It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
650 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews


Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.


Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Walk The Great Wall + Xian Extension WGT

Visiting: China
Trip Duration 12 Days

Reviews for Walk The Great Wall + Xian Extension

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Walk The Great Wall + Xian Extension trip available at present.

Please select a date:


Walk The Great Wall + Xian Extension reviews verified by reevooReevoo

16 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Walk The Great Wall + Xian ExtensionScores 8.6 out of 10 based on 16 reviews
(9 out of 10)


Serralongue (France)
Excellent trip. Would certainly recommend. Accommodation better than anticipated, as we were advised not to expect too much, but it was fine. Would certainly advise adding the extension to Xian if possible - the warriors are formidable! Walking the wall is an experience I won't forget - no particular highlights, though more agreeable towards the latter part simply because it was less crowded.
Confirmed traveller: 11 October 2016
Published on: 17 October 2016
(9 out of 10)


East of England
Walking on the wall delivered all it promised . Views were stunning and we covered a variety of different locations, and restored and unrestored sections. Some days were more strenuous, with steep and exposed sectors and high humidity -but no problem for the 'mountain goats' in our group. The guides provided options for both those who wanted to walk further and faster or more slowly. Steps can be steep, and vary in height and depth, so those with knee problems may find walking poles very useful.

Hotels were variable but generally ok, with hot water and clean beds but often smelt of smoke.

The scale and numbers of the Terracotta Army are difficult to imagine prior to the visit and the site well laid out, though very busy.
Confirmed traveller: 20 September 2016
Published on: 29 September 2016
(8 out of 10)


On the whole, the tour was well planned and I had a great time. The mix of cultural and physical activity is balanced. Good to have the optional activities. However, perhaps it's time to review the hotels used on the tour. My issue with the hotels is the tobacco smell in the rooms. It's not something you can do, but with your relationship with these hotels, is it something worth raising - perhaps encourage them to keep some rooms smokefree?
Confirmed traveller: 20 September 2016
Published on: 28 September 2016
(8 out of 10)


The tour guide we had for the Great Wall trek, Peter Cheng, was fabulous.
He was very friendly, sociable and attentive nothing was too much trouble.
The tour was well thought through and organised. It all ran very smoothly.

The only negative was that some of the hotel rooms were a bit shoddy.
For example, broken air conditioning systems, grubby stained carpets with cigarette burns, bathrooms were poor and badly put together on occasion e.g. water not draining away in wet-rooms, very worn towels supplied.
Confirmed traveller: 31 May 2016
Published on: 08 June 2016

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us, Monica. I’m delighted that you had such a great time and that Peter made it all the more special for you. That said, it’s a shame the accommodation didn’t meet your expectations. As we trek along remote areas of the Great Wall, we use local hotels and guesthouses that are the best ones available. Although they’re not to western standards, I do feel that any shortcomings are more than made up for by the experience of small town China – and some spectacular locations close to the Great Wall. It’s also worth me mentioning that your Explore Leader is always there to help smooth out any issues you may experience during the trip.

(10 out of 10)


Winborne Minster, Dorset
Very well organized, all pre-trip information sent well in advance. Excellent guide, well thought out itinerary, all hotels and restaurants organized without any problems, excellent food too. Walks were great, all internal transfers went perfectly, we would highly recommend both Explore and the China tour.
Confirmed traveller: 07 April 2016
Published on: 10 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

The tour has been designed incredibly well and you see very few other tourists during your time on the Great Wall. The views from the Great Wall are stunning and it is very rewarding to reach the top of a watchtower, enjoy the breeze and admire the beautiful landscape. Having group dinners throughout the tour was a great way to enjoy different local Chinese dishes, whilst mastering the art of using chopsticks!
Confirmed traveller: 14 October 2015
Published on: 04 April 2016
(9 out of 10)


Highlights of this trip have to be the opportunity to walk secluded areas of The Great Wall plus the visit to the Terracotta Warriors. I would advise anyone considering this adventure to get fit as considerable stamina is required. I think the 'Moderate' grading may be slightly misleading.
Confirmed traveller: 22 September 2015
Published on: 13 October 2015
(10 out of 10)


Walking the wall was the biggest highlight. It was great to visit so many areas of the wall and see the different types of construction and various degrees of condition. Walking was done at our own pace, and I never felt rushed. Food and accommodations were somewhat basic, which is to be expected in some of the more remote areas we visited. Our wall walks were pleasantly broken up by walks thru rural villages and forested paths, and visits to some of the temples and royal tombs. The sightseeing in Beijing at the beginning of the trip and the Terra Cotta Warriors at the end rounded out the overall experience perfectly. This was a great trip for my first visit to China. Our guide was fantastic, very pleasant, and he worked hard to keep things moving.
Confirmed traveller: 22 September 2015
Published on: 01 October 2015
(10 out of 10)


Excellent experience. Genuinely unique off the beaten track travel.
Confirmed traveller: 18 August 2015
Published on: 27 September 2015