It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
615 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Highlights of Cuba By Bicycle CSC

Visiting: Cuba
Tour Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Highlights of Cuba By Bicycle

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Highlights of Cuba By Bicycle tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Highlights of Cuba By Bicycle reviews verified by Reevoo

11 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Highlights of Cuba By BicycleScores 7.5 out of 10 based on 11 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Kathy

Orpington
Absolutely loved cycling through the Cuban countryside waving at people on horses and little children rushing out of their homes to gawp at the strange people cycling in 30C in the name of fun!
Enjoyed staying with the families in casa particularies it was a great way to immerse oneself in the culture.
Raymond our tour leader was fun and caring we felt well looked after, perhaps we could have had more guidance with setting up our bikes at the start but that is our only vague criticism.
We really like being part of a group on this type of holiday and our group all bonded very well indeed.
The 2 beach afternoons were relaxing and very enjoyable, the tour is a good mix of not too onerous cycling, sightseeing and relaxation, just perfect .
Very glad to have seen the real Cuba as feel it's on the brink of change
Confirmed traveller: 20 March 2016
Published on: 06 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

Christine

Birmingham
Eye opening trip, cycling is just the best way to get close to the real Cuba. Great to have a Cuban guide who provided fascinating insights into life in the country today, aspirations and concerns of the people. Staying in the Casa Particular was a real highlight. Please get rid of Hotel Plaza though - just dreadful !
Confirmed traveller: 27 February 2016
Published on: 08 March 2016
(10 out of 10)

Vasiliki

patras
Amazing views. safe cycling.Fantastic,caring, pleasant leader. Lovely GROUP of travellers, but most of all a BEAUTIFUL country !
Confirmed traveller: 28 February 2016
Published on: 06 March 2016
(4 out of 10)

Nicola

strongly recommend
1/a review of airport greeting arrangements which was chaotic and poorly organised leaving one passenger unmet and alone to arrange own hotel transfer.
2/ rethink of group meals organised in government establishments - often characterless refectory areas , a great cultural opportunity missed and a bitter disappointment
3/ rethink of isolated resorts as overnight stays -e.g. would have been better to stay in Santa Clara itself than a strange isolated hotel.
4/ better communication with tour company in Cuba - e.g. a cocktail making class was included in our trip but the tour guide was unaware - disappointing
5/ making wearing cycling helmets mandatory (or sign a disclaimer) to minimise personal and corporate risk . Our guide did not wear a helmet, neither did 4 others . I was on a trip where a fellow cyclist had a serious head injury resulting in a prolonged ITU admission and permanent disability. I was involved with witness statements and legal proceedings afterwards which was very unpleasant all round, particularly for the tour guide. The company subsequently withdrew the trip . Given the increasing traffic in Cuba and speed of vehicles, strongly recommend reviewing mandatory helmet wearing.
Confirmed traveller: 14 February 2016
Published on: 28 February 2016

We’re sorry to hear that you were disappointed with a few aspects of your trip and we appreciate you providing us with some suggestions. We do have limited options for accommodation and dining venues, especially with the current changes in Cuba, but we will make sure to look into alternative options. We have spoken to your Explore Leader in regards to the transfers and cocktail making classes – this is something he should have been aware of.

We do strongly recommend that our customers wear helmets on our cycling trips, but unfortunately, unless it is a legal requirement in the country you’re visiting, we cannot enforce this.

(10 out of 10)

Russell

Bath
Fantastic trip. Great guide. Accommodation very good other than first night at the Plaza in Havanna. Return night in Havanna was an alternative excellent international hotel. Cycling pace was excellent with opportunity for all to go at their own pace. Little extra cycling on last day would have been good but overall an excellent holiday which I thoroughly recommend.
Confirmed traveller: 13 February 2016
Published on: 19 February 2016
(5 out of 10)

Maxine

Australia
I liked that we had 2 nights in Trinidad as it gave some respite from the intensity of the other days but even on our day off the leader insisted on controlling our programme which I didn't enjoy at all. Only do this trip if you are happy not having any time to explore the areas you visit and you don't mind not having any free time or choice.
Confirmed traveller: 26 December 2015
Published on: 01 January 2016

Thank you for your feedback, it’s disappointing to read that you weren’t entirely happy with your time in Cuba. We note that your group was made up of a very mixed bag of travellers with rather diverse interests and each were very passionate that they were to be accommodated, so we understand that your Explore Leader had to work much harder to please everyone even during the free days and optionals. I apologise this impacted on your free time.

(8 out of 10)

Nicola

Bangor N Ireland
Great to get a taste of the real Cuba, especially as rapid change is imminent. Carlos, our guide, was a great guy, taking us to Ration shops, patiently answering our questions, and always looking after us. It was a bit disappointing not cycling between destinations, but the distances were too large, so we were on and off the coach.
The home stay, in Trinidad, was terrific, and it felt right to be able to help such poorly paid families. I loved cycling in the rural areas, seeing the countryside, and the " government owned cattle"! It was a well balanced holiday; the day at the " all inclusive" hotel was a bit odd, but it was lovely to swim on the beautiful beach. Might have been better to stay overnight! But it was a strange, soulless place!
Havana was fascinating, with music everywhere. Would have liked to see Hemmingways home.
Confirmed traveller: 28 February 2015
Published on: 07 October 2015
(8 out of 10)

Katy

Bodmin
enjoyed it all amazing way to see the lovely island cycling at your own pace stopping to take pictures when you want, great crew,
lovely food but felt that we were in a tourist bubble although our guide did take us to shops for the locals

my tip would be to take goggles so that when swimming in the sea you can enjoy the sea life
Confirmed traveller: 10 May 2015
Published on: 07 October 2015
(6 out of 10)

Joanna

London
I was disappointed with my last trip (the leader especially) and the accommodation was very poor for some people (beds with no mattress in Trinidad).
Confirmed traveller: 29 November 2014
Published on: 27 September 2015