It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
610 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Historic Baltic Republics HB

Trip Duration 15 Days
 

Reviews for Historic Baltic Republics

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Historic Baltic Republics trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Historic Baltic Republics reviews verified by reevooReevoo

68 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Historic Baltic RepublicsScores 8.5 out of 10 based on 68 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Nigel

Newport Wales
The Historic Baltics trip is a cultural journey through 3 countries which have seen much turmoil and hard times during occupation and wars. The capital cities contain a wealth of ornate and interesting buildings and a difficult choice is which combination of museums, churches and coffee shops to visit in your free time.

However I also enjoyed the rural aspects of the trip; the working windmills, open air museum and time on the island of Saaremaa gave a sample of traditional Estonian life at a slower pace. The sculptures at the Hill of Witches were a highlight for me with the legends explained by our guide Egle in an entertaining manner.

I really enjoyed the castles and palace although I found the castles really needed more time allocated to see the many interesting exhibits and garden trails.

The 3 hour tours in my opinion would be better in two halves with a coffee stop in the middle . I would have enjoyed and assimilated the last part of the tour much more with a rested back!

The meals in the cities especially Tallinn were more expensive than I expected although the range and quality of food was good. I appreciated the range of restaurants suggested by Egle to give a rounded experience of Baltic cuisine and the company of fellow group members.

The hotels were varied in their strengths and shortcomings my favourites being the lovely period hotel in Kaunas and the stadium hotel on the island. Most of the hotel rooms were too hot and needed either air conditioning or a fan. You either had a noisy disturbed sleep with an open window or a very stuffy warm room.

I felt safe on this trip and comfortable walking around on my own or in a small group. Most places were quite easy to navigate, Riga being a larger city being more challenging.

I would recommend the optional visit to the museum of Ciurlionis in Kaunas if you like classical music and surreal art. The KGB and Gestapo cells and museum in Vilnius tells a sombre story of repression and cruelty in previous generations and is a much more worthwhile visit than the top floor of the hotel in Tallinn.

I would also thoroughly recommend the optional visit to the resort of Jurmala in Latvia. As well as its fabulous beach I enjoyed seeing the elegant and individually designed villas as well as the museum of seaside holidays over the years.

The transport was comfortable and the drivers pleasant and competent. Staying awake on the minibus however was often a considerable challenge!

I enjoyed the trip very much and feel I have a realistic insight into these 3 interesting and culturally rich states. I found Egle an extremely informative and organised guide who took us to several places in the free time slots if a group of us wanted to go together.
Confirmed traveller: 05 August 2017
Published on: 17 August 2017
(10 out of 10)

Paul

Istanbul
The tour was aptly named and our guide was ideally suited to give us an overview of the Baltics. She was extremely well-prepared and also followed up on any questions if she wasn't exactly sure of specific information. Her own personal experience also added to the impression we gained of recent history in the Baltics. Highlights included the three capitals, several castles (Rundale being extraordinary, the island one at Trakai also being very ideally located) and nature e.g. at the Curonian Spit. "Resort" towns such as Jurmala and Parnu were also lovely to see. Overall an excellent introduction to a beautiful part of the world.
Confirmed traveller: 05 August 2017
Published on: 10 August 2017
(10 out of 10)

Mary

Houston Tx
The tour was one of the best I have ever been on. Our tour director Egla was so knowledgeable and interesting. A wonderful person. She was so caring and went out of her way to give us the best experience on our tour. The tour was priced right. We experienced so much and visited a mix of interesting places. We had just the right amount of free time to Explore on our own too. The hotel rooms were comfortable and most were not far from the city centers. Egla made sure each day to point out restaurants that had very good food. She gave us information on things to do in our free time. This was very helpful.
The itenary was well thought out. I will definitely recommend this tour to my friends.
Confirmed traveller: 05 August 2017
Published on: 09 August 2017
(10 out of 10)

Melinda

Fort Lauderdale, FL
Simon was a fantastic leader and just a wonderful person! His enthusiasm, musical skills, and kindness made the tour memorable! I think the trip needs a few more days added onto the itinerary. Would have enjoyed spending two nights in the Curonian Spit National Park area. Also, the summer time is the perfect time to visit the Baltics because of the outdoor festivals, musical concerts, and handpicked strawberries & mushrooms.
Confirmed traveller: 29 July 2017
Published on: 06 August 2017
(8 out of 10)

Alan

Horsham
So many highlights. i think the main highlight for me was the contrast between the three capitals and the more rural areas.
Confirmed traveller: 22 July 2017
Published on: 01 August 2017
(9 out of 10)

Heather

Winchester
A leisurely 2 weeks touring Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania. Highlights were still the capitals and also Tartu that one can cover briefly in 1 week on other tours. Most days consisted of guided tours in the morning with free afternoons for further exploration. Lots of city walking though you can use buses and taxis more than I did. Fascinating history and I spent hours in museums such as The Museum of Occupation of Latvia and the Corner House KGB prison in Riga and also in Vilnius. Wonderful architecture including art nouveaux, baroque, renaissance gothic in these three UNESCO capitals. Many cafes and restaurants with good quality food and drink including many tasty local beers. Having seen and advertising billboard I visited the cat café in Vilnius where you can pet 15 cats in a calm, clean environment. Purrfect!
Confirmed traveller: 22 July 2017
Published on: 25 July 2017
(3 out of 10)

Jane

London
This was my first trip with Explore, who had been recommended by former travelling companions. It may well be my last, as it was below expectation. The best feature was the itinerary which provided comprehensive coverage of the Baltic Republics and was one of the reasons I selected Explore.
The hotel accommodation was average in terms of rooms etc, but in 2 instances (Riga and Vilnius) was located some way from the old part of each city (just what you'd come to see ) and in the case of Riga was located in a decidedly dodgy part of the city, as a consequence and because I was travelling on my own I had to use taxis a lot. Fellow travellers who were Explore veterans explained this was Explore's policy in order to keep costs low. Personally, I'd have been happy to pay more for better located hotels.
Our guide/tour leader was extremely knowledgeable and tried to be helpful, but sadly lacked the social skills needed to be a successful tour leader. He also remarked to me that he liked this tour because it gave us (Explore clients) more free time than trips with other companies he'd worked for and as a consequence he had more free time!
Confirmed traveller: 08 July 2017
Published on: 13 July 2017

Thank you for your feedback Jane, I’m sorry that you were disappointed with the trip, especially as it was your first experience with us. Hotels located in the centre of town are more expensive, which is why we tend to choose accommodation that is just outside town, but still usually within walking distance. We also tend to find that there is better quality accommodation outside of town. Tauno has been leading our trips for just over a year and he usually receives great feedback from our customers, so it’s a shame to hear he didn’t meet the standards you were expecting on this occasion. We’ll continue to monitor the feedback we receive over the next season and make improvements if necessary. I’m glad to hear that, despite this, you did enjoy the itinerary.

(9 out of 10)

Paul

Kent
Overall, a great itinerary, taking in very many places off the beaten track, with plenty of contrasts in mostly very reasonable weather during very long daylight hours. Personal highlights were the attractive, laid-back towns of Tartu and Kaunas, the relaxed coastal areas on Saaremaa and the Curonian Spit, and the three capital cities, plus the recent histories of these three countries (covered in a series of fantastic museums). Very pleased indeed to have visited these three countries.
Confirmed traveller: 08 July 2017
Published on: 12 July 2017
(10 out of 10)

Jill

Bemidji, MN USA
This was a wonderful trip, moderately paced compared to many Explore trips, some of the key cities needed more time allotted. But overall a wonderful experience.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 03 June 2017
Published on: 12 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

Marie-Jeanne

Dorchester
So many highlights! The capitals were all beautiful but also were Tartu, Saaremaa and the Curonian Spit. Our guide Simonas was amazing and brought the countries'folklore to life with his tales,myths and singing.
Some hotels were well situated and well appointed,others not so at all: Amberton hotel in Klaipeda, Panorama hotel in Vilnius( too far from centre and too touristic).
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 03 June 2017
Published on: 10 June 2017