It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
613 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Highlights of Costa Rica BCC

Visiting: Costa Rica
Trip Duration 9 Days
 

Reviews for Highlights of Costa Rica

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Highlights of Costa Rica trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Highlights of Costa Rica reviews verified by Reevoo

19 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Highlights of Costa RicaScores 8.4 out of 10 based on 19 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Jeanne

Eastbourne
Very relaxed and enjoyable tour.
Highlight was the rain forest with the canopy walk
Tip - people need to be aware that Costa Rica is not an inexpensive destination. Eating out was very expensive as were all the optional extras.
Confirmed traveller: 20 March 2016
Published on: 22 March 2016
(9 out of 10)

Paul

Sydney Australia
Ron was an excellent guide who ensured we didn't miss any opportunities available to enjoy what was on offer in Costa Rica. The night walking tour was a highlight and the morning cruise on the last day should be included as standard as it was a nice way to finish the trip having already spent plenty of time in the forest and on beaches.
Only constructive criticism would be that the joining and ending hotel although in a good location was extremely noisy with no aircon however apart from this we thoroughly recommend the trip.
Confirmed traveller: 13 March 2016
Published on: 15 March 2016
(8 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Most enjoyable. Trip covers the “big three” places giving a good taste of what the country has to offer. Accomodation: San Jose basic but OK, Aranal - great chalet type rooms with lovely layout and a/c that works well. Monteverde - awful, barely acceptable for a schoolkid or backpacker not for an adult group. Manual Antonio comfortable and different (rooms are converted shipping containers!). Transport is fine, good driver and trips not too long, broken by photo stops and lunch etc. All planned walks very good, but best memories are of activities NOT on schedule, Monteverde skywalk and boat trip on Rio Tarcoles – both amazing – should be official part of tour. For a keen amateur photographer, the trip was one long opportunity to get shots of new species. Beaches at M/A beautiful.Leo was a very good leader. For those of us with an interest in birds, his knowledge was excellent, and he found so many birds and animals that we would have missed by ourselves. He also knew and told us about the plant life and agricultural history of the country. Those wanting a complete detailed list of times/places etc ahead of time may have experienced slight frustration, but Leo made sure we all knew what we were doing the next day and gave us all options available. He worked hard to make our trip as smooth as possible – I would recommend him as a leader.
Confirmed traveller: 10 April 2015
Published on: 12 March 2016
(9 out of 10)

Julia

Cambridge
The tour was excellent - although several early starts to cover the ground and fit in the optional tours. Leo, our guide, was excellent and dealt pleasantly with various small problems. Highlights, for me, were walking in the rainforest, the canopy walk in the rainforest and the evening walk where we, again, had an excellent guide. It was great to have a day to relax at the end of the holiday on the beach at Manuel Antonio too.
Confirmed traveller: 29 February 2016
Published on: 05 March 2016
(10 out of 10)

Diane

Rainworth
Excellent relaxing holiday with plenty of beautiful wildlife, fabulous beaches and lovely accommodation. Trips were very well planned, organised and executed. Tour leader Leo was extremely passionate and knowledgable about his stunning country.
Confirmed traveller: 28 February 2016
Published on: 02 March 2016
(9 out of 10)

Andrew

Maidenhead
Great introduction to Costa Rica. The tour leader made it a very enjoyable and educational trip. A good group and everyone got on well.
Confirmed traveller: 08 February 2016
Published on: 15 February 2016
(10 out of 10)

Irene

Dorking
Highlights were the incredible diversity of flora and fauna - saw innumerable types of bird including the quetzal, three different types of monkey, coatis, iguanas, caymen and crocs. Really friendly group. Tips: make sure you take a camera with good zoom, be prfepared for slow walks hunting for wildlife, and take a universal plug for sinks!
Confirmed traveller: 04 January 2016
Published on: 06 January 2016
(10 out of 10)

Donna

Weybridge
There were opportunities to explore the parks in Costa Rica every day and time to add extra adventure activities too. Our guide was so knowledgeable about the wildlife and plants making each walk unique and fascinating. Be sure to try the zip line at Monte Verde.
Confirmed traveller: 15 November 2015
Published on: 15 December 2015
(9 out of 10)

Christine

Sevenoaks
The plentiful wildlife expertly spotted and pointed out by our guide, Leo Jones.
The optional river cruise on the Taracoles River -crocs and birds.
Swimming in the Pacific Ocean.

Take money in dollars and colones as ATMs did not issue dollars and queues were very long at ATMs
Be sure to take walking boots/shoes/ swimming gear.
Confirmed traveller: 02 November 2015
Published on: 10 December 2015