It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
605 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Family Taj, Tigers & Palaces FMG

Visiting: India
Trip Duration 10 Days
 

Reviews for Family Taj, Tigers & Palaces

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Family Taj, Tigers & Palaces trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Family Taj, Tigers & Palaces reviews verified by Reevoo

11 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Family Taj, Tigers & PalacesScores 9.7 out of 10 based on 11 reviews
(10 out of 10)

David

Kilmacolm
We were so lucky with the trip in two aspects! Our tour Leader Abhay was the best we have ever experienced. He organised lots of little things that added so much to the trip for the kids and the big kids. For example coming back from the Amber fort he stoped the bus to let a magician on board. He had the kids and the bus boy astounded with some simple and effective tricks.
In Ranthambore we drew a blank on the first drive but on the afternoon safari we were so lucky to see a tiger for 30 minutes. He walked out of the scrub towards a water hole paused to drink and then got into the hole to cool down. He lay there for about 25 minutes before getting up and wandering off past a near by samba deer.
Everything on this trip went to plan. The hotels were good except for the big one in Delhi (Royal Plaza Hotel) which was very expensive for a beer.
All in all the family would really recommend this trip.
Confirmed traveller: 24 April 2016
Published on: 25 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Martin

Halifax
Family Taj, Tigers and Palaces tour is a whistle stop tour of North India that was so much more than we could have envisaged. Every day was packed with wonderful places and things to see.
Our fabulous tour guide Indu was extremely knowledgeable, understanding and completely unflappable even when we were asking lots of questions. Nothing was too much trouble for him and he was brilliant with the children, which in turn helped the adults to enjoy their holiday.
Even the travelling hours were filled with interesting views, anecdotes and ongoings at the sides of the Indian streets. The coach was comfortable and we were extremely grateful for the airconditioning.
The local guides were all very knowledgeable about their particular area and were interesting to listen to.

This tour had so many highlights: tiger, deer, peacock, bird & crocodile spotting, the taj mahal at dawn was a spectacular experience, playing cricket with the locals in Pachewar, rickshaw rides round the backstreets of Dehli, the camel ride round Jaipur, the impressive views from Ranthambore Fort, the beautiful Agra fort and Amber palace. Pushkar, whilst being a dry vegetarian state, had a fabulous market, lovely restaurants and a very impressive temple. The hotels were fabulous (bar the Agra one) each had its own style and the staff were all very polite & helpful. The fort at Pachewar was wonderful and we loved exploring the different stairways and the whole ambience of it.

Tips: if you are staying somewhere for more than one night use their laundry services, they are inexpensive and easy to use.
Ladies, you will be expected to cover your shoulders and below the knee when visiting temples & sometimes in small villages.
Oh and don't too close to the roaming cows - they have horns!
Confirmed traveller: 05 April 2016
Published on: 17 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Helen

storrington
fantastic explore leader with the right balance for the kids + adults
amazing holiday, with a multitude of one in a lifetime experiences
would go again tomorrow
Confirmed traveller: 10 April 2016
Published on: 12 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Kay

Norwich
An excellent, action packed tour suited to families of all ages. There are too many highlights to list but seeing Tigers, visiting the Taj Mahal (and many other beautiful buildings), camel rides, spending time in rural villages and down-time swimming with new friends were just some! Our 5 and 7 year old daughters loved their adventure and have many happy memories. Our tour guide was amazing, nothing was too much trouble and he went out of his way to ensure the children enjoyed the trip. There is quite a lot of travelling involved in the trip (busses and trains) but India is a big country and it gave us the opportunity to experience many different things. A huge thanks to both our tour guide and our group of fellow travellers for such a great holiday!
Confirmed traveller: 05 April 2016
Published on: 10 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Dianne

Bedfordshire
The tour was amazing. My first visit to India was stress free and fun. Thanks to Indu we crammed so much into one day. We felt like we had been away for 3 weeks!! It was excellent for children as well as adults. Highly recommend. Everything went so smoothly. The transport, the hotels, the taj, everything all perfectly organised.
Confirmed traveller: 05 April 2016
Published on: 06 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Such an interesting and welcoming country that made everything about India memorable from the moment we arrived. The variety of new sights sounds and smells made this such an absorbing experience for both adults and children alike and is unlike other countries I have visited. Most hotels had great pool facilities, especially at the one at old fort in Pachewar where we all had the chance to relax and enjoy the weather after another busy day filled with new experiences. The itinerary was perfectly balanced which totally engage the whole group, from elephant rides at the Amber Fort, rickshaw rides through the bustling streets of Dehli, camel safaris around Pushkar, tiger spotting in Ranthambore, as well as a visit to the iconic Taj Mahal in Agra. Well done Explore, spot on!Our tour leader Gumpta was the perfect host. He always ensured that the children were fully engaged with every aspect of the tour and always had a cheerful smile. He would make sure he found restaurants that were suitable for the group and recognised when the children needed food, drinks or a break to keep them going. He was so knowledgeable put was able to converse on an adult level as well as a younger level which made this a great all round family experience.
Confirmed traveller: 27 February 2014
Published on: 12 March 2016
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Ok, here's what you need to know, this trip involves a lot of travelling, 4-5 minimum hours pretty much every day, and its often several hours between toilet stops. There are a lot of early starts, and if you have young kids, be aware it may be late at night before you get to eat. None of this of course is a problem, forewarned is forearmed. The accommodation is quoted as basic, I'd disagree with this, the accommodation was absolutely fantastic, not luxurious but definitely part of the adventure. Where else are you going to stay in a 300 year old fort for example ? The sun rising over the Taj Mahal was incredible, especially after the trip the night before to the masons who explained how the marble is cut, and the gems added, and demonstrate how each gem is affected by the light. Was really looking forward to seeing it, and it didn't disappoint. We had to push for the promised elephant ride, but it was the highlight for the kids. The trip was arduous but incredibly worthwhile, a true adventure, epic landscapes/buildings, fabulous street scenes, and an abundance of wildlife. Everything you could possibly need crammed into 8 daysAnuj, was our tour leader, a really nice bloke, very knowledgeable, happy to go the extra mile to help and clearly passionate about his history. What he doesn't know about India, you could probably write on the back of a postage stamp.
Confirmed traveller: 22 April 2015
Published on: 12 March 2016
(10 out of 10)

Andrew

Harbury
This fantastic tour blew away all our expectations. It was truly memorable for all the right reasons. Mayank Singh our guide was brilliant and opened so many doors that would have stayed closed for us had we been travelling alone. We saw the Tigers, rode the camels, took a tuc tuc and generally just absorbed the sights and sounds of this wonderful country. You must go, you really must
Confirmed traveller: 31 December 2015
Published on: 29 February 2016
(10 out of 10)

Neil

Minchinhampton
Highlight was definitely seeing a tiger (thanks again to Abi for organising the additional trip, otherwise I wouldn't have seen one!).
Confirmed traveller: 01 November 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

Jacqueline

PULBOROUGH
Highlights were the tiger safari and seeing a tiger, plus the Taj Mahal.
Confirmed traveller: 01 November 2015
Published on: 03 November 2015