It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
626 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Historic Baltic Republics HB

Trip Duration 15 Days
 

Reviews for Historic Baltic Republics

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Historic Baltic Republics trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Historic Baltic Republics reviews verified by reevooReevoo

77 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Historic Baltic RepublicsScores 8.6 out of 10 based on 77 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Julie

Dorset
A good tour at a relaxed pace for an Explore trip. The highlights for me were Rundale Palace, Saaremaa island (very peaceful) & Curonian Spit. The old towns of Riga, Tallinn and Vilnius were lovely and well worth a visit.
Confirmed traveller: 02 September 2017
Published on: 12 September 2017
(9 out of 10)

Anne

Buckhurst Hill
The tour met expectations in relation to the itinerary. There were some places where it would have been good to spend more time and but wouldn't have wanted anything taken out. Difficult to identify particular highlights as everyday was interesting, Saaremaa Island was so peaceful, Cessis castle well worth spending time exploring and Rundale Palace beautiful. Would suggest staying an extra day in Vilnius to have the opportunity to see everything there.Tour leader Vilma really excellent, keen to share her knowledge and nothing was too much trouble, explaining local customs/culture and offering opportunity to try local food and drink.
Confirmed traveller: 02 September 2017
Published on: 10 September 2017
(9 out of 10)

Catherine

Washington, DC, USA
We found this to be a marvelous exploration of the Baltics, which was well-led by an able, enthusiastic, and skilled leader. Estonia was our favorite of the three countries, with both ancient and modern attractions, amazing history, and wonderful scenery. The group was friendly, entertaining, and helpful. For meals other than breakfast the leader would generally reserve tables for dinner at an interesting local restaurant, and most of the group enjoyed eating together, and for lunch we usually wandered off on our own after a morning tour, unless it was a rare bus trip day when the bus would leave the group at a cafeteria for a quick lunch. There were no forced shopping stops, but many free afternoons when shopping was one of many options suggested.
Confirmed traveller: 02 September 2017
Published on: 09 September 2017
(8 out of 10)

George

The tour was a good mix of guided tours and free time to follow one's own interests especially in the towns and cities that we visited. Our time spent on the Curonian spit in Lithuania and the Estonian islands were one of my highlights and a much needed contrast to the pavements of the urban areas which were also of course enjoyed very much. Simon our guide was great.
Confirmed traveller: 19 August 2017
Published on: 29 August 2017
(9 out of 10)

Valerie

Layton, UT
Even though this is not listed as a walking tour, I did quite a bit of walking. I enjoyed seeing the architecture of the cities where we stayed. The bus travel was broken up by visiting interesting castles, churches, and palaces. There was quite a bit of free time for exploring cities on your own. Our guide Simon was excellent, and added to our ambiance by singing in several locations.

My highlight was renting a bicycle and biking 40 k when we were on the island of Kuressare.

What was not good were the accommodations. It was hot during the entire two weeks of our trip. We only had one night of air conditioning in the hotels. Fans were not provided, so it was very uncomfortable in the rooms and difficult to get any sleep. I recommend you not book this trip during hot summer months.
Confirmed traveller: 19 August 2017
Published on: 25 August 2017
(9 out of 10)

Nigel

Newport Wales
The Historic Baltics trip is a cultural journey through 3 countries which have seen much turmoil and hard times during occupation and wars. The capital cities contain a wealth of ornate and interesting buildings and a difficult choice is which combination of museums, churches and coffee shops to visit in your free time.

However I also enjoyed the rural aspects of the trip; the working windmills, open air museum and time on the island of Saaremaa gave a sample of traditional Estonian life at a slower pace. The sculptures at the Hill of Witches were a highlight for me with the legends explained by our guide Egle in an entertaining manner.

I really enjoyed the castles and palace although I found the castles really needed more time allocated to see the many interesting exhibits and garden trails.

The 3 hour tours in my opinion would be better in two halves with a coffee stop in the middle . I would have enjoyed and assimilated the last part of the tour much more with a rested back!

The meals in the cities especially Tallinn were more expensive than I expected although the range and quality of food was good. I appreciated the range of restaurants suggested by Egle to give a rounded experience of Baltic cuisine and the company of fellow group members.

The hotels were varied in their strengths and shortcomings my favourites being the lovely period hotel in Kaunas and the stadium hotel on the island. Most of the hotel rooms were too hot and needed either air conditioning or a fan. You either had a noisy disturbed sleep with an open window or a very stuffy warm room.

I felt safe on this trip and comfortable walking around on my own or in a small group. Most places were quite easy to navigate, Riga being a larger city being more challenging.

I would recommend the optional visit to the museum of Ciurlionis in Kaunas if you like classical music and surreal art. The KGB and Gestapo cells and museum in Vilnius tells a sombre story of repression and cruelty in previous generations and is a much more worthwhile visit than the top floor of the hotel in Tallinn.

I would also thoroughly recommend the optional visit to the resort of Jurmala in Latvia. As well as its fabulous beach I enjoyed seeing the elegant and individually designed villas as well as the museum of seaside holidays over the years.

The transport was comfortable and the drivers pleasant and competent. Staying awake on the minibus however was often a considerable challenge!

I enjoyed the trip very much and feel I have a realistic insight into these 3 interesting and culturally rich states. I found Egle an extremely informative and organised guide who took us to several places in the free time slots if a group of us wanted to go together.
Confirmed traveller: 05 August 2017
Published on: 17 August 2017
(10 out of 10)

Paul

Istanbul
The tour was aptly named and our guide was ideally suited to give us an overview of the Baltics. She was extremely well-prepared and also followed up on any questions if she wasn't exactly sure of specific information. Her own personal experience also added to the impression we gained of recent history in the Baltics. Highlights included the three capitals, several castles (Rundale being extraordinary, the island one at Trakai also being very ideally located) and nature e.g. at the Curonian Spit. "Resort" towns such as Jurmala and Parnu were also lovely to see. Overall an excellent introduction to a beautiful part of the world.
Confirmed traveller: 05 August 2017
Published on: 10 August 2017
(10 out of 10)

Mary

Houston Tx
The tour was one of the best I have ever been on. Our tour director Egla was so knowledgeable and interesting. A wonderful person. She was so caring and went out of her way to give us the best experience on our tour. The tour was priced right. We experienced so much and visited a mix of interesting places. We had just the right amount of free time to Explore on our own too. The hotel rooms were comfortable and most were not far from the city centers. Egla made sure each day to point out restaurants that had very good food. She gave us information on things to do in our free time. This was very helpful.
The itenary was well thought out. I will definitely recommend this tour to my friends.
Confirmed traveller: 05 August 2017
Published on: 09 August 2017
(10 out of 10)

Melinda

Fort Lauderdale, FL
Simon was a fantastic leader and just a wonderful person! His enthusiasm, musical skills, and kindness made the tour memorable! I think the trip needs a few more days added onto the itinerary. Would have enjoyed spending two nights in the Curonian Spit National Park area. Also, the summer time is the perfect time to visit the Baltics because of the outdoor festivals, musical concerts, and handpicked strawberries & mushrooms.
Confirmed traveller: 29 July 2017
Published on: 06 August 2017