It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
634 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Highlights of Costa Rica BCC

Visiting: Costa Rica
Trip Duration 9 Days
 

Reviews for Highlights of Costa Rica

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Highlights of Costa Rica trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Highlights of Costa Rica reviews verified by reevooReevoo

34 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Highlights of Costa RicaScores 8.5 out of 10 based on 34 reviews
(7 out of 10)

Alan

Reading
The trip generally was good and enabled us to get away from the normal xmas ordeals at home. The accommodation especially in Manuel Antonio park left a lot to be desired as to its location within the local areas. The Manuel Antonio accommodation was appalling. (No hot water or working shower an army of ants marching from the shower and through the main accommodation.) There were no optional activities as stated, if you did not want to do what the majority of the group were doing then there was little else to be undertaken. Walks and wild life seen were very good. Tour leader was excellent.
Confirmed traveller: 02 January 2017
Published on: 13 January 2017
(9 out of 10)

Lesley

Yateley
Excellent tour, plenty to do at all times. Tour leader, Mario really good with great knowledge of the local wildlife and where to find it. Found us good places to eat in all the regions we visited. Mario always gave us plenty of choices of activities and kept us well informed. He had quite a wide age range of guests to please but he made sure the pace of the tour suited us all. We loved the rain forest, which certainly lived up to its name. Zip line in the forest a must. My packing tip, take shorts and a good lightweight, breathable waterproof. Only poor mark is for Hotel Los Almendros, the shower had only a very small dribble of lukewarm water. Mario offered to see if the management could do anything about it, however, as most of the other showers were poor it didn't seem worth it. On the plus side at least our air con worked, unlike some of the other guests.
Confirmed traveller: 02 January 2017
Published on: 03 January 2017
(9 out of 10)

Celia

Ashtead
Mario was a very enthusiastic leader who was clearly very proud of his country and took great pains to make sure that we saw the best.
Confirmed traveller: 02 January 2017
Published on: 03 January 2017
(9 out of 10)

Karen

Toronto, Canada
Excellent trip, with good planning. Group Leader Mario was cheerful, knowledgeable and very capable. He looked after the group very well and was able to help with even the smallest difficulty. He ensured that there were plenty of stops for toilets, refreshments photos etc. when travelling by bus. He made sure everyone was comfortable and even helped with restaurant menus and understanding/paying our individual bills.
I do however feel that Explore should have had plans in place for New Years Eve since we did pay extra for a departure during this time period. Mario stepped in and investigated possibilities on our behalf and we ended up having a lovely group dinner nearby our hotel. This was done by him and I imagine placed him in a stressful situation trying to organize this at the last minute. Explore should have had some plans firmly in place ahead of time, since the trip did not end until the following day.
Also I think the hotel in Manuel Antonio Park was not very good. The location was good but the facilities were below basic as far as the rooms were concerned. Some of the other hotels could have been nicer, but I assume that this is what was available in our price range. Overall I had a great vacation and the general ambience of the experience was good.
Confirmed traveller: 01 January 2017
Published on: 03 January 2017
(9 out of 10)

Kathryn

Brighton
Highlights of Costa Rica, 9 in our group, all got on well, fab tour guide Hector, so informative, friendly, witty, till the end a professional, always had the binoculars & telescope at the ready. Went to La Fortuna, too foggy to see volcano & too wet to walk, on to Monteverdi, again very wet (I went the end of the rainy season, but just had the volcano 2 days before) the hot springs in the evening were a highlight 5 springs getting hotter & hotter & 2 jacuzzis. Went to rain, cloud & transitional forests, amazing flora & fauna. On to a Manuel Antonia, loved the hotel, the closeness to the national park, loved it here, our 1st & only really sunny day, did the walk & got to the beach where white faced monkeys, raccoons were everywhere, went to quieter beach, beautiful, swam, saw flying fish, pelicans, magical, best day, back to San Jose, nothing special here, maybe the National Theatre, the square & gold museum.
Confirmed traveller: 04 December 2016
Published on: 06 December 2016
(9 out of 10)

Ian

Hastings UK
Excellent tour with knowledgeable guide. My only criticism is that there were not enough inclusive trips - too many expensive options.
Confirmed traveller: 04 December 2016
Published on: 05 December 2016
(7 out of 10)

Yvonne

Bicester
It's hard to give this a fair review because I missed so much of the tour due to a missed connecting flight and because of freak weather conditions caused by Hurricane Otto. I can't praise the tour leader enough though for his knowledge of flora and fauna, his efforts to make the best of the weather conditions and for specially arranging for me to meet one of the Quakers who moved to Costa Rica in the 1950s as he knew of my interest in this.
Confirmed traveller: 28 November 2016
Published on: 04 December 2016
(8 out of 10)

Stuart

London
We saw lots of wildlife but there was a lot of travelling in the bus.We experienced various environments with different climates.It is helpful to be in a small group to be able to see the target species of birds and animals.
Walking boots are not necessary and it is worth bringing quick dry clothes.
Confirmed traveller: 14 November 2016
Published on: 16 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Hannah

Cambridgeshire
I had a fantastic time in Costa Rica. There were only seven of us so we had plenty of room on the bus.

There are lots of extra activities to be done -costings known before the holiday -I wish I had paid for these when I paid for my holiday. The zip wiring is a must!

I hope that the tour was considerate to the environment and that the premises we visited where reputable. I was happy to stay at premises that are run by families over big organisations, however I missed having a descent shower!

Our guide was organised and would answer any question, furthermore he was always on the look out for wildlife to show us. Not all members of the group realised the impact of making a noise! Saying this we did manage to see a good variety of species.

I hope Costa Rica finds a balance in favour of preserving fauna and flora over tourism/cattle farming. The holiday made me think about the impact I'm having on nature and what I can do to help make a positive difference!
Confirmed traveller: 14 November 2016
Published on: 16 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Jo

Hertfordshire
This was my first trip by myself and I would definitely do another one. The guide Diego was fantastic, he told us all about the animals and the country and was excellent in spotting animals. Our driver Eduardo was also brilliant in taking us around all the places and I always felt safe in the bus with him.
The hotels were comfortable and good for a couple of nights, my favourite hotel was San bosco inn in la fortuna.
Overall this trip was amazing and it is such a beautiful country, it was great to have a guide there as we wouldn't have seen as much as we did without him
Confirmed traveller: 14 November 2016
Published on: 15 November 2016