It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
624 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Highlights of Sri Lanka SLH

Visiting: Sri Lanka
Trip Duration 7 Days
 

Reviews for Highlights of Sri Lanka

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Highlights of Sri Lanka trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Highlights of Sri Lanka reviews verified by reevooReevoo

17 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Highlights of Sri LankaScores 8.2 out of 10 based on 17 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Hugh

London
We flew via Dubai on Emirates. Very easy connections and much better food than BA!
Arrival tip - although you will have got your ESTA in advance, immigration at Colombo still insist you fill in a card asking for exactly same information so don't think you'll be bypassing any queues!
The highlights for us were the Willpaththu National Park where we saw elephants, crocs and lots of other animals although the leopards decided to stay in bed. Lunch with the locals was great fun as was the canoe ride to get there.
Sigiriya Rock looks very daunting but you MUST make the effort and climb to the top. The views are superb.
Kandy is a lovely town - unfortunately we went at the Tamil New Year which meant there were huge queues of locals for the Temple of the Tooth but our guide made sure we got there in the end.
In Galle we went on the whale watching trip - costs about $50. It got very rough but the sight of a blue whale and her calf swimming alongside our boat made it all worth while!
Confirmed traveller: 19 April 2017
Published on: 23 April 2017
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

This trip is wonderful and includes so many highlights or Sri Lanka - it's jam packed but you come away knowing you have seen so much!
Highlights were visiting Willpaththu National Park, whale watching, spending time with the locals and tasting amazing food. Sri Lanka is so green and beautiful as well, it was different to any other Asian country I'd been to and was a great experience.
Confirmed traveller: 19 April 2017
Published on: 22 April 2017
(9 out of 10)

Mandip

Reading, UK
This is a quick whistle stop tour of Sri Lanka where the itinerary was jam packed as our tour leader added in extra elements than what is described - also meant spending a bit more money but not loads more.

Sri Lanka is a beautiful place to visit so if you have a short amount of time and want to experience a range of activities then this is the trip for you. Loved that the trip mixed experiences, for example going on a jeep safari to see wildlife then temple visits (with lots of climbing of stairs/rocks/slabs of concrete) plus the tea plantation visit and beach time in Galle. There wasn't much chilling time as our days were fully packed - early morning starts and a few late nights - mostly due to eating and drinking, of course!

One word of warning - climbing Sigirya's rock (Lion's rock) was a killer of a climb! Amazing view once you get to the top at sunset though (or sunrise if you go super early). So although the trip says physical rating is moderate be warned that a lot of the temples are uphill and require some climbing. It's all manageable if you take your time. Our tour leader was encouraging and helped those who were slower. The others in the group who were super fast up those hills were ok to wait, which always helps otherwise you feel guilty they are hanging about for you to fill your tired lungs with air & find some strength in those legs to carry on!

Be prepared for the heat and humidity - no point taking a hair dryer (some hotels had these anyway) or hair straighteners! I just let my hair be a jungley mess in the end as the humidity won.

The trip is short & sweet but a lovely insight in the land of Sri Lanka. The group members were also lovely. The age range was mixed of mostly couples/pairs where as I was on my own but never once felt lonely as everyone got on. We all had a giggle so I have no complaints there on my tour companions :) I was also lucky enough to also have my own room even though I chose the twin room option.

I will definitely return to Sri Lanka. This trip showed the main highlights in a short space of time but I would love to spend a longer amount of time in SL to fully enjoy more highlights and travel a little bit more. Thanks Explore!
Confirmed traveller: 16 April 2017
Published on: 19 April 2017
(9 out of 10)

Marian

Reading
Really enjoyed this trip although it rained 5 days! The safari was too long, the optional elephant safari our leader set up was terrific. The only downer was that 3 of us on later flights were expected to stay at the airport for 8+ hours on the way home or pay for our own transport, which we did.
Confirmed traveller: 30 January 2017
Published on: 03 February 2017
(10 out of 10)

Deborah

Huntingdon
This trip has been one of the best holidays I've been on. Sam the guide was incredible - he was very knowledgable and passionate about his country and this showed in all the stories he told us. Nothing was too much trouble and he was good at anticipating any needs or problems we had. For me, the best part of the trip was not part of the actual itinerary. Having not seen any of the 'Big 3' at Willpathtu Park, Sam arranged a trip to another Park where we saw many elephants including several babies. Staying at Anilana Hotel was extremely relaxing!!!
I would definitely recommend socks when visiting the temples!!
Confirmed traveller: 23 October 2016
Published on: 28 October 2016
(10 out of 10)

John

Very experienced/knowledgeable leader who provided excellent insight into the culture, nature and history of Sri Lanka.
Confirmed traveller: 15 August 2016
Published on: 29 August 2016
(10 out of 10)

Samantha

Swindon
This tour was great if you had limited time in Sri Lanka. It was a great mix of culture wildlife scenery and relaxation. The tour leader pitch the commentary and timings perfectly. Beautiful country and people. Thoroughly recommended.
Confirmed traveller: 08 August 2016
Published on: 18 August 2016
(8 out of 10)

Jeremy

Southampton
Excellent choice of sites and activities. As Explore holidays go, the hotels are really good. A good experienced guide and the Sri Lankans are the most friendly of people, highly recommend this tour.
Confirmed traveller: 10 April 2016
Published on: 18 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

Emma

Leeds
The tour guide was fantastic. He worked hard to make sure everyone had a great time. Very kind and caring leader.
Confirmed traveller: 27 March 2016
Published on: 30 March 2016
(9 out of 10)

K

London
Not much free time
Perhaps add one more day as would have been nice to have a bit more time in galle
One day was available but taken up with whale watching tour
Excellent guide and driver
Great trip overall
0 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 27 March 2016
Published on: 29 March 2016