It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
623 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Highlights of Costa Rica BCC

Visiting: Costa Rica
Trip Duration 9 Days
 

Reviews for Highlights of Costa Rica

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Highlights of Costa Rica trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Highlights of Costa Rica reviews verified by reevooReevoo

52 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Highlights of Costa RicaScores 8.6 out of 10 based on 52 reviews
(7 out of 10)

Amanda

Blandford Forum
This tour was a little disappointing by Explore standards. It lacked the big wow of other trips I have taken with you, and to be honest was not as good value. Your prices are really creeping up and everyone in the group commented on it. There were very few included meals. The last day was just a wasted day and I really didn't like the hotel in Manuel Antonio - not very Explore at all - and would have preferred to stay a third night in Monteverde (as per the published itinerary when I booked). The flights you booked for me had an unnecessarily long layover in Toronto (8 hours). There were two earlier flights I could have taken which would have reduced my layover to either 3 or 5 hours. Both perfectly doable. I am a huge fan of Explore but you did not live up to my expectations with this one. Maybe the impact of the buy-out is starting to show.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 17 April 2017
Published on: 19 April 2017

Thanks for your review Amanda, I’m really sorry to hear that you were disappointed by your Costa Rican experience. The hotel in Manuel Antonio was one that we use interchangeably with our ‘usual’ hotel, but it frequently gets good reviews so I’m sorry that you didn’t enjoy it. We haven’t made any changes to this itinerary in several years, and have always had 2 nights in Monteverde, but I have noted your suggestion to have 3 nights there. I’ll certainly forward your flights comments onto our Sales team - unless there were availability or price issues, we should have been able to offer you the most appropriate connections for your flights, and I’m really sorry that your trip started off on a bad foot. I hope that you will regain your love for Explore on a future trip.

(8 out of 10)

Angela

Guernsey
I love wildlife and rainforest so that was the reason why I chose this tour. We saw many animals and birds but with 14 people in the group our chance of seeing animals in some places was reduced - a better group size would be a maximum of 10. Monteverde was great - the night walk and the hanging bridges were really enjoyable. La Fortuna hanging bridges were disappointing as there were queues for the bridges and the crowds spoilt this experience. The hot springs at La Fortuna were lovely and relaxing. Manuel Antonio National Park was good as the guide knew the quieter trails. Manuel Antonio town was very touristy and busy - this may have been because it was Easter. On the trip details it said that there was a boat trip in the National Park at Manuel Antonio - this did not seem to exist although there was some sort of booze cruise type trip to see the sunset but this did not appeal at all!
Leo Jones, our guide, was excellent - very informative with a great sense of humour. He was very good at spotting wildlife and had a very good knowledge of birds. He worked hard to find a quetzal which was beautiful.
Jose, the driver, was very good - the bus was always clean and he drove safely on the busy roads.
Breakfast was included but it would be good if more meals were included as it's quite an expensive trip with the US dollar rate being poor at the moment.
Getting off the beaten track a little more would be good and that may increase the chance to see wildlife; wildlife doesn't come out on request but with a large group and some national parks being very busy, the chance of seeing wildlife was reduced. It would be good to go somewhere where individuals or couples can go out early morning on their own on free days to search for wildlife rather than having to wait for the whole group to be ready. When waiting for the whole group there were some delays and this meant we weren't in the national parks at opening time when the chances of seeing wildlife may have been higher.
Overall I really enjoyed the trip and it seemed like we were away much longer than we actually were because we were so busy.
Confirmed traveller: 17 April 2017
Published on: 20 April 2017
(7 out of 10)

Juwan

Ventura, CA
For the trip itself: I would take out Paos as it took half the day with nothing to see. I would also have just one night in Manuel Antonio, as it was a waste of another half day... the area is just too darn hot and sweaty, (sweat showers at 9a.m.) packed with tourists, and looked like Tijuana, Mexico outside the parks. The morning hike at the base of Arenal to the look-out is fine, but the hike back that took almost 1.5 hours could be used towards Arenal. The journey from Arenal to Monteverde is beautiful and I would have preferred to to use that 1.5 hours to stop at the many breathtaking stretches from Arenal Lake to Monteverde that was practically empty of tourists. Also taking out Paos and one night in Manuel Antonio would give more time in Monteverde which has a lot to offer. The highlight for me is seeing the quetzal and scarlet macaws.
Confirmed traveller: 16 April 2017
Published on: 21 April 2017
(10 out of 10)

Allyn

Dunstable
The wildlife seen was greater than expected, the country and people were wonderful and our tour leader was exceptional, his knowledge of fauna and flora was excellent, especially about birds. Our coach driver was an extremely confident driver and very friendly.
Confirmed traveller: 20 March 2017
Published on: 24 March 2017
(10 out of 10)

Barbara

Stockton on Tees
We have seen a great number of birds and animals and the guide was able to point them out before anyone could see them. He was able to identify nearly every animal/bird we saw. He also went to great length to look for animals and birds that were of interest.
The guide also listened to what the group wanted.
Our driver Juan Carlos was very good.
Confirmed traveller: 20 March 2017
Published on: 24 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Adele

Hexham
This tour was amazing largely thanks to our very knowledgeable guide, Alex. It was good to experience 3 different locations and we saw a huge number of animals.
Confirmed traveller: 13 March 2017
Published on: 04 April 2017
(10 out of 10)

Mark

TADCASTER
Alex - Excellent Tour Guide

Itinerary a little quiet the last two days - but this may have just been the change of pace from the rest of the week.

Great Holiday.
Confirmed traveller: 13 March 2017
Published on: 20 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Jennifer

Very interesting trip with fascinating variety of wildlife. Very knowledgeable and helpful tour leader.
Confirmed traveller: 13 March 2017
Published on: 17 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Michael

London
A very well thought out itinerary with a bit of everything. Quite a bit of bus time and I'd avoid Hocka (?) for lunch in the way to Manuel Antonio but thats minor. A fantastic holiday, a great tour leader and lovely fellow passengers.
Confirmed traveller: 12 March 2017
Published on: 14 March 2017
(6 out of 10)

Michelle

Wiltshire
We did find a lot of the itinerary items were repeated a lot - albeit in a different place in the area but even a lot of the items we were shown were repeated and therefore the talks that went with them were just more of the same. There was also a lot of minibus travelling from one place to another which was very uncomfortable and not as we expected. Most of the roads were suited to 4x4s rather than minibuses. The second hotel we stayed in was also very poorly run and our room wasn't very clean. The 'safe' was also not even mounted to the wall so was pointless in our opinion. The penultimate hotel was the only one that had a fridge which in a hot country I would of thought should be a 'standard' piece of equipment to any hotel room.
Confirmed traveller: 20 February 2017
Published on: 06 March 2017