It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
520 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 2,720

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast tours and experiences to choose from.

Indian Rail Odyssey RIN

Visiting: India
Tour Duration 21 Days
 
Reviews for Indian Rail Odyssey 4.5 out of 5 based on 6 ratings.

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Indian Rail Odyssey tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
4 David Crawshaw, 16/03/15

Please Review Your Overall Experience And What Your Highlights Were

Tour did what the brochure said, we were fortunate enough to see Tigers too.

 

 

Read more
Our Response

Thank you for your feedback; we appreciate your support for Indira.  We were concerned by your comments on the Amritsar hotel, and are checking whether it was in fact the intended accommodation: but if so, then we will be looking for an alternative.  We are also contacting you separately, as requested – we certainly act on customer feedback, as that’s always going to be our best means of improving our tours.

 
5 Gail, 02/04/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

This trip had so many highlights, but for me the best were the Golden Temple, Amritsar at night, so beautiful and haunting. Taj Mahal of course and the Amber Fort in Jaipur for its setting and superb Mirror Palace. Loved the Nilgiri Hills too. Trip was very varied - desert, mountains,tropical scenery, palaces,forts, coast and wildlife.

Read more
 
5 , 15/08/13

Name

Paul

Tour Code

RIN

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

We had never been to India before, but when we were looking for a tour which we thought would give a glimpse of what such a vast country had to offer, in a mere three weeks, then the Indian Rail Odyssey seemed to tick all the boxes. From start to finish, the whole experience was unforgettable, whether it was exploring ancient monuments, driving around wildlife parks looking for tigers and elephants, or simply travelling on the intrinsically "Indian" overnight trains. There was not one disappointing moment. For this reason, it would be extremely difficult to isolate any aspect as a momentous or memorable highlight. The whole tour was brilliant.

Tour Leader Name

Anil Khumar

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

We had never been to India before, but when we were looking for a tour which we thought would give a glimpse of what such a vast country had to offer, in a mere three weeks, then the Indian Rail Odyssey seemed to tick all the boxes. From start to finish, the whole experience was unforgettable, whether it was exploring ancient monuments, driving around wildlife parks looking for tigers and elephants, or simply travelling on the intrinsically "Indian" overnight trains. There was not one disappointing moment. For this reason, it would be extremely difficult to isolate any aspect as a momentous or memorable highlight. The whole tour was brilliant.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Anil Khumar was exceptional as a tour leader for the duration of our Indian Rail Odyssey (20130309). With reference to his country's history and culture, he was able to impart considerable knowledge in a way that was interesting and lively. With regard to logistics, he was able to sort out the most awkward situations, showing very good man management and even shepherding skills when required. He was extremely courteous and had a great sense of humour. There was not a time during the tour when we ever felt vulnerable or out of our depth. This was largely due to the input of Anil.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Go with an open mind. The lonely planet was a very useful tool, even though it was quite bulky. If I was going again, i would probably explore other options with regard to factual reading matter. The food is not expensive and therefore, relatively, we did not spend very much. There was no shortage of ATM machines in towns and cities, so changing currency was never a real issue. Be careful about what you eat and make sure that you disinfect your hands at every opportunity. Take mosquito repellant. Keep a journal.

 
0 Lisa Toole, 02/04/12
A superb, full-on and, at times, hectic trip! From arriving in Amritsar and going straight out to see the border gate (with Pakistan) closing ceremony to sitting on a rice boat in Kerala, this is a great way of seeing India. The highlight has to be seeing a wild tiger in Ranthambore and sitting watching her bask in the early morning sun for 40 minutes! Being the first ones at the Taj Mahal at sunrise will stay in my memory as a 'kodak moment' forever. The train rides are a true experience and deciding which person is willing to sleep on the top bunk requires some very easy-going and flexible people! The train ride at Ooty was so delightful. I was blown away by the architecture at so many places. As usual with Explore, the guide was excellent, informative and kept us to schedule when needed, especially at the 2 minute train stops; he also took us all to see a Bollywood movie one evening, an optional extra, which the whole group thoroughly enjoyed. This is a fab trip!
 
0 HJG, 16/05/11
When I think of this holiday I cannot help but smile. India is an amazing country- colourful, abundant, magical, multifarious.  We saw snakes and monkeys, camels, peacocks and a tiger. We travelled by bicycle rickshaw, tuctuc, steam train and elephant. We visited the Sikh holy of holies, temples for Ganesh and Nandi, a 400 year old synagogue and the resting place of St Francis Xavier. We saw the Golden Temple by moonlight, the Taj Mahal at dawn and in the midday sun we lounged on a houseboat in Kerala. The hotels were all very smart and comfortable but the best experience was travelling on the trains, even though they are not at all up to British standards of cleanliness. At the stations you get a real insight into the life of the ordinary people of India going about their daily business. I will always remember the groups of Indian women in gorgeous silk and gold saris sitting on the platform surrounded by goats. This could not be described as a relaxing holiday as there were so many early starts and a constant moving on, but it was a great adventure and gave a real sense of achievement. We didn’t get ill either! – top tip drink lhassi instead of beer.(RIN - 20th February 2011)
 
0 Robin Mardlin, 31/12/10
Highlights; eating lunch with the pilgrims in the golden temple at Amritsar and joining the crowds cheering at the border crossing at Wagah.The train part really is an odyssey and enabled us to feel really immersed in the local culture. The local food was excellent and with care and hand gel we were able to avoid any tummy upsets. Advice is to eat local food and drink lassi! (RIN - 6th November 2010)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  3. Your Tour (*)
    Invalid Input
  4. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  5. Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  6. Tour leader name
  7. Do you have any feedback on your tour leaders performance?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  8. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  10. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  11.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA