It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
612 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Walk The Great Wall + Xian Extension WGT

Visiting: China
Trip Duration 12 Days
 

Reviews for Walk The Great Wall + Xian Extension

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Walk The Great Wall + Xian Extension trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Walk The Great Wall + Xian Extension reviews verified by Reevoo

10 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Walk The Great Wall + Xian ExtensionScores 8.8 out of 10 based on 10 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Tracy

Winborne Minster, Dorset
Very well organized, all pre-trip information sent well in advance. Excellent guide, well thought out itinerary, all hotels and restaurants organized without any problems, excellent food too. Walks were great, all internal transfers went perfectly, we would highly recommend both Explore and the China tour.
Confirmed traveller: 07 April 2016
Published on: 10 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

The tour has been designed incredibly well and you see very few other tourists during your time on the Great Wall. The views from the Great Wall are stunning and it is very rewarding to reach the top of a watchtower, enjoy the breeze and admire the beautiful landscape. Having group dinners throughout the tour was a great way to enjoy different local Chinese dishes, whilst mastering the art of using chopsticks!
Confirmed traveller: 14 October 2015
Published on: 04 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

John

Gloucestershire
Great trip - well organised with a good mixed group. Itinerary was just right - just busy and strenuous enough with a mix of good walking in spectacular locations and sight seeing. Hotels were OK - and meals were pretty good - certainly good value for money. Our tour bus was plenty big and comfortable enough. The overnight train from Beijing to Xian turned out to be a highlight - modern, clean and well organised. Our group leader for Beijing/Wall was excellent - his English was remarkably good. Though it wasn't a surprise (for July/August), the weather was hotter and more humid than ideal for a trip like this - and meant views along the Wall were often a bit misty. If you can make the trip in the spring or autumn (we couldn't), it might prove more comfortable and make for even more spectacular photos.
Confirmed traveller: 04 August 2015
Published on: 21 October 2015
(9 out of 10)

Pauline

Malmesbury
Highlights of this trip have to be the opportunity to walk secluded areas of The Great Wall plus the visit to the Terracotta Warriors. I would advise anyone considering this adventure to get fit as considerable stamina is required. I think the 'Moderate' grading may be slightly misleading.
Confirmed traveller: 22 September 2015
Published on: 13 October 2015
(5 out of 10)

Richard

Northern California
The highlight was walking the remote parts of the wall. No one else was on it there. But seeing the restored parts was great.
Why I would not recommend the trip, the hotels are awful. The worst. Broken glass on the floor, broken bathrooms, smoke smell, moldy. This was my fourth trip to China, they have fine hotels at all star levels. In my opinion, there is not excuse for the hotel they use in BJ.
Confirmed traveller: 04 August 2015
Published on: 02 October 2015

I am very sorry that some of the hotels fell below your expectations. In light of your comments, our local agent and Operations manager has spoken to each hotel on this trip. Each have apologised and confirmed that measures will be put in place with the housekeeping team to ensure that standards are being maintained. The Beijing Hotel has intimated that a renovation is on the cards which will refresh this particular venue.

(10 out of 10)

Yvonne

Seattle
Walking the wall was the biggest highlight. It was great to visit so many areas of the wall and see the different types of construction and various degrees of condition. Walking was done at our own pace, and I never felt rushed. Food and accommodations were somewhat basic, which is to be expected in some of the more remote areas we visited. Our wall walks were pleasantly broken up by walks thru rural villages and forested paths, and visits to some of the temples and royal tombs. The sightseeing in Beijing at the beginning of the trip and the Terra Cotta Warriors at the end rounded out the overall experience perfectly. This was a great trip for my first visit to China. Our guide was fantastic, very pleasant, and he worked hard to keep things moving.
Confirmed traveller: 22 September 2015
Published on: 01 October 2015
(10 out of 10)

Anneliese

Eastbourne
Excellent experience. Genuinely unique off the beaten track travel.
Confirmed traveller: 18 August 2015
Published on: 27 September 2015