It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
521 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 2,720

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast tours and experiences to choose from.

Family Taj, Tigers & Palaces FMG

Visiting: India
Tour Duration 10 Days
 
Reviews for Family Taj, Tigers & Palaces 5 out of 5 based on 7 ratings.

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Family Taj, Tigers & Palaces tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
4.5 Andy Morrice, 22/04/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

Ok, here's what you need to know, this trip involves a lot of travelling, 4-5 minimum hours pretty much every day, and its often several hours between toilet stops. There are a lot of early starts, and if you have young kids, be aware it may be late at night before you get to eat. None of this of course is a problem, forewarned is forearmed. The accommodation is quoted as basic, I'd disagree with this, the accommodation was absolutely fantastic, not luxurious but definitely part of the adventure. Where else are you going to stay in a 300 year old fort for example ? The sun rising over the Taj Mahal was incredible, especially after the trip the night before to the masons who explained how the marble is cut, and the gems added, and demonstrate how each gem is affected by the light. Was really looking forward to seeing it, and it didn't disappoint. We had to push for the promised elephant ride, but it was the highlight for the kids. The trip was arduous but incredibly worthwhile, a true adventure, epic landscapes/buildings, fabulous street scenes, and an abundance of wildlife. Everything you could possibly need crammed into 8 days

Read more
 
5 Rupert Yates Bell, 13/01/15

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

There were many...from the jeep rides searching for tigers and wildlife... to staying the night in some amazing forts and dressing up for a puppet show.. Riding the camels in Pushkar to the elephant ride up to the Amber Fort...But more so that magical location in Pushkar and visting the Ghat there and experiencing the real India....

Excellent tour - an amazing experience for all

Read more
 
5 Carl Burrows, 27/02/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Such an interesting and welcoming country that made everything about India memorable from the moment we arrived. The variety of new sights sounds and smells made this such an absorbing experience for both adults and children alike and is unlike other countries I have visited. Most hotels had great pool facilities, especially at the one at old fort in Pachewar where we all had the chance to relax and enjoy the weather after another busy day filled with new experiences. The itinerary was perfectly balanced which totally engage the whole group, from elephant rides at the Amber Fort, rickshaw rides through the bustling streets of Dehli, camel safaris around Pushkar, tiger spotting in Ranthambore, as well as a visit to the iconic Taj Mahal in Agra. Well done Explore, spot on!

Read more
 
5 , 15/10/13

Name

Michaela

Tour Code

FMG

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

I think it is hard to pin point a single highlight for this tour, it is so packed full of gems, the Taj Mahal, Ranthambore Park (Especially as we were lucky enough not only to see tigers but to get up really close. The park is packed with wildlife and the guides are more than happy to answer questions, if they haven't already answered them.) , the Red Fort at Agra, the Amber Fort and elephant ride, Pachewar village tour and the heritage Hotel with it's evening entertainment of dressing up, dancing and puppet show, Pushkar one of the most holy places in India,the brightly coloured markets and the array of goods for sale, the beautiful saris, and of course the inevitable Motor Rickshaw trip zig zagging haphazardly through the busy traffic.

Tour Leader Name

RAJ

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

"Our Tour Leader was Raj. He was most helpful and enthusiastic, always looking out for the group and taking care of our needs. He always had a cheerful disposition and was full of information, that he was bursting to tell. He would always sort out the best possible room arrangements for us, and check our levels of satisfaction. He would check out the cleanliness and hygiene of eating facilities, provide us with guidelines on costs and keep us posted each day with arrangements."

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

"Beware Taj Mahal security check means no liquids, creams, pens or straws as I discovered (leave these at the hotel or with your tour guide) Be prepared in some places to be hassled to buy, take your tour guides advice, ignore completely if you are not interested, any reaction yes or no means they will persist. If you do get hassled just be patient, no one can force you to buy. Always agree upfront before proceeding with a transaction and make sure parties a clear. If you don't get the best deals just put in down to experience, I'm sure at time it was a good deal until someone else betters it. Take along handwipes/bacterial gel and medication like Imodium/diaralyte for just in case. Keep some mosquito repellent handy. Pushkar ladies and young girls will need to cover their legs."

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

A fantastic tour, full of the highlights of Rajastahan. Be prepared for some early mornings, but they are well worth it.

 
5 , 15/10/13

Name

Sally Spencer

Tour Code

FMG

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Taj Mahal, Tigers, Pachewar village

Tour Leader Name

Prithvi Raj Singh Shekhawat

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Excellent. Our tour leader was brilliant in every way. Couldn't do enough for us and really great with the children. He had an extensive knowledge of the area and life in India in general. He checked kitchen's to make sure that food was prepared hygienically for us and just went above and beyond what was necessary most of the time.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Be prepared for early mornings. ensure children have good swimwear which covers their bodies and preferably hats to protect their heads. Remember that the visas add a substantial cost to the holiday and should be organised well in advance. Take playing cards and plenty of top trumps to entertain on long coach journeys.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

" We wanted a holiday which would be a real experience, an amazing adventure and something we would remember for many years to come. We were not disappointed. There were so many highlights with rides on Camels, elephants, motorised and cycle rickshaws and trains. Kids enjoyed all this and seeing tigers so there was something for everyone. Great going with other like-minded families and kids enjoyed being with other children. We feel like we saw something of the real India visiting the main tourist sites such as Taj Mahal, but also small villages and towns. It is not a holiday for the faint hearted or those who want to relax, it's very busy but worth it exactly what we expected from Explore. I Highly recommend it"

 
0 PR, 10/04/12
A lovely experience to share with my family, which included my 6 year old grand daughters. Highlights for us were the Taj Mahal, which exceeded all expectations,and the visit to a village in Rajasthan where we received such a warm welcome from the people. And of course Diwali in Jaipur - we will never for get the fireworks - magical!   Molly and Alice just loved India - its a fantastic destination for this age group, so much to see and so exciting, an experience which they will remember all their lives. The fort hotel in Pachewar (sp?) was  beautiful - like something out of a fairy story.  To anyone considering this trip - I`d say go for it - bring plenty of anti bacterial hand wash - despite the forebodings expressed by friends and family, we were fit and healthy throughout the holiday but you do need to be mindful that local hygiene standards are not what we are used to.  The girls are still voting it their best holiday ever..and the grown ups loved it too!
 
5 Michelle Laverick (Explore Staff), 17/05/11

This was my first family tour with Explore and it was fantastic. The whole family really enjoyed it in many different ways. The kids made some great new friends – whilst still enjoying the sights, sounds, smells and animals of India. I loved being able to experience adventure travel again – this time with my kids – getting to see everything I wanted to see all in one tour without the hassle. It was also the most relaxing, whilst being action packed, holiday I have been on with the family. India was more than I could ever have asked for and I loved Amber Fort, Ranthambore National Park, seeing my 5 year old climbing up to Savitri Temple in Pushkar and listening to the endless laughter from all the kids during everything we did. (FMG - 14th April 2011)

 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  3. Your Tour (*)
    Invalid Input
  4. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  5. Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  6. Tour leader name
  7. Do you have any feedback on your tour leaders performance?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  8. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  10. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  11.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA