It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
619 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Inca Trail Trek PQ

Visiting: Peru
Trip Duration 9 Days
 

Reviews for Inca Trail Trek

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Inca Trail Trek trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Inca Trail Trek reviews verified by reevooReevoo

28 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Inca Trail TrekScores 9.1 out of 10 based on 28 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Catharine

Absolutely fantastic trip; tour leader was outstanding- interesting and very knowledgeable. Whole trip was really well organised with great support from your leader and porters.
It was tougher than we expected - very steep ascents and descents but very worthwhile.
Confirmed traveller: 29 May 2017
Published on: 09 June 2017
(7 out of 10)

Barbara

Goderich, Ontario, Canada
The tour was lots of fun, despite much rain and cold. We did not like the Inkarri Hotel in Cusco for the following reasons: much of the time there was no hot water to shower. There is not even a kettle of hot water set out where guests can make a cup of tea. the hotel is on a narrow street with a 6 inch sidewalk so bus could not stop there and we had to carry all our own luggage down to another street where the bus fit. That is aside from our day packs. It was a dangerous walk with bulky luggage. The hotel rooms, especially the one we were assigned on the last night, were very cold. The staff were in general very polite and accommodating, except for one male evening person on the desk, who was rude and unhelpful.
We liked the hotel in Aqua Caliente very much. Our tour leaver Jorge was very good and had the hike extremely well organized. One of our concerns was the pressure to eat in restaurants of his choosing, which were expensive and really not good, this in a city full of super restaurants; he became quite snitty when we decided to go to different restaurants of our choosing in Cusco. We know he was getting a bonus from the owners of said restaurants, which I realize is not uncommon; however, guests should be allowed to choose what they want and do not want to do whilst in Cusco. He was however very well informed about the culture and history. Our tents were not great; one night we had a puddle of water in our tent, and some of the zippers were broken. The rented sleeping bags were truly substandard, with parts of them having no stuffing at all. The food was great, the porters and chefs were super friendly and worked hard. No complaints there.
Confirmed traveller: 28 May 2017
Published on: 18 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Philip

Corbridge, Northumberland
Guide was excellent and we felt looked after from the moment we stepped off the plane. I suffered badly from the altitude when we first arrived in Cusco as you fly into 3,400 metres. It's a good idea to take some Ibuprofen. I found out that the hotel also has oxygen which can ease the symptoms and it would have been helpful to have known this from the outset. The itinerary was good with the right balance between organised outings and free time when in Cusco. The trek itself was fantastic with breathtaking scenery and I would recommend it to anyone. It is physically demanding and you need to have prepared and trained before departure. The weather in May was just right - mainly dry but not too hot with mostly clear days and views. The food was excellent throughout and the cooks and porters work very hard - they deserve generous gratuities from the group. Walking through the Sun Gate and down into Machu Picchu was breathtaking. The site deserves to be classified as one of the Modern Wonders of the World. Inevitably it attracts hoards of visitors and was extremely busy the following morning when we returned. Peru is a fascinating country and my only regret is not arranging to spend some extra days there....well worth doing if you've got the time (and money) particularly as it takes a long time to travel there from the UK. Our flights were booked for us and involved 4 flights, Newcastle to Heathrow, Heathrow to Bogota, Bogota to Lima and Lima to Cusco. The outward journey in particular was extremely onerous (about 30 hours with waits between connections). There are direct flights from Heathrow to Lima and I would insist on this if going again.
Confirmed traveller: 15 May 2017
Published on: 16 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Susan

Amersham
We spent a few days in Cusco, which was essential to acclimatise to the altitude. In fact, I could have done with an extra day to visit an Inca museum. Cusco is an interesting city which is easy to walk around & felt fairly safe. Inkarri Hostal was delightful with a lovely, calm atmosphere.

We did a few trips out of the city with plenty of opportunity to buy trinkets to boost their economy! I particularly enjoyed visiting the salt mines which were above ground & not deep underground as I had expected!

Undoubtedly, the real highlight was the Inca trail itself. It starts off gently on the first day, camping at the foot of the Ilaqtapata ruins. Having the whole afternoon to explore by ourselves with no one around apart from a few llamas was amazing. The trek itself gets progressively harder & is tough, but the views are an award in itself. Our porters who almost outnumbered us by 2:1 were outstanding and ran ahead of us with their gigantic backpacks to set up camp & cook for us 2-4 times a day! Jorge our very experienced guide (20 years) was exceptional, with a great sense of humour and had extensive knowledge on just about every topic - and we certainly tested him to the full!

The only thing that let me down on the trip were my (old) boots which only started hurting my ankle on the third day, the longest walking day - which seemed to go on forever for me as every step was painful! My only tip is therefore to test your boots out fully over several long walks before taking on the trip.

Every day brings its own rewards, but the final day when you finally get to see Machu Picchu in its full glory is the ultimate reward!

Returning to the site after a hot shower & a good night's sleep is a brilliant idea. We spent several hours exploring after a guided tour so didn't feel rushed with ample opportunity to add to that already bulging photo album!
Confirmed traveller: 24 April 2017
Published on: 02 May 2017
(10 out of 10)

Paula

Burton on Trent
I loved the trip, I thought Jorge, the tour leader was absolutely brilliant, he was so knowledgeable about his country and the wildlife.
Confirmed traveller: 24 April 2017
Published on: 30 April 2017
(10 out of 10)

Natalie

Surrey
The tour was amazing. Our leader Pabel and all of our porters were attentive and wonderful. I thoroughly enjoyed every single day. The trek itself was quite a challenge - but we took it slowly. The only gripe would be that I wasn't informed of the 4am start to climb Machu Picchu mountain after the 4 day trek. Other than that, it was perfect.
Confirmed traveller: 15 April 2017
Published on: 17 April 2017
(10 out of 10)

Komilla

London
Amazing trip! My first experience of South America, Camping & Trekking. I felt a lot of support from the company, from answering emails before I embarked on the trip to on the actual trek itself. Views are spectacular and three day acclimatisation period allows you also to have a vacation :) Great trip!
Confirmed traveller: 01 November 2016
Published on: 04 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Alistair

York
The trip was a fantastic experience, well organised and the right mix of effort and relaxation.
Confirmed traveller: 01 November 2016
Published on: 03 November 2016
(8 out of 10)

David

London
Highlights: The location! Fantastic. Good itinerary. Time to acclimatise.

Lowlights: Food! Lack of vegetables. Basically I would rather have had the food the porters had - nice thick veggy stews. Instead we had a lot of dry potato and rice with a little meat and next to no vegetables. Bread and other items were more geared to the American palette with an over emphasis on sugar. I do not like sweet food! An option to have had "Porter's Food" would have been great. If I did this trip again I would carry my own food and ignore the offered grub.
Confirmed traveller: 17 October 2016
Published on: 30 October 2016
(10 out of 10)

Mark

Sheffield
Extremely well organised from pickup at Cusco airport to the end. The acclimatization in Cusco was a great help. Superb choice of camp sites which were well spaced to give a gentle start. The views just got better and better culminating with entry to Machu Picchu via the sun gate.
Confirmed traveller: 03 October 2016
Published on: 11 November 2016