It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
607 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Similar, but less expensive:

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Highlights of Morocco MMR

Visiting: Morocco
Trip Duration 9 Days
 

Reviews for Highlights of Morocco

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Highlights of Morocco trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Highlights of Morocco reviews verified by Reevoo

34 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Highlights of MoroccoScores 8.9 out of 10 based on 34 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Antonia

Malta
A memorable trip, packed with so many new experiences and an insight into the Berber culture.
Confirmed traveller: 22 May 2016
Published on: 27 May 2016
(10 out of 10)

Elizabeth

It was a fantastic trip and our tour leader was fantastic. I think there needs to be an additional day to the trip as the 11 hours driving on the one day was a long day. There was a good variety of places to visit and see and things to do.
Confirmed traveller: 24 April 2016
Published on: 30 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Cara

Excellent trip with some many highlights it's hard to pick one! Fantastic tour leader who went out of his way to make the experience even better!
Confirmed traveller: 24 April 2016
Published on: 26 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

As someone who has wanted to go to Morocco for a long time, this trip was truly magical. My experience was incredible and it was all thanks to my amazing leader and group. We were very small which made this trip that much better. The highlights were definitely the camel ride in the Sahara and just spending time with the group. I definitely lucked out and got some amazing people. Fes and The Atlas Mountains were absolutely beautiful, and the people were so friendly, anywhere we went, all the time. The tour is fast paced and the bus rides are long, but my group made them fun, entertaining, and worthwhile.
Confirmed traveller: 08 November 2015
Published on: 04 April 2016
(7 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

I have been in Morocco 14th-22th March. The program was very busy. Most of the time we travelled by minibus, for a long time we just sitting and travelling many km. The city visit was rushing time. Absolutely fast, and very closed and short programs. I know this program is very important to do, but I did not feel the charm of the place. It was March very-very cold, only one hotel had heater. We took many blankets for us, but this is not was enough. After we had an illness. I know this is Arabic country, sometimes we would like to drink some beer or wine, but most of the time, the tour guide took us to the place where it was not possible to buy. Most of the hotels were far from a city centre we had not chance to go somewhere as our free time. Basically we had not free time. For example first day in Marrakesh we visited the city. It was mean we run through the Medina and we could not see anything, next stop was a waterfall where we rushed the time again. It was amazing and energetic, but we could not enjoy it. After the waterfall we went back to the minibus and I asked a tour guide “Why we rushed the time on this beautiful place?” and he told me “because we have stop on a beautiful lake” This “beautiful” lake was simple and we finished our day at 18:30. All day were really similar like this example day.The tour guide was not very enthusiastic, often bored or looked bored, it was quite a surprise for us because we travelled two times with explore already. We got information about a history, life, culture and customs. I did not feel he try to make us happy. Example we try to buy some alcohol (beer or wine) we asked him for stop somewhere where we can buy and he said ok, but it is not my job. we were absolutely indignant because we were on holiday and we wish to enjoy it. Finally we stopped somewhere where we can bought alcohol.
Confirmed traveller: 11 April 2015
Published on: 12 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, Monika, although it’s a shame to read that you were disappointed with the pace of the trip. We do advertise this particular adventure as ‘full on’, and our overview indicates that it’s a fast-paced roller-coaster ride through Morocco. Clearly there’s a lot of ground to cover in the 9 days, so using a minibus is the only suitable form of transport.

The feedback we’ve received on our customer satisfaction questionnaires for this trip rates from ‘good’ to ‘excellent’ – particularly about our leaders – so it’s disappointing this wasn’t your experience, although it’s great to hear that he explained all about the local history and culture. As you’re aware, Morocco is a Muslim country and only tourists are permitted to consume alcohol. While it isn’t a defined responsibility, our Explore Leaders will do what they can to stop at a supermarket so that you’re able to buy some.

Download the most recent version of our trips notes just before you go, to make sure you're fully prepared for your trip.These include detailed information about the distances covered, expected temperatures for the time of year and modes of transport. I hope that we’ll have the opportunity to welcome you on another Explore trip soon.

Sam, Customer Relations

(8 out of 10)

Deirdre

Marlborough
Our guide Ilyas was great - most helpful, conscientious and efficient. His English was good, though he wasn't fully attuned to the Brits (eg sense of humour etc). There was a lot of travel, and the Meknes day did feel a little rushed. The bus was comfortable - all seats were taken, so a slightly larger bus giving room to spread would have been helpful. One thing about going in Feb is that the hotel rooms are very cold - as the trip notes warn us! Most aren't heated, with marble floors - all geared up to cooling you down in the hot summer. So bring jumpers and socks! We saw a huge variety of scenery and climate, from desert sands to snow blizzards, which was great, though in February there weren't many flowers out yet - another reason to go a bit later in the year. The medinas are great fun, though not that different from those in Middle Eastern countries. The food was generally good, and Ilyas made great efforts to find restaurants with local food. Some don't serve alcohol, though you can bring your own wine - so ask the guide to stop at a booze supermarket if you want to get some. If you want to buy a tagine - a decorated one won't go in the oven, and they are very heavy.

Summary: great trip; take your wollies; better to go in March or later; if you have time and want to experience Morocco more fully, do the 15 day (rather than 9 day) trip.
Confirmed traveller: 28 February 2016
Published on: 11 March 2016
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Morocco was a complete surprise to me which started with the first hotel in Marrakech which was the Moroccan Hotel. It was fabulous and so beautiful. The staff were so friendly as well and this was the trend for the rest of the tour. The tour guide, Lhousain(?) and Mohammed, the driver, were a great team and when Lhousain wore his Berber headwear and long clothes he really, well, he really did look very handsome. His knowledge of his country was excellent and he made the whole journey very interesting as well as fun. We saw some wonderful places from bustling medina's to the snow covered Atlas Mountains. We had such fun and the tour, although tiring at times due to the long drives we had, was one that I am glad I did. The people were so friendly and the food was good and very reasonable. Morocco is not far away and the beautiful scenery, lovely people, good food and very reasonable prices made it a holiday to be remembered. Whilst away it was my birthday and Lhousain and Mohammed arranged a cake and a lovely card to mark the day. None other than it was a pleasure to have known him. He is a lovely man and made me feel very welcome. I wish him well for the future.
Confirmed traveller: 30 March 2015
Published on: 08 March 2016
(8 out of 10)

Richard

Colchester
This is a fast paced tour covering a wide range of experiences, from the hustle bustle in the medinas of Fes and Marrakech to the solitude of deserts in the south.

It is as described on the title of the tour, 'highlights' which leaves you on many occasions wanting to stay for longer!

The early morning camel ride to watch the sunset over the Sahara is truly memorable and there are plenty of other highlights at the souks, waterfalls and villages which we visited.

The tour leader Lahcen was excellent - knowledgeable, experienced, a real leader in every sense of the word.
Confirmed traveller: 14 February 2016
Published on: 16 February 2016
(9 out of 10)

Shayini

Birmingham
Wonderful trip, though very very fast paced. There were some changes to the official itinerary which were for the better (including having the cedar forest walk on the longest driving day to break it up a little). Our tour leader (Ilyas) was excellent, down to helping me sort out issues at the airport on the day I left. I would have appreciated another night in the desert to allow recovery time from the very early start on the camel ride day, and the chance to explore more.
Confirmed traveller: 01 November 2015
Published on: 09 December 2015