It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
650 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Highlights of Costa Rica BCC

Visiting: Costa Rica
Trip Duration 9 Days
 

Reviews for Highlights of Costa Rica

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Highlights of Costa Rica trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Highlights of Costa Rica reviews verified by reevooReevoo

27 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Highlights of Costa RicaScores 8.4 out of 10 based on 27 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Kathryn

Brighton
Highlights of Costa Rica, 9 in our group, all got on well, fab tour guide Hector, so informative, friendly, witty, till the end a professional, always had the binoculars & telescope at the ready. Went to La Fortuna, too foggy to see volcano & too wet to walk, on to Monteverdi, again very wet (I went the end of the rainy season, but just had the volcano 2 days before) the hot springs in the evening were a highlight 5 springs getting hotter & hotter & 2 jacuzzis. Went to rain, cloud & transitional forests, amazing flora & fauna. On to a Manuel Antonia, loved the hotel, the closeness to the national park, loved it here, our 1st & only really sunny day, did the walk & got to the beach where white faced monkeys, raccoons were everywhere, went to quieter beach, beautiful, swam, saw flying fish, pelicans, magical, best day, back to San Jose, nothing special here, maybe the National Theatre, the square & gold museum.
Confirmed traveller: 04 December 2016
Published on: 06 December 2016
(9 out of 10)

Ian

Hastings UK
Excellent tour with knowledgeable guide. My only criticism is that there were not enough inclusive trips - too many expensive options.
Confirmed traveller: 04 December 2016
Published on: 05 December 2016
(7 out of 10)

Yvonne

Bicester
It's hard to give this a fair review because I missed so much of the tour due to a missed connecting flight and because of freak weather conditions caused by Hurricane Otto. I can't praise the tour leader enough though for his knowledge of flora and fauna, his efforts to make the best of the weather conditions and for specially arranging for me to meet one of the Quakers who moved to Costa Rica in the 1950s as he knew of my interest in this.
Confirmed traveller: 28 November 2016
Published on: 04 December 2016
(8 out of 10)

Stuart

London
We saw lots of wildlife but there was a lot of travelling in the bus.We experienced various environments with different climates.It is helpful to be in a small group to be able to see the target species of birds and animals.
Walking boots are not necessary and it is worth bringing quick dry clothes.
Confirmed traveller: 14 November 2016
Published on: 16 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Hannah

Cambridgeshire
I had a fantastic time in Costa Rica. There were only seven of us so we had plenty of room on the bus.

There are lots of extra activities to be done -costings known before the holiday -I wish I had paid for these when I paid for my holiday. The zip wiring is a must!

I hope that the tour was considerate to the environment and that the premises we visited where reputable. I was happy to stay at premises that are run by families over big organisations, however I missed having a descent shower!

Our guide was organised and would answer any question, furthermore he was always on the look out for wildlife to show us. Not all members of the group realised the impact of making a noise! Saying this we did manage to see a good variety of species.

I hope Costa Rica finds a balance in favour of preserving fauna and flora over tourism/cattle farming. The holiday made me think about the impact I'm having on nature and what I can do to help make a positive difference!
Confirmed traveller: 14 November 2016
Published on: 16 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Jo

Hertfordshire
This was my first trip by myself and I would definitely do another one. The guide Diego was fantastic, he told us all about the animals and the country and was excellent in spotting animals. Our driver Eduardo was also brilliant in taking us around all the places and I always felt safe in the bus with him.
The hotels were comfortable and good for a couple of nights, my favourite hotel was San bosco inn in la fortuna.
Overall this trip was amazing and it is such a beautiful country, it was great to have a guide there as we wouldn't have seen as much as we did without him
Confirmed traveller: 14 November 2016
Published on: 15 November 2016
(8 out of 10)

Jeanne

Eastbourne
Very relaxed and enjoyable tour.
Highlight was the rain forest with the canopy walk
Tip - people need to be aware that Costa Rica is not an inexpensive destination. Eating out was very expensive as were all the optional extras.
Confirmed traveller: 20 March 2016
Published on: 22 March 2016
(9 out of 10)

Paul

Sydney Australia
Ron was an excellent guide who ensured we didn't miss any opportunities available to enjoy what was on offer in Costa Rica. The night walking tour was a highlight and the morning cruise on the last day should be included as standard as it was a nice way to finish the trip having already spent plenty of time in the forest and on beaches.
Only constructive criticism would be that the joining and ending hotel although in a good location was extremely noisy with no aircon however apart from this we thoroughly recommend the trip.
Confirmed traveller: 13 March 2016
Published on: 15 March 2016
(9 out of 10)

Julia

Cambridge
The tour was excellent - although several early starts to cover the ground and fit in the optional tours. Leo, our guide, was excellent and dealt pleasantly with various small problems. Highlights, for me, were walking in the rainforest, the canopy walk in the rainforest and the evening walk where we, again, had an excellent guide. It was great to have a day to relax at the end of the holiday on the beach at Manuel Antonio too.
Confirmed traveller: 29 February 2016
Published on: 05 March 2016
(10 out of 10)

Diane

Rainworth
Excellent relaxing holiday with plenty of beautiful wildlife, fabulous beaches and lovely accommodation. Trips were very well planned, organised and executed. Tour leader Leo was extremely passionate and knowledgable about his stunning country.
Confirmed traveller: 28 February 2016
Published on: 02 March 2016