It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
629 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Highlights of Costa Rica BCC

Visiting: Costa Rica
Trip Duration 9 Days
 

Reviews for Highlights of Costa Rica

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Highlights of Costa Rica trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Highlights of Costa Rica reviews verified by reevooReevoo

40 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Highlights of Costa RicaScores 8.6 out of 10 based on 40 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Sue

Bingley
Despite missing a connection due to the atrocious service of British airways & hence being 27 hours late the holiday was still good. We cannot comment on the Poas Volcano as we missed that part due to the above problems.
Highlights were the night walk & the wildlife sightings & the hot springs
Alex and the driver (also Alex ) were excellent
There were a lot of additional extra costs for quite a lot of activities-maybe more could be in the base price ie hot springs & night walk especially.
It would have been nice to have had an extra day perhaps at the end @ Manuel Antonio but overall this trip is well worth doing.
Confirmed traveller: 20 February 2017
Published on: 24 February 2017
(10 out of 10)

Hedi

London
The itinerary was good, but it would have been helpful to have more activities included in the schedule, and fewer that were optional.Thanks to our highly observant guide, we saw a wide range of wild life, including vegetation as well as animals and birds. Walking in the rainforest was excellent, and we were very lucky with the weather!
It was nice to stay in local-type hotels instead of typical international hotels that could have been anywhere in the world.
My only 'gripe' is that we were not put on the direct flight from Gatwick, instead of the BA/Iberia combination which, due to the delay in London, cost us a full day of holiday. However, the offered refund is gratefully accepted, and even dip from we did miss one
Volcano, seeing (and ascending part of) Arsenal was excellent.
Confirmed traveller: 20 February 2017
Published on: 23 February 2017
(8 out of 10)

Nevil

Great Missenden
Our trip was a success with a variety of experiences. Costa Rica has a nice and friendly atmosphere without the hassle of having trinkets forced on one. The excursions are mainly fun if one can find one available when you want it. The following are details of criticism (which should not be allowed to overrule the overall good score):

- It is expensive! Food and excursions are not included in the quoted price and are pricey. The indications given on the website for the cost of meals and excursions are much too low. The cost of transfers to excursions and elsewhere is high.

- You should show the $29 exit tax.

- With huge numbers of people visiting certain National Parks to see wildlife, much wildlife must be scared off and the virgin forest feels anything but virgin.

- If you think of spending any time in or around San Hose, don't! There is little or nothing to see.

In general, it is worth exploring the (cheap and effective) local bus system if you want to depart from the schedule.
Confirmed traveller: 27 January 2017
Published on: 01 February 2017
(10 out of 10)

Peter

Royston, Herts
The whole package was well put together. The birds we saw were amazing. Paulo, our guide, brought the whole trip to life with his enthusiasm. A splendid trip.
Confirmed traveller: 22 January 2017
Published on: 31 January 2017
(9 out of 10)

Suzanne

Cambridge
Our tour leader, Paulo Dorati was excellent. He was very relaxed, never hurrying us when we were looking for wildlife or at any other time. He obviously loves his country and the flora and fauna. The itinerary was good and covered everything we expected to see. Hotel accommodation was mixed, the El Faro at Manuel Antonio was the best.

Our driver, Roberto, also deserves praise as he was thoughtful towards us all and a very good driver.

We booked a land only tour and it was good to get a transfer back to the airport on our last day.

We did find Costa Rica more expensive than we were expecting; the prices,especially for optional excursions, seemed to be American prices!
Confirmed traveller: 22 January 2017
Published on: 28 January 2017
(7 out of 10)

Alan

Reading
The trip generally was good and enabled us to get away from the normal xmas ordeals at home. The accommodation especially in Manuel Antonio park left a lot to be desired as to its location within the local areas. The Manuel Antonio accommodation was appalling. (No hot water or working shower an army of ants marching from the shower and through the main accommodation.) There were no optional activities as stated, if you did not want to do what the majority of the group were doing then there was little else to be undertaken. Walks and wild life seen were very good. Tour leader was excellent.
Confirmed traveller: 02 January 2017
Published on: 13 January 2017
(9 out of 10)

Lesley

Yateley
Excellent tour, plenty to do at all times. Tour leader, Mario really good with great knowledge of the local wildlife and where to find it. Found us good places to eat in all the regions we visited. Mario always gave us plenty of choices of activities and kept us well informed. He had quite a wide age range of guests to please but he made sure the pace of the tour suited us all. We loved the rain forest, which certainly lived up to its name. Zip line in the forest a must. My packing tip, take shorts and a good lightweight, breathable waterproof. Only poor mark is for Hotel Los Almendros, the shower had only a very small dribble of lukewarm water. Mario offered to see if the management could do anything about it, however, as most of the other showers were poor it didn't seem worth it. On the plus side at least our air con worked, unlike some of the other guests.
Confirmed traveller: 02 January 2017
Published on: 03 January 2017
(9 out of 10)

Celia

Ashtead
Mario was a very enthusiastic leader who was clearly very proud of his country and took great pains to make sure that we saw the best.
Confirmed traveller: 02 January 2017
Published on: 03 January 2017
(9 out of 10)

Karen

Toronto, Canada
Excellent trip, with good planning. Group Leader Mario was cheerful, knowledgeable and very capable. He looked after the group very well and was able to help with even the smallest difficulty. He ensured that there were plenty of stops for toilets, refreshments photos etc. when travelling by bus. He made sure everyone was comfortable and even helped with restaurant menus and understanding/paying our individual bills.
I do however feel that Explore should have had plans in place for New Years Eve since we did pay extra for a departure during this time period. Mario stepped in and investigated possibilities on our behalf and we ended up having a lovely group dinner nearby our hotel. This was done by him and I imagine placed him in a stressful situation trying to organize this at the last minute. Explore should have had some plans firmly in place ahead of time, since the trip did not end until the following day.
Also I think the hotel in Manuel Antonio Park was not very good. The location was good but the facilities were below basic as far as the rooms were concerned. Some of the other hotels could have been nicer, but I assume that this is what was available in our price range. Overall I had a great vacation and the general ambience of the experience was good.
Confirmed traveller: 01 January 2017
Published on: 03 January 2017