It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
635 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Have you considered?

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Holy Land HL

Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Holy Land

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Holy Land trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Holy Land reviews verified by reevooReevoo

21 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Holy LandScores 9.0 out of 10 based on 21 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Peter

Redhill, Surrey
It was a most enjoyable and informative trip, with the 14 travellers just the right size of group. The most interesting part for me was the Sea of Gallilee area, the Jordan Valley, seeing the Dead Sea, and the visit to Desada. I didn't enjoy the 'swim' in the Dead Sea as the bottom was very uneven and slippery making entering and leaving the water tortuous. (This is no doubt because the level of the Sea has fallen so much that the original smooth sloping shore, that one can see, is now high and dry). I wasn't particularly enamoured with the Ein Gedi water falls either. It was a lot of climbing for not much to see. Instead of this, and the 'swim' in the Dead Sea, I would have preferred to visit Megido and the Roman town at Beit She'an.

Nevertheless I very much enjoyed the tour, the rest of the group, and the guide, and would certainly recommend it to others, especially if those two changes were made. Early April is obviously a good time to go as the weather was good and, in most places, not too hot yet.
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2017
Published on: 16 April 2017
(8 out of 10)

thomas

basel
this tour (holy land) is listed as eight days, but in fact it is only six days. we didn't see much of tel aviv and just two days for jerusalem is way too little. please extend this tour by at least two days: one for tel aviv (to see the white city) and at least one for jerusalem (there are too many sights and wonders for just two days; and this way the wailing wall can be visited on another day than saturday/shabat when no pictures are allowed to be taken)
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2017
Published on: 11 April 2017
(9 out of 10)

John

Trowbridge
Liked the Rothschild Hotel in Tel Aviv and the Grand Court Hotel inJerusalem. The two kibbutz stays were interesting, especially the tour, but accommodation is more basic and the food is mediocre. Hadn't realised that the trip would have such a Christian bias - I lost count of the churches we went to. I think that everyone in the group would have liked a more balanced approach with visits to mosques and synagogues - we only visited one of the latter in Jerusalem. The mosque in Acre is beautiful and I would have loved to visit - but no time allocated! Similarly we saw the Bahai gardens but I would have loved to visit the shrine and to have had a short talk on the Bahai faith. Others on the trip ended up asking a Jewish member of the group loads of questions when the guide should really have been covering this. The boat trip on Tiberius was OK but utterly pointless. We liked our two Palestinian guides but they were with us for a very short time and we did not therefore have time to ask them about their experience on living in Israel. Masada was a highlight - excellent in every way with plenty of time. Ein Gedi too was superb. We took ourselves around the Temple Mount on Sunday morning, but we would have learned more if we'd gone with a Palestinian guide. Loved the full-on pace of the trip. Maurice our guide was brilliant and worked flat out to give us a great trip - he is a treasure. Tips - take some dollars.
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2017
Published on: 11 April 2017
(10 out of 10)

Priscilla

Trowbridge
This is a wonderful tour with so much to see and learn. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and helpful throughout, giving an unbiased point of view in the face of challenging political issues but avoiding telling the group about religious practices and issues. There was an emphasis on Christian sites that outweighed all others and it would have been nice to have visited at least one synagogue and one mosque, with the chance to ask lots of questions about these religions in the modern day. As it was, the group were forced to asked each other what they knew. None of the advertised options was offered or was available. Highlights of the trip for me were the tour of the kibbutz, Masada and Qumran.
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2017
Published on: 11 April 2017
(9 out of 10)

Jean

Guildford
Overall an excellent tour, jam packed full of a variety of visits every day. However Israel is full of tourists many of them from the USA, so many of the biblical sites are very crowded. Exceptions were the Ein Gedi National Park and Jericho. We enjoyed staying on the Kibbutzes, with good accommodation; but were disappointed with the cramped Post Hostel in Jerusalem. Although this had the advantage of being in Central Jerusalem and near both the Jaffa Gate to the Old City and a choice of restaurants.
Everything is very expensive in Israel including food although the portion sizes are generally very large. The tap water is safe to drink and gave us no problems at all. If you are flying out with Easyjet - buy a meal deal at the airport - its almost half the price.
Confirmed traveller: 31 October 2016
Published on: 05 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Nicholas

Warks
This is a full-on tour but covers everything and does it very well. I wouldn't add anything. We didn't do any of the options - there wasn't enough people interested. Power plugs outside of main cities are two pin European ones. Comfy shoes - there is a lot of walking. Plenty of photo ops - bring lots of memory cards. Wifi is available more or less everywhere (at least all of the hotels). Best to change money in the Money Changing kiosks - they are all over the place. Better rates than the bank ATMs. To get the most out of the tour, would suggest you doing a little revision on Holy Land history and New Testament bible. It will help you process the tsunami of facts and information. Fantastic tour. I would recommend it.
Confirmed traveller: 30 October 2016
Published on: 05 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Elizabeth

Sheffield
This is a very busy tour and gives an excellent introduction to Israel and some areas of the West Bank. The travelling is broken up by visits along the way which were interesting and informative. I would have liked to have spent a little more time in some places and maybe too much was packed in to too short a space of time. However I felt like I had been away for more than a week and my head is full of sights and sounds which have given me a lot of pleasure. My favourite experiences were the different sites around the Sea of Galilee and the visit to Ein Gedi and Masada near the Dead Sea. I enjoyed the two stays in the kibbutzim and thought this was a must on any visit to Israel. There was a lot to see in Jerusalem and I was a bit disappointed that there was no time to see the Temple Mount. I was overwhelmed by the number of churches we visited however I enjoyed quite a lot of them. I would have liked to have spent a bit more time in the souks but I was too tired. I was very impressed with Yad Vashem and found it very moving. I'd recommend anyone to visit. Regarding food, I thought my best meals were fish and chips from the Galilee and at an arab restaurant in Nazareth and in Bethlehem. I didn't think we experienced the best of Israeli cuisine. On the whole food was ok but nothing special. I thought the food and drink prices were expensive in Israel, something to take into account when budgeting for your trip. Accommodation on the trip was standard but comfortable and clean. Our guide on the trip was very knowledgeable and approachable and delivered an outstanding tour.
Confirmed traveller: 30 October 2016
Published on: 02 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Lesley

London
This is a full on tour, with little time for free time, but so much ground is covered in one week it is worth losing out on free time. Every day was a highlight as there was so much variety on the tour, from visiting all the fascinating Bible sites of Nazareth, Caesarea, Capernum, the Sea of Galilee, Bethlehem, Jerusalem , to visiting Crusader churches and fortifications, to staying on a kibbutz and visiting the outstanding ancient Jewish fortress of Masada. And having a dip in the Dead Sea, of course!
Our tour guide Khalil could not have been bettered. He was so knowledgeable about the Holy Land and was a great communicator. He endeavoured to make each day the best it could be for us.
Confirmed traveller: 03 April 2016
Published on: 16 April 2016