It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
613 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Icelandic Escapades IA

Visiting: Iceland
Trip Duration 4 Days
 

Reviews for Icelandic Escapades

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Icelandic Escapades trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Icelandic Escapades reviews verified by Reevoo

28 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Icelandic EscapadesScores 8.6 out of 10 based on 28 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Laura

Jersey
Absolutely amazing trip. Short but felt like a lot was packed in. Would definitely recommend the superjeep tour as you cover a lot of distance and see a good few sites. It's expensive but worth it! The drivers are very knowledgeable and good fun. Our main Explore tour leader was awesome too! Hilarious and great to hear the inner track on things. Iceland in general is a great place to visit whether on your own or in a group. I spent a couple of days before the tour staying on my own in a hostel to dive and do some other trips. Would highly recommend this trip!
Confirmed traveller: 28 March 2016
Published on: 06 May 2016
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

This was a fantastic trip! I ticked off so many things from my bucket list in such a short amount of time - from snowmobiling to the Northern Lights by boat! I can't recommend this trip enough. It was expensive but to be honest, who looks back in 10 years time and say they had the trip of the life but it cost me...? NO ONE! Memories i'll treasure, thank you Explore!
Confirmed traveller: 06 October 2015
Published on: 04 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Toni

London
Great trip, great people. I had a great time. The geysers and the trip out in the big jeeps were highlights.
Confirmed traveller: 28 March 2016
Published on: 30 March 2016
(8 out of 10)

Nicola

The trip was well organized and the iternary provided meant that planning the free day was easy and hassle free. Unfortuanetly the weather meant the 3rd day excursions were canceled for safety but still able to wonder around the town and sightsee etc.
This was my first trip with explore and I would definitely book another trip with them.
Confirmed traveller: 13 March 2016
Published on: 16 March 2016
(3 out of 10)

Timothy

henfield
too much free time for such small hoilday

also needed more organisation and information espally about things to do and where to go once back from main trip in late afternoon and evening and on the free day.

even though the free day was right off due to the weather there should been more information from explore so couldnt go to the super jeep as canceled the day before

The hotel didnt know what was on or off for the explore group as i asked about snorking and other things

just genrally dispointed but grenally the one day what we did was ok it was about rest off

the time was bad
Confirmed traveller: 13 March 2016
Published on: 16 March 2016

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear the optional Super Jeep trip was cancelled due to the weather. This particular tour has one full day of arranged activities and the rest of the time is built in for you to choose from a wide range of options which you arrange locally. For inspiration, our trip notes – which you can download before departure – list a large number of possibilities to explore. I am sorry you found the hotel staff not forthcoming in offering ideas for filling your free day.

(8 out of 10)

Dawn

worthing sussex
The day excursions were very good but unfortunately that was it. No trips planned for the following day and half. Nothing opened or was available on Sunday morning until 11.0am so could not use the morning for any trips as the flight was not until the afternoon, therefore that day was wasted.
So this is why I would not recommend this trip because it is not in my opinion good value for the cost of the holiday. Explores impute was only for one day!!







t
Confirmed traveller: 17 January 2016
Published on: 21 January 2016
(8 out of 10)

Amanda

Blandford Forum
Trip highlights were The Golden Circle Tour, the Secret Lagoon and the optional Horse Riding excursion.

I would advise anyone booking this tour to check when they book if there are any known changes to the itinerary. One of the main reasons I booked was to visit the Blue Lagoon, and then almost immediately after booking (and paying) I was contacted and told it was closed for refurbishment. I was initially disappointed but the Secret Lagoon more than made up for it luckily.

I also really wanted to try to see whales on the optional excursion, but I missed the opportunity due to incorrect advice by the tour leader.

It is also worth highlighting that the Tour Guide will not be with you for the whole trip - we didn't see ours on the final two days at all.
Confirmed traveller: 17 January 2016
Published on: 21 January 2016
(10 out of 10)

Tina

Kent
Everything was so beautiful and we were all well looked after.

This was my first trip travelling alone so I was very nervous and didn't know what to expect, but quickly became friends with fellow travellers and there was nothing to worry about!
Would definitely recommend this trip for a first time traveller as it was short enough to build up confidence but busy enough to see the most amazing sights!

I would also recommend the super jeep excursion it was so much fun and ended up in the most incredible places that you wouldn't normally get to see if you wasn't with a tour group!

I'm ready to book my next explore trip really soon as I have major holiday blues now, and I have caught the travel bug!
Confirmed traveller: 17 January 2016
Published on: 20 January 2016
(5 out of 10)

Suzanne

Highlight was the blue lagoon. The hotel was lovely but unfortunately it was not centrally located. It would have been helpful to understand in advance how changeable the weather is. On such a short trip you need to be very lucky with the weather. It's hard to see sights during a snow storm.
Confirmed traveller: 02 January 2016
Published on: 11 January 2016

While we’re delighted to read your positive comments, we’re disappointed you weren’t aware of the average weather conditions. We know how important this information is for our customers, so we do note in your trip notes that the weather can vary depending on the time of year. We also highlight that winter is the coldest time of year and rain, sleet or snow is to be expected at any time.

(9 out of 10)

Mandy

London
Iceland is a fantastic country, great scenery and restaurants.
The majority of the guests were travelling solo, so even though we did not have an Explore leader to arrange meals out or provide an orientation of Reykjavik, we all had a great time.
Confirmed traveller: 01 November 2015
Published on: 09 December 2015