It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
626 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Greek Island Wanderer GW

Visiting: Greece
Trip Duration 15 Days
 

Reviews for Greek Island Wanderer

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Greek Island Wanderer trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Greek Island Wanderer reviews verified by reevooReevoo

46 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Greek Island WandererScores 8.6 out of 10 based on 46 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Jane

Rushden
We think this should be classed as a walking holiday. There were so many highlights to remember. We were disappointed in the Hotel Lodos in Karterados. Not very friendly and poor breakfast. Cecile our tour leader took us to some very good restaurants.
Confirmed traveller: 20 August 2017
Published on: 30 August 2017
(8 out of 10)

Roger

Halifax
Great trip, great leader, but should avoid the return trip to Athens if at all possible. The return ferry to Athens, and the following day, felt like wasted days. A return flight direct from Naxos or Santorini would be much preferred.

This trip needs to be reclassified as a "walking" holiday, categorised as "easy".
Confirmed traveller: 20 August 2017
Published on: 25 August 2017
(9 out of 10)

Andrew

Huntingdon
Over all the trip was really good with some interesting walks and trips plus Athens is a treasure trove of history and landmarks. Travelling on the ferries can be taxing as seating is basic or outside with smokers on the level of we were booked on. All the islands were good places to visit and the hotels all with swimming pools were ok, sadly most of the room showers were not great though.
Confirmed traveller: 06 August 2017
Published on: 09 August 2017
(9 out of 10)

Sonia

Stäfa
The highlight of the trip was Santorini, amazing landscape.
Very nice tour with interesting walks and good choise of Islands.
Confirmed traveller: 04 June 2017
Published on: 06 July 2017
(9 out of 10)

Ingrid

Swansea
Very enjoyable trip. Loved Syros,Paros and Naxos. Santorini does not quite fit in with the

other islands,far too turisty. We loved the swimming from beautiful beaches and prefer

coastal walks to higher walking. We thought the optional trips quite expensive. The hotels and food were generally good. The leader worked hard to keep everbody happy. All transport went smoothly. We would perhaps have liked a bit more information about
the islands and have had time to eplore Naxos more.
Confirmed traveller: 04 June 2017
Published on: 09 June 2017
(8 out of 10)

Oshrat

London
The problem with the tour is that the tour leader did not provide options for dining.It was the case that she announced that we are all going for dinner in a certain restaurant but no direction for other options possible and if one is vegetarian or does not fancy going with her they feel outside of the group.She however provided options if one did not want to take expensive excursion which was good.
In my view group dinner should take place once in two or three days and not everyday.It is expensive and produce isolative feelings for people who cannot afford or do not choose to do this,otherwise this is an excellent trip and I would recommend it
Confirmed traveller: 04 June 2017
Published on: 09 June 2017
(6 out of 10)

Deborah

Hertfordshire
If the trip had not started from Athens it would have got a much higher score. The hotel was in a run down area (drug taking visible on streets) and we had 3 sleepless nights due to noise within the hotel. Athens added nothing to the trip and made ferry journeys longer. eg. change the trip to fly direct to Santorini or Mykenos. The islands apart from Santorini had better hotels and were lovely. Walks were a bit rushed and seemed more about ticking off things on the itinerary than enjoying the walks. I am used to walking trips (with other companies) with two leaders which would have worked better with the different fitness levels in our group. Many of the less fit missed out on the latter walks. The ferries did become quite tiring towards the second week and required a lot of organisation by our leader. I did think that having a mini-bus with us for the two weeks with our luggage might have made for a more enjoyable trip. On a number of occasions planned activities were cancelled due to having to adhere to the local bus timetable. Highlights in terms of activities for me were the optional trip to Delos, the optional desert island BBQ, and some wine tasting a few of us organised on Santorini as the one done by Explore had been disappointing. In terms of accommodation the highlight was the Anazina Village hotel on Paros. The hospitable Greek people on the islands made it worth doing. Tips take walking poles as ground is often uneven and if staying in Athens take earplugs!
Confirmed traveller: 21 May 2017
Published on: 15 June 2017
(7 out of 10)

Martin

Harlow
An excellent introduction to the Greek islands ranging fom the well known Santorini to the less known Syria. Plenty of spare time to do your own exploration or opportunity to partake of a moderate walking itinerary. Also good at navigating the Greek ferry scene with their uncertain timetables!
Confirmed traveller: 21 May 2017
Published on: 12 June 2017
(8 out of 10)

Paul

Leeds
A good varied introduction to the Cycladic islands. I enjoyed the mix of led walks and free time to explore the islands on my own. Accommodation on the islands was well located with a relaxing atmosphere. I would have preferred to stay somewhere more central in Athens at the start and end of the trip.
My highlights were the trip to Delos, walking on Santorini and Naxos for its combination of beach, town and lovely inland scenery.
Confirmed traveller: 21 May 2017
Published on: 12 June 2017