It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
549 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Brochures

Our latest  brochures are available now, with over 600 adventures for you to choose from.

Gift Vouchers

Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with over 600 tours & experiences to choose from. The perfect gift idea for any occasion.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 1,843

Icelandic Escapades IA

Visiting: Iceland
Tour Duration 4 Days
  • Gullfoss Canyon
  • Gullfoss Falls
  • Stunning landscapes
  • Blue Lagoon
  • Reykjavik
  • Tour Style: Simply
  • Tour Type: Small Groups
  • Tour Pace: Moderate
  • Tour Comfort: Simple
 

Book now!

23 reviews for this tour

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Icelandic Escapades tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
10 Jane Taylor, 10/04/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Being lucky enough to see the Northern Lights - by no means a given - despite only three nights there.

Read more
 
10 Shirley Johnston, 10/04/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Visiting the Gullfoss waterfall on the Golden Circle tour - absolutely stunning

Read more
 
9 Caroline Phillips, 05/03/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Standing alongside a beautiful frozen waterfall in a wind with a chill factor of minus 30C! We thoroughly enjoyed our day out in the superjeeps as it enabled us to access places off the main trail like the black beaches along the south coast and glacier at the Eyjafjallajokull volcano

Read more
 
9 Shirley Johnston, 03/03/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Visiting the frozen Gullfoss waterfall and the Geysirs

Read more
 
9 , 24/01/14

Name

Alistair Baker

Tour Name

Icelandic Escapades

Tour Code

IA

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Going out for a fantastic meal on New Year's Eve and then watching the fireworks in the centre of Reykjavik.

Tour Leader Name

Pieter

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Going out for a fantastic meal on New Year's Eve and then watching the fireworks in the centre of Reykjavik.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

He was organised and personable and the tour ran very smoothly.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Remeber it gets very cold in Iceland when the wind is blowing. It might be better to go in the summer unless the Northern Lights is high up on your list of things to see. Most of the pubs are shut before midnight on New Year's Eve so plan accordingly. Make sure you have a good camera (not a mo0bile phone) if you want to take pictures of the Northern Lights.

 
8 , 24/01/14

Name

Jacqueline Anderson

Tour Name

Icelandic Escapades

Tour Code

IA

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Doing the super jeep tour. We had amazing views from the top of the glacier and was very near to the volcano that caused all the trouble with the ash cloud!! We had a great driver. Also the blue Lagoon was amazing. And my dinner on Christmas day was pretty different as it consisted of Puffin and Reindeer!! It was delicious.

Tour Leader Name

Thora

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Knowledgable about Iceland and very pleasant.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Be warned that it's a very expensive country. Icelandic people are very friendly and have brilliant English. If you are going at Christmas then contact a restaurant before you arrive to make a booking as everything is either closed or booked up by the time you arrive at the hotel on Christams eve!!

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

The Icelandic people all decorate their house's so it's very festive at Christmas.....and VERY cold. Pack thermals, fleeces, balaclavas, the lot!! I had a wonderful time and was lucky enough to have a great group.We were booked into the Hotel Fron which I highly recommend.

 
10 , 21/01/14

Name

Assad

Tour Name

Icelandic Escapades

Tour Code

IA

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Bathing in the Blue Lagoon straight after leaving the airport. The place had a very relaxing atmosphere, even more so as it was unexpected. A perfect way to start a holiday and wash away any stresses. I was tempted to go back on the last day but I didn't want to make additional transport arrangements.

Tour Leader Name

Martina

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

The local rep was friendly and informative with regards to Iceland's history, geography and culture. She was efficient in dispensing practical tips too. The restaurant she recommended (Askur) very close to the hotel was a great choice and she also got the driver to detour through downtown Reykjavik on the way to the hotel on the first day, to give us an overview of the city and an idea of orientation.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

As mentioned in an earlier review, keep your swimming trunks/ costume and towel handy in hand luggage for easy reach on the first day (to swim in the blue lagoon after leaving the airport). The superjeep option was chosen by the majority of the tour group (including me) and I found it a worthwhile experience. There is a lot of time spent in the jeep but it means you can access places you wouldn't be able to otherwise. You need cash to pay for this (not by card). You can change money at the airport as soon as you arrive or withdraw from ATM at the airport or right next to the hotel (Reykjavik Lights).

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

The itinerary is fairly compact without leaving you feeling too rushed. The Golden Circle (Day 2) is one of the most seen tourist routes in Iceland and it did not disappoint. We were lent 'crampons' for free to wear over our shoes to increase grip when walking on ice, and we were allowed to borrow these for the superjeep trip too, and give them back on the way to the airport. I thought that was a very nice added touch. We did not see the northern lights simply because it was too cloudy on all 3 nights. The hotel (Reykjavik Lights) is quite new so it is in very good condition. It's not in the city centre but there are several good food options close by or you can walk (or bus it) to the centre and I suspect the cost saved by not being right in the middle of the city outweighs the minor inconvenience of being 1 or 2km out.

 
10 , 15/08/13

Name

Christina Goddard

Tour Code

IA

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The Super Jeep tour was simply wonderful. The guide, Siggi, was knowledgeable and friendly and very relaxed. Visiting Eyjafjallakull and walking on newly created land was memorable, as was touching such ancient ice in the glacier. Another memorable moment was when the sky lit up with the Northern Lights above us as we walked back along the promenade to our guesthouse at about 11pm. Magical and completely unexpected.

Tour Leader Name

Dorothea

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

The tour/expedition leader and the driver were friendly, knowledgeable, professional and simply very good. We were out late on the Northern Lights tour, so Dorothea arranged for us to leave one hour later the next day, which was very welcome. The tours were relaxed with plenty of time to see the landmarks. We were given good information about where to eat and what to see in Reykjavik. All in all, I would rate Dorothea and our driver as one of the best tour guides I have had in a long while.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

If booking over a public holiday (I went over the Easter holiday) be prepared to pay for optional tours in cash as the credit card machines are apparently out of reach during public holidays. The restaurants I went to in Reykjavik were very good, but pricey. Be prepared to spend at least £40 per head for a two course meal. Wine/beer will up the price considerably. I went to Laekjarbrekka, an Icelandic fish restaurant and to the Tappas Barn. There are many, many other restaurants but a quick glance at the menus indicated similar prices. You can, of course, eat more cheaply if you eat at Subways etc. but it would be a shame to miss out on some very fine cuisine.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

3 nights is enough to give you a taste of this wonderful country, but 5 nights would be better because it would give you time to do the tours and to have a day or so in Reykjavik itself. I had to choose between a day in the city and the Jeep tour. In the end I chose the Jeep tour, which was great, but I would have liked to spend a day in the city as well.

 
10 , 15/08/13

Name

Sunita Patel

Tour Code

IA

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Blue Lagoon spa was lovely and relaxing and a great way to unwind after the flight on the first day!

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

The tour leader was good although it was a very short trip so we only saw him for 2 days as the 3rd day is a free day to take an optional trip (recommend the Superjeep safari!).

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Don't take too many warm clothes if travelling in July as its surprisingly warm! Remember to take a swimsuit in your hand luggage as you go straight from airport to the spa. I would stay an extra day to explore Reyjavik as there is not really time to do this if going on an excursion.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Great introduction to Iceland, would love to go back in winter to see the Northern Lights!

 
10 Sarah, 13/03/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

How about having showers in water that comes straight out of a volcano and still smells of sulphur, and having radiators heated by geothermally. Iceland is amazing and lived up to its name at this time of the year. Such a contrast between the icy surroundings and boiling hot springs at Geysir and volcanoes and lava everywhere. An energising country which is getting bigger day by day. Bjork made much more sense after this visit!

Read more
 
0 Elizabeth Robinson, 12/03/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Watching a tour guide driving one handed across a 'dangerous' lava field in a 'Super Jeep' (basically a minibus with large tyres) while he was on a mobile phone for over 5 monutes...and this happened twice.  We were led to believe that its an action packed day, and its not, far from it. I know the weather did not help, but neither did his being almost an hour late for pick up with no explanation until we asked for it.  As a group we paid almost £2500 for this 'experience' and it was by far the worst value for money I have ever had on a similar style holiday.

Read more
Our Response

As explained on the Tour Notes, this holiday does not have an Explore tour leader, but is looked after by a local rep, as the main services to be provided are driving and guiding, and the local guides we use are all very competent at both.  This does mean that group meals are not organised, but the table at the Cabin Hotel is booked (but as indicated, entirely optional) for those who would like something available and close by for the first evening.  As the population of Reykjavik is small, its restaurants also tend to be small, and there are few which can cater for groups of 16, so group meals could only be booked at the bigger hotels, which few of our customers would want.

 
8 Beverley, 08/03/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Wallowing in the Blue Lagoon

Read more
Our Response

We use the Borgartun guesthouse because it is owned by our agent and we think offers good value, as well as having all necessary expertise on site.  But we will look into your suggestion that city centre hotels may offer better value.  The walk into the centre is not 30 minutes unless you select a scenic route – along the seafront, maybe.  Walking straight up into the centre should not take more than 15 minutes.  A taxi is not the only alternative; there is a bus stop almost immediately outside and the cost is modest.  The details of the service, and what ticket to ask the driver for, are in the rooms at the guesthouse.

 
8 Julia Davenport, 01/03/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Missing a photo of the Strokkur geyser and  realising it would go up again in a few minutes. After several tries, I got the perfect shot.

Read more
 
6 Beverley, 25/02/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Wallowing in the Blue Lagoon

Read more
 
10 Linda Harris (Explore Staff), 01/02/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Iceland is a stunning country, my favourite part was relaxing in the Blue Lagoon.

Read more
 
10 Rosemary Kane, 31/12/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Something that no tour operator, no matter how good they are, could organise. An explosion on the sun, generating green lights in the sky here on Earth. The aurora borealis came out to play with us on the very last night of the tour.

 

Read more
 
10 Claire Healy, 28/08/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The Blue Lagoon was great, so too was the Golden Circle.

Read more
 
10 Karen Lane, 18/07/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

"Gulfoss.I really wanted to see it in frozen splendour , and it didn't disappoint .
The super jeep trip was great ! We saw the sunrise, a frozen beach and dunes, waterfalls,rivers,ice ,snow and glacier."

Read more
 
10 NO, 28/05/12
This was my first explore trip and it was a fantastic holiday.  Being in the blue lagoon during a hailstorm will certainly not be forgotten.  We failed to see the northern lights which was a shame, but the scenery more than made up for that.  The fireworks on new years eve was out of this world.  The trip could be improved for the new year departures - I didn't go on the optional excursion as instead wanted to see more of Rejkyavik and although some places were open on new years day not everything was.  Hence, I think it would be better if the second and third days of the trip were swapped around in order to allow tose on the trip to have more flexibility.
Read more
 
0 Briony Knibbs, 15/08/11
Amazing scenery, Gulfoss waterfalls were much more immense than I expected - totally underrated. Loved the dip in the Blue Lagoon. My advice, don't be put off by the name, the climate is relatively mild. ( IA - 4th August 2011)
 
0 Sean (Explore Staff), 31/12/10
This was my 5th Explore trip - and even though it was the shortest, it was the best holiday of them all - and the others were amazing! With only 3 days to explore Iceland it's non-stop from the moment you land until you get back on the plane. Arriving in the late afternoon you are whisked to the hotel, check in, have a meal in Reyjakivik. Late at night you can go to a viewing spot (or 3!) to look for the Northern Lights. Beautiful and mysterious - and enjoyable even when it is -5 (not counting windchill). The next day you drive through the amazing Icelandic landscapes on the first day. Stopping to see impressive waterfalls and the spectaurlar geysirs. The next day we went on Superjeeps. For those who have not gone in a superjeep - it is an experience not to be missed. The large wheels mean it can power through rivers and scramble over volcanic and glacial scree. I will never forget the excited screams as we plunged from the ice covered shore into a fast moving river. One thing to bear in mind though is the price of everything in Iceland. A simple meal cost over £15 per person. And a bottle of house wine cost us over £35. So an action packed short stay there is perfect for those who want to protect their pockets. (IA - 4th November 2010)
 
0 Prue (Explore Staff), 29/12/10
This was my first tour with Explore and my first time to Iceland and it was brilliant. The Golden Circle tour was really good and the landscape extraordinary. The Super Jeeps day was my highlight as we crossed empty river beds in horrendous terrain which is easily overcome by the tyres on the jeeps! From the river bed we could access the bottom of vast glaciers and the photo opportunties were endless. I would highly recommend the optional excursions on the tours. (IA - 18th March 2010)
 
0 H.J, 20/09/10
This was the first Explore trip I ever went on - and it was enough to get me hooked!  It's a good choice for someone contemplating their first group holiday of this type. There's nothing extreme, it's an interesting destination, and it's only four days so not too daunting! Although four days is only enough to get a taste of a country, I felt that I saw a fair bit of Iceland including some very impressive waterfalls, beautiful glaciers in Thormsmork, and of course the geysirs after which all geysirs are named!  Strokkur erupts with reliable regularity and is really impressive - so you'll be sure to see something. As well as the sights and excursions mentioned in the trip notes, there were lots of little detours that we made en route which gave the chance to see that bit more. Reykjavik is really interesting city - make sure you see the viking boat sculpture on the harbour and the church that looks like a melting candle! I went in March and found this a really good time to visit. It was quiet, prices were lower (probably not so much of an issue post-recession), the weather was cold and snowy but that made it more special. So yes, it is a short trip, but you'll come back feeling like you've packed more into those four days than you usually would into two weeks! (IA- 1st March 2004)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  3. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  4. Tour name (i.e. Inca Trail Trek)
  5. Tour Code (i.e. PQ)
    Invalid Input
  6. What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  7. Tour leader name
  8. How Was Your Explore Tour Leader?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  10. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  11. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  12.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA