It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
646 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Highlights of Cuba By Bicycle CSC

Visiting: Cuba
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Highlights of Cuba By Bicycle

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Highlights of Cuba By Bicycle trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Highlights of Cuba By Bicycle reviews verified by reevooReevoo

20 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Highlights of Cuba By BicycleScores 7.8 out of 10 based on 20 reviews
(7 out of 10)

Alan

Cwmbran
I took this trip, in Nov 2016. Do not go on this trip unless you enjoy cycling on long boring straight roads. There was too much variation in the distances from day to day. The trip notes for the ride through the "Valley of the Sugar Mills" is misleading, it is 65 k not 60 k, the total ascent is over 450 m not 150 m and on the day we rode it it was into a head wind. The notes indicate a final bus ride of 1 hr but it was around 1.75 hrs. At the end of this ride which was an endurance test, the accommodation was below par with no water in the shower and no hot water in the basin. The good points were the leader, mechanic and the bus driver, all were excellent, as were the walking tours of the various towns/cities. The trip does provide an interesting insight into Cuba outside of Havana. The stops for fruit, some of which we had not tasted before were great but there were not enough stops just for water. We also found the Che Guevara Monument very interesting. The Casa in Trinidad, Hostal "You & Me" was excellent and the owners could not do enough for us. On the other hand when we arrived in Havana we were sent by taxi direct to our Casa, not the joining Casa, we did not know where we were, had no access to food or drink, no local currency and had a room with no windows, it was not the welcome to Cuba that we expected. Had we gone first to the meeting Casa it would have been so much better. For those that enjoy road cycling I am sure that they would prefer longer rides on the first couple of days, for us we would have preferred more interesting roads.
Confirmed traveller: 26 November 2016
Published on: 06 December 2016
(9 out of 10)

Simone

London
Great trip and really good itinerary. Cycling was huge fun and the guy who did the bike set ups very helpful and highly skilled. Staff were really kind helpful and positive throughout the trip and couldn't do enough for us. There was only one problem in that the driver kept turning his head away from the road to look at his colleagues to whom he was chatting while driving the coach and this was really frightening and unsafe. I raised it with the group leader to be told that the driver was "very professional" and that I must be a nervous passenger. This is complete nonsense and made my experience a lot less relaxing than it could have been. One reads too often of tragedies during holiday coach trips and whilst we were lucky this could have been very different. I realise that this is beyond explores control but it needs to be sorted out.
Confirmed traveller: 26 October 2016
Published on: 28 October 2016

Thank you for your feedback, we are glad you enjoyed the cycling trip to Cuba. We are very sorry to read your feedback on the driver. Safety is paramount to our tours and we have taken this very seriously. We have contacted Transgaviota the transport company to address this with the driver and to make sure the correct actions have taken place

(8 out of 10)

Catherine

The weather, the old cars including the ones that weren't American. Tip - Bring cash as it is the most reliable for currency exchange. Bring a proper water bottle for the bike.
Confirmed traveller: 08 May 2016
Published on: 10 May 2016
(8 out of 10)

Dale

San Francisco
Well-organized itinerary, knowledgeable tour leader and driver. Some of the lodging was not up to par, but most were acceptable.
Confirmed traveller: 07 May 2016
Published on: 10 May 2016
(8 out of 10)

Hamish

New York
Overall good trip. However while I do understand the need to be flexible with accommodation arrangements, the two nights in Havana were a major disappointment. Switching hotels from the old town to well outsider e city was bad. Then to have one hotel have no running water (literally) was not acceptable (Commodoro). A Hostal would have been better. I was told I would get a refund for the second cab fare I had to pay to get to the hotel at the start of the tour but haven't seen it as of yet. I think a refund for the difference in promised accommodation vs actual accommodation in Havana is also warranted.
Confirmed traveller: 07 May 2016
Published on: 10 May 2016

Thank you for providing us with your feedback for your trip to Cuba, we’re glad to hear you had a great time, despite the issues with your accommodation. Due to the recent increase in tourism to Cuba, many of our formal bookings are not being honoured and there are limited options for alternative accommodation. Although there is no difference in costs between the two hotels, we will of course be happy to reimburse you for your taxi expenses – we have contacted you directly in this regard.

(9 out of 10)

Robert

Rutland
From Explore side, cycling and organisation very good. Although I would warn future travellers that the food in general is not particularly good, not one for vegetarians! Accommodation in Trinidad (private) sub standard, but the people very friendly. None the less I thoroughly enjoyed the trip
Confirmed traveller: 01 May 2016
Published on: 09 May 2016
(9 out of 10)

Kathy

Orpington
Absolutely loved cycling through the Cuban countryside waving at people on horses and little children rushing out of their homes to gawp at the strange people cycling in 30C in the name of fun!
Enjoyed staying with the families in casa particularies it was a great way to immerse oneself in the culture.
Raymond our tour leader was fun and caring we felt well looked after, perhaps we could have had more guidance with setting up our bikes at the start but that is our only vague criticism.
We really like being part of a group on this type of holiday and our group all bonded very well indeed.
The 2 beach afternoons were relaxing and very enjoyable, the tour is a good mix of not too onerous cycling, sightseeing and relaxation, just perfect .
Very glad to have seen the real Cuba as feel it's on the brink of change
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 20 March 2016
Published on: 06 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Vasiliki

patras
Amazing views. safe cycling.Fantastic,caring, pleasant leader. Lovely GROUP of travellers, but most of all a BEAUTIFUL country !
Confirmed traveller: 28 February 2016
Published on: 06 March 2016
(8 out of 10)

Christine

Birmingham
Eye opening trip, cycling is just the best way to get close to the real Cuba. Great to have a Cuban guide who provided fascinating insights into life in the country today, aspirations and concerns of the people. Staying in the Casa Particular was a real highlight. Please get rid of Hotel Plaza though - just dreadful !
Confirmed traveller: 27 February 2016
Published on: 08 March 2016