It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
650 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews


Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.


Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Walk The Great Wall WG

Visiting: China
Trip Duration 10 Days

Reviews for Walk The Great Wall

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Walk The Great Wall trip available at present.

Please select a date:


Walk The Great Wall reviews verified by reevooReevoo

15 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Walk The Great WallScores 8.6 out of 10 based on 15 reviews
(8 out of 10)


Tour leader (Puma) was very poor. No empathy at all, he often confused the group with his poor explanations. The way the walks were organised were very poor - there should have been a back marker - we were walking in very difficult, steep and tricky terrain - some of the group found it very difficult and were at the limit of their abilities - there's a duty of care issue here. One of the group had a bad fall. On one occasion we stopped for a lunch break and it was a very hot day - there was no shade and nowhere to sit, whereas if we'd stopped 5 minutes earlier or later there would have been - this is a god example of Puma not considering the needs of the group at all.

If any of the group asked for clarification or did something wrong he came across as angry. I accept there are some cultural issues but he needed some serious training. He didn't join us in the evening but sat on a separate table. I would avoid any tour run by Puma and would tell friends that as well.

Tips - tell customers that there are ATMs and phone signal everywhere on the Tour. Make it clear that lunch is just what you can find in the shops, so bring plenty of snacks with you.

I very much enjoyed the trip - the above comments are where things can be improved.
Confirmed traveller: 09 October 2016
Published on: 20 October 2016
(7 out of 10)


The days were full and the walking was excellent, the guide very informative. The evening were a little quiet and not a great deal to do. In some places, obviously this cannot be helped and was due to quiet towns and government accomadation were by we would have to vacate the restaurant by 8.30 and hotels did not have a nice area to sit and chill.
Over all very good.
Confirmed traveller: 09 October 2016
Published on: 14 October 2016
(9 out of 10)


Amazing trip with highlights the day at the lake, the forbidden city and the days in the Jinshanling area. Really enjoyed the food with Peter organising group meals with different dishes every night and a great way to try authentic Chinese cuisine.
Confirmed traveller: 25 September 2016
Published on: 09 October 2016
(9 out of 10)


Tonbridge, Kent
The Wall is truly magnificent. Some tricky walking so you need to be fit but well worth the effort. The guide was very good. Saw the sights in Beijing and got to go to the opera which was good fun.I changed my money in the UK before I left and could have got a much better exchange rate in China so that is worth bearing in mind. Altogether a very enjoyable holiday.
Confirmed traveller: 29 May 2016
Published on: 02 June 2016
(9 out of 10)


The walk is not an easy one but on most of them you can choose how far or if you wish to do them. I would not call it moderate, but it was worth every moment. You need very good trekking boots as some parts are unstable. Walking poles are very helpful, I could not have done it without them. We tried buying them and socks in Beijing but that was not easy. You can buy cheap poles but if you want good ones take them with you. Very little English is spoken , if you are spending anymore time in Beijing take a good guide book and street map with you. You will need some extra toilet paper to take out with you as it is not always available or not good quality. Powder milk and your own mug is a good idea. If you do not want the challenge of chop sticks take a folk . We loved every second.
Confirmed traveller: 11 April 2016
Published on: 12 April 2016
(9 out of 10)


Walking the Great Wall is a fantastic tour. The itinerary is really varied - you get a good amount of time in Beijing and see lots of different sections of all the wall. (But there's not too much driving and the coach was really comfortable).

The accommodation is often quite basic, but really not as bad as tripadvisor review might make you think. I was pleasantly surprised. The standard isn't up to UK hotels, but then again, it's not the UK.

Our tour leader Puma was absolutely brilliant - fun, infomative, endlessly patient and helpful and really did everything he could to make sure we were all having a good time. He also ordered our food for most evenings meals which was great - we got to try loads of local dishes and he really knew what we'd like. The food was actually brilliant.

The wall in incredible. The scale and beauty of it really doesn't come out in pictures. It's a lot tougher than some people in our group expected. I really enjoyed it and found the pace and intensity about right, but it was a challenge. A lot of the walks start and end in the same place. It would have been nice to do more A to B routes.

Don't expect restored wall and even footing - there's a lot of scrambling in many parts (which I actually enjoyed more than the restored sections). Apart from the first and last day, we had the wall completely to ourselves for 99% of the time which was an unexpected surprise.
The tour takes you to progressively more and more stunning sections of the wall as it goes along, including bits that are really off the beaten track.

The weather was pretty good - but I personally wouldn't want to have been doing those walks in the summer months.

Tips - take snacks (on most of the walking days there's no time for lunch stops and breakfast isn't to everyone's taste), a toilet roll will come in handy, walking boots definitely, the evenings finish early and they don't seem to really do bars, so some evening entertainment might come in handy, and a I wish I'd taken a penknife and bottle opener.
Confirmed traveller: 10 April 2016
Published on: 17 April 2016
(10 out of 10)


Standing on the roof of a tower, turning 360 with a continuous view of mountains.
Walking up and down thousands of steps and slopes, and at each tower taking in the view to front and rear of the wall dissappearing into the mist.
Confirmed traveller: 18 October 2015
Published on: 28 November 2015
(10 out of 10)


The experience of different sections on the Great Wall. Some sections are very tough and stamina and some walking experience is definitely required. Food at dinner in restaurants was of a surprising high standard.

Beijing very easy city to sightsee on your own after the trip & would recommend an additional 4 nights.
Confirmed traveller: 16 October 2015
Published on: 28 October 2015
(9 out of 10)


Niagara, Ontario, Canada
This trip was an excellent way to get a sense of China in a non-tourist type way. My highlights were the friendliness of the people along with the historic beauty of the great wall (and the different contexts that we saw it in). Fall is a perfect time to be there, it was warm and the colors were just changing.

My tips would include bring your own toilet paper, as well as nuts and snacks as the lunch opportunities were limited.
Confirmed traveller: 11 October 2015
Published on: 19 October 2015