It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
592 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Inca Trail Trek + Amazon Extension PQA

Visiting: Peru
Trip Duration 13 Days
 

Reviews for Inca Trail Trek + Amazon Extension

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Inca Trail Trek + Amazon Extension trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Inca Trail Trek + Amazon Extension reviews verified by Reevoo

14 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Inca Trail Trek + Amazon ExtensionScores 9.5 out of 10 based on 14 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Kathy

Reading
Well, where do I start?! Hector our leader was totally amazing, I am definately going to nominate him for the Explore Leader Competition. We had a large group of 18 ranging from singles, semi retired to honeymooners. The 30 porters and assistant leaders were so supportive during the inca trek, creating amazing food (ranging from soup & pancakes to a sponge cake and jelly!) The leaders encouraged everyone, and backed us up when we were feeling exhausted. The tents were comfortable, the food was amazingly varied, the scenery was breathtaking and everyone helped everyone.
The hostels were clean and simple and close to the town centre. Cuzco was fantastic with their month long celebrations of dance throughout June in their central square. The extension at Nape Lodge was exclusively for us (only 5 from our original group came on this part). We had Yuri the guide who took us piranha fishing, the cook served our successful catch for dinner. We were lucky enough to spot a jaguar, capybaras, caimen, parrakeets, wild river otters, woolly and capuchin monkeys, tarantulas and hundreds of other birds. I thoroughly recommend this trip for the adventurous spirits out there. Don't just read and dream about it, make it a reality and book it with Explore Worldwide. It will be the best thing you'll ever do!
Confirmed traveller: 02 July 2016
Published on: 11 July 2016
(10 out of 10)

John

Chesterfield
Excellent guide, itinary worked very well, group gelled together really well and thoroughly enjoyed the team effort to get us all to the Sun Gate. Would happily do again
Confirmed traveller: 02 July 2016
Published on: 05 July 2016
(10 out of 10)

Jane

Fantastic experience all round. The Inca Trail was great and setting off out of sync with most other groups meant that we spent a lot of time without seeing other visitors. The final campsite was the highlight of the holiday seeing sunrise and sunset!
Our guide knew the inca history and about local nature and was also great fun. A perfect mix. The porters were amazing.
We saw loads in the jungle and got to feed monkeys who even came and sat on our shoulders. Again, the guide was very knowledgable.

An excellent holiday which will never be forgotten.
Confirmed traveller: 30 April 2016
Published on: 02 May 2016
(10 out of 10)

Andy

Wimborne, Dorset
The Inca trail is hard work for lowlanders but immensely rewarding - we lost a day of acclimatisation due to a delay to our Cusco flight - but the trail and Andean scenery are incomparable. the big reveal as you approach Machu Picchu through the sun gate was stunning. Our guide Jorge was enthusiastic, hard working and very knowledgable - a pleasure to be with. The Amazon extension was a fascinating contrast ad the lodge accommodation excellent. Again our guide Victor was a treasure. The hikes were well timed and broken by boat trips and rest stops so despite the heat and humidity, we were not overstretched. Insect repellent essential!
Confirmed traveller: 02 April 2016
Published on: 16 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

I can't explain how amazing this trip was, on the inca trail there were so many spectacular views and the Amazon was just awesome. Overall though I can't recommend Explore more highly, this was such a stress free trip with every detail organised to perfection and the added benefit of a really well planned Inca Trail which meant we avoided the crowds, had the most breathtakingly spectacular campsites and even got to the Sun Gate when the sun was shining ( which is rare if you go first thing like most groups) well done Explore
Confirmed traveller: 08 November 2015
Published on: 15 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Wendy

Corfe Mullen, Poole, Dorset
This trip is once in a lifetime and was surperb, our tour leader for the Inca trail ,Jorge Valenzuela was excellent, he was very helpful,kind and full of knowledge, we couldn't have asked for anyone better, all of the porters were also excellent and everything went like clockwork, very organised and hard working crew. The sites we saw during the trek were amazing, and even though the walk was hard going at times, we were never rushed and always had help if we needed it. Food was great and plenty of it too. For the Amazon part of the trip, our tour leader Victor was great, he is also full of knowledge, service from him, the lodge manager, and all the staff at the lodges was fantastic, again everything ran like clockwork. Saw lots of animals and birds and was a good end to the tour. Highly recommended trip and was a great achievement for all of our group.
Confirmed traveller: 02 April 2016
Published on: 14 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Our acclimatization in Cuzco was well paced, we were well-informed about the Incas before setting off on the Trail, and the Explore advice notes came into their own. We did need all the equipment/clothing suggested. The food on the trek was delicious and the warm applause on our arrival each evening, and bowls of hot water for our feet, most welcome. As was the coca tea! As an OAP, the shortest and least sporty of our group of five women, this was indeed a tremendous personal achievement - couldn't have done it without our guide's wonderful support. The Trek was the highlight of the trip, but the rainforest made a fascinating contrast where we learned so much of what Nature provides, medicinally,and nutritionally for both man and the wildlife as well as some intriguing symbiotic relationships (tarantulas and toads!!?). Pabel was excellent. Well-read and well-informed, clearly enthusiastic and knowledgeable, not only about the Inca culture, but also the natural history along the Trail. He was quietly supportive and encouraging along the way, dealing with altitude issues with confidence and reassurance. He looked after us very well and it was a pleasure to be part of his tour. I think we were particularly lucky as we all got on extremely well, and the weather was perfect..
Confirmed traveller: 05 September 2015
Published on: 12 March 2016
(9 out of 10)

Clinton

Davenport, Iowa
The trip is accurately described in Explore literature, moderate to challenging! Read the advice they give carefully and follow it. Loved Cusco, camping facilities and meals during the trek were very good, scenery was beautiful. Guide Nilton was EXCELLECT and assistant Andy looked after some people who were not feeling well. Both were very knowledgable and accommodating.
We did the Amazon extension and accommodations were very good. Logistics for the entire trip were excellent. Recommend arriving in Cusco early and be prepared for climbing, since very little of the trek is level or smooth. Also, take the insects seriously, especially on the first day of the Inca trail trek. Finally, the highlight of the trip was the sense of accomplishment and 12 new great friends.
Confirmed traveller: 23 October 2015
Published on: 04 December 2015
(10 out of 10)

Steven

Centerville, Ohio
Where to begin, this trip greatly exceeded the expectations I had. Every day had its own highlights. This is primarily due to our Trek Guide, Lobo. His experience, knowledge, leadership and kindness made this trip truly a memorable experience. Each of the campsites we stayed were fantastically unique. The food was very good. The sites and ruins along the trail are incredible and were explained very well by Lobo. Machupicchu is far more than I expected. Entering through the Sungate for the first time and looking down upon the whole of Machupicchu is a once in a lifetime experience.
Confirmed traveller: 02 October 2015
Published on: 13 November 2015
(8 out of 10)

Shikha

London
Well-organised on the whole. The main downside was the Amazon extension where the guide we had was not so good at explaining things and food was disappointing.
Confirmed traveller: 12 October 2014
Published on: 30 September 2015