It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
650 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews


Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.


Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Inca Trail Trek PQ

Visiting: Peru
Trip Duration 9 Days

Reviews for Inca Trail Trek

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Inca Trail Trek trip available at present.

Please select a date:


Inca Trail Trek reviews verified by reevooReevoo

17 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Inca Trail TrekScores 9.3 out of 10 based on 17 reviews
(10 out of 10)


Extremely well organised from pickup at Cusco airport to the end. The acclimatization in Cusco was a great help. Superb choice of camp sites which were well spaced to give a gentle start. The views just got better and better culminating with entry to Machu Picchu via the sun gate.
Confirmed traveller: 03 October 2016
Published on: 07 October 2016
(9 out of 10)


I am very glad I have done it but I would recommend that everyone trains as much as possible before they go as it was more difficult than I thought . The scenery is breathtaking and cusco is lovely
Confirmed traveller: 27 September 2016
Published on: 30 September 2016
(10 out of 10)


The hiking was amazing and our tour guide Pabel was very knowledgable.
Confirmed traveller: 26 September 2016
Published on: 06 October 2016
(10 out of 10)


Gilbert, Arizona-USA
This is the first time I had a trip with Explorer. I'm very satisfied. Overall, I rate 10 for good organizing, good Explore leader, hard- working porters, delicious meals from the cook.

Anyway, can Explore check the condition of Marco Wasi Hostel: we spent the night 7 Saturday 9/17, we had the problem in using water. Water was running weakly or dripping.
Thanks. Quy
Confirmed traveller: 19 September 2016
Published on: 16 October 2016
(9 out of 10)


Brilliant trip. Hard work but worth the effort when you reach the sun gate and look down on Machu Picchu. Very challenging 4 days of walking, most of it a constant up hill, glad we had 3 days to acclimatise though as we all suffered from altitude headaches the first couple of days, but plenty of tips from the tour leader.

Fantastic tour leader Hectar, very funny person, always kept your spirits up high. He was very knowledgeable of the Inca's and the surrounding areas. Did everything with us as a whole group which was really nice, no one got left behind which helped us to bond more closely with each other which really helped when some of us needed support.

He Cared very much about the whole team and ensured we were all cared for and made the trip all together. Everyone made it. Plenty of stops along the way for rests. The Inca trail was harder than I imagined it to be and we are keen walkers so having a brilliant tour guide was fantastic. He took us to a couple of restaurants which were great, good value for money too and also a couple of local tours around the area.

Accommodation was a bit basic but more than ample for what you need. Very friendly staff, just ensure you are first to shower as hot water runs out quickly.The tents were put up every day by the porters who were fantastic, they work so hard. There was plenty of food, I think at some point we were all saying no more please, we can't eat anything else. We had breakfast, then provided with a snack for the walk. Lunch mid day, then a drink and snacks around 5 ish and then tea around 7 before bed. The food was cooked to a high standard and we also received cake on the last day cooked fresh, which was amazing.

Would highly recommend this trip as a tick of the bucket list, but would point out that I found quite a lot of the walk to be very challenging as did much of our group, also the altitude effected all of us individually over the week which isn't always easy to assess and prepare for but our tour leader was really great and supportive and was able to provide comfort to some of us when we fell ill and useful tips on how to overcome it.
Confirmed traveller: 28 June 2016
Published on: 05 July 2016
(9 out of 10)


Collection and transfers from/to the airport were excellent
The hostel accommodation was quaint, rustic. The service was good and the breakfasts were nice.
The tour leader took the group for a meal on the first day, which was unexpected and gave everyone a chance to start to get into the spirit of things.
The tour leader/guide was the same throughout the enter 9 day trip and a local to the Cusco region: The day trips before the trail were beautiful because of the scenery and full of informative historical details in English from the guide .
The Inca Trail was just amazing, the tour leader and assistant trail guides were so supportive. The porters and other support staff had everything working to a tee.
Throughout the trail the tour leader provided information on the historical sites always with the passion he had for the history, the flora and fauna, the people, the places and the mountains.

Machu Picchu was just stunning, with a tour with our trusted guide and free time before our train and bus transfer back to Cusco.

With all the group following the given instructions, everything ran smoothly.

Only comment on the porters, is their backpacks did not have a waist belt (shoulder straps only)

A trip worth doing
Confirmed traveller: 28 June 2016
Published on: 30 June 2016
(10 out of 10)


Shefford Bedfordshire
Our tour leader was very knowledgeable and caring. He went out of his way to make our tour even better. The camping and porters were excellent too. I would say the Hostel was a bit tired looking and could do with reviewing. I wouldn't mind paying slightly extra for some comfort.
Confirmed traveller: 05 April 2016
Published on: 06 April 2016
(10 out of 10)


Toronto, Canada
A tour of Cusco, learning about the history of the Inca's, going to Pisac market. The Inca Trail, amazing Inca Ruins, the hike, the campsites we stayed at. The wonderful service the porters gave, setting up the tents and kitchen tent for each meal, the wonderful food that was prepared. The hot water morning and evening brought to the tent to wash. The hot drink brought to your tent in the morning. It was a 5 star service throughout.
Confirmed traveller: 05 October 2015
Published on: 27 October 2015
(10 out of 10)


Bury St Edmunds
Highlights were the companionship and sense of collective achievement. Tour guide Nilton was so knowledgeable, supportive and motivating to all. Good to be able to socialise in the bars in Cusco and Aguas Callientes. On tip of obvious tips about having the right trekking gear etc here are some other ones. Use a Camelbak type water carrier so you can drink continually to avoid headaches and dehydration at height. Take an ipod with podcasts on it as well and a book or a Kindle on the trek as you will have lots of time in your tent maybe waking up in the middle of the night and needing to stave off boredom! Head torch is essential. Ear plugs to block out the snoring of your tent companion or neighbours. Blow up pillow for your tent like the plane ones you can get. Lots of hand gel/wipes. Above all take a massively positive attitude to get you by!
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 15 September 2015
Published on: 04 October 2015
(10 out of 10)


Nilton was an amazing tour guide. Incredibly aware of what each person in the group was going through. Any issues, he'd pick up on immediately. He came across as so caring, but also very funny and informative.
Apart from the obvious Macchu Picchu highlight, for me, he and the rest of the group where the highlight of the trip.
I LOVED the whole time away. Wish I was still there and can't wait to pick another holiday with you soon.
Thank you!
Confirmed traveller: 15 September 2015
Published on: 04 October 2015