It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
547 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Have you considered?

Brochures

Our latest  brochures are available now, with over 600 adventures for you to choose from.

Gift Vouchers

Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with over 600 tours & experiences to choose from. The perfect gift idea for any occasion.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 1,843

Tiger Trails and Temples WS

Visiting: India
Tour Duration 16 Days
  • Tiger, Ranthambore NP
  • Temples in Orchha / Katie Walmsley
  • Bengal Tiger / Chris Milne
  • Khajuraho
  • Playful Langur
  • Tour Style: Classic
  • Tour Type: Small Groups
  • Tour Pace: Busy
  • Tour Comfort: Standard
 

Book now!

9 reviews for this tour

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Tiger Trails and Temples tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
9 , 07/01/14

Name

Deborah Martin

Tour Name

Tiger Trails and Temples

Tour Code

WS

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Easily the most memorable moments were the two good sightings of tigers, Unnis in Ranthambhore and Munna in Kanha. The whole tour was really interesting and the wildlife game drives were always interesting even if a tiger was not spotted due to the diversity of the different landscapes and other animal and birds to be seen. The local hotel staff, drivers and guides were without exception always helpful and friendly.

Tour Leader Name

Rafeeq

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Rafeeq was probably the best Tour Leader I have ever had after 20+ Explore Trips. His extensive local knowledge meant that we got maximum value from the places we visited especially his wide experience of guiding in the national parks. He went over and above to ensure that any requests we made were met including the maximum number of extra optional game drives that we could fit in.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Take more warm clothes than you think you will need, it's very cold in an open vehicle on early morning and late evening game drives. Don't expect the accommodation to be of normal western hotel standards, sometimes there is hot water and sometimes not, in fact sometimes no water at all so take wet wipes! Coffee in India is the powdered instant variety so if you don't drink tea and like a good cup of coffee take some with you, I would have killed for a cup of good fresh ground coffee by the end of the tour.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

As indicated in the trip notes this tour is busy with not very much time for relaxing, there are early mornings and lots of sitting down travelling in a variety of vehicles which are not always comfortable given the state of the roads traveled on.

 
0 R and P, 01/05/12
Add us to those who thought this tour was excellent! We had some wonderful sightings of tigers as so well described by John and Joan. Before we decided to use Explore in our quest for tigers we had investigated taking a "private" trip through the tiger parks. We do not think it could have been any better or more successful (in tiger sightings) than this Explore tour. Now having said that anyone contemplating this tour must remember that tiger sightings depend upon the skill of guides but even more so, on just sheer "luck"...being in the right place at the right time and there is a chance that this may not come to be. Just be prepared for this eventuality. The National Parks were wonderful with lots of wildlife and great photo ops. Be prepared for very early starts to enter the parks. We had not anticipated just how cold it was in the mornings and evenings; we should have taken more warm clothing. The "roads" on the game drives can be rough; be ready to be bounced around a bit. Apart from those magnificent tigers and other wildlife the tour included many oportunities to see and participate in the cultural side of India. We highly recommend this very well rounded experience of India.
 
0 John and June Hayes, 02/04/12
This was a truly memorable holiday.The people of India are very friendly and make you feel very welcome.The temples were very impressive and steeped in history.The promise of varied wildlife were the main reasons for choosing this holiday, and we were not disapointed, with many spicies of birds, also deer langur gaur and crocodiles. Seeing all of these were special,but the tiger sightings were beyond our expectations,it was brilliant,after two really good tiger sightings made possible by the expert knowledgeof the safari guide and driver, we had the added bonus of our tour leader also being an expert on understanding animal signs and alarm calls.Our trip highlight being, under guidence of our tour leader we drove a long way into the jungle in Kanah N.P. and were eventually rewarded with a 20 minute encounter with a male tiger at close quaters.Our tour leader said you wont get better than this,he was so right his efforts throughout this holliday made this a brilliant holiday
 
0 Jim & Claire Haslem, 17/05/11
The review by TJT - 10 Mar 2011 is excellent.  We would fully endorse it and couldn't hope to phrase it better.  But we would like to add a few comments.    A large part of our pleasure and memories have come from interaction with the local communities.  We visited a local village, watched a potter, intermingled with travelling Rajasthani people, stopped at a small religious community and joined in with local dancers amongst other things.    India is a large and varied country and its people are as exciting and colourful as the birds and animals that live there too. (WS - 8th April 2011)
 
0 TJT, 10/03/11
A lovely trip for wildlife.  There is such a wide variety of easy-to-see birds and animals.  They'd probably seem common to Indians, but for me they were exotic,  and it starts right in Delhi with numerous Black Kites circling over the parks.  Getting some close-up pictures of tigers was obviously a bonus over merely seeing them, but that's down to luck as well as the skill of your drivers and guides, as with all wildlife.  There are plenty of other treats such as Barasingha and other deer, Gaur, Langur, crocodiles, hawks, owls, TreePies, kingfishers, Orioles, butterflies and dragonflies; and if you're very,  very lucky, wild cats and Baloo.  Try not to concentrate so much on seeing a tiger that you don't appreciate all the rest that's around you.  You have to like spectacular ancient temples and palaces with magnificent views too.  The Laxmi temple above Orchha is worth the walk to see it's murals.  The less well known but excellent Kanha is a more relaxed reserve, and its shop (only visited at breakfast time) is also good value for those late presents.  Don't expect luxury in the wilds of rural India, but it's comfortable enough, there is plenty of variety of Indian food, and the train journeys are also an important part of the Indian experience. (WS 26th November - 2010).
 
0 Michelle Barker, 11/02/11
Seeing a tiger in the wild, just  sat in the road watching all the people take her photo at Ranthambore was the highlight of the trip, and that was only the first of our tiger safari's.  The Western Temples were amazing, and the guide was brilliant at pointing out the unusual carvings.  You need to understand that India is not as developed as the UK, and some of the sights in the countryside are a bit of a shock.  It would be good if the government could work on the conditions for the poorer people of India. (WS - 7th January 2011)
 
0 David Bond, 31/12/10
Highlights was obviously seeing 11 tiger siteings. How hard it was to find the tigers. Advice be prepared for long rought journeys between reserves and do not be too disappointed if you do not see the tigers as the trip before us did not see any. (WS - 26th November 2010)
 
0 Chris D Martin, 23/12/10
The highlights were spotting and seeing at close quarters a tiger. Just magnificient animals. The friendliness of Indian people and their support for tourists. A nice sized group of 12 persons and a terrific leader who went out of his way to help all of us whether it be illness or alteration in tour stops etc. All in all a great experience with Explore. (WS - 22nd October 2010)
 
0 Melanie White, 21/09/10
Seeing a tiger - wow. Husband was lucky to have seen 2 tigers!!! (WS- 24th December 2009)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  3. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  4. Tour name (i.e. Inca Trail Trek)
  5. Tour Code (i.e. PQ)
    Invalid Input
  6. What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  7. Tour leader name
  8. How Was Your Explore Tour Leader?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  10. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  11. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  12.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA