It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
650 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Inca Trail Trek PQ

Visiting: Peru
Trip Duration 9 Days
 

Reviews for Inca Trail Trek

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Inca Trail Trek trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Inca Trail Trek reviews verified by reevooReevoo

21 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Inca Trail TrekScores 9.2 out of 10 based on 21 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Komilla

London
Amazing trip! My first experience of South America, Camping & Trekking. I felt a lot of support from the company, from answering emails before I embarked on the trip to on the actual trek itself. Views are spectacular and three day acclimatisation period allows you also to have a vacation :) Great trip!
Confirmed traveller: 01 November 2016
Published on: 04 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Alistair

York
The trip was a fantastic experience, well organised and the right mix of effort and relaxation.
Confirmed traveller: 01 November 2016
Published on: 03 November 2016
(8 out of 10)

David

London
Highlights: The location! Fantastic. Good itinerary. Time to acclimatise.

Lowlights: Food! Lack of vegetables. Basically I would rather have had the food the porters had - nice thick veggy stews. Instead we had a lot of dry potato and rice with a little meat and next to no vegetables. Bread and other items were more geared to the American palette with an over emphasis on sugar. I do not like sweet food! An option to have had "Porter's Food" would have been great. If I did this trip again I would carry my own food and ignore the offered grub.
Confirmed traveller: 17 October 2016
Published on: 30 October 2016
(10 out of 10)

Mark

Sheffield
Extremely well organised from pickup at Cusco airport to the end. The acclimatization in Cusco was a great help. Superb choice of camp sites which were well spaced to give a gentle start. The views just got better and better culminating with entry to Machu Picchu via the sun gate.
Confirmed traveller: 03 October 2016
Published on: 11 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Sally

Ipswich
I am very glad I have done it but I would recommend that everyone trains as much as possible before they go as it was more difficult than I thought . The scenery is breathtaking and cusco is lovely
Confirmed traveller: 27 September 2016
Published on: 30 September 2016
(10 out of 10)

Leah

The hiking was amazing and our tour guide Pabel was very knowledgable.
Confirmed traveller: 26 September 2016
Published on: 06 October 2016
(7 out of 10)

David

Firstly explores supplied documentation on the trip 3/10. It misses off some important details that would be very helpful like bring paracetamol to help with altitude sickness. It's not made clear if sleeping bags are included or not (they aren't), torches & bug spray is needed but not mentioned. That the 7kg weight includes the sleeping bag isn't explained. Little things like buying toilet paper.

The 4 days acclimatization was good the right amount of time almost everyone had altitude sickness during those days but was fine for the trip. There's not much to do/see in that time but it's necessary.

The Inca trail is beautiful some of the best landscape I've seen well worth the length of trek. The pace your allowed to go at suits all, as fast or slow as you want with 1 guide at the front and back while the lead guide roams between checking on everyone. It does get every cold so bring warm night clothes and hat. The days make it totally worth it.

Machu Picchu is exactly as you expect. Having done the trail before makes it more special. The hotel we stayed in is to be avoided. After those days on the trail the 2 things you want is to use a toilet and shower. The toilet didn't flush and no water for the shower. The woman on the front desk would only say I'm not the manager (who didn't appear at all). 2 odd hours later the water was restored. Only to go off the next day.
Confirmed traveller: 20 September 2016
Published on: 15 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Quy

Gilbert, Arizona-USA
This is the first time I had a trip with Explorer. I'm very satisfied. Overall, I rate 10 for good organizing, good Explore leader, hard- working porters, delicious meals from the cook.

Anyway, can Explore check the condition of Marco Wasi Hostel: we spent the night 7 Saturday 9/17, we had the problem in using water. Water was running weakly or dripping.
Thanks. Quy
Confirmed traveller: 19 September 2016
Published on: 16 October 2016
(9 out of 10)

Trish

Brighouse
Brilliant trip. Hard work but worth the effort when you reach the sun gate and look down on Machu Picchu. Very challenging 4 days of walking, most of it a constant up hill, glad we had 3 days to acclimatise though as we all suffered from altitude headaches the first couple of days, but plenty of tips from the tour leader.

Fantastic tour leader Hectar, very funny person, always kept your spirits up high. He was very knowledgeable of the Inca's and the surrounding areas. Did everything with us as a whole group which was really nice, no one got left behind which helped us to bond more closely with each other which really helped when some of us needed support.

He Cared very much about the whole team and ensured we were all cared for and made the trip all together. Everyone made it. Plenty of stops along the way for rests. The Inca trail was harder than I imagined it to be and we are keen walkers so having a brilliant tour guide was fantastic. He took us to a couple of restaurants which were great, good value for money too and also a couple of local tours around the area.

Accommodation was a bit basic but more than ample for what you need. Very friendly staff, just ensure you are first to shower as hot water runs out quickly.The tents were put up every day by the porters who were fantastic, they work so hard. There was plenty of food, I think at some point we were all saying no more please, we can't eat anything else. We had breakfast, then provided with a snack for the walk. Lunch mid day, then a drink and snacks around 5 ish and then tea around 7 before bed. The food was cooked to a high standard and we also received cake on the last day cooked fresh, which was amazing.

Would highly recommend this trip as a tick of the bucket list, but would point out that I found quite a lot of the walk to be very challenging as did much of our group, also the altitude effected all of us individually over the week which isn't always easy to assess and prepare for but our tour leader was really great and supportive and was able to provide comfort to some of us when we fell ill and useful tips on how to overcome it.
Confirmed traveller: 28 June 2016
Published on: 05 July 2016
(9 out of 10)

Lisa

Collection and transfers from/to the airport were excellent
The hostel accommodation was quaint, rustic. The service was good and the breakfasts were nice.
The tour leader took the group for a meal on the first day, which was unexpected and gave everyone a chance to start to get into the spirit of things.
The tour leader/guide was the same throughout the enter 9 day trip and a local to the Cusco region: The day trips before the trail were beautiful because of the scenery and full of informative historical details in English from the guide .
The Inca Trail was just amazing, the tour leader and assistant trail guides were so supportive. The porters and other support staff had everything working to a tee.
Throughout the trail the tour leader provided information on the historical sites always with the passion he had for the history, the flora and fauna, the people, the places and the mountains.

Machu Picchu was just stunning, with a tour with our trusted guide and free time before our train and bus transfer back to Cusco.

With all the group following the given instructions, everything ran smoothly.

Only comment on the porters, is their backpacks did not have a waist belt (shoulder straps only)

A trip worth doing
Confirmed traveller: 28 June 2016
Published on: 30 June 2016