It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
613 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Greek Island Wanderer GW

Visiting: Greece
Trip Duration 15 Days
 

Reviews for Greek Island Wanderer

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Greek Island Wanderer trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Greek Island Wanderer reviews verified by Reevoo

19 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Greek Island WandererScores 8.3 out of 10 based on 19 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Hermine

Toronto, Canada
I thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful landscapes and the unspoiled villages on Syros, Paros and Naxos. Santorini would be the most interesting if it weren't for the incredible crowds due to the cruise ships. So, it might be better to go there very early in the season before those crowds arrive. Do not underestimate the hiking available on the tour: the terrain is rugged but the views so rewarding.
Confirmed traveller: 11 October 2015
Published on: 11 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

Priscilla

Carlsbad
Athens Acropolis and surrounding Plaka area. "Vintage" wine pairings in Athens. Tour of Ano Syros hilltop village. Gyros in Syros. Cooking class on Paros. Hike from Fira to Oia on Santorini was spectacular and great exercise! Beautiful beaches on Naxos.
Confirmed traveller: 11 October 2015
Published on: 04 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

Brooke

Kailua-Kona, HI
The contrast between Athens and the Greek islands, and the different personalities of each island were so interesting. It was wonderful to experience places on foot; the hikes were great. We had a fantastic cooking class enhanced by the group dynamics and plenty of wine. Our leader, Mandy, was exceptional.

I recommend that you pack light, as Explore recommended. Most people packed far too much, and we had to manage our own bags up winding marble staircases, etc. Forget fashion; pack light-weight washables and wash in your room. The early October trip was warm, and shorts were just right and appropriate everywhere.
Confirmed traveller: 11 October 2015
Published on: 04 November 2015
(7 out of 10)

Javinder

London
It was good to have a combination of exploring places, walks and going to the beach.
Confirmed traveller: 30 August 2015
Published on: 23 October 2015
(8 out of 10)

Margaret

Vancouver, British Columbia
Firstly, read the itinerary carefully regarding the walking. "Wanderer" is a very good name for this Greek Island tour. We had one or two individuals on the tour who either didn't read the shoeware instructions properly or were not fit enough to keep up to just a moderate pace.
We thoroughly enjoyed the "wandering", including hiking, walking, and rambling over such varied terrain.
Taking the local ferries and buses was also fun for us. The reason we didn't give the Itinerary a higher score and something Explore should convey to other travelers on the same departure date, is that the Itinerary was compromised by closures and schedule cut backs for the end of Season traveler. Bus schedules were diminished to the outlying locations and some of them to where we were staying. Sailings to Mykonos and Delos had ended for the season, cutting out one of the most anticipated trips on the tour for everyone.

However, Mandy made a tremendous effort to obtain bus schedules with all the last minute changes and personally helped people to fit their free time outings into the existing schedules. She also tried to find alternate sailings to Mykonos but found no one sailing so late in the season. Mandy was very resourceful and put together a wonderful hike on Naxos for us when most everbody didn't want to hike Mt Zeus as scheduled.
Confirmed traveller: 11 October 2015
Published on: 22 October 2015
(9 out of 10)

Ronald

Jersey City, NJ
Highlights were the walk to St Steven's cave on Syros. Swimming in the Aegean. Hiking the islands' trails, especially the hikes on Santorini. Visit to Delos & Mykonos. Museums in Athens: The Acropolis, the National Archeological. The small village stays. The food!

Bring sturdy walking shoes.
Confirmed traveller: 27 September 2015
Published on: 13 October 2015
(9 out of 10)

Jacqueline

San Francisco
Hiking along Santorini's rim to Oia, hiking the smuggler's trail on Patmos; wandering about on one's own on various islands. Each island was unique and beautiful. This was more of a hiking adventure than one would expect from the trip description. Several in the group did not have adequate footware and either had difficulty on the hikes or had to skip them.
Confirmed traveller: 24 May 2015
Published on: 10 October 2015
(9 out of 10)

Nigel

camberley
Naxos was the best in my opinion.
It would've been good to have 1 day less in Santorini and 1 day more in naxos.

take walking boots and sticks,they came in very handy
Mandy the tour leader was superb,she really made the holiday.
Confirmed traveller: 27 September 2015
Published on: 02 October 2015
(8 out of 10)

Gwyn

Macclesfield
The excellent leader who was patient and enthusiastic throughout

The weather; the walks; some of the sites

A reasonable level of fitness is required for the trip - on /off ferries with luggage but most enjoyable
Confirmed traveller: 27 September 2015
Published on: 02 October 2015
(9 out of 10)

Lynne and Bob

Solihull
Wonderful Greek food. Friendly group and helpful leader. beautiful scenery sea and beaches very relaxed atmosphere . Organisation of trip very good no hitches
Confirmed traveller: 27 September 2015
Published on: 01 October 2015