It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
619 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Have you considered?

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Holy Land HL

Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Holy Land

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Holy Land trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Holy Land reviews verified by reevooReevoo

26 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Holy LandScores 8.7 out of 10 based on 26 reviews
(10 out of 10)

John

Dublin
This is a very busy trip and as it says in the tour notes, it is Full On. Lots of historical and biblical sites to see. Tour guide, Yaron, was excellent. Some members of the group gave out about the local guide in Jericho, but I found him charming and a breath of fresh air. The hotel in Jerusalem was very good but it would have been preferably if it was based in the old quarter.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 30 April 2017
Published on: 18 May 2017
(7 out of 10)

Karen

Fairfax
This is a busy tour that provides a good overall view of the country. You hit all the top sites, but don't have much time to really explore them. Our guide, Yaron, was an encyclopedia of knowledge. Our Palestinian guide in Bethlehem was very knowledgeable, enthusiastic, and funny. However, our guide in Jericho was kind of a joke. At one point he literally took us to an open water main and told us it was the "Spring of Elija".

The accommodations were good, but we were switched to the Ramada in Jerusalem (which is a very nice hotel), but well away from the old city. Fortunately, there is a tram close by. Most of the meals were in tourist buffet type restaurants, which isn't unusual on these tours.

There were two extra activities listed for this trip (Sound and Light Show at The Tower of David and the Shabat of a Lifetime). Our guide had zero information on these and were told to figure it out on our own. That has NEVER happened before on any of my Explore trips, so I suggest that be fixed. Also, I was disappointed that Yad Vashem was quietly removed from the itinerary just before the trip started. It was listed in all the notes I had and was looking forward to seeing it.

I think this itinerary would benefit greatly from adding another day or two so that we could have had more time in Akko and to wander around the old city.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 30 April 2017
Published on: 04 May 2017
(6 out of 10)

Ingrid

Glasgow
This was a real whistle stop trip and we saw everything on an Israel holiday checklist, which is excellent, but there was absolutely no time to stand and stare, it was a real on the bus off the bus tour and lacked for me those little touches I like Explore for, I don't know maybe tea with the Bedouins in the desert, time to mooch around Akko, something different. I would follow the main itenery again (but add on some more
church free touches to give a bit more variety), and take double the time. 18 is also a bigger group than I am used to. The tour main leader was however excellent, the driver was equally good and his driving and attitude was faultless. The tour guide in Jericho, Ahmed, I don't believe was a tour guide, nice guy but pretty rubbish. Eating places were most often where the rest of the tourist buses ate and lacked imagination. Accommodation in Jerusalem was fine but I would have like to stay somewhere other than a chain and nearer the old city, the other places were good. The visit to the kibitz I really enjoyed. I did enjoy the whole trip but could have easily have enjoyed it more if it wasn't so rushed and packed each day, I would recommend Israel most strongly, but this has sort of put me off group travel for a while.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 30 April 2017
Published on: 03 May 2017
(5 out of 10)

Judith

Langport
Tour guide excellant but Jerusalem part too busy and last day too much churches and crowds which is a shame as most important day for me. Jericho was a waste of a day completely. Could have done with a bit of time out more. Tour guide did pack loads in and certainly earned his wages but sometimes too much to take in .
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 30 April 2017
Published on: 02 May 2017

Thanks for your feedback Judith, I’m sorry that we didn’t rate highly for you on this occasion and that some days of the itinerary were too busy for you. This is a full on trip, which means it is fast paced, packed with experiences and little free time. As I’m sure you can appreciate, Jerusalem is a very popular city and attracts a lot more tourists than the other places we visit on the itinerary. Jericho is also usually a highlight for most, but we have taken note of your feedback.

(9 out of 10)

Irene

Epsom
We got to see so much on this fast-paced trip, which was to be expected given the itinerary. The tour guide, Yaron, was very knowledgeable and spoke excellent English. Change of hotel for Jerusalem to Ramada Inn took us out of the city walls which meant catching a tram in the evening if we wanted to go out. The plus side of this, however, were the three dinners included. There was little down time.
Poor local tour guide in Jericho. It was embarrassing.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 30 April 2017
Published on: 02 May 2017
(10 out of 10)

Loudmila

London
My best holiday so far!
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 13 April 2017
Published on: 15 April 2017
(9 out of 10)

Peter

Redhill, Surrey
It was a most enjoyable and informative trip, with the 14 travellers just the right size of group. The most interesting part for me was the Sea of Gallilee area, the Jordan Valley, seeing the Dead Sea, and the visit to Desada. I didn't enjoy the 'swim' in the Dead Sea as the bottom was very uneven and slippery making entering and leaving the water tortuous. (This is no doubt because the level of the Sea has fallen so much that the original smooth sloping shore, that one can see, is now high and dry). I wasn't particularly enamoured with the Ein Gedi water falls either. It was a lot of climbing for not much to see. Instead of this, and the 'swim' in the Dead Sea, I would have preferred to visit Megido and the Roman town at Beit She'an.

Nevertheless I very much enjoyed the tour, the rest of the group, and the guide, and would certainly recommend it to others, especially if those two changes were made. Early April is obviously a good time to go as the weather was good and, in most places, not too hot yet.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2017
Published on: 16 April 2017
(8 out of 10)

thomas

basel
this tour (holy land) is listed as eight days, but in fact it is only six days. we didn't see much of tel aviv and just two days for jerusalem is way too little. please extend this tour by at least two days: one for tel aviv (to see the white city) and at least one for jerusalem (there are too many sights and wonders for just two days; and this way the wailing wall can be visited on another day than saturday/shabat when no pictures are allowed to be taken)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2017
Published on: 11 April 2017
(9 out of 10)

John

Trowbridge
Liked the Rothschild Hotel in Tel Aviv and the Grand Court Hotel inJerusalem. The two kibbutz stays were interesting, especially the tour, but accommodation is more basic and the food is mediocre. Hadn't realised that the trip would have such a Christian bias - I lost count of the churches we went to. I think that everyone in the group would have liked a more balanced approach with visits to mosques and synagogues - we only visited one of the latter in Jerusalem. The mosque in Acre is beautiful and I would have loved to visit - but no time allocated! Similarly we saw the Bahai gardens but I would have loved to visit the shrine and to have had a short talk on the Bahai faith. Others on the trip ended up asking a Jewish member of the group loads of questions when the guide should really have been covering this. The boat trip on Tiberius was OK but utterly pointless. We liked our two Palestinian guides but they were with us for a very short time and we did not therefore have time to ask them about their experience on living in Israel. Masada was a highlight - excellent in every way with plenty of time. Ein Gedi too was superb. We took ourselves around the Temple Mount on Sunday morning, but we would have learned more if we'd gone with a Palestinian guide. Loved the full-on pace of the trip. Maurice our guide was brilliant and worked flat out to give us a great trip - he is a treasure. Tips - take some dollars.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2017
Published on: 11 April 2017
(10 out of 10)

Priscilla

Trowbridge
This is a wonderful tour with so much to see and learn. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and helpful throughout, giving an unbiased point of view in the face of challenging political issues but avoiding telling the group about religious practices and issues. There was an emphasis on Christian sites that outweighed all others and it would have been nice to have visited at least one synagogue and one mosque, with the chance to ask lots of questions about these religions in the modern day. As it was, the group were forced to asked each other what they knew. None of the advertised options was offered or was available. Highlights of the trip for me were the tour of the kibbutz, Masada and Qumran.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2017
Published on: 11 April 2017