It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
548 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Our latest  brochures are available now, with over 600 adventures for you to choose from.

Gift Vouchers

Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with over 600 tours & experiences to choose from. The perfect gift idea for any occasion.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 1,843

Greek Island Cruise GC

Visiting: Greece
Tour Duration 8 Days
  • Secluded coves and turquoise waters
  • Marmari Bay
  • Thanos, tour leader for the Greek Island cruise
  • Picture postcard sunsets
  • Exploring the islands on foot
  • Tour Style: Classic
  • Tour Type: Small Groups
  • Tour Pace: Relaxed
  • Tour Comfort: Simple
 

Book now!

20 reviews for this tour

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Greek Island Cruise tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
10 Hannah Collier, 03/03/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Watching the sun setting whilst sipping cocktails and having a real laugh with the group and the crew.

Read more
 
10 , 04/10/13

Name

Ian

Tour Code

GC

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Watching the sunset from Castello Rosso overlooking the sea, and then heading down for supper in the Town.

Tour Leader Name

Thanos

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Thanos is the best tour guide I have met. His breadth of knowledge and pride in his Islands history were impressive. To be there is one thing, to have detailed knowledge and passion in its delivery is another.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Don't bring more clothes than you need, turn up with a willingness to join in and get to know everyone, enjoy the tours and explanation of Evia's amazing history, take early morning walks, spend time thinking about your life priorities, this trip gives time to gather your thoughts ""This is what life is all about!""

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Our first rip with Explore, I have told everyone I've met since we got back how good it was. We'll be back!

 
8 , 12/09/13

Name

Ewa Sienkiewicz

Tour Code

GC

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

I went to enjoy good weather and swimming so my snorkeling escapades were most enjoyable. The food was fabulous but it was a guilty pleasure!

Tour Leader Name

Thanos Mamas

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Thanos is absolutely brilliant.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Do not take too many clothes: you end up in your swimming costume anyway.

 
10 , 08/09/13

Name

Caron

Tour Name

Greek Cruise

Tour Code

GC

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The food, hospitality of our guide and beautiful surroundings.

Tour Leader Name

Thanos

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Amazing! So full of knowledge and passionate about the history and culture. I learnt so much! Nothing was ever too much and we all felt as if we really were given special treatment! Thank you!

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Pack lightly. You really don't need much. Plants of sun tan lotion as you spend pretty all day outdoors.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

A fantastic holiday. Could be booked for being a gourmet food holiday alongside all the other attractions: beautiful aqua waters, majestic mountains and relaxing, relaxing relaxing! The crew were absolutely amazing and out tour guide Thanos constantly went above and beyond our expectations and was full of knowledge of the area. An amazing holiday- none of us wanted to go home. If you want to be spoilt and need a rest, this is the holiday for you.

 
10 , 15/08/13

Name

Nicky

Tour Name

Greek Island cruise

Tour Code

GC

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The most memorable moment was when a proposal of marriage took place on deck under a full moon! Every day was a highlight, and the food was out of this world!

Tour Leader Name

Thanos

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Thanos is an incredible person. He did not stop all week, nothing was ever too much trouble for him. He is full of energy, very passionate about his homeland and his job. He is very kind and generous, and has an incredible sense of humour, I haven't laughed so much in ages! He went way above and beyond his duties.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Pack lightly, there won't be room to hang everything up! The cabins are obviously small but all that was required for the holiday.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

An incredible and unforgettable weeks holiday, we were all spoilt by a brilliant tour leader- Thanos. Peter our chef made the most incredible lunches for us and Vangelis captained the ship fantastically. I can't thank you all enough, I may be back!

 
8 Lynsey, 13/09/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The snorkeling, especially at the Petali Isles, was amongst the best I've done and the food was excellent.  The people were friendly and it was lovely to be in a place where you don't have to be constantly vigilant about your property.

Read more
 
10 Nancy, 28/08/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Being on the boat was one long highlight!The ultimate chill out experience!Very relaxing.

Read more
 
10 Bryan Arnold, 27/07/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Snorkelling

Read more
 
10 Emma, 18/07/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Where to begin?!  The amazing food, both at the restaurants and tavernas we visited each night and also the delicious 3 course lunches cooked for us on the boat by Peter. Early morning swimming in the sea before setting sail.  Chatting with a local on the beach early in the morning about the economic situation in Greece and getting a first hand opinion.  The friendliness of the Greeks.  Eating ice cream cake in celebration of a tour member's birthday.  Drinking sangria on top the boat whilst watching the sun go down, before heading out to eat for the evening.

Read more
 
0 MQ, 19/12/11
Really enjoyed the trip, a really relaxing holiday. The Crew looked after us really well and the meals on the boat were fantastic. Plenty of swimming opportunities and stopped in some really pretty villages, even saw the tree where olympic laurels come from. (GC - 23rd June 11)
 
0 Beverly Taylor, 27/10/11

This was the most amazing chilling holiday of my life. By midweek I had to ask what day it was. The sunrise and sunset experiences were awesome. Sleeping under the stars at night for a week was out of this world, booking to repeat the trip as due to unforeseen weather and being stranded on Kythnos island, the change of itinery was awesome, we went to Sifnos by ferry for a day trip, Athens and the historical Delphi temple of Appolo and the Delphi Museum.

Explore never let you down. Consumed lots of alcohol, danced Greek style with our crew and it was a life changing experience. I travelled on my own, at no time did it feel lonely. (GC -8th January 2000)

 
0 Zoe, 27/10/11

This was the most amazing holiday and everything I hoped for.  

We arrived at the boat and were immediately made to feel at home. Everything was taken care of, including amazing 3 course lunches. The crew made sure that we relaxed from the instant we arrived.   We travelled along the coast during the day to see some beautiful villages and then moored up for the night. This meant that days were spent sunbathing and swimming off the boat and then the evening ashore eating at some lovely restaurants.  In future, I would advise people not to bother taking any luggage except a swim suit as that is all you need -well, during the day anyway! And to take plenty of books.  I would definitely recommend this holiday to anyone that needs to take time out and recharge, or just fancies a bit of sun! (GC -3rd September 2011)

 
0 Valerie Unsworth, 27/10/11

I can't recommend this highly enough. If you want a week of total R&R then this is the trip to do. The biggest decision is 'do I swim from the boat or the beach'?

Thanos is enthusiastic, knowlegable and a fantastic tour leader. Peter's food is fabulous - you *will* gain weight. Vangelis the captain is a pipe smoking cool dude. A wonderful week that I'd love to do again. (GC -3rd September 2011)

 
0 Angela Gaunt, 27/10/11
the highlight of the trip was being able to totally relax surrounded by beautiful scenery.  The food on board was absolutely delicious and this was complimented by the ability to go ashore on an evening and sample local cuisine.  Remember to take your own snorkle, (and goggles) there are plenty of fish to see. (GC -31st July 2011)
 
0 DC, 15/08/11
Did this trip in Sept 2010, thought it was OK but nothing special.  Boat was adequate, but a bit small for sunbathing, and dining was inside.  Evia itself, is a bit boring, found the towns were rather nondescript.  On the plus side, great bunch of people, and pretty relaxing.  If you are thinking of doing a cruise, would recommend the Turkish Blue Cruise, the Gullet I was on was much larger than the caique, with a large outdoor dining area, and more room for sunbathing and lounging around. Also the Turkish coast and towns were much more picturesque and interesting, with some great beaches and snorkelling.  Also most dinners were included and the food was great.. ( GC - 4th September 2010)
 
0 Dorothy Wrigley, 17/08/11
What a fantastic week! If you want total relaxation, good company, amazing sea swimming, great food and wine with a little light exercise and culture thrown in then book a week on the Isidora, a traditional Greek caique. The owner, Peter (who doubled as chef and has to be held to account for the extra weight we all put on with his fantastic cooking) and his son-in-law Thanos (chief tour guide and assistant skipper) plus the skipper, Vangelis, made us welcome from the first moment we set foot on the island. We could not have felt better cared for - thank you all so much.  I would recommend this trip to anyone who wants to get away from it all for a few days. (GC - 23rd July 2011)
 
0 Michael Lohan, 15/08/11
Very relaxing holiday. Would recommend it. Perhaps a little more walking activity would have been good. Too much time spent at Krytos town. Would like to see flight options from other UK airports: too much focus on the group flight from London. I saved over £300 on the price you quoted for the group flight by booking my own from Manchester - this wasn't offered as an option by you when I phoned. (GC- 9th July 2011)
 
0 Hannah Cuss (Explore Staff), 29/12/10
A very relaxing week away, take a good book, a good pair of sun glasses, your swimwear, and away you go! Beautiful scenery, great food, wonderful crew, I loved it, and would go back at the drop of a hat, enjoy! (GC - 20th June 2009)
 
0 Jim & Gayle Robinson, 16/11/10
A very laid back way to chill out between on the go tours. We thoroughly enjoyed our cruise with Thanos, the boss, Peter the cook and the boat captain.(Sorry - forgotten his name ) They were all great hosts. This area of Greece is very beautiful and unspoiled. The villages and people were friendly. The water was warm and great for swimming. The Greek food was something to experience and the cold Mythos beer thirst quenching.  Thanks for a great holiday.(GC -9th April 2010)
 
0 Penny Holt, 20/09/10
The perfect holiday if you want to just chill and totally disconnect from life for a week! The only major decisions that need to be made are where to lie and read, and what to eat and drink, the rest is done for you! A fantastically run trip by Thanos and his crew. He has an amazing passion for his island of Evia and oozes enthusiasm every day, imparting an incredible knowledge of local history and culture. Loved the tour of the venetian Castello Rosso where Thanos suprised us by producing bottles of local cherry drink and cake! On the last night as we were thinking our holiday was all over, Thanos announced a trip to the local vineyard for wine tasting and a delightful meal in the mountains! Came home very relaxed. I would consider repeating the trip in the future when I need to re-charge my batteries! Go on, get booking, you know you deserve it!!! (GC 24th July 2010)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  3. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  4. Tour name (i.e. Inca Trail Trek)
  5. Tour Code (i.e. PQ)
    Invalid Input
  6. What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  7. Tour leader name
  8. How Was Your Explore Tour Leader?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  10. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  11. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  12.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA