It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
523 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 2,720

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast tours and experiences to choose from.

Highlights of Cuba By Bicycle CSC

Visiting: Cuba
Tour Duration 8 Days
 
Reviews for Highlights of Cuba By Bicycle 4.5 out of 5 based on 9 ratings.

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Highlights of Cuba By Bicycle tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
5 Greg Gibson (Explore Staff), 26/03/15

Please Review Your Overall Experience And What Your Highlights Were

Cycling is without doubt the best way to see Cuba and it's lush, beautiful landscape. Several of the rides on this trip take you through traditional Cuban towns and villages giving you a unique insight into life in this fascinating country. My personal highlight was our two night stay in the Casas Particulares in Trinidad, where you meet and stay with locals in their homes in a vibrant and colourful colonial town! I must also give a special mention to the wonderful live music you hear in every bar and restaurant in every town, infact you can very rarely turn a corner without bumping into someone with a guitar and maracas!

 

 

Read more
 
4.5 rosalnd durant, 08/03/15

Please Review Your Overall Experience And What Your Highlights Were

The group and tour leaders were all great. The trip was a good combination of exploring the island and cycling.

 

Read more
Our Response

I’m sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the hotel in Havana, we do expect at the very least for our hotels to have running hot water. We are currently looking into other options with the local agent, and we expect that we will have a suitable alternative before the next departure.

 
3.5 Caroline, 22/12/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

I loved how unspoilt the country was and the lovely people. Oh and the fab music!

Read more
Our Response

Thank you for your feedback.  We’re sorry you were disappointed with your tour leader’s performance – he tells us that his mobile number was given to all customers, and repeated on the notices in hotel reception areas.  He’s also said that four of you asked for your airport transfer to be one hour later, that he arranged this, and was there at that time to ensure all four of you were safely in your taxis.  We’re sorry if this does not match your recollection.

In relation to meals, these are not included unless there is only one option, so customers can choose what suits them best.  Our tour leaders aim to take customers to nice mid-range restaurants which met our safety and hygiene standards, but those who prefer can find grander or simpler establishments according to their requirements.

 
4 Ester, 03/12/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Having booked a cycling holidays I was expecting more cycling with longer routes every day. However given the very hot weather conditions (September) I was glad that cycling was kept to a minimum and mostly in the early mornings. This holiday has been for me a slow cultural travel around Cuba and I loved every single moment of it. Thanks to our wonderful Cuban guide we could experience some aspects of Cuban life: dinner with salsa band, salsa music on the steps in Trinidad, trip on classic cars, squeezing sugar cane and drinking juice, fruit stall and Cuban house, performance of Buena Vista Social Club in Havana, sandy beaches in Playa Ancon and Isla Santa Maria, tropical thunderstorms in the evenings, etc.

Read more
 
5 Bernadette Casey, 02/05/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Cycling through the real Cuba and seeing how the local people work and live, and catching a first glimpse of the Caribbean sparkling through the trees.

Read more
 
5 Nicholas Hicks, 02/05/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Lovely stay at Trinidad, interesting small town for day off and nice accommodation. However I was disappointed with this trip as it could have been so much better if better thought through, see my other comments

Read more
Our Response

Thank you for your feedback. We were sorry to read of your overall disappointment; this trip has been getting excellent feedback. But we want everyone to enjoy it, and we’ve looked into all the issues you raised. We are assured by the tour leader and our local agent that the Bay of Pigs story was explained at length (as it always is). The only late arrival we are aware of on this departure was that at Guajimoco; this was because the whole group had agreed to have dinner in Cuenfuegos before driving on to the hotel, rather than eating on arrival – but the tour report does not show the group arriving as late as 11.30pm. We would like to clarify that there is absolutely no dangerous current or swell where our groups swim on Day 2, although it is true that the ladder is in a poor state of repair. We cannot enforce the repair of this, but leaders draw it to our customers’ attention so they can make an informed decision as to whether they are happy with the descent and ascent.

 
5 Deborah Crich, 11/04/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The live music was one of the most memorable parts of my Cuba trip for me. Havana was a fun place to spend a couple of days and I also really enjoyed the peacefulness of Trinidad. Staying in a Casa is a must for anyone contemplating a trip to Cuba.

Read more
 
5 , 29/11/13

Name

Sharon

Tour Name

Highlights of Cuba by Bicycle

Tour Code

CSC

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

So many 'best bits'! Stunning Havana, Trinidad - the most photogenic town ever, the beautiful and poignant Che Guevara memorial, riding the causeway out to Cayo Santa Maria and seeing wild dolphins... Oh, and actually doing all the cycling even though it was tough (for chubby old me) at times. AND, that's not forgetting our group! I love Explore and this was my 6th trip, and this was without doubt the most fun, friendly and inclusive group. We made sure to all finish the ride together, we had dinner and mojitos together on our final night and so on. A good mix of ages from 20s to 70s, with solo travellers, friends, a family group and one couple (us). Really great people who it was a pleasure to holiday with.

Tour Leader Name

Jaime

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Jaime our tour leader was a delight. Our trip got off to a rocky start - no fault of Jaime's or our driver's - with a three hour bus delay, followed by a flat tyre, followed by a restaurant cancelling our booking. All this was seriously mucking up our schedule, but Jaime was cool, professional and quick thinking, revising plans with good humour and efficiency. His knowledge of Cuban history and culture is vast and his passion for his country shines through.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

I'm not a very regular cyclist and I'm not particularly fit. I did put in some training for this trip, but I'd say if you're not a fitness bunny, this trip will be more 'moderate' than 'easy'. That said, we had all levels of fitness and experience on the trip - the bus is there if you need it!

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Be prepared for a few long bus rides as this trip packs a lot in. Take a camera with a huge memory capacity! Also, we took energy bars and gels for the long rides which REALLY helped! Water and the odd banana don't cut it on 4-hour rides in 30 degree heat - so take some portable sports nutrition. Oh and the Cuban ladies find soap a treasured commodity so pack a few extra bars. Explore - this trip needs an extra night in Santa Clara or Remedios!

 
5 , 15/08/13

Name

Helen

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

This was my first ever Explore trip and not my last hopefully! It was all great! I travelled alone but was thrilled to find 12 fellow cyclists of varying ability, all of whom were great company. The support amongst the group was fabulous. We did such a lot, it's still sinking in. There was a lot of variety in the scenery and places we visited. Particular highlights were cycling through Trinidad town not sure whether me or the horse and cart had right of way; laughing out loud for no particular reason other than I was enjoying myself with new friends; swimming in choppy turquoise waves; wandering around the vibrant and contradictory city of Havana; "Hands up who wants a Pina Colada?"; rewarding ourselves with rum and/or beer after a hot days cycling! This is here!!

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Jaime was very friendly, professional and competent. He was proud to share his passion and knowledge of any aspect of Cuba with us, using very good English. He adapted the Tour as necessary to the needs of the group, and any particular conditions encountered....The bus driver, Pupo, spoke very little English but we all managed to communicate with him in various ways, generally with smiles and (polite) gesticulations! Nothing was too much trouble for either of them.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Book it now!! The heat and humidity made the cycling tougher than would be in cooler climates. Take snacks to keep your energy up. There was plenty of communal water on board which was great. Don't walk up the hills of Trinidad in flip flops....gave me sore calves!!

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

I extended my stay by 6 days and got a bus west to Vinales, an area where tobacco grows, and within a beautiful National Park. It was safe and easy to get about. A bit of Spanish is of course helpful. There are 2 layers of travel in Cuba, local and tourist. It is very difficult to do anything but the latter. Cuba is a very interesting country clearly in a state of flux..... it will be a sad day if a McDonalds ever appears.

 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  3. Your Tour (*)
    Invalid Input
  4. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  5. Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  6. Tour leader name
  7. Do you have any feedback on your tour leaders performance?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  8. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  10. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  11.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA