It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
610 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Hiking in the Dolomites DW

Visiting: Italy
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Hiking in the Dolomites

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Hiking in the Dolomites trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Hiking in the Dolomites reviews verified by reevooReevoo

22 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Hiking in the DolomitesScores 8.8 out of 10 based on 22 reviews
(9 out of 10)

LO

Hong Kong
Joe is a very good leader. He takes notice everybody performance and points out what thing the hiker should know and make the hiking more successfully. According to the weather of day to select which route we have to take. Joe is a nice , gentle and responsible leader and let each one can enjoy the hiking. Thanks so much for his advises and guide me to complete all the routes, especially the longest day trekking in Monte Elmo. The highlights are the Walk - Tre Cime to Val Fiscalina and Otzi, the Tyrolean Iceman. Better walk with two poles and good support to heels trekking shoes.

I am very bad luck to share a room with a woman with sever snoring. The first night nearly NO sleep. So tired and still to trek. It is impossible to share the room with her.
If I carry on my trekking I have to sleep well. No way, the only solution I have to pay
a room of six nights. This woman has a single room and didn't express any sorry for
her severe snoring. Please advise the trekker with such problem, pay the single supplement. Don't be selfish and concern other people suffer.

Joe help me to book the room. I don't have much euro cash and request to pay by credit
card. Answer is yes. Unexpected day before the last trekking day, they request to pay
in cash. That night Joe accompany me to the nearby ATM. Unfortunately we can't
drew the money. Next morning, at 08:00 I went to the bank in the town to exchange
euro from USD. The bank don't accept because I am not their client. I request the bank
staff to try again on the ATM. Luckily this time OK.

Why a hotel don't accept credit card for payment and insist to pay in cash ? Nonsense !
A woman with snoring , I have to pay 240 euros extra for my trip. No credit card accept,
it is really annoying. If I can't get the euros I have to cancel my last day trekking and go
to bigger city to get the euros. In fact, I discover there is a credit card machine in the reception. I am troubled by two women, one snoring, one woman insist the cash.

I have been in Explore many times. This is first time so bad. One word, angry !!
Confirmed traveller: 08 July 2017
Published on: 16 July 2017
(8 out of 10)

Michael

Evesham
Joe the tour leader did a very professional job. He tailored the itinerary to suit the weather forecast and helped us with any issues we had. Nice group of people with wide age range. Hotel was fine. South Tyrol has interesting history. Walks were of moderate difficulty with some steep ascents and descents, but some great scenery. Overall a very good trip.
Confirmed traveller: 08 July 2017
Published on: 14 July 2017
(9 out of 10)

John

Plymouth
Excellent trip, superb leader, most professional and considerate
Confirmed traveller: 08 July 2017
Published on: 12 July 2017
(8 out of 10)

Ian

Glasgow
Thehighlight was the Tre Cime trip, followed by Mt.Elmo. The least satisfying was the Putzalm Hut trek due to most of it being in trees with not much in the way of views.
Perhaps another trek in lace of this one?
Confirmed traveller: 08 July 2017
Published on: 12 July 2017
(8 out of 10)

Mara

Toronto, Canada
The tour was well-organized and the tour leader knowledgeable in spite of the fact that he was not a local.
The rooms at the hotel were fine and the food good most of the time. I would recommend that one night the group be offered a Tyrolean menu to try local dishes, as another German group had.
The walks were varied enough but often rushed, not giving enough time for picture stops and rest. I would recommend that on at least one of the days we hike in the afternoon so that we could see the panorama of the Dolomites at sunset, which is the best time to see the unique rose-coloured rock of the peaks.
Most of the group members were from the UK so I was disappointed that there was not a variety of different nationalities. I was the only Canadian and found the others to be rather self-centered and not interested in Canadians. The conversation was always about the UK and half the time I did not understand what they were talking about.
Confirmed traveller: 17 September 2016
Published on: 17 October 2016

Hi Mara, thank you for your feedback. I will pass on your ideas regarding the sunset walk to see the rose coloured Dolomites and the Tyrolean menu to the operations manager for the area as they sound like potentially great additions to the trip! I am sorry there wasn’t a mix of nationalities on your departure – if you ask before booking we will happily advise of the regional origins of the group.

(9 out of 10)

Gideon

Cape Town
A beautiful hike in spectacular surroundings .

Perfect , clean picturesque villages.

Be fit.
Confirmed traveller: 17 September 2016
Published on: 29 September 2016
(9 out of 10)

Paul

Carmarthen
Great trip, the tour notes were very thorough and so no surprises in store as long as you have read them.Luke our guide was fantastic and had options for each day depending on weather, tiredness and group requests.It is a trek so sometimes you will be out of breath but lots of opportunities to stop and enjoy the amazing scenery as well as take photographs. Each day's walk had a different feel from high mountain passes to tree lined river walking it gave you a proper feel of the diversity in the area. Although a popular destination the itinerary managed to get you into quieter areas so away from the crowds a lot of the time. You don't have to be supper fit to enjoy the days on the mountains but you will be out for several hours and up high so to get the best out of the holiday you should have some mountain fitness. First time on a guided walking tour and it was a real treat to have the logistics of each day sorted. Buses/cable car even lunch all organised just be on time,bag packed and away for the day a marvellous way to relax and enjoy. One bit of advice from the airport and that was flight times. I booked flights through Explore and had a four and a half hour wait to leave Venice airport but other members of the group flying to same UK airport has earlier flights I assumed mine would be the best option but not sure why I had a longer wait worth checking out yourself.
Confirmed traveller: 17 September 2016
Published on: 24 September 2016
(8 out of 10)

Philip

Southsea
This was a great week with fantastic views, great walks, and fine weather. Although I was rather concerned about the unusually small group size at first, this turned out to be a positive point because we were of roughly the same age and ability and our enthusiastic and experienced group leader was able to adjust the walks so that we made the most of each day. This was definitely one of my better trips with Explore.
Confirmed traveller: 10 September 2016
Published on: 21 September 2016
(8 out of 10)

Julia

London
Stunning mountain scenery with varied walks each day. Hotel was fine and has a lovely little swimming pool which was very enticing at the end of each day. However, the hotel food was a bit hit and miss. Good salad bar each evening, but the other courses weren't particularly appetising! Lovely hotel staff though. Tour leader, Luke, was a lovely guy and came up trumps with lunchtime picnics in the mountains each day. However, he's new to this particular trip and I felt he could have given us more info each day, regulated the pace a bit more, and shared more stories or history about the area or the flora and fauna. Overall though, I enjoyed the trip very much and would recommend it.
Confirmed traveller: 03 September 2016
Published on: 17 September 2016
(8 out of 10)

James

Oxford
All the walks were excellent and varied, mountains with amazing views, flower meadows and forests. If you like taking photos you will not be disappointed it really is stunning especially the trek around Tre Cime. The group were lovely and our tour leader Joe was fantastic. I agree with the comments about the picnic lunches, they were great with lots of different cheeses, meats, breads and fruit. I tried some different cheeses I had never had before which was nice. Transportation to the walks is via public buses which is fun and works really well. Hotel Sonne Sole was pretty decent, the staff were all lovely and really helpful. The food was plentiful and was generally good for meat/fish eaters but less so for vegetarians where some of the dishes were not great. There is a great salad bar which is available every night. The breakfasts were great with loads of nice breads, cheese, cooked meats and great strong coffee. The bar area is nice to hang out after a walk or in the evening after a meal. Dobbiaco is also lovely to potter about and explore. Overall a fantastic trip with amazing walks, great company and a brilliant tour leader (Joe).
Confirmed traveller: 02 July 2016
Published on: 01 August 2016