It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
619 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Similar, but less expensive:

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Highlights of Morocco MMR

Visiting: Morocco
Trip Duration 9 Days
 

Reviews for Highlights of Morocco

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Highlights of Morocco trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Highlights of Morocco reviews verified by reevooReevoo

63 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Highlights of MoroccoScores 8.8 out of 10 based on 63 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Sarah

Kent
Highlights of Morrocco is a 9 day full-on minibus trip packed with cultural and historic stops en route throughout every day. There is little time to unwind in the hotel pools due to all the long days of travelling to explore the country but if you want a poolside holiday you're probably not going to be looking at a "Highlights" touring trip!
I enjoyed gazing out of the minibus window; watching the changing scenery (from the High Atlas mountain range to the sands of the Sahara) and the people that we saw in their day to day activities - women of all ages with huge loads of crops/firewood on their backs (in the absence of donkeys) and men enjoying the vast number of coffee houses in the towns and villages..!
We had expert guides who showed us around the various Roman, Jewish, Amazighen (Berber) and Arabian sites and a our tour leader Lhoucine Ben Sghir was superb: guiding us in all areas of Morroccan life and culture and providing invaluable insight into Islam.
I was a little disappointed with the food: I am vegetarian and had hoped that I would have an opportunity to have felafels and hummus etc. but was invariably offered vegetable tagine (very nice) or vegetable couscous (also very nice)...oh and Omlette Berbere in the Sahara (don't forget to pack some Immodium!) . The best meal I had was in Fez in a beautiful restaurant in the souk where we were given a selection of mezze as a starter which was a vegetarian feast!
Would definitely recommend this trip - brush up on your French - it really helps!
Confirmed traveller: 28 May 2017
Published on: 09 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Joanne

New Zealand
Camel riding at sunrise in the dunes was a highlight. Learning about Islam. Learning from local guides.
Confirmed traveller: 28 May 2017
Published on: 09 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

Juliet

A fantastic tour that covers all periods of history and takes you to some stunning places, which have been used as locations in many films. Despite the long drives and hot days, you get to meet some friendly locals, who will welcome you and show you their way of life. If you arrive in Merzouga at the right time, you can catch a glimpse of the sunset. In the early hours of the next morning, there's a great opportunity to ride a camel and experience the sunrise across the sand dunes and desert.
Confirmed traveller: 28 May 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Suzanne

Seattle, WA
we really enjoyed this trip. It met my expectations....the guide, Mohammed was wonderful!! and the driver was excellent. Some of the accommodations were a bit plain and ordinary and some of the meals were just OK...but then, the trip was not expensive and so this was understandable. We covered a lot of territory and saw many most interesting sights and marvellous scenery - a really nicely planned itinerary! Also, we just happened to have a very small group - only 5 of us and our guide - which was made it extremely easy to get about.
Confirmed traveller: 26 May 2017
Published on: 20 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

Deborah

Swindon
The accommodation was so much better than I expected. I was told it would be basic etc, and was expecting the worse. But every hotel was clean and tidy, with comfy beds and hot water. Ok the shower heads weren't always fixed to the wall, but they worked and the water was hot.
I expected the journeys between stops to be long , arduous and boring and they were the complete opposite. Full of interesting conversations about local areas and cultural differences. Plenty of stops and the day flew by.
Confirmed traveller: 21 May 2017
Published on: 11 June 2017
(7 out of 10)

Rosemary

Macclesfield
A good whistle stop tour of morocco, highlighting the different sights i.e cities,mountains deserts. It was great spending time in the colourful souks haggling over the prices and getting your bargains. Do not worry about getting lost everyone was very helpful if you looked like you did not know where you were going. The Atlas mountains were spectacular, it was just a shame when we were there it was cloudy. However I had not appreciated the distances involved, we were averaging 5/6 hours on the bus each day that was after sight seeing,refreshment stops etc. Day 3 was particularly long we left at 8am and did not get to Fes till 9pm, by that time the only place to get something to eat nearby was a shop serving snacks like crisps and chocolate. Often we got to the hotels too late to use the facilities e.g pool. Moustapha was excellent on these journeys in trying to keep us entertained with stories, information about local culture, teaching us Arabic, photo stops to stretch our legs. The hotel in Fes was rather disappointing due to it's lack of facilities no pool or terrace to sit out, it would have been nice to have somewhere to chill out and relax after the previous hectic days, especially as it was the only place we stayed 2 nights. The hotel in Merzouga was really nice it was just a shame that when we were there there was a sandstorm. If you do the camel ride I would recommend sunglasses and a scarf, even if it is cloudy as the sand gets everywhere. I would also recommend the lovely walk through the fields to Todra Gorge, if you might be put off by the word hike do not be it is mainly flat and gently. It would have been nice to do a longer walk at Bou Tharar and see more of the Mgoun Gorge, as we arrived at 12.00 and did not go out until 5.00pm. The food and drink cost a bit more than stated in the trip notes, however if you get short of cash there are lots of ATM's. Also the food was not as varied or as spicy, as I thought it would be, prepare for a lot of similar tagines and bread. Moustapha was a very friendly and helpful guide who did everything he could to make sure we had an enjoyable time. One last thing getting out of Marrakech airport was awful, we had a long wait at customs, at least by that time our bags had arrived! Then all bags have to go through a scanner again as you leave the airport and there is only one machine. I am all in favour of airport security however the queue was horrendous . It took me about one and a half hours to get through, it took some people in our group 3, nearly as long as the flight!
Confirmed traveller: 23 April 2017
Published on: 02 May 2017
(9 out of 10)

Christine

Codicote
The leader Moustafa was excellent. The hotels quite interesting, but the days were a bit too long. One day it was 9.30pm when we finally reached our accommodation, and we were all too tired to eat.
Confirmed traveller: 23 April 2017
Published on: 02 May 2017
(8 out of 10)

Ellen

Derby
Great trip- full on as advertised, lots of time in minibus but lots to see and plenty of stops. Our leader Moustafa was very friendly,good sense of humour,very knowledgeable about country and culture. Only complaint would be the hotel in Fez- no outdoor space or pool,shame as was the only place we had 2 nights.
Confirmed traveller: 23 April 2017
Published on: 27 April 2017
(8 out of 10)

Helen

Oxford
An excellent short introduction to Morocco, though all a bit rushed. I knew we'd be travelling a good deal but hadn't realised quite how much. The desert sandstorm is memorable. It seems we should have gone earlier in the year.
Confirmed traveller: 23 April 2017
Published on: 26 April 2017