It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
630 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Long weekend in Iceland IA

Visiting: Iceland
Trip Duration 4 Days
 

Reviews for Long weekend in Iceland

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Long weekend in Iceland trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Icelandic Escapades reviews verified by reevooReevoo

36 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Icelandic EscapadesScores 8.7 out of 10 based on 36 reviews
(6 out of 10)

Philip

Halifax West yorkshire
Visiting Iceland for the first time was an enjoyable experience, but I was a little disappointed with the true available time to explore Reykjavik, and in hindsight would have travelled for a little longer and during periods of extended daylight. My partner and I arrived a day early and made our own accommodation arrangements, so we were able to see much more of the city, but the other group members were delayed due to bad weather and missed the Blue lagoon. This is a must - amazing - but so booked up that it is unlikely you will be able to rebook for a week. The golden circle tour is good, as is seeing the lights if you are lucky. The winter weather Is very unpredictable, so be prepared for very wet and windy weather or very cold. Everything is VERY expensive, and be prepared for only 4 or 5 hours of daylight for the new years eve weekend. Explore provided us with 3 meals due to being unlikely to get a restaurant at this time of year for which I am grateful. If you use the BSI bus station, ask questions regularly, as they seem to assume you know what to do and it is easy to miss the bus. Hotel Cabin was comfortable and warm but the breakfasts basic. The explore leader was good, but was with us only one evening and one day. I did the whale watching cruise which was rough but enjoyable. I wanted to do the super jeep, but at around £300 per person for 4-5 hours of visibility I declined. The snow mobile is even more expensive. Reykjavik is very busy with tourists and queue times can be lengthy. People are friendly and most speak excellent English. This trip needs an extra day. The sightseeing bus is a good way to tour the city, allowing you to hop on and hop off and is valid for 24 hours.
Confirmed traveller: 02 January 2017
Published on: 03 January 2017
(8 out of 10)

Elisabeth

Birmingam
This was an action packed, really memorable trip. Three days was fine as the cost of living and exchange rate meant everything was really expensive! Between £15 & £18 for a bowl of soup! Scenery was stunning but make sure you take very warm, weather proof clothes. Beware of hidden extra charges as you can't always use your credit card to pay for trips which adds on bank charges. Don't forget to take your towel for the Blue Lagoon. The geyser was amazing and beautiful waterfalls.
Confirmed traveller: 30 October 2016
Published on: 01 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

N

The highlight was definitely the optional super jeep tour. This was an expensive add on but completely worth it to get away from the crowds and explore quieter places. I found the golden circle tour, although stunning, far too crowded with coach upon coach loads of tourists so that we were queuing to see the sights. The Blue Lagoon was lovely when we actually got into the water although gainalthough again there was quite a queue to get in. The swim up bar was good. The tour leader Anna was great, funny and down to earth. The flight from Heathrow was delayed by 2 hours but this wasn't a problem as the Anna and the tour minibus were waiting for us.
Confirmed traveller: 31 July 2016
Published on: 07 September 2016
(9 out of 10)

Alexandra

London
Fabulous trip, lovely group, weather was amazing and the whole experience was really interesting. The Icelanders are very friendly, helpful and laid back with a great sense of humour. The country is spectacular. It is expensive though so be prepared!
Confirmed traveller: 22 May 2016
Published on: 26 May 2016
(10 out of 10)

Laura

Jersey
Absolutely amazing trip. Short but felt like a lot was packed in. Would definitely recommend the superjeep tour as you cover a lot of distance and see a good few sites. It's expensive but worth it! The drivers are very knowledgeable and good fun. Our main Explore tour leader was awesome too! Hilarious and great to hear the inner track on things. Iceland in general is a great place to visit whether on your own or in a group. I spent a couple of days before the tour staying on my own in a hostel to dive and do some other trips. Would highly recommend this trip!
Confirmed traveller: 28 March 2016
Published on: 06 May 2016
(10 out of 10)

Toni

London
Great trip, great people. I had a great time. The geysers and the trip out in the big jeeps were highlights.
Confirmed traveller: 28 March 2016
Published on: 30 March 2016
(8 out of 10)

Nicola

The trip was well organized and the iternary provided meant that planning the free day was easy and hassle free. Unfortuanetly the weather meant the 3rd day excursions were canceled for safety but still able to wonder around the town and sightsee etc.
This was my first trip with explore and I would definitely book another trip with them.
Confirmed traveller: 13 March 2016
Published on: 16 March 2016
(3 out of 10)

Timothy

henfield
too much free time for such small hoilday

also needed more organisation and information espally about things to do and where to go once back from main trip in late afternoon and evening and on the free day.

even though the free day was right off due to the weather there should been more information from explore so couldnt go to the super jeep as canceled the day before

The hotel didnt know what was on or off for the explore group as i asked about snorking and other things

just genrally dispointed but grenally the one day what we did was ok it was about rest off

the time was bad
Confirmed traveller: 13 March 2016
Published on: 16 March 2016

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear the optional Super Jeep trip was cancelled due to the weather. This particular tour has one full day of arranged activities and the rest of the time is built in for you to choose from a wide range of options which you arrange locally. For inspiration, our trip notes – which you can download before departure – list a large number of possibilities to explore. I am sorry you found the hotel staff not forthcoming in offering ideas for filling your free day.

(8 out of 10)

Dawn

worthing sussex
The day excursions were very good but unfortunately that was it. No trips planned for the following day and half. Nothing opened or was available on Sunday morning until 11.0am so could not use the morning for any trips as the flight was not until the afternoon, therefore that day was wasted.
So this is why I would not recommend this trip because it is not in my opinion good value for the cost of the holiday. Explores impute was only for one day!!







t
Confirmed traveller: 17 January 2016
Published on: 21 January 2016

We’re very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your holiday to Iceland. On this short break we included a visit to the Secret Lagoon and full day exploring the Golden Circle on day 2, which we’re glad to hear you enjoyed. Day 3 is free for your own explorations and we offer the opportunity to join a super jeep excursion or to go whale watching or horse riding. We have passed your comments on to the Explore representative to make sure that these options are being offered.