It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
650 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews


Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.


Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Family Taj, Tigers & Palaces FMG

Visiting: India
Trip Duration 10 Days

Reviews for Family Taj, Tigers & Palaces

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Family Taj, Tigers & Palaces trip available at present.

Please select a date:


Family Taj, Tigers & Palaces reviews verified by reevooReevoo

17 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Family Taj, Tigers & PalacesScores 9.5 out of 10 based on 17 reviews
(9 out of 10)


A wonderful holiday in a magical country. Veeru, our fantastic tour guide, led us in this well organised trip. Highlights included Agra Fort, the village of Pachewar, Delhi, Jaipur and the sights and sounds of Northern India everywhere. We are a family of six; children aged 17,15,12 and 10 and after their initial reservations all very much enjoyed our Indian experience. We were however disappointed at the lack of tigers; in fact we found out shortly before we departed that in the summer months there are no tiger safari's and as others have stated feel the title misrepresents this holiday. Maybe Family Taj, Tigers ( but not in summer!!) and Palaces would be a more appropriate title.
Confirmed traveller: 21 August 2016
Published on: 19 September 2016
(10 out of 10)


Every bit of the tour was fabulous and Raj then Veeru were wonderful and informative guides. It was one of my dreams to see the Taj Mahal and it was granted.

The only complaint I would make is that it was called Taj, Tigers and Palaces and there were NO Tigers. I did not notice anything about a summer programme and that we would not be going to Rathambore until we got the final itinery. It is a bit disingenuous to have TIGERS in the title of the tour and pictures of TIGERS when half the time there will be no TIGERS.

My daughter was not keen to go to India (mainly because she was worried about being ill) but she adored the trip and wants to go on another EXPLORE trip again very soon.
Confirmed traveller: 21 August 2016
Published on: 15 September 2016
(8 out of 10)


Amazing trip. But non stop! Our guide was fantastic. Tigers not included in the July itenary so don't be misled by the title. Says suitable for children 4+ - not in my view. Great experience for older children. I think the itenary could be organised so we had fewer early starts. Absolutely no need to get 6.30am train from Jaipur to Delhi then hang around for hours waiting to check into rooms. Overall a memorable tour whcih everyone should do once in their lifetime.
Confirmed traveller: 11 August 2016
Published on: 16 October 2016
(10 out of 10)


New Malden
A wonderful, full-on tour which managed to take us off the beaten track into rural villages where time seems to have stood still, as well as seeing the breath-taking sights of the Taj Mahal, the Red Fort etc. A lot of fun for the teenagers too, with a camel ride, tuk-tuk and cycle rickshaw rides and a strenuous climb up to the temple in Pushkar amongst other things.

The most memorable moments were possibly the most "low-key"- walking through the chaotic market in Karauli, and watching bangles being made, sitting with the goats in the courtyard of a house watching a cookery demonstration at night in Pachewar (delicious food), looking down over Pushkar from the temple high on the hill and seeing the lights twinkling at dusk. The royal palace in Karauli was a magical place to stay and we met the royal family who were very gracious hosts and happy to chat about their lives.

The trip to the bird sanctuary national park (Keoladeo National Park) was very good - but a shame this itinerary meant no opportunity to see tigers, something which nobody on the trip had fully appreciated before we arrived (check the small print of the trip descriptions - the tiger parks are not open in the summer months).

Be prepared for hot and very humid weather, plus torrential rain now and again. There are some long journeys on the (air conditioned) coach, sometimes along unmade roads (some of them badly flooded and pot-holed), but plenty of stops for refreshments etc. And always something fascinating to watch out of the window.

If you want to get a feel for the wonders of India, this is a fantastic trip to do. Our guide, Satish, was excellent - very knowledgable and patient, and we were very well-looked-after at all times. A very memorable trip, thank you Explore.
Confirmed traveller: 07 August 2016
Published on: 01 October 2016
(9 out of 10)


brierley hill
The tour leader was amazing. But the biggest disappointment was no chance of seeing the Tigers. Why advertise the holiday as Tigers when there is no chance of seeing them as it is the wrong season. Personally I wouldn't have booked this holiday without the attraction to see the Tigers. We found out no tigers once we were in India. False advertising
Confirmed traveller: 07 August 2016
Published on: 04 September 2016
(8 out of 10)


Overall the tour was very good, the tour leader was excellent and looked after all his guests and exceptionally well. The major disappointment for us was that we booked a tour called "Family Tigers, Taj and Palaces" and we believe this was mis-sold as it wasn't possible to see Tigers as the park was closed at that particular season. This wasn't pointed out at time of booking as we would have reconsidered booking this tour. Also our flights were booked so that we missed a section of the tour on the first day, this also wasn't pointed out, the tour guide offered on our arrival that we could complete this on the last day, and then it turned out we would have been charged a further £40. The prices advise for food in the brochure are completely in realistic,
Confirmed traveller: 07 August 2016
Published on: 01 September 2016
(10 out of 10)


We were so lucky with the trip in two aspects! Our tour Leader Abhay was the best we have ever experienced. He organised lots of little things that added so much to the trip for the kids and the big kids. For example coming back from the Amber fort he stoped the bus to let a magician on board. He had the kids and the bus boy astounded with some simple and effective tricks.
In Ranthambore we drew a blank on the first drive but on the afternoon safari we were so lucky to see a tiger for 30 minutes. He walked out of the scrub towards a water hole paused to drink and then got into the hole to cool down. He lay there for about 25 minutes before getting up and wandering off past a near by samba deer.
Everything on this trip went to plan. The hotels were good except for the big one in Delhi (Royal Plaza Hotel) which was very expensive for a beer.
All in all the family would really recommend this trip.
Confirmed traveller: 24 April 2016
Published on: 25 April 2016
(10 out of 10)


fantastic explore leader with the right balance for the kids + adults
amazing holiday, with a multitude of one in a lifetime experiences
would go again tomorrow
Confirmed traveller: 10 April 2016
Published on: 12 April 2016
(10 out of 10)


Family Taj, Tigers and Palaces tour is a whistle stop tour of North India that was so much more than we could have envisaged. Every day was packed with wonderful places and things to see.
Our fabulous tour guide Indu was extremely knowledgeable, understanding and completely unflappable even when we were asking lots of questions. Nothing was too much trouble for him and he was brilliant with the children, which in turn helped the adults to enjoy their holiday.
Even the travelling hours were filled with interesting views, anecdotes and ongoings at the sides of the Indian streets. The coach was comfortable and we were extremely grateful for the airconditioning.
The local guides were all very knowledgeable about their particular area and were interesting to listen to.

This tour had so many highlights: tiger, deer, peacock, bird & crocodile spotting, the taj mahal at dawn was a spectacular experience, playing cricket with the locals in Pachewar, rickshaw rides round the backstreets of Dehli, the camel ride round Jaipur, the impressive views from Ranthambore Fort, the beautiful Agra fort and Amber palace. Pushkar, whilst being a dry vegetarian state, had a fabulous market, lovely restaurants and a very impressive temple. The hotels were fabulous (bar the Agra one) each had its own style and the staff were all very polite & helpful. The fort at Pachewar was wonderful and we loved exploring the different stairways and the whole ambience of it.

Tips: if you are staying somewhere for more than one night use their laundry services, they are inexpensive and easy to use.
Ladies, you will be expected to cover your shoulders and below the knee when visiting temples & sometimes in small villages.
Oh and don't too close to the roaming cows - they have horns!
Confirmed traveller: 05 April 2016
Published on: 17 April 2016
(10 out of 10)


An excellent, action packed tour suited to families of all ages. There are too many highlights to list but seeing Tigers, visiting the Taj Mahal (and many other beautiful buildings), camel rides, spending time in rural villages and down-time swimming with new friends were just some! Our 5 and 7 year old daughters loved their adventure and have many happy memories. Our tour guide was amazing, nothing was too much trouble and he went out of his way to ensure the children enjoyed the trip. There is quite a lot of travelling involved in the trip (busses and trains) but India is a big country and it gave us the opportunity to experience many different things. A huge thanks to both our tour guide and our group of fellow travellers for such a great holiday!
Confirmed traveller: 05 April 2016
Published on: 10 April 2016