It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
625 Matching trips
Site Search
Family Brochure 2018

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Family Taj, Tigers and Palaces FMG

Visiting: India
Trip Duration 10 Days
 

Reviews for Family Taj, Tigers and Palaces

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Family Taj, Tigers and Palaces trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Family Taj, Tigers & Palaces reviews verified by reevooReevoo

23 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Family Taj, Tigers & PalacesScores 9.4 out of 10 based on 23 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Alistair

Bishops Sutton
Fantastic trip - tour leaders were excellent - accommodation varied from 4 star hotel to colonial villa and old maharajah's fort. Totally recommend this tour.
Confirmed traveller: 20 August 2017
Published on: 29 August 2017
(10 out of 10)

Alison

Poole
Amazing stay in forts and palaces. Saw traditional Indian sites e.g. Taj Mahal as well as gems off the beaten track.
Confirmed traveller: 20 August 2017
Published on: 26 August 2017
(9 out of 10)

Heather

Crowborough
The trip was amazing, packing so much in the time there was. When getting back to Delhi was sad knowing that soon to be going home!
Confirmed traveller: 20 August 2017
Published on: 25 August 2017
(9 out of 10)

Patricia

Oxford
Brilliant tour. We did see tigers which was of course great though the "safari" experience itself could be improved (not by Explore but by the park itself). The village experience was another highlight for us plus the Taj which was breathtaking. Touring with other families (3 others) was great and really enhanced the trip. Some long, bumpy bus journeys so go prepared with entertainment. All of the hotels bar one were good, the last one was ok. Women particularly need to be respectfully dressed so ensure plenty of clothes that cover legs and shoulders. It did also get very hot (42). We were there early to mid April. Sorab the guide was amazing.
Confirmed traveller: 21 April 2017
Published on: 17 May 2017
(10 out of 10)

Judith

Birmingham
Definitely an action packed trip. It is full on and perfect for families who love adventure. Sorab was a first class tour guide who knew so much and couldn't do enough to help us. My personal highlight was the safari where we opted for the extra trip. And yes- we saw tigers both days and we were lucky enough to watch a sloth bear play with a stick for 20 mins. On the break between safari's we went to a village called Dastkar. My big tip is to bring your credit card here. The money goes to the villagers who have been relocated from the national park and the goods they make are top quality and beautiful. It's 11km on a tuk tuk.
Confirmed traveller: 16 April 2017
Published on: 20 April 2017
(9 out of 10)

Joanna

Cumbria
A wonderful holiday in a magical country. Veeru, our fantastic tour guide, led us in this well organised trip. Highlights included Agra Fort, the village of Pachewar, Delhi, Jaipur and the sights and sounds of Northern India everywhere. We are a family of six; children aged 17,15,12 and 10 and after their initial reservations all very much enjoyed our Indian experience. We were however disappointed at the lack of tigers; in fact we found out shortly before we departed that in the summer months there are no tiger safari's and as others have stated feel the title misrepresents this holiday. Maybe Family Taj, Tigers ( but not in summer!!) and Palaces would be a more appropriate title.
Confirmed traveller: 21 August 2016
Published on: 19 September 2016

Thanks for your review, Joanna. I'm delighted you had such a great time, but I share your disappointment we didn't make it absolutely clear that Ranthambore National Park is closed in the summer months. I have now improved our messaging so that customers travelling in the summer are aware they'll be visiting an old Maharajah's house instead.

(10 out of 10)

Adele

London
Every bit of the tour was fabulous and Raj then Veeru were wonderful and informative guides. It was one of my dreams to see the Taj Mahal and it was granted.

The only complaint I would make is that it was called Taj, Tigers and Palaces and there were NO Tigers. I did not notice anything about a summer programme and that we would not be going to Rathambore until we got the final itinery. It is a bit disingenuous to have TIGERS in the title of the tour and pictures of TIGERS when half the time there will be no TIGERS.

My daughter was not keen to go to India (mainly because she was worried about being ill) but she adored the trip and wants to go on another EXPLORE trip again very soon.
Confirmed traveller: 21 August 2016
Published on: 15 September 2016

Thanks for your review, Adele. I'm sorry we didn't make it absolutely clear that Ranthambore National Park is closed in the summer months. I have now improved our messaging so that customers travelling in the summer are aware they'll be visiting an old Maharajah's house instead.

(8 out of 10)

Jane

London
Amazing trip. But non stop! Our guide was fantastic. Tigers not included in the July itenary so don't be misled by the title. Says suitable for children 4+ - not in my view. Great experience for older children. I think the itenary could be organised so we had fewer early starts. Absolutely no need to get 6.30am train from Jaipur to Delhi then hang around for hours waiting to check into rooms. Overall a memorable tour whcih everyone should do once in their lifetime.
Confirmed traveller: 11 August 2016
Published on: 16 October 2016
(10 out of 10)

Stephen

New Malden
A wonderful, full-on tour which managed to take us off the beaten track into rural villages where time seems to have stood still, as well as seeing the breath-taking sights of the Taj Mahal, the Red Fort etc. A lot of fun for the teenagers too, with a camel ride, tuk-tuk and cycle rickshaw rides and a strenuous climb up to the temple in Pushkar amongst other things.

The most memorable moments were possibly the most "low-key"- walking through the chaotic market in Karauli, and watching bangles being made, sitting with the goats in the courtyard of a house watching a cookery demonstration at night in Pachewar (delicious food), looking down over Pushkar from the temple high on the hill and seeing the lights twinkling at dusk. The royal palace in Karauli was a magical place to stay and we met the royal family who were very gracious hosts and happy to chat about their lives.

The trip to the bird sanctuary national park (Keoladeo National Park) was very good - but a shame this itinerary meant no opportunity to see tigers, something which nobody on the trip had fully appreciated before we arrived (check the small print of the trip descriptions - the tiger parks are not open in the summer months).

Be prepared for hot and very humid weather, plus torrential rain now and again. There are some long journeys on the (air conditioned) coach, sometimes along unmade roads (some of them badly flooded and pot-holed), but plenty of stops for refreshments etc. And always something fascinating to watch out of the window.

If you want to get a feel for the wonders of India, this is a fantastic trip to do. Our guide, Satish, was excellent - very knowledgable and patient, and we were very well-looked-after at all times. A very memorable trip, thank you Explore.
Confirmed traveller: 07 August 2016
Published on: 01 October 2016