The bed was not comfortable.

Lets face it, the accommodation is about bed, bathroom, breakfast. None of these elements were of acceptable standard (save Hotel Meastra where I stayed due to not enough rooms being available in the Hostal).

3. Itinerary
The itinerary was well planned (albeit a little rushed at times but Craig makes it work. Whether another guide would, it questionable).

4. Group meal
The restaurant in Granada was terrible. My main course was served before my entree. The food itself was ordinary.

The restaurant that Craig booked for us in Castano del Robledo on second night was great, the first night was awful.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 06 October 2016
Published on: 20 October 2016
(10 out of 10)

Rose

London
Well organised and very interesting tour. Definitely 'full on'.
Confirmed traveller: 24 September 2016
Published on: 01 October 2016
(9 out of 10)

Krystyna

London
This was my first Explore tour and I'm sure it won't be my last. The Highlights of Andalucía tour offered a great mix of culture, history, nature in city and rural town experiences and included a couple of walks. Nice to stay in a rural village half way through for a complete change of scenery and pace. Each of the cities had their highlights to visit. I really appreciated Craig, the tour guide, letting us explore places like the Alhambra in Granada, Mezquita in Cordoba and Alcazar in Seville at our own pace. I took much longer than most of the group to go around these places as I liked to take 100s of photos. Craig gave us a really thorough orientation tour in each of the four places we visited on arrival. He is very knowledgeable and passionate about the history of Spain and also full of information on the fauna and flora and industries of his local area, the village where we stayed half way through the trip. We actually spent the middle two nights at Craig's own guesthouse.

I mention the highlights of each city above, but also wish to add that my highlight of staying in rural village was the optional excursion to the 'Gruta de las Maravillas' (Cave of Wonders) which the whole group (8 of us in total) went on. This excursion made it into one of my highlights as not only is this series of caves so amazingly packed with more stalagmites and stalactites that I ever imaged I would see together in one place but I felt our group had a very special VIP tour of the caves thanks to Craig's knowledge and acquaintance with the cave staff. Instead of joining a group of around 30 other people on a tour conducted in Spanish Craig arranged for us to lag behind one of the groups so he could conduct a special small group tour for us. It felt very special to have time in these amazing caves to ourselves and our tour lasted an hour. Biggest regret is that we were unable to take photographs so I can't share this experience with my friends.

Accommodation in most places was simple but adequate. Very much appreciated at Craig's guest house the afternoon tea and biscuits served on the patio. Kettle not provided at any of the accommodations but I cheated and brought my own travel kettle and teas which I really appreciated.

I stayed on two extra days in Seville and was grateful that Explore had arranged for me to stay in the same accommodation where the tour ended so I didn't need to move hotels or even rooms.
Confirmed traveller: 12 September 2016
Published on: 16 October 2016
(9 out of 10)

Jennifer

Torquay
Highlights were visiting the Al hambra, Corborba mosque and Seville and balanced well with the walking in the Sierra Aracena. The village and accommodation and food were lovely and our guide Craig was very helpful, efficient and full of information about every location. The use of public transport went very smoothly and made an interesting change to the usual minibus. A great holiday!
Confirmed traveller: 11 June 2016
Published on: 18 June 2016
(9 out of 10)

Jennifer

Exmouth Devon
I enjoyed every bit of this trip especially the time in Granada and visit to the Alhambra which was wonderful and the weather was wonderful too. We had some lovely meals and evenings in good restaurants. The walks in the 'mountains' we're really good - beautiful flowers and lovely scenery. Everything was very interesting.
Confirmed traveller: 08 May 2016
Published on: 12 May 2016
(9 out of 10)

Kathleen

St Albans
Fantastic trip, busy mix of towns, history, culture, walking and countryside. Craig was an extremely knowledgable guide and staying in his guesthouse in the village in the mountains was absolutely wonderful
Confirmed traveller: 07 May 2016
Published on: 17 May 2016