It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
548 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Similar, but less expensive:

Brochures

Our latest  brochures are available now, with over 600 adventures for you to choose from.

Gift Vouchers

Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with over 600 tours & experiences to choose from. The perfect gift idea for any occasion.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 1,843

Hiking in the Dolomites DW

Visiting: Italy
Tour Duration 8 Days
  • Incredible Tre Cime views
  • Hotel Dobbiaco
  • Beautiful blues of Lake Braies
  • Picturesque town of Dobbiaco
  • Dolomite sign
  • Tour Style: Classic
  • Tour Type: Centre Based
  • Tour Comfort: Standard
  • Trek Grade: Moderate
 

Book now!

7 reviews for this tour

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Hiking in the Dolomites tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
10 , 15/08/13

Name

Marilyn Staib

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

I have to include two highlights - views of Tres Chime with a 360 degree panorama of dramatic jagged peaks. A snow plough had recently cleared the trail so I had the added drama of dark Tolkien peaks against snow & brilliant blue skies. On other days it was the gorgeous spring wildflowers with the quaint villages & dramatic jagged peak backdrop. I particularly remember one sunny blue sky day having great apple strudel & coffee at the Larchen Hutte while looking out over a sea of wildflowers in the sunshine & down the valley to the looming Tolkien peaks. Makes you glad to be alive really.

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Good group & leader. Lots of laughs. Good value for money.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

"Go. I have trekked in many areas of the world & can't think why I haven't been to the Dolomites sooner."

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Explore might want to consider the earlier BA flights in & out of Venice.

 
10 Mark, 12/10/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

"The trek from the 1st World War cemetery up to Mount Serla revealed some truly remarkable scenery. There were very few other walkers about this day and clear visibility gave us views well into Austria and the higher snow-capped peaks.
Tre Cime was a walk with varied scenery both on the ascent and descent. Our stop for lunch opposite the peak was a prime location and I could have spent hours there."

Read more
Our Response

We very much appreciate the advice you have given our future customers regarding this trip. However it was concerning to read your comments about Hotel Sonne Sole. We have asked our Operations Manager to urgently review this situation. 

 
10 Kathleen Berry, 18/07/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

"Walking to Tres Cime though it would have been good to get closer to it as your photo seems to illustrate, and the leaders wonderful lunches!"

Read more
 
0 Nigel Howard, 17/07/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Tre Chime walk

Read more
Our Response

We are sorry to read of your disappointment with the hotel food. We have noted your comment with concern, as there is a certain minimum standard which we would expect the hotel restaurants that we use to maintain. We have informed our Operations Manager who will be monitoring further customer feedback.

We have asked for detailed timings and distances from our local agent so we can amend our trip notes accordingly.  It can be difficult to give a precise indication of how long an activity is on each trip as much will depend on the groups pace and ability.

 
0 Explore, 05/03/12

Thanks for your valued feedback, we are glad that you found the holiday enjoyable. Following an end-of-season review of our Dolomites walking trip, based on client and local agent feedback, we have decided to make a minor change to the itinerary. On day 2 we will now start with a rewarding warm-up walk up to Lake Braies that introduces clients to the area. The ridge walk will now be done on day 3 and we have dropped the original day 3 walk above Lake Braies that clients found more strenuous. This change should help to match clients’ expectations regarding the holiday’s moderate grading.

 
0 DA, 27/10/11

I agree with the previous comment that this holiday is at the very top end of moderate compared with other Explore walking holidays.  This was compounded by an unseasonal fall of snow which made the walking even more challenging. 

The resort was lovely although had a much more Austrian look and feel even to the fact that German was the first language.  The hotel was comfortable and the pool and sauna very welcome after a day outdoors.  An enjoyable holiday but not quite as described in the brochure. (DW -17th september 2011)

 
0 JD, 15/08/11
One could be forgiven for thinking there might be a few hiccups in the first trip on a new venture but this was not the case, presumably evidence of the very detailed planning that goes into Explore holidays. From the time we were collected at Venice to our return there a week later, everything went according to the dossier. Even the public transport was totally reliable, and our week's ticket allowed us to use public transport on our day off. The hotel was very welcoming and comfortable (dare one complain that the water was almost too hot on occasions?), the food was good and plentiful if a little bland, and the swimming pool and sauna allowed one to unwind after a long day 'on the hill'. Our tour leader Phil rearranged the order of the walks after consulting the weather forecasts, to ensure that we had better weather for the longer, more challenging walks. But the changes worked well, and we  managed to achieve all the walks, even if one day we did have to negotiate our way several hundred metres down a scree slope in a thunderstorm, which added to the rather gothic atmosphere of the mountains. The scenery was magnificent, the company good and our only slight issue was with the grading of 'moderate'. Strenuous would seem more appropriate to some of the walks, (although had we seen that grading we would probably not chosen to go on this trip), but we did manage all the walks without too much difficulty, despite having little experience of mountain walking. I would certainly recommend walking poles and decent wet weather gear, and walking boots are a must. One thing to remember - despite the political boundary this is much more Austria than Italy, and this was reflected in the food, culture and language (and perhaps efficiency?). ( DW - 18th June 2011)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  3. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  4. Tour name (i.e. Inca Trail Trek)
  5. Tour Code (i.e. PQ)
    Invalid Input
  6. What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  7. Tour leader name
  8. How Was Your Explore Tour Leader?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  10. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  11. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  12.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA