It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
624 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Inca Trail Trek PQ

Visiting: Peru
Trip Duration 9 Days
 

Reviews for Inca Trail Trek

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Inca Trail Trek trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Inca Trail Trek reviews verified by reevooReevoo

24 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Inca Trail TrekScores 9.3 out of 10 based on 24 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Susan

Amersham
We spent a few days in Cusco, which was essential to acclimatise to the altitude. In fact, I could have done with an extra day to visit an Inca museum. Cusco is an interesting city which is easy to walk around & felt fairly safe. Inkarri Hostal was delightful with a lovely, calm atmosphere.

We did a few trips out of the city with plenty of opportunity to buy trinkets to boost their economy! I particularly enjoyed visiting the salt mines which were above ground & not deep underground as I had expected!

Undoubtedly, the real highlight was the Inca trail itself. It starts off gently on the first day, camping at the foot of the Ilaqtapata ruins. Having the whole afternoon to explore by ourselves with no one around apart from a few llamas was amazing. The trek itself gets progressively harder & is tough, but the views are an award in itself. Our porters who almost outnumbered us by 2:1 were outstanding and ran ahead of us with their gigantic backpacks to set up camp & cook for us 2-4 times a day! Jorge our very experienced guide (20 years) was exceptional, with a great sense of humour and had extensive knowledge on just about every topic - and we certainly tested him to the full!

The only thing that let me down on the trip were my (old) boots which only started hurting my ankle on the third day, the longest walking day - which seemed to go on forever for me as every step was painful! My only tip is therefore to test your boots out fully over several long walks before taking on the trip.

Every day brings its own rewards, but the final day when you finally get to see Machu Picchu in its full glory is the ultimate reward!

Returning to the site after a hot shower & a good night's sleep is a brilliant idea. We spent several hours exploring after a guided tour so didn't feel rushed with ample opportunity to add to that already bulging photo album!
Confirmed traveller: 24 April 2017
Published on: 02 May 2017
(10 out of 10)

Paula

Burton on Trent
I loved the trip, I thought Jorge, the tour leader was absolutely brilliant, he was so knowledgeable about his country and the wildlife.
Confirmed traveller: 24 April 2017
Published on: 30 April 2017
(10 out of 10)

Natalie

Surrey
The tour was amazing. Our leader Pabel and all of our porters were attentive and wonderful. I thoroughly enjoyed every single day. The trek itself was quite a challenge - but we took it slowly. The only gripe would be that I wasn't informed of the 4am start to climb Machu Picchu mountain after the 4 day trek. Other than that, it was perfect.
Confirmed traveller: 15 April 2017
Published on: 17 April 2017
(10 out of 10)

Komilla

London
Amazing trip! My first experience of South America, Camping & Trekking. I felt a lot of support from the company, from answering emails before I embarked on the trip to on the actual trek itself. Views are spectacular and three day acclimatisation period allows you also to have a vacation :) Great trip!
Confirmed traveller: 01 November 2016
Published on: 04 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Alistair

York
The trip was a fantastic experience, well organised and the right mix of effort and relaxation.
Confirmed traveller: 01 November 2016
Published on: 03 November 2016
(8 out of 10)

David

London
Highlights: The location! Fantastic. Good itinerary. Time to acclimatise.

Lowlights: Food! Lack of vegetables. Basically I would rather have had the food the porters had - nice thick veggy stews. Instead we had a lot of dry potato and rice with a little meat and next to no vegetables. Bread and other items were more geared to the American palette with an over emphasis on sugar. I do not like sweet food! An option to have had "Porter's Food" would have been great. If I did this trip again I would carry my own food and ignore the offered grub.
Confirmed traveller: 17 October 2016
Published on: 30 October 2016
(10 out of 10)

Mark

Sheffield
Extremely well organised from pickup at Cusco airport to the end. The acclimatization in Cusco was a great help. Superb choice of camp sites which were well spaced to give a gentle start. The views just got better and better culminating with entry to Machu Picchu via the sun gate.
Confirmed traveller: 03 October 2016
Published on: 11 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Sally

Ipswich
I am very glad I have done it but I would recommend that everyone trains as much as possible before they go as it was more difficult than I thought . The scenery is breathtaking and cusco is lovely
Confirmed traveller: 27 September 2016
Published on: 30 September 2016
(10 out of 10)

Leah

The hiking was amazing and our tour guide Pabel was very knowledgable.
Confirmed traveller: 26 September 2016
Published on: 06 October 2016
(7 out of 10)

David

Firstly explores supplied documentation on the trip 3/10. It misses off some important details that would be very helpful like bring paracetamol to help with altitude sickness. It's not made clear if sleeping bags are included or not (they aren't), torches & bug spray is needed but not mentioned. That the 7kg weight includes the sleeping bag isn't explained. Little things like buying toilet paper.

The 4 days acclimatization was good the right amount of time almost everyone had altitude sickness during those days but was fine for the trip. There's not much to do/see in that time but it's necessary.

The Inca trail is beautiful some of the best landscape I've seen well worth the length of trek. The pace your allowed to go at suits all, as fast or slow as you want with 1 guide at the front and back while the lead guide roams between checking on everyone. It does get every cold so bring warm night clothes and hat. The days make it totally worth it.

Machu Picchu is exactly as you expect. Having done the trail before makes it more special. The hotel we stayed in is to be avoided. After those days on the trail the 2 things you want is to use a toilet and shower. The toilet didn't flush and no water for the shower. The woman on the front desk would only say I'm not the manager (who didn't appear at all). 2 odd hours later the water was restored. Only to go off the next day.
Confirmed traveller: 20 September 2016
Published on: 15 November 2016