It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
619 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Historic Baltic Republics HB

Trip Duration 15 Days
 

Reviews for Historic Baltic Republics

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Historic Baltic Republics trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Historic Baltic Republics reviews verified by reevooReevoo

62 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Historic Baltic RepublicsScores 8.5 out of 10 based on 62 reviews
(3 out of 10)

Jane

London
This was my first trip with Explore, who had been recommended by former travelling companions. It may well be my last, as it was below expectation. The best feature was the itinerary which provided comprehensive coverage of the Baltic Republics and was one of the reasons I selected Explore.
The hotel accommodation was average in terms of rooms etc, but in 2 instances (Riga and Vilnius) was located some way from the old part of each city (just what you'd come to see ) and in the case of Riga was located in a decidedly dodgy part of the city, as a consequence and because I was travelling on my own I had to use taxis a lot. Fellow travellers who were Explore veterans explained this was Explore's policy in order to keep costs low. Personally, I'd have been happy to pay more for better located hotels.
Our guide/tour leader was extremely knowledgeable and tried to be helpful, but sadly lacked the social skills needed to be a successful tour leader. He also remarked to me that he liked this tour because it gave us (Explore clients) more free time than trips with other companies he'd worked for and as a consequence he had more free time!
Confirmed traveller: 08 July 2017
Published on: 13 July 2017

Thank you for your feedback Jane, I’m sorry that you were disappointed with the trip, especially as it was your first experience with us. Hotels located in the centre of town are more expensive, which is why we tend to choose accommodation that is just outside town, but still usually within walking distance. We also tend to find that there is better quality accommodation outside of town. Tauno has been leading our trips for just over a year and he usually receives great feedback from our customers, so it’s a shame to hear he didn’t meet the standards you were expecting on this occasion. We’ll continue to monitor the feedback we receive over the next season and make improvements if necessary. I’m glad to hear that, despite this, you did enjoy the itinerary.

(9 out of 10)

Paul

Kent
Overall, a great itinerary, taking in very many places off the beaten track, with plenty of contrasts in mostly very reasonable weather during very long daylight hours. Personal highlights were the attractive, laid-back towns of Tartu and Kaunas, the relaxed coastal areas on Saaremaa and the Curonian Spit, and the three capital cities, plus the recent histories of these three countries (covered in a series of fantastic museums). Very pleased indeed to have visited these three countries.
Confirmed traveller: 08 July 2017
Published on: 12 July 2017
(10 out of 10)

Jill

Bemidji, MN USA
This was a wonderful trip, moderately paced compared to many Explore trips, some of the key cities needed more time allotted. But overall a wonderful experience.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 03 June 2017
Published on: 12 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

Marie-Jeanne

Dorchester
So many highlights! The capitals were all beautiful but also were Tartu, Saaremaa and the Curonian Spit. Our guide Simonas was amazing and brought the countries'folklore to life with his tales,myths and singing.
Some hotels were well situated and well appointed,others not so at all: Amberton hotel in Klaipeda, Panorama hotel in Vilnius( too far from centre and too touristic).
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 03 June 2017
Published on: 10 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

Linda

New Malden
A wonderful trip - full of variety: featuring walled mediaeval cities, small island communities, windswept sand dunes, dark KGB museums, castles, cathedrals and monasteries. We learned so much about the terrible history of these three countries from the various tour guides. Simonas, our Tour Leader, was probably the best Tour Leader we have ever had. Simonas, a folk singer himself, introduced us to Baltic folk music, even taking us to a popular folk club in Riga. He also sang us many folk songs - we were mesmerized. My one gripe was that the hotel in Riga (Hotel Hanza) was too far away from the town centre in a quite seedy area (very run-down building, lots of shouting in the streets at night and drunks unconscious on the street etc), and there were no restaurants or bars nearby. If Explore changed this hotel to one nearer the town centre, then this would be a perfect trip.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 03 June 2017
Published on: 09 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

Ting

Eastbourne
Excellent holiday: perfect balance between group and free time; moderately paced tour (as opposed to our usual full on trips); good mix of urban/rural/coastal locations; well informed and informative tour leader; fascinating history (hearing about lives and experiences of local guides was often very thought-provoking); varied and beautiful architecture; lovely museums, especially in Riga; good value overall; just be aware that tourist season is already ending by early September on coast - eg Bishop's Palace on Saaremaa was closed on Tuesday - only day we had to visit it!
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 24 September 2016
Published on: 05 December 2016
(9 out of 10)

Alastair

Hampshire
A super two weeks which seemed like much longer because we saw and learned so much about these three very different countries. And unusually for Explore we never left a hotel before nine in the morning! We had a super bunch of fellow travellers who melded immediately and in Tauno a very erudite tour leader with a sense of humour that matched the group's. We were blessed with exceptionally good weather - an 'old lady's summer' as one shopkeeper in Estonia told us. Some nice hotels, but the one negative was the Riga one which was on a very busy and noisy street, full of 'boy racers'. Pretty interrupted sleep, I'm afraid. Overall though a very enjoyable tour and most certainly good value for money.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 24 September 2016
Published on: 17 October 2016
(8 out of 10)

Brian

Nice mix of organised tours and personal free time. Variety of city based and the more leisurely Island life. Good food and standard of hotels at each stage of the journey.

The Riga and Vilnius hotels are quite a walk from the old cities.

Some of the city walking tours e.g. the Vilnius city walking tour, which lasted 5 hours needed an organised coffee break part way through or shorten the duration.

For me two days would have been more than enough to spend in Riga as opposed to three days. I would also have liked to see the tour run in the reverse direction, starting in Vilnius and ending in Tallinn. This would have given the opportunity to end the tour with the more relaxed pace of Saaremaa and what I felt was the most attractive of the three Baltic capitals.

Very good guide in Tauno. Enthusiastic, knowledgeable and very beneficially multi linguistic in all three Baltic countries languages.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 24 September 2016
Published on: 04 October 2016
(9 out of 10)

Gail

Newcastle
An enjoyable introduction to the Baltic States with a good balance of organised tour and free time. We were lucky that the weather was good during the trip as this compensated for the number of Churches, museums and other sites that were closed, including the Bishop's Palace in Kuresaare - mid-September is the end of the holiday season. Most hotels are in a good location for independent exploration, except for Vilnius, which was quite a hike from the old town, though local transport and taxis are available.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 24 September 2016
Published on: 28 September 2016
(9 out of 10)

Elizabeth

Aylesbury
Excellent tour and appreciated the historical detail. We benefitted from having an extra day in Tallinn at the start. Really would like to thank the guide for organising a trip to the ballet in Riga. Would have liked to hear the folk singing as it plays such a part in the culture of these countries.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 17 September 2016
Published on: 27 September 2016