It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
603 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Read reviews

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Historic Baltic Republics HB

Tour Duration 15 Days
 
Reviews for Historic Baltic Republics

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Historic Baltic Republics tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Historic Baltic Republics reviews verified by Reevoo

28 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Historic Baltic RepublicsScores 8.1 out of 10 based on 28 reviews
(6 out of 10)

Sally

really enjoyed tallinn. would recommend care taken against pickpockets around the station and market area of riga.
Confirmed traveller: 25 July 2015
Published on: 14 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Art Deco Buildings in Riga were an unexpected pleasure. The Curonian Spit was a delightful area as was Kuressare on Saaremaasimona was excellent giving strong background on the varying countries from her own Lithuanian background.(We also had local guided tours in the towns in the other countries) She enlivened our longish transits in fairly unexciting countryside by highlighting differences between the countries and other stories.
Confirmed traveller: 15 September 2014
Published on: 07 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Fairytale walled cities, beautiful art nouveau Riga, serene islands, endless forests and fascinating folk traditions. Discovering all of this in the beautiful Baltic Republics was a joy. But in a different way the most memorable thing about the trip was learning about these countries journeys to nationhood and independence and the grim reality of life under Soviet rule. A fascinating and memorable trip in so many ways.Amazing. She looked after the group beautifully and was an endless font of knowledge about all the places we visited. We did speculate that her luggage was entirely filled with useful books, as she always seemed to have a new one for each place we visited.
Confirmed traveller: 02 September 2014
Published on: 07 November 2015
(8 out of 10)

Elizabeth

DeKalb, Illinois, USA
Excellent mix of group time and free time, of large cities and smaller communities. Simona is an outstanding guide, both knowledgeable and thoughtful, educating us and taking care of us. We went a few days early to Tallin and stayed on a few days in Vilnius and highly recommend doing that since there is much to see and to in these two very different places.
Confirmed traveller: 13 June 2015
Published on: 07 October 2015
(7 out of 10)

John

Plymouth
Riga was extremely interesting. We enjoyed the architecture. The tour was well managed, and I might consider going back.
Confirmed traveller: 26 September 2015
Published on: 06 October 2015
(8 out of 10)

Peter

Carlisle
The pace of the trip was too slow at times. I need not have taken a night at Amsterdam as in reality the tour did not start until Sunday morning expect for a group meeting at the hotel in Tallin on Sunday evening. The last members of the group did not join us until after lunch on Sunday. The last member of the group was Karen who came from another of your trips in Poland and Belarous. This was an omen she was late for every occasion all tour and always off the pace somewhere else leaving everyone waiting for her.

The similar background and history of the three countries meant that there was a lot of repetition by our own guide(she read a lot of her information) and the local guides who varied for the excellent to dire.

The Crater and Windmills were a non event and we saw a lot of stage set castles

The Art Nouveau buildings were a revelation and I had just come back from Prague

I was not expecting the power and affect of the hill of crosses. You can see the National relevance of hill.

Also the impact of the history of occupation and the suffering of the States over the last 100 years.

The following is is a personal view and may be my fault and you can do little about the problem. The composition of the group was unfortunate. There were five mature women of a very different backgrounds all well travelled , Two very pleasant couples, one from leek and one from New Zealand who got on well and formed there own group, I was left as the only single man and spent a lot of my time by myself which coloured my view of the tour. This to an extent was my problem as I choose not to join the female group one of which I found very irritating.
0 of 3 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 05 September 2015
Published on: 03 October 2015
(9 out of 10)

Anne

Chester
We enjoyed the three capital cities and learning about the differences between the three countries. The towns and places we visited along the way were also interesting. Loved the beer!
Confirmed traveller: 25 July 2015
Published on: 01 October 2015