It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
549 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Brochures

Our latest  brochures are available now, with over 600 adventures for you to choose from.

Gift Vouchers

Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with over 600 tours & experiences to choose from. The perfect gift idea for any occasion.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 1,843

Ancient Lands Of The Maya GM

Tour Duration 15 Days
  • Young girls in traditional Guatemalan dress
  • Jaguar Pyramid, Tikal
  • Antigua, Guatemala
  • Group photo at Tikal
  • Ball Court of Copan
  • Tour Style: Classic
  • Tour Type: Small Groups
  • Tour Pace: Busy
  • Tour Comfort: Standard
 

Book now!

10 reviews for this tour

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Ancient Lands Of The Maya tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
9 , 27/01/14

Name

Lucia Brusati

Tour Name

Ancient Lands Of The Maya

Tour Code

GM

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Getting to talk to the mayan children of santa catarina village about their language, school, families

Tour Leader Name

jorge mario rodrigues sierra

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Jorge is the most courteous, kind, attentive tour leader I have ever met. He has shared with us a lot of info re: Guatemala & Honduras, giving us Precise details on the ancient and recent history, mayan culture, political and social issues, etc He also was very organised and always informed us of plans, times, things we needed, etc

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

To spend a couple of days more in Antigua after the end of this tour, to bring suitable clothing for very cold weather and lots of rain

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

I'd make 2 extra days: one full in Livingston and one full day in flores. it would have been nice if we could have these 2 extra days to enjoy those places, especially considering the long journeys to get there.

 
9 , 13/01/14

Name

JJ

Tour Name

Ancient Lands of the Maya

Tour Code

GM

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

I loved all the jungle animals and sounds at the jungle lodge at Tikal, especially hearing the monkeys in the morning. Guatemala is a beautiful country. Several of the hotels that are classified as "comfortable" are actually very lovely, especially at Lake Atilan. I enjoyed Copan very much. Seeing several Mayan sites rounds out the experience.

Tour Leader Name

Jorge Roderiguez

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Fantastic! One of the very best tour leaders I've ever had in many, many years of traveling!

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

I regret now that I didn't buy more of the beautiful weavings, so that would be my advice. Bring money and don't hold back!

 
8 Judith, 08/03/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Macaws flying around ruins, and boat trips.

Read more
Our Response

On a secondary note, we have no record of ever receiving your photos. It’s possible that if the files were very large, they may not have got through. Would you like to try sending them again? Our address is cr@explore.co.uk

 
10 Sarah, 07/03/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

There were so many-the spectacular birds,being woken up by Howler monkeys at Tikal,the boat trip on the Rio Dulce,walking over the mountain at Nebaj-and many more

Read more
 
10 Sarah Halford, 02/01/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The exhilerating boat trip across Lake Atitlan, visiting Mayan villages and hearing about the traditions

Read more
Our Response

Your feedback is very much appreciated and has been passed onto our local agent. We wish to assure you that we intend to monitor further customer feedback in order to identify if the problems you experienced were isolated or whether there has been a drop in standards at these particular hotels.

 
10 Clare, 31/12/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The times in the Mayan Villages in the market places was great. The people for me were the real highlights. 

 

Read more
 
10 Steve, 05/12/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Day of dead festival at Chichicastenanga 1st November. Superb, loads of noise, music, dancing, a special meal, and a packed out colourful cemetery full of happy people bedecked in traditional costume. A great atmosphere and a real eye opener.

Read more
 
8 Pat, 28/06/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Tikal was certainly amazing despite the torrential downpour!! We were very lucky. Our group consisted of two people one of whom wasn't well enough to do a full tour so two of us had a very comprehensive tour of the site and a guide to ourselves. We also saw lots of wildlife because we were quiet. I also very much enjoyed out time in Nebaj-despite the fact the hotel was the most simple of all it all felt very authentic and the scenery was stunning

Read more
 
0 C. Grierson, 12/11/10
This trip was better than i could of dreamed of from start to finish highlights for me happened so many times. Concentrating on mainly Guatemala and a few days in Honduras. The mayan ruins of Copan, Tikal and a few other smaller sights, one of the most amazingly beautiful lakes in the world lake Attilan, the wildlife from the Resplendent Quetzal, Scarlat Macaw, Keel Billed Toucans and many others, Antigua with its Spanish feel, the local people in there traditional dress, going on a chicken bus very exciting, Zip wiring though the rainforest canopy and the food this was an adventure of a lifetime for me and sorry forgot the volcano Pacaya with lava flowing down and the scenes at night while waiting for the group to get down of the volcano erupting out truly special!! If you like photography then my goodness you would not be dissapointed as Guatemala is just so wonderful. I've been lucky to have visited a few countries but in all honesty this is was my favourite. Also if you're lucky enough to have the tour leader named Lou then you will be lucky as she was just fab, very knowledgeable very funny and very patient. If a varied holiday is what you're after, or central america is on your wishlist, then start with this tour as i can,t recommend it highly enough!!!!! (GM -20th February 2010)
 
0 Sarah Rogers, 22/09/10
This was a fascinating and varied in depth look at a single country - with the added bonus of a couple of nights over the border in Honduras. Because this trip focused almost entirely on Guatemala, we were able to fit in some more remote areas of the country, including the little visited Ixil triangle. For me there was a great mix of the rugged and the relaxed - early morning monkey spotting at Tikal was a real highlight, as was the walk up Pacaya to see the lava flows- although the subsequent massive eruption shows that active volcanoes are not at all a tame tourist show. Lake Atitlan has to be one of the most beautiful places I have ever been, and the quality of the accommodation provided meant we could really relax and benefit fully from the stunning surroundings. There is a significant change in pace for the second week with leisurely strolls around ancient and near deserted sites being replaced by more busing around and jump off visits to frenetic local markets. For me the first week was the more relaxing and special, but I would definitely recommend this trip to anyone with an interest in Latin America. (GM- 2nd June 2010)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  3. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  4. Tour name (i.e. Inca Trail Trek)
  5. Tour Code (i.e. PQ)
    Invalid Input
  6. What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  7. Tour leader name
  8. How Was Your Explore Tour Leader?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  10. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  11. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  12.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA