It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
606 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Have you considered?

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Read reviews

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Icelandic Escapades IA

Visiting: Iceland
Tour Duration 4 Days
 
Reviews for Icelandic Escapades

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Icelandic Escapades tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Icelandic Escapades reviews verified by Reevoo

22 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Icelandic EscapadesScores 8.9 out of 10 based on 22 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Dawn

worthing sussex
The day excursions were very good but unfortunately that was it. No trips planned for the following day and half. Nothing opened or was available on Sunday morning until 11.0am so could not use the morning for any trips as the flight was not until the afternoon, therefore that day was wasted.
So this is why I would not recommend this trip because it is not in my opinion good value for the cost of the holiday. Explores impute was only for one day!!







t
Confirmed traveller: 17 January 2016
Published on: 21 January 2016
(8 out of 10)

Amanda

Blandford Forum
Trip highlights were The Golden Circle Tour, the Secret Lagoon and the optional Horse Riding excursion.

I would advise anyone booking this tour to check when they book if there are any known changes to the itinerary. One of the main reasons I booked was to visit the Blue Lagoon, and then almost immediately after booking (and paying) I was contacted and told it was closed for refurbishment. I was initially disappointed but the Secret Lagoon more than made up for it luckily.

I also really wanted to try to see whales on the optional excursion, but I missed the opportunity due to incorrect advice by the tour leader.

It is also worth highlighting that the Tour Guide will not be with you for the whole trip - we didn't see ours on the final two days at all.
Confirmed traveller: 17 January 2016
Published on: 21 January 2016
(10 out of 10)

Tina

Kent
Everything was so beautiful and we were all well looked after.

This was my first trip travelling alone so I was very nervous and didn't know what to expect, but quickly became friends with fellow travellers and there was nothing to worry about!
Would definitely recommend this trip for a first time traveller as it was short enough to build up confidence but busy enough to see the most amazing sights!

I would also recommend the super jeep excursion it was so much fun and ended up in the most incredible places that you wouldn't normally get to see if you wasn't with a tour group!

I'm ready to book my next explore trip really soon as I have major holiday blues now, and I have caught the travel bug!
Confirmed traveller: 17 January 2016
Published on: 20 January 2016
(5 out of 10)

Suzanne

Highlight was the blue lagoon. The hotel was lovely but unfortunately it was not centrally located. It would have been helpful to understand in advance how changeable the weather is. On such a short trip you need to be very lucky with the weather. It's hard to see sights during a snow storm.
Confirmed traveller: 02 January 2016
Published on: 11 January 2016

While we’re delighted to read your positive comments, we’re disappointed you weren’t aware of the average weather conditions. We know how important this information is for our customers, so we do note in your trip notes that the weather can vary depending on the time of year. We also highlight that winter is the coldest time of year and rain, sleet or snow is to be expected at any time.

(9 out of 10)

Mandy

London
Iceland is a fantastic country, great scenery and restaurants.
The majority of the guests were travelling solo, so even though we did not have an Explore leader to arrange meals out or provide an orientation of Reykjavik, we all had a great time.
Confirmed traveller: 01 November 2015
Published on: 09 December 2015
(10 out of 10)

Lisa

Tour guides were fab! Very informative and genuinely excited with you at the tremendous sights seen.
Hotel - great location & very cosy. Staff great to deal with
Super jeep definitely worth doing.
Fab trip all round. Will revisit Iceland and will use Explore again!
Confirmed traveller: 22 November 2015
Published on: 25 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Bathing in the Blue Lagoon straight after leaving the airport. The place had a very relaxing atmosphere, even more so as it was unexpected. A perfect way to start a holiday and wash away any stresses. I was tempted to go back on the last day but I didn't want to make additional transport arrangements. The local rep was friendly and informative with regards to Iceland's history, geography and culture. She was efficient in dispensing practical tips too. The restaurant she recommended (Askur) very close to the hotel was a great choice and she also got the driver to detour through downtown Reykjavik on the way to the hotel on the first day, to give us an overview of the city and an idea of orientation.
Confirmed traveller: 21 January 2014
Published on: 07 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Dress in layers. Spend as much time as the tour allows in the centre of Reykjavik - it is a charming and well-preserved city with good restaurants, interesting shops, a busy harbour and some incredible architecture.
Confirmed traveller: 03 January 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

It snowed non-stop and it was wonderful. Seeing Iceland in the snow and cold was just what I had hoped for. Only downside was that we couldn't see the Northern Lights because of the thick cloud! The Blue Lagoon was amazing! It snowed whilst we were in there and there is even a bar in the middle. Wonderful experience! Gullfoss and the whole of the Golden Circle day was amazing, the scenery was outstanding. We did whale watching on our free day - unfortunately we didn't see any (only a 75% chance in winter) but they gave us a free voucher to go back and use again within 2 years. Gives us an excuse to go in another season!Knowledgeable, friendly (like most Icelandic people - very kind people) Happy to help and answer questions
Confirmed traveller: 19 February 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015