It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
646 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Historic Baltic Republics HB

Trip Duration 15 Days
 

Reviews for Historic Baltic Republics

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Historic Baltic Republics trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Historic Baltic Republics reviews verified by reevooReevoo

54 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Historic Baltic RepublicsScores 8.5 out of 10 based on 54 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Ting

Eastbourne
Excellent holiday: perfect balance between group and free time; moderately paced tour (as opposed to our usual full on trips); good mix of urban/rural/coastal locations; well informed and informative tour leader; fascinating history (hearing about lives and experiences of local guides was often very thought-provoking); varied and beautiful architecture; lovely museums, especially in Riga; good value overall; just be aware that tourist season is already ending by early September on coast - eg Bishop's Palace on Saaremaa was closed on Tuesday - only day we had to visit it!
Confirmed traveller: 24 September 2016
Published on: 05 December 2016
(9 out of 10)

Alastair

Hampshire
A super two weeks which seemed like much longer because we saw and learned so much about these three very different countries. And unusually for Explore we never left a hotel before nine in the morning! We had a super bunch of fellow travellers who melded immediately and in Tauno a very erudite tour leader with a sense of humour that matched the group's. We were blessed with exceptionally good weather - an 'old lady's summer' as one shopkeeper in Estonia told us. Some nice hotels, but the one negative was the Riga one which was on a very busy and noisy street, full of 'boy racers'. Pretty interrupted sleep, I'm afraid. Overall though a very enjoyable tour and most certainly good value for money.
Confirmed traveller: 24 September 2016
Published on: 17 October 2016
(8 out of 10)

Brian

Nice mix of organised tours and personal free time. Variety of city based and the more leisurely Island life. Good food and standard of hotels at each stage of the journey.

The Riga and Vilnius hotels are quite a walk from the old cities.

Some of the city walking tours e.g. the Vilnius city walking tour, which lasted 5 hours needed an organised coffee break part way through or shorten the duration.

For me two days would have been more than enough to spend in Riga as opposed to three days. I would also have liked to see the tour run in the reverse direction, starting in Vilnius and ending in Tallinn. This would have given the opportunity to end the tour with the more relaxed pace of Saaremaa and what I felt was the most attractive of the three Baltic capitals.

Very good guide in Tauno. Enthusiastic, knowledgeable and very beneficially multi linguistic in all three Baltic countries languages.
Confirmed traveller: 24 September 2016
Published on: 04 October 2016
(9 out of 10)

Gail

Newcastle
An enjoyable introduction to the Baltic States with a good balance of organised tour and free time. We were lucky that the weather was good during the trip as this compensated for the number of Churches, museums and other sites that were closed, including the Bishop's Palace in Kuresaare - mid-September is the end of the holiday season. Most hotels are in a good location for independent exploration, except for Vilnius, which was quite a hike from the old town, though local transport and taxis are available.
Confirmed traveller: 24 September 2016
Published on: 28 September 2016
(9 out of 10)

Elizabeth

Aylesbury
Excellent tour and appreciated the historical detail. We benefitted from having an extra day in Tallinn at the start. Really would like to thank the guide for organising a trip to the ballet in Riga. Would have liked to hear the folk singing as it plays such a part in the culture of these countries.
Confirmed traveller: 17 September 2016
Published on: 27 September 2016
(9 out of 10)

John

Birmingham, UK
I really enjoyed this trip. The itinerary was ideal for me, taking us to all the key towns and sights, and including a good mix of group and free time. The tour leader was excellent - everything was organised seamlessly, and she was very knowledgable and provided good commentaries on all aspects of the history, culture and sights of the region. The only negative feature for me was the quality of the hotels, which (with two exceptions) were more basic and/or inconveniently located than I would normally stay at.
Confirmed traveller: 10 September 2016
Published on: 24 September 2016
(10 out of 10)

Anna

Halifax
Excellent, friendly, experienced and knowledgable leader. Well planned and interesting itinerary.
One problem was the hotel at Riga. The fire escape plan in our room (and presumably all the others on that floor) showed 2 escape routes, but one was locked. The receptionist acknowledged it but declined to unlock it. The open fire escape route also had 2 of 3 lights out of action. Despite reporting it on Friday there was no change by the Sunday when we left. The clear deficiencies in staff training and attitude are positively dangerous. The location is not great either, as it is a long walk from the centre. There ought to be something better between the centre and the Art Nouveau area.
Confirmed traveller: 03 September 2016
Published on: 26 September 2016
(8 out of 10)

Irene

Exeter
Very good introduction to the history culture and political struggle of the 3 states All the old towns have great architectural styles and charm well explained by the enthusiastic and very knowledgable local guides who linked the political influences with the changing uses of many famous bioldings
Be prepared for lots of walking and steps, there is so. Uch to see and do in each city/town Tartu was my favourite closely followed by Tallin. The tour guide was very informative,totally proficient in all 3 languages and passionate about the history and the struggles for independence over the past years
The hotel in Riga was too far away from the old town to go back to during the day (takes 1/2 hour at least and very dark at night if returning as a single woman alone) and was rather run down not the best place to spend 3 nights at. The last hotel in Vilnuis was also rather far out of town to walk back to during the day so be prepared to stay out for 12 hours if you want to eat in the old towns
Tips: Take a map with you so you can see where you are travelling and how the surrounding states effect and influence the changing borders during the past historical and political upheavals
An umbrella is a must, the weather is very unpredictable
Confirmed traveller: 27 August 2016
Published on: 08 October 2016
(6 out of 10)

Kai-Font

HONG KONG
The pace is a bit too slow. A lot of free time but not much to do or see.
Confirmed traveller: 27 August 2016
Published on: 15 September 2016
(8 out of 10)

Karen

Preston, Lancashire
Enjoyable and busy. There is a lot of walking as all the hotels were way out of town or city centres. We thought 3 days in Riga was too much and this was the worst hotel. Hotel Tia. The tour notes are inaccurate on the issue of cost for food and drink. Double it and you will be closer to the mark. The itinerary is interesting and we learnt a lot about the history and culture of the 3 countries. Take enough clothes with you as getting items laundered isn't possible.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 20 August 2016
Published on: 01 September 2016