It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
646 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Inca Trail Trek + Amazon Extension PQA

Visiting: Peru
Trip Duration 12 Days
 

Reviews for Inca Trail Trek + Amazon Extension

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Inca Trail Trek + Amazon Extension trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Inca Trail Trek + Amazon Extension reviews verified by reevooReevoo

19 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Inca Trail Trek + Amazon ExtensionScores 9.5 out of 10 based on 19 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Connie

Brilliant trip! Jungle extension unfortunately not as the itinerary and not to the high standard of the rest of the trip. Worth double checking airport transfers as these were not reliable for most of our group.
Confirmed traveller: 21 October 2016
Published on: 24 October 2016
(10 out of 10)

Katy

Hinckley
A thoroughly enjoyable trip, every aspect well planned to maximise the time we had and ensure we saw all on offer. Peru is such a beautiful country full of contrasts very well highlighted by the trek followed by the trip to the rainforest.

The fabulous jaw-dropping beauty of the Andes, the Inka ruins, the people, the animals and birds, the warm days and cold nights. Followed by the heat and humidity of the rainforest and the animals and birds (parrots, Macaw, monkeys, insects, caiman, oropendolas, frogs (two in my bathroom).

I can't do a review without mentioning our Cusco and trek tour guide, Pavel Perez who was excellent and really made the trip. Knowledgeable, gentle, funny, patient, and honest - we couldn't have had a better guide.

The trek is hard work in places but the views and experience make it more than worth the effort. An unbelievable 4 days walking by day and sleeping under the stars. The porters and cooks did a fantastic job carrying all of our stuff, setting up camp and providing 3 good meals a day (plus snacks). I can't thank them enough for their hard work, smiles and encouragement. There is so much to see and appreciate on the trek it's worth taking time to stop and look around and take it all in.

The rainforest accommodation, Nape lodge, was newly opened in January 2016 and is lovely. We each had a simple wooden bungalow with beds, mosquito nets, shower room and a veranda with a hammock. The rear of the room is open and you 'share' with the local insect population so insect repellent is a must. The dining area and bar is open and can be used at anytime by guests. Meals are plentiful and tasty. 4 days in the rainforest is a lovely way to chill out after the trek - led forest walks (day and night), a trip on the oxbow lake and river trips to see the clay licks. We saw loads of parrots and Macaw swooping and flying around, cuddling on the branches of the trees and eating the clay - I can't describe the feeling of seeing and hearing it all.

My tip is to take dry bags/plastic bags to store clothes and equipment in the trek bag and not to take a separate bag for the Amazon - the bag we were given for the trek was used for both.

I'd thoroughly recommend the trip and Explore - everything was excellent. A fabulous trip.
Confirmed traveller: 01 October 2016
Published on: 05 October 2016
(10 out of 10)

Alison

Wakefield
Highly organised company. Everything went very smoothly. Guides where knowledgeable and very interesting to listen to. Everybody was able to go at there own pace without any pressure to keep up. Toilets where ok and plenty on the walking trip. Food in camp was amazing, brilliant chef!!!!
The Hotel in Matchu Picchu had a big problem with water, either cold or a tiny trickle, the hotel in Lima was to far from the town and the optional walking tour of Lima therefore wasn't available but otherwise accommodation was fine especially the Jungle experience, so much better than expected. Absolutely beautiful setting and such a relaxing place.
A brilliant experience!!!
Confirmed traveller: 24 September 2016
Published on: 08 October 2016
(10 out of 10)

Penny

Lobo was one of the best tour leaders I have come across. He combined personal warmth with great local knowledge and patience.
the four day Inca trail following acclimatisation in Cusco works perfectly and had i been leaving at the end of the 9 days I would not have felt cheated. It is a challenging trek but every moment is beautiful! The porters are awesome and we always arrived to the best spots in the camp! We combined with the Amazon extension which is a unique experience and a great contrast, extremely well looked after at Nape Lodge - excellent food and a very knowledgeable guide. My only criticism is that you spend all Thursday ( 8.30 - 6pm) getting back to Lima for a long return journey on the Friday. Could the scheduling of leaving the Lodge and internal flights be improved?
By that time our group was well bonded and we found some amusement helping us through the tedium of the waiting.
Confirmed traveller: 06 August 2016
Published on: 02 October 2016
(9 out of 10)

Vandana

Enfield
Our tour leader for the Inca Trail was absolutely fantastic and so knowledgeable. We didn't have to worry about anything and could enjoy the trip.
Confirmed traveller: 09 July 2016
Published on: 01 August 2016
(10 out of 10)

Kathy

Reading
Well, where do I start?! Hector our leader was totally amazing, I am definately going to nominate him for the Explore Leader Competition. We had a large group of 18 ranging from singles, semi retired to honeymooners. The 30 porters and assistant leaders were so supportive during the inca trek, creating amazing food (ranging from soup & pancakes to a sponge cake and jelly!) The leaders encouraged everyone, and backed us up when we were feeling exhausted. The tents were comfortable, the food was amazingly varied, the scenery was breathtaking and everyone helped everyone.
The hostels were clean and simple and close to the town centre. Cuzco was fantastic with their month long celebrations of dance throughout June in their central square. The extension at Nape Lodge was exclusively for us (only 5 from our original group came on this part). We had Yuri the guide who took us piranha fishing, the cook served our successful catch for dinner. We were lucky enough to spot a jaguar, capybaras, caimen, parrakeets, wild river otters, woolly and capuchin monkeys, tarantulas and hundreds of other birds. I thoroughly recommend this trip for the adventurous spirits out there. Don't just read and dream about it, make it a reality and book it with Explore Worldwide. It will be the best thing you'll ever do!
Confirmed traveller: 02 July 2016
Published on: 11 July 2016
(10 out of 10)

John

Chesterfield
Excellent guide, itinary worked very well, group gelled together really well and thoroughly enjoyed the team effort to get us all to the Sun Gate. Would happily do again
Confirmed traveller: 02 July 2016
Published on: 05 July 2016
(10 out of 10)

Jane

Fantastic experience all round. The Inca Trail was great and setting off out of sync with most other groups meant that we spent a lot of time without seeing other visitors. The final campsite was the highlight of the holiday seeing sunrise and sunset!
Our guide knew the inca history and about local nature and was also great fun. A perfect mix. The porters were amazing.
We saw loads in the jungle and got to feed monkeys who even came and sat on our shoulders. Again, the guide was very knowledgable.

An excellent holiday which will never be forgotten.
Confirmed traveller: 30 April 2016
Published on: 02 May 2016
(10 out of 10)

Andy

Wimborne, Dorset
The Inca trail is hard work for lowlanders but immensely rewarding - we lost a day of acclimatisation due to a delay to our Cusco flight - but the trail and Andean scenery are incomparable. the big reveal as you approach Machu Picchu through the sun gate was stunning. Our guide Jorge was enthusiastic, hard working and very knowledgable - a pleasure to be with. The Amazon extension was a fascinating contrast ad the lodge accommodation excellent. Again our guide Victor was a treasure. The hikes were well timed and broken by boat trips and rest stops so despite the heat and humidity, we were not overstretched. Insect repellent essential!
Confirmed traveller: 02 April 2016
Published on: 16 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Wendy

Corfe Mullen, Poole, Dorset
This trip is once in a lifetime and was surperb, our tour leader for the Inca trail ,Jorge Valenzuela was excellent, he was very helpful,kind and full of knowledge, we couldn't have asked for anyone better, all of the porters were also excellent and everything went like clockwork, very organised and hard working crew. The sites we saw during the trek were amazing, and even though the walk was hard going at times, we were never rushed and always had help if we needed it. Food was great and plenty of it too. For the Amazon part of the trip, our tour leader Victor was great, he is also full of knowledge, service from him, the lodge manager, and all the staff at the lodges was fantastic, again everything ran like clockwork. Saw lots of animals and birds and was a good end to the tour. Highly recommended trip and was a great achievement for all of our group.
Confirmed traveller: 02 April 2016
Published on: 14 April 2016