It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
646 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Highlights of Cuba By Bicycle CSC

Visiting: Cuba
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Highlights of Cuba By Bicycle

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Highlights of Cuba By Bicycle trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Highlights of Cuba By Bicycle reviews verified by reevooReevoo

18 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Highlights of Cuba By BicycleScores 7.8 out of 10 based on 18 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Simone

London
Great trip and really good itinerary. Cycling was huge fun and the guy who did the bike set ups very helpful and highly skilled. Staff were really kind helpful and positive throughout the trip and couldn't do enough for us. There was only one problem in that the driver kept turning his head away from the road to look at his colleagues to whom he was chatting while driving the coach and this was really frightening and unsafe. I raised it with the group leader to be told that the driver was "very professional" and that I must be a nervous passenger. This is complete nonsense and made my experience a lot less relaxing than it could have been. One reads too often of tragedies during holiday coach trips and whilst we were lucky this could have been very different. I realise that this is beyond explores control but it needs to be sorted out.
Confirmed traveller: 26 October 2016
Published on: 28 October 2016

Thank you for your feedback, we are glad you enjoyed the cycling trip to Cuba. We are very sorry to read your feedback on the driver. Safety is paramount to our tours and we have taken this very seriously. We have contacted Transgaviota the transport company to address this with the driver and to make sure the correct actions have taken place

(8 out of 10)

Catherine

The weather, the old cars including the ones that weren't American. Tip - Bring cash as it is the most reliable for currency exchange. Bring a proper water bottle for the bike.
Confirmed traveller: 08 May 2016
Published on: 10 May 2016
(8 out of 10)

Dale

San Francisco
Well-organized itinerary, knowledgeable tour leader and driver. Some of the lodging was not up to par, but most were acceptable.
Confirmed traveller: 07 May 2016
Published on: 10 May 2016
(8 out of 10)

Hamish

New York
Overall good trip. However while I do understand the need to be flexible with accommodation arrangements, the two nights in Havana were a major disappointment. Switching hotels from the old town to well outsider e city was bad. Then to have one hotel have no running water (literally) was not acceptable (Commodoro). A Hostal would have been better. I was told I would get a refund for the second cab fare I had to pay to get to the hotel at the start of the tour but haven't seen it as of yet. I think a refund for the difference in promised accommodation vs actual accommodation in Havana is also warranted.
Confirmed traveller: 07 May 2016
Published on: 10 May 2016

Thank you for providing us with your feedback for your trip to Cuba, we’re glad to hear you had a great time, despite the issues with your accommodation. Due to the recent increase in tourism to Cuba, many of our formal bookings are not being honoured and there are limited options for alternative accommodation. Although there is no difference in costs between the two hotels, we will of course be happy to reimburse you for your taxi expenses – we have contacted you directly in this regard.

(9 out of 10)

Robert

Rutland
From Explore side, cycling and organisation very good. Although I would warn future travellers that the food in general is not particularly good, not one for vegetarians! Accommodation in Trinidad (private) sub standard, but the people very friendly. None the less I thoroughly enjoyed the trip
Confirmed traveller: 01 May 2016
Published on: 09 May 2016
(9 out of 10)

Kathy

Orpington
Absolutely loved cycling through the Cuban countryside waving at people on horses and little children rushing out of their homes to gawp at the strange people cycling in 30C in the name of fun!
Enjoyed staying with the families in casa particularies it was a great way to immerse oneself in the culture.
Raymond our tour leader was fun and caring we felt well looked after, perhaps we could have had more guidance with setting up our bikes at the start but that is our only vague criticism.
We really like being part of a group on this type of holiday and our group all bonded very well indeed.
The 2 beach afternoons were relaxing and very enjoyable, the tour is a good mix of not too onerous cycling, sightseeing and relaxation, just perfect .
Very glad to have seen the real Cuba as feel it's on the brink of change
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 20 March 2016
Published on: 06 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Vasiliki

patras
Amazing views. safe cycling.Fantastic,caring, pleasant leader. Lovely GROUP of travellers, but most of all a BEAUTIFUL country !
Confirmed traveller: 28 February 2016
Published on: 06 March 2016
(8 out of 10)

Christine

Birmingham
Eye opening trip, cycling is just the best way to get close to the real Cuba. Great to have a Cuban guide who provided fascinating insights into life in the country today, aspirations and concerns of the people. Staying in the Casa Particular was a real highlight. Please get rid of Hotel Plaza though - just dreadful !
Confirmed traveller: 27 February 2016
Published on: 08 March 2016
(4 out of 10)

Nicola

strongly recommend
1/a review of airport greeting arrangements which was chaotic and poorly organised leaving one passenger unmet and alone to arrange own hotel transfer.
2/ rethink of group meals organised in government establishments - often characterless refectory areas , a great cultural opportunity missed and a bitter disappointment
3/ rethink of isolated resorts as overnight stays -e.g. would have been better to stay in Santa Clara itself than a strange isolated hotel.
4/ better communication with tour company in Cuba - e.g. a cocktail making class was included in our trip but the tour guide was unaware - disappointing
5/ making wearing cycling helmets mandatory (or sign a disclaimer) to minimise personal and corporate risk . Our guide did not wear a helmet, neither did 4 others . I was on a trip where a fellow cyclist had a serious head injury resulting in a prolonged ITU admission and permanent disability. I was involved with witness statements and legal proceedings afterwards which was very unpleasant all round, particularly for the tour guide. The company subsequently withdrew the trip . Given the increasing traffic in Cuba and speed of vehicles, strongly recommend reviewing mandatory helmet wearing.
Confirmed traveller: 14 February 2016
Published on: 28 February 2016

We’re sorry to hear that you were disappointed with a few aspects of your trip and we appreciate you providing us with some suggestions. We do have limited options for accommodation and dining venues, especially with the current changes in Cuba, but we will make sure to look into alternative options. We have spoken to your Explore Leader in regards to the transfers and cocktail making classes – this is something he should have been aware of.

We do strongly recommend that our customers wear helmets on our cycling trips, but unfortunately, unless it is a legal requirement in the country you’re visiting, we cannot enforce this.