It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
522 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 2,720

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast tours and experiences to choose from.

Reviews for Hiking in the Dolomites 4.5 out of 5 based on 12 ratings.

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Hiking in the Dolomites tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
4.5 Rosie, 28/08/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

This was a great walking trip - totally different from other walking I have done in Italy: The scenery was spectacular, drinking hot chocolate looking at the Tre Cime was a real highlight.

Read more
 
5 Jackie Williams, 24/08/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

This was an amazing trip and hiking tour. Every day was a highlight, with walks being varied and rewarding us with similarly breath-taking scenery. The peaks of Tre Cime and panoramas from Strudelkopf summit and Monte Elmo stand out through their sheer magnificence. Our free day choice, spent at the World War I site of conflict, on Monte Piana was an especially moving experience. It is difficult to choose a favourite and I wouldn't have missed any day by choice.

Read more
 
4 Neil Douglas, 24/08/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

I have done several Explore walking tours and I would rate this among the best as regards the scenery. I found everyone in the group easy to get along with. The hotel was comfortable and well situated. My only complaint was that soap in the room wasn't replenished and on 2 occasions the reception had to be asked for more. I thought the included hotel meals were ample, varied and tasty. The lunches on the walks were quite adequate although not as varied (either on a day or from day to day)as most other Explore walking tours I've done.

Read more
 
5 Fiona Fitzpatrick, 22/08/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

Everyday had it's own highlight... Arriving at the lake on the first day, great views over the Italian Austrian border for the second hike, lovely pastures with wild flowers and peaceful forests on the the third day. Going to visit the World War 1 trenches of Monte Piano on our free day (and finding some edelweiss!!) and of course the wonderful views of Tre Cime and the Studelkopf.. We had brilliant weather and the group was really nice. All in all, it was a great week. Highly recommended!

Read more
 
4 Chantal Leonet, 03/08/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

Superb hiking country, with a great variety of landscapes and flowers. Even more when you're in luck and the weather is fantastic...

Read more
 
5 Marc Engelbrecht, 16/07/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

This was a holiday with great beautifull walks, with amazing views and great photo opportunities. It was a good work out and great for hikers.

Read more
Our Response

We’re sorry to hear that you were a little disappointed with your group as you felt you didn’t have a connection – we know that this usually adds to the overall experience. The issue with the manifest relates directly to us here at Explore, Joe was simply carrying out what we’d asked him to do. On the back of the feedback from your own group, we’ve now amended our process for collecting customer information.

 

It’s also disappointing to hear that you were unhappy with the food at the hotel, and the lunches provided. Joe makes a special effort with the picnic lunches on this trip and, although we don’t include wine for obvious reasons during a mountain hike, we regularly receive great feedback. We’re sorry this wasn’t your experience on this occasion.

 

 
5 , 15/08/13

Name

Marilyn Staib

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

I have to include two highlights - views of Tres Chime with a 360 degree panorama of dramatic jagged peaks. A snow plough had recently cleared the trail so I had the added drama of dark Tolkien peaks against snow & brilliant blue skies. On other days it was the gorgeous spring wildflowers with the quaint villages & dramatic jagged peak backdrop. I particularly remember one sunny blue sky day having great apple strudel & coffee at the Larchen Hutte while looking out over a sea of wildflowers in the sunshine & down the valley to the looming Tolkien peaks. Makes you glad to be alive really.

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Good group & leader. Lots of laughs. Good value for money.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

"Go. I have trekked in many areas of the world & can't think why I haven't been to the Dolomites sooner."

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Explore might want to consider the earlier BA flights in & out of Venice.

 
5 Mark, 12/10/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The trek from the 1st World War cemetery up to Mount Serla revealed some truly remarkable scenery. There were very few other walkers about this day and clear visibility gave us views well into Austria and the higher snow-capped peaks. Tre Cime was a walk with varied scenery both on the ascent and descent. Our stop for lunch opposite the peak was a prime location and I could have spent hours there.

Read more
Our Response

We very much appreciate the advice you have given our future customers regarding this trip. However it was concerning to read your comments about Hotel Sonne Sole. We have asked our Operations Manager to urgently review this situation. 

 
5 Kathleen Berry, 18/07/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Walking to Tres Cime though it would have been good to get closer to it as your photo seems to illustrate, and the leaders wonderful lunches!

How was your Explore Tour Leader?

Very good  Friendly, efficient, good organisational skills and looked after us well.

What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?

Prepare for the long days of climbing up and down

Read more
 
4 Nigel Howard, 17/07/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Tre Chime walk

How was your Explore Tour Leader?

Super leader very friendly and approachable.

What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?

Walks seemed to take longer than in trip notes - be prepared for long days. Maybe we had a slow group?!

Read more
Our Response

We are sorry to read of your disappointment with the hotel food. We have noted your comment with concern, as there is a certain minimum standard which we would expect the hotel restaurants that we use to maintain. We have informed our Operations Manager who will be monitoring further customer feedback.

We have asked for detailed timings and distances from our local agent so we can amend our trip notes accordingly.  It can be difficult to give a precise indication of how long an activity is on each trip as much will depend on the groups pace and ability.

 
4.5 DA, 27/10/11

I agree with the previous comment that this holiday is at the very top end of moderate compared with other Explore walking holidays. This was compounded by an unseasonal fall of snow which made the walking even more challenging.

The resort was lovely although had a much more Austrian look and feel even to the fact that German was the first language. The hotel was comfortable and the pool and sauna very welcome after a day outdoors.

 
5 JD, 15/08/11

One could be forgiven for thinking there might be a few hiccups in the first trip on a new venture but this was not the case, presumably evidence of the very detailed planning that goes into Explore holidays. From the time we were collected at Venice to our return there a week later, everything went according to the dossier. Even the public transport was totally reliable, and our week's ticket allowed us to use public transport on our day off. The hotel was very welcoming and comfortable (dare one complain that the water was almost too hot on occasions?), the food was good and plentiful if a little bland, and the swimming pool and sauna allowed one to unwind after a long day 'on the hill'.

Read more
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  3. Your Tour (*)
    Invalid Input
  4. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  5. Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  6. Tour leader name
  7. Do you have any feedback on your tour leaders performance?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  8. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  10. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  11.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA