It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
650 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews


Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.


Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Greek Island Wanderer GW

Visiting: Greece
Trip Duration 15 Days

Reviews for Greek Island Wanderer

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Greek Island Wanderer trip available at present.

Please select a date:


Greek Island Wanderer reviews verified by reevooReevoo

32 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Greek Island WandererScores 8.7 out of 10 based on 32 reviews
(9 out of 10)


This was a great holiday and Peter our guide, leader and mentor was excellent. The treks were well described with the exception of the first one! It was much more difficult but we were well led and helped by Peter.
Confirmed traveller: 09 October 2016
Published on: 16 October 2016
(10 out of 10)


Fairfax, VA
While this tour is billed as "moderate pace" it comes close to being "full-on". We covered a LOT of ground on this tour. Also, while not billed as a walking holiday, there are optional walks almost every day. Some of the walks are borderline challenging and I would strongly recommend bringing a walking pole (I wish I did!).

Of the islands, Naxos was my favorite and wish we had had more time to explore the island. As a history buff, the island of Delos was an absolute highlight. Ancient Thera on the island of Santorini was also an unexpected surprise. The optional visit to Akrotiri is also a must for those with a love of history.

Our guide, Peter, was fantastic. He was extremely knowledgeable in Greek history and had to improvise vehicle options several times when time was running short. He also worked above and beyond to get everyone settled when it looked like there was going to be an air traffic control stirke on the day most people were flying out.

Overall, you'll come back tired, but amazed at all the experiences this trip contains.
Confirmed traveller: 09 October 2016
Published on: 15 October 2016
(8 out of 10)


Excellent, lots of walks- bonus having a leader so keen on walking. Hotel on santorini good for walking to thira, and ok, but in the midst of a very tatty area.
Leader excellent, managed ferry strike situation well.
Confirmed traveller: 02 October 2016
Published on: 10 October 2016
(9 out of 10)


Hotel on Santorini location poor. Suggest not putting single woman on ground floor (unless mobility issues). Good options and choices of things to do. Would have liked group meal on final night. Tour leader dealt with ferry strike really well and especially grateful for my birthday celebration.
Confirmed traveller: 02 October 2016
Published on: 06 October 2016
(7 out of 10)


Toronto, Canada
The itinerary was good and varied, also well-organized.
The tour leader was excellent and very knowledgeable; I appreciated the fact that he was a local.
The restaurants recommended for group lunches and dinners were good, but always pricey and it took 2+ hours to get through a meal, being a group of 13. I found that sitting at a restaurant twice a day took too much time out of doing other things, like exploring a village or swimming or shopping or going to a cultural event. |It would have been better to have had a quick sandwich sitting in a square or on a beach at least for one of the meals. Later on in the trip I opted out of going for dinner with the group because I did not want to waste so much time sitting down at a table with the same group of people, when there were so many more interesting things to do.
All the people in the group were from the UK so as the only Canadian I felt out of place. They were rather self-centered and not interested in people of other nationalities. Most of the time the conversation was about UK topics and I didn't even understand some of the accents. I would prefer to be with a group that had a variety of nationalities which would make the trip more enjoyable.
Confirmed traveller: 04 September 2016
Published on: 27 September 2016
(10 out of 10)


Explore Leader should slow down on her walking pace. We will unable to catch up with the group but she did not really bother much about us. This is difficult especially on those winding roads of little towns. Hope this can be improved. Thanks
Confirmed traveller: 12 June 2016
Published on: 09 July 2016
(9 out of 10)


Overall an excellent and varied trip. It was well run and interesting with a good balance between lots to do and opportunity to do your own thing.
Confirmed traveller: 12 June 2016
Published on: 18 June 2016
(9 out of 10)


Surrey BC Canada
This is a great way to explore four of the islands in the Cyclades. There are interesting walks over varying terrain, giving wonderful views and insights into local current and historical lifestyles . The optional tours provided an enjoyable added dimension, and then there was the food......! Highly recommended.
Confirmed traveller: 05 June 2016
Published on: 16 June 2016
(10 out of 10)


Peter was just great. I love Explore, and add that he is a great fit. You are lucky to have his skills and enthusiasm on this trip. He made the trip an instant favorite for many of us.

New hotel in Naxos is trying very hard to please. Got a bad room first night crowded with bunk ends which they solved next two nights by giving us a great room. Hotel is remote however, Peter charmed the shuttle driver for group lifts to town, which we tipped driver for, but keep in mind the hotel is not convenient to town
Confirmed traveller: 05 June 2016
Published on: 12 June 2016
(10 out of 10)


Taunton, UK
A great tour. We enjoyed the wonderful landscapes, magnificent ocean colours, and the contrasts between the islands. We are so glad we chose to go on all the optional walks and visits. Our exceptional tour leader also introduced us to a fine variety of Greek restaurants - often simple but always satisfying. One of our tour members noted with pleasure that 50% of those of us who successfully climbed to the summit of Mount Zeus were over-70! (Walking poles are not essential but very helpful).
Confirmed traveller: 05 June 2016
Published on: 11 June 2016