It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
633 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Highlights of Costa Rica BCC

Visiting: Costa Rica
Trip Duration 9 Days
 

Reviews for Highlights of Costa Rica

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Highlights of Costa Rica trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Highlights of Costa Rica reviews verified by reevooReevoo

47 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Highlights of Costa RicaScores 8.6 out of 10 based on 47 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Allyn

Dunstable
The wildlife seen was greater than expected, the country and people were wonderful and our tour leader was exceptional, his knowledge of fauna and flora was excellent, especially about birds. Our coach driver was an extremely confident driver and very friendly.
Confirmed traveller: 20 March 2017
Published on: 24 March 2017
(10 out of 10)

Barbara

Stockton on Tees
We have seen a great number of birds and animals and the guide was able to point them out before anyone could see them. He was able to identify nearly every animal/bird we saw. He also went to great length to look for animals and birds that were of interest.
The guide also listened to what the group wanted.
Our driver Juan Carlos was very good.
Confirmed traveller: 20 March 2017
Published on: 24 March 2017
(10 out of 10)

Mark

TADCASTER
Alex - Excellent Tour Guide

Itinerary a little quiet the last two days - but this may have just been the change of pace from the rest of the week.

Great Holiday.
Confirmed traveller: 13 March 2017
Published on: 20 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Jennifer

Very interesting trip with fascinating variety of wildlife. Very knowledgeable and helpful tour leader.
Confirmed traveller: 13 March 2017
Published on: 17 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Michael

London
A very well thought out itinerary with a bit of everything. Quite a bit of bus time and I'd avoid Hocka (?) for lunch in the way to Manuel Antonio but thats minor. A fantastic holiday, a great tour leader and lovely fellow passengers.
Confirmed traveller: 12 March 2017
Published on: 14 March 2017
(6 out of 10)

Michelle

Wiltshire
We did find a lot of the itinerary items were repeated a lot - albeit in a different place in the area but even a lot of the items we were shown were repeated and therefore the talks that went with them were just more of the same. There was also a lot of minibus travelling from one place to another which was very uncomfortable and not as we expected. Most of the roads were suited to 4x4s rather than minibuses. The second hotel we stayed in was also very poorly run and our room wasn't very clean. The 'safe' was also not even mounted to the wall so was pointless in our opinion. The penultimate hotel was the only one that had a fridge which in a hot country I would of thought should be a 'standard' piece of equipment to any hotel room.
Confirmed traveller: 20 February 2017
Published on: 06 March 2017
(8 out of 10)

Sue

Bingley
Despite missing a connection due to the atrocious service of British airways & hence being 27 hours late the holiday was still good. We cannot comment on the Poas Volcano as we missed that part due to the above problems.
Highlights were the night walk & the wildlife sightings & the hot springs
Alex and the driver (also Alex ) were excellent
There were a lot of additional extra costs for quite a lot of activities-maybe more could be in the base price ie hot springs & night walk especially.
It would have been nice to have had an extra day perhaps at the end @ Manuel Antonio but overall this trip is well worth doing.
Confirmed traveller: 20 February 2017
Published on: 24 February 2017
(10 out of 10)

Hedi

London
The itinerary was good, but it would have been helpful to have more activities included in the schedule, and fewer that were optional.Thanks to our highly observant guide, we saw a wide range of wild life, including vegetation as well as animals and birds. Walking in the rainforest was excellent, and we were very lucky with the weather!
It was nice to stay in local-type hotels instead of typical international hotels that could have been anywhere in the world.
My only 'gripe' is that we were not put on the direct flight from Gatwick, instead of the BA/Iberia combination which, due to the delay in London, cost us a full day of holiday. However, the offered refund is gratefully accepted, and even dip from we did miss one
Volcano, seeing (and ascending part of) Arsenal was excellent.
Confirmed traveller: 20 February 2017
Published on: 23 February 2017
(8 out of 10)

Nevil

Great Missenden
Our trip was a success with a variety of experiences. Costa Rica has a nice and friendly atmosphere without the hassle of having trinkets forced on one. The excursions are mainly fun if one can find one available when you want it. The following are details of criticism (which should not be allowed to overrule the overall good score):

- It is expensive! Food and excursions are not included in the quoted price and are pricey. The indications given on the website for the cost of meals and excursions are much too low. The cost of transfers to excursions and elsewhere is high.

- You should show the $29 exit tax.

- With huge numbers of people visiting certain National Parks to see wildlife, much wildlife must be scared off and the virgin forest feels anything but virgin.

- If you think of spending any time in or around San Hose, don't! There is little or nothing to see.

In general, it is worth exploring the (cheap and effective) local bus system if you want to depart from the schedule.
Confirmed traveller: 27 January 2017
Published on: 01 February 2017