It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
627 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Historic Baltic Republics HB

Trip Duration 15 Days
 

Reviews for Historic Baltic Republics

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Historic Baltic Republics trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Historic Baltic Republics reviews verified by Reevoo

47 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Historic Baltic RepublicsScores 8.4 out of 10 based on 47 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Elizabeth

Aylesbury
Excellent tour and appreciated the historical detail. We benefitted from having an extra day in Tallinn at the start. Really would like to thank the guide for organising a trip to the ballet in Riga. Would have liked to hear the folk singing as it plays such a part in the culture of these countries.
Confirmed traveller: 17 September 2016
Published on: 27 September 2016
(9 out of 10)

John

Birmingham, UK
I really enjoyed this trip. The itinerary was ideal for me, taking us to all the key towns and sights, and including a good mix of group and free time. The tour leader was excellent - everything was organised seamlessly, and she was very knowledgable and provided good commentaries on all aspects of the history, culture and sights of the region. The only negative feature for me was the quality of the hotels, which (with two exceptions) were more basic and/or inconveniently located than I would normally stay at.
Confirmed traveller: 10 September 2016
Published on: 24 September 2016
(10 out of 10)

Anna

Halifax
Excellent, friendly, experienced and knowledgable leader. Well planned and interesting itinerary.
One problem was the hotel at Riga. The fire escape plan in our room (and presumably all the others on that floor) showed 2 escape routes, but one was locked. The receptionist acknowledged it but declined to unlock it. The open fire escape route also had 2 of 3 lights out of action. Despite reporting it on Friday there was no change by the Sunday when we left. The clear deficiencies in staff training and attitude are positively dangerous. The location is not great either, as it is a long walk from the centre. There ought to be something better between the centre and the Art Nouveau area.
Confirmed traveller: 03 September 2016
Published on: 26 September 2016
(6 out of 10)

Kai-Font

HONG KONG
The pace is a bit too slow. A lot of free time but not much to do or see.
Confirmed traveller: 27 August 2016
Published on: 15 September 2016
(8 out of 10)

Karen

Preston, Lancashire
Enjoyable and busy. There is a lot of walking as all the hotels were way out of town or city centres. We thought 3 days in Riga was too much and this was the worst hotel. Hotel Tia. The tour notes are inaccurate on the issue of cost for food and drink. Double it and you will be closer to the mark. The itinerary is interesting and we learnt a lot about the history and culture of the 3 countries. Take enough clothes with you as getting items laundered isn't possible.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 20 August 2016
Published on: 01 September 2016
(10 out of 10)

Julia

Cardiff
This was a hugely enjoyable trip and a must for anyone interested in beautiful architecture and fascinating history.
Confirmed traveller: 06 August 2016
Published on: 01 September 2016
(9 out of 10)

Susan

Waikanae New Zealand
Our guide was excellent she made the trip and nothing was too much trouble
Her knowledge as a local was great and she had many experiences and stories to share
Well done for employing a guide who has spent her life in the area
Confirmed traveller: 30 July 2016
Published on: 25 August 2016
(9 out of 10)

Pamela

Milton Keynes
A good balance of itinery and free time.
It would have been good to have been informed there was no food provided by Fin Air - this was chargeable only.
Other members of the group had been offered a snack - also Fin Air.
Can this please be investigated.
Good choice of restaurants for all 'group' meals, and good advice for meal options during free time.
Also, good level of information as to actual content in museums, art galleries, etc. which allowed one to make an informed decision.
Confirmed traveller: 23 July 2016
Published on: 03 September 2016
(10 out of 10)

John

Cheltenham
The tour leader and local guides gave us a fascinating introduction to the history and culture of the three capital cities and the other towns we visited on the tour. The Curonian Spit was also a highlight of the trip.
We had many interesting stops along the journeys between locations and it never felt like we were spending a lot of time on the road.
The food was excellent and we were guided to good - and good value - restaurants away from the tourist traps for both group and individual meals. We even had a group lunch in the Riga market, with our leader Vilma getting a variety of very local produce from the stalls for us to share.
Vilma was a really exceptional leader, with limitless knowledge, unfailing good humour, constant consideration for all the members of the group, and outstanding management of time - we were never either hurried or left with 'dead' time.
Confirmed traveller: 23 July 2016
Published on: 30 August 2016
(8 out of 10)

Gerry

Whitley Bay
Lots to see and do
Sufficient free time outside of organised tours
Several of the places visited incurred additional charges for entrance, which we feel should have been included in the tour price paid eg Bishop's Palace, Koguva Museum Muhu
Accommodation was more basic than we expected, and in the main cities were too far from the centres
The Tour Leader, as is often the case, makes the Tour!
Confirmed traveller: 23 July 2016
Published on: 09 August 2016