It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
650 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews


Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.


Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Indian Rail Odyssey RIN

Visiting: India
Trip Duration 21 Days

Reviews for Indian Rail Odyssey

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Indian Rail Odyssey trip available at present.

Please select a date:


Indian Rail Odyssey reviews verified by reevooReevoo

7 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Indian Rail OdysseyScores 9.3 out of 10 based on 7 reviews
(10 out of 10)


The tour was really well structured with the travelling being at the beginning and middle which I really enjoyed and the relaxation at the end in a superb hotel.For me the whole tour was a highlight.Seeing a tiger in the wild and visiting palaces I did not know existed were fantastic experiences.All the people e.g bus drivers we came in contact with were so helpful and friendly as were the people of India generally.A tip would be make the first hotel better.First impressions etc.The tour leader Narji was outstanding in all aspects. I will write a separate testimonial.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 27 February 2016
Published on: 10 March 2016
(8 out of 10)


This is a full on 3 weeks and not a trip I would consider managing on my own. A lot of wonderful places and experiences are included and it exceeded my expectations. It was my first visit to India and I just loved it. Particularly all the Indian people we meet on our travels. Friendly, happy, welcoming and helpful. The Taj Mahal was a place I have wanted to go all my life. It didn't disappointed. Better than I ever imagined. The Golden Temple at Amristar was the first WOW of the trip and seeing a tiger in the wonderful tranquil Bandipur National Park another highlight. Train travel allowed us to experience real travel in India and interact with many fellow Indian travellers. The food was good throughout. No problems at all and a chance to enjoy many new flavours. Storage of luggage on the trains can be a bit tight so it is important to try and travel as light as possible. There are laundry opportunities on the trip. Getting currency along the way is easy so no need to carry huge amounts at any one time. Our guide did a great job keeping us on track and informed about options and relevant information on places visited.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 27 February 2016
Published on: 02 March 2016
(10 out of 10)


Burnaby, British Columbia, Canada
This tour (India Rail Odyssey) is not for everyone. Very good physical shape and excellent mobility are needed as much of the tour is packed and demanding. Optional extras are available and always add to the experience.
It is essential that the tour group is of one mind within a day or two. Whining, complaining, dissention, tardiness, inflexibility and personsal agendas are not acceptable or tolerated.
This a demanding tour and it is a fabulous experience.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 13 February 2016
Published on: 29 February 2016
(10 out of 10)


Everything about this tour was great - we saw a huge amount in only 3 weeks - my only criticism was that it was not long enough - I thought I would be keen to get home after 3 weeks away in such a different environment but that was not the case at all. It has certainly inspired me to return to see more of India and also revisit some places where, sadly, we could not see everything because of limited time.
Just about everything was a highlight and its difficult to pick things out though I particularly enjoyed Amaritzar - both the place and the Temple - and the border ceremony. I am also very glad that we fitted in the town of Bundi (it would be great if that could be added to the tour as it was a fantastic experience).
The range of hotels was nice and although I had some reservations about our hotel in Ooty to start with its position and staff made it a great place to stay. Our final hotel in Kochin was a long way out of the centre but once we understood how to get into town by Tuk Tuk it seemed more accessible, the staff were charming and the pool and facilities were great - they even arranged for an outfit to be tailored for me overnight. Some thought could be given to a more central hotel for this final stay but on consideration this one had many advantages.
The combination of travel by train and coach worked well and gave us lots of opportunity for local insights and our guide was excellent at managing us all and ensuring we saw as much as we could, he clearly had good relations with hotels, local guides etc and made our travel very easy.
My only, small, criticisms were that I had a minor accident at Tusker Trails where, through no fault of mine, part of a wall collapsed on me badly bruising my arm and my foot a little - our guide did not take any interest in this although he must have been aware something had happened as he saw the staff cleaning me up with TCP. I did talk to him about it later and showed him the collapsed wall so he had a word with the staff - seemingly no lasting damage has been done but I would have expected a health and safety report to be logged as a matter of routine just in case - or are there different rules for India? Secondly our guide did not explain to us how easy it would be to get a Tuk Tuk into Kochin, giving us the impression we were rather stuck in the middle of nowhere in our hotel unless the coach took us, this meant we were very dependent on his plans for us when trying to fit in anything extra we wanted to do - for example he knew that I wanted to get an outfit made up and, with hindsight, it would have been very easy for me to go into town by Tuk Tuk to find a tailor if I had been given a bit more information, as it was fortunately I managed to negotiate with the hotel to have it done in house. I fully understand that the guide has more than enough to do without dealing with people's individual extra needs but in this case I think giving us a little more information would have enabled us to do more independently if we wished, I understand that with a group travelling at such a pace its much easier to keep everyone together as much as possible to manage them safely and effectively so this is a minor issue.
Overall I thought Anuj, our guide, did an excellent job he was always cheerful, polite and professional in his approach and had a good sense of humour - he was very knowledgeable particularly about India history - and managed us very successfully and efficiently while making it a fun experience at the same time. I would definitely recommend him as a guide to others.
I thought the trip excellent value for money and all members of the group were convivial,
0 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 13 February 2016
Published on: 29 February 2016
(9 out of 10)


The three week tour took in West India from north to south so included a lot of travel by train and coach and many sights. It's hard to pick out highlights as we visited so many impressive sites but the Taj Mahal and Humayan's tomb at Agra stand out as does the historic part of Panjim, Goa, the town of Bundi and its old fort, the Grand Palace of Mysore, the dramatic drives through the mountains of the hill country in the south and Fort Kochi with its fishing nets.

The hotels we liked best were the Heritage hotel in Panjim and the Trident in Cochin.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 13 February 2016
Published on: 20 February 2016
(9 out of 10)


Made train travel (relatively) easy. It does all the main sights - Amritsar was particularly good. Lots of travelling - take a bag you can squash under the train seats. Don't always expect town centre hotels.
Confirmed traveller: 14 February 2015
Published on: 28 September 2015