It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
619 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Indochina Encounter + Good Morning Vietnam! QBV

Trip Duration 20 Days
 

Reviews for Indochina Encounter + Good Morning Vietnam!

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Indochina Encounter + Good Morning Vietnam! trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Indochina Encounter + Good Morning Vietnam! reviews verified by reevooReevoo

22 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Indochina Encounter + Good Morning Vietnam!Scores 8.2 out of 10 based on 22 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Patricia

Ruislip
The one night in Bangkok could be omitted.

Highlights - the people, the food, Angkor Wat, Hoi An.

The killing fields and cu chi tunnels very moving.

An excellent holiday. Would recommend.
Confirmed traveller: 01 April 2017
Published on: 07 April 2017
(6 out of 10)

Michael

Scarborough
Above scores are quite high but I am really unhappy that I was left 'stranded' so to speak on my arrival at Bangkok airport. The Explore rep did not make himself visible enough, meeting instructions were not specific enough and I was left looking for a contact for two hours, following a very long flight. After ringing the Explore emergency number, I was met by an indifferent rep with no apology, and then met again at the hotel by the local rep, who again appeared completely indifferent to what had happened. The rep then provided poor advice in using a ATM, which cost 40 per cent to use of the amount taken out, I understand my personal responsibility in this also.
Another customer also had to pay for his own taxi from the airport as he also missed the meeting rep, and the two customers that did meet the rep, did not find this easy. The Explore rep that I spoke to on the emergency line said that she would follow up the circumstances at the airport and 'get back to me', this has not happened. Whilst zi understand that this is 'budget' travel, these arrangements were poorly executed and should be improved.
Confirmed traveller: 04 February 2017
Published on: 07 February 2017
(8 out of 10)

Brian

Cambodia was great with a really good tour leader, Vietnam was disappointing tour leader in siagon had his own interests at heart, and the rest of the tour was a wastep of time!
Confirmed traveller: 07 January 2017
Published on: 09 June 2017
(8 out of 10)

Philip

burton on trent
There were many good points with this trip but also a couple of minor ones.
Firstly the accommodation was excellent throughout the trip. the itinerary was varied and the pace was " progressive". It was neither relaxing or full on but that depends on how much you want to see.
A big downside was the trip from Thailand to Cambodia. Our first guide was terrible. We never did get to find out his name but we were only with him for a day. On arrival at the Cambodian border , he took the whole group of 13 into a restaurant or more of a shop with tables. He told us that we would eat here and that the owners would organise our "express" visas through to Cambodia. This would cost $40 (a visa is only $30) , and 300 bahts for food each. I raised the point that we could all easily just go to the border and sort our own visas out but he just ignored me and kept repeating that the owner would sort everything out whilst we ate some lunch. My partner and I refused and flagged down a tuk tuk and proceeded to the border where we organised our own visas , which was very quick and easy to do. We were through within 20 minutes. We both feel this was some sort of scam and that because the guide was only with us for 1 day he thought he could get away with it.
By contrast, the next guide we had in Cambodia ,Nak was absolutely brilliant. In fact so much so that he made this part of the trip very special. The highlights in Cambodia were Ankor Wat and Ankor Thom. The boat trip was also excellent as were the "killing fields" trip and the prison. The food was good and varied and the people very friendly.
We traveled into Vietnam via public bus so you experience how the locals travel. This was great. Going through the border between Cambodia and Vietnam is a pain. Very slow and time consuming , but all part of the experience.
Our tour guide in Vietnam , Bee , was a contrast to Nak. Although he was a very nice person , we felt that we were there for his benefit. On several occasions he took us to restaurants at night that were owned by his friends , and then he would leave us to go and eat with other people he knew , or would just leave us there and go. He would usually wait until everyone had eaten breakfast in the morning ,and then left , and then go and have his . He tried to up sell the most expensive trips . On one occasion there were 2 trips we could choose from . One was a river cruise ($15) and the other was a more expensive trip ($45), although I can't remember what that was. He said that the river cruise wasn't running because of the weather and when nobody wanted to do the more expensive trip , the river cruise was available again. ( so we all did that). He always took us to top end restaurants even though i suggested we eat at simpler places so we ate with locals and not another group of tourists. Saying all that though , 2 American ladies were very impressed by him and they say he did do a lot for them , and they tipped accordingly .
Haylong bay was another highlight although just a word of warning , don't expect the place to yourself like you see on the internet .........
My partner wanted to add about the train journeys , of which there are 3. As much as they were enjoyable , she felt that it would have been beneficial to pay extra to have a better sleeping compartment due to the thin mattresses in the compartments we had.
We hope this has been useful when thinking about doing this trip. Its a great trip and the score of 9 for tour leader is for Nak , the others would range between 1 and 6.
Confirmed traveller: 03 December 2016
Published on: 18 December 2016
(9 out of 10)

Shirley

London
It was an unforgettable experience and a wonderful holiday. One of the strongest aspects of both tours (Indochina Encounter and Good Morning Vietnam) was the quality of our Explore Leaders. Sitar in Cambodia and Theo in Vietnam were extremely knowledgeable, solicitous, organised, efficient and fun! I learned so much about the customs, history and culture through them. Highlights for me were Siem Reap, the temples of Angkor Wat and the Bamboo Train in Batambong in Cambodia, Hoi An in Vietnam (especially the bike tour of the craft villages) and Ha Long Bay. I only wish that we could have spent longer on the boat cruise in Ha Long Bay as it is an indescribably beautiful place. Visiting both the Killing Fields memorial and S-21 in Cambodia and the Cu Chi tunnels and War Museum in Vietnam was harrowing but enlightening. I would thoroughly recommend those visits too. We booked a few days extra in Han Oi at the end of the tour; I would advise other travelers to do the same as although the tours are fantastic there is not a lot of time for relaxation!
Confirmed traveller: 15 August 2016
Published on: 06 October 2016
(3 out of 10)

Victoria

I gave it such a low score because for many reasons.


My trip was amazing prior to getting to Vietnam. Tour guides (nicky and art) were friendly, knowledgeable with the city's and extremely helpful about our visa issues into Cambodia and Vietnam.

The score is so low because of the experience in Vietnam.

The first leader we had very briefly before transitioning. He wasn't around much and when he was he always joked/reminded the group at ever chance tour leader tips are not included.

The second felt like things were rushed or misleading with him when it came to some of the day trips. An example of a rushed trip was the cu chi tunnels. Left the hotel around 8-8:30? Had to be back by 12 for check out and its was an hour and half travel each way. It was disappointing to be rushed on something I will probably on see that one time.

Misleading in the sense that his description of them we not accurate to what we actually saw. One was described as seeming tombs but saw a single tomb. Had I know that I would have gone to a tour agency to book one that I had more interest in.

One of the biggest things that left me with a negative impression of your company was an issue about tipping. I read the tour notes prior but they didn't imply that tipping is mandatory, put aside money roughly 60 dollars and use as you go is what it said in the itinerary.
Tipping is always an optional thing but it was brought up to the "good morning Vietnam" group by the tour leader in a way that made it mandatory a thing. I was tipping for services I didn't receive or bad service on a few occasions.
When leader was asked about it they said to bring it up with the company.
Speaking to you now, if it was to be a mandatory thing then included in the package.
Confirmed traveller: 08 April 2016
Published on: 18 April 2016

Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry to hear you had varied service from our Explore Leaders – we’ve addressed your points with them all so that our customers receive consistent service on this trip. I also understand your disappointment regarding only seeing a single tomb. The tomb trip is offered as a potential destination – of several involving visits to local tombs – during a free day in your itinerary. It’s a shame that you were not able to find another site locally, or we could have pointed you in the direction of a number of options. I’ve noted your comment about tipping, but I must clarify that it’s not mandatory. As a number of our customers find the issue very difficult or embarrassing, we offer a service called a tips kitty. Your leader will take the sum advised in the trip notes and distribute the tips on the group’s behalf. This is noted on a formal account and signed off with a member of the group at the end of the trip. I apologise if you felt this tied you in to tipping, that is not the case and you can chose to tip yourself out side of this arrangement. I am sorry this was fully not explained to you.

(8 out of 10)

Ann

sheffield
A brilliant holiday, so many sites to see, places to visit. It was also a time to reflect and remember . There were poignant times, places to experience and times to relax.

All the guides were excellent, and the programme ran smoothly.
Confirmed traveller: 05 March 2016
Published on: 19 March 2016
(8 out of 10)

Denise

St Florence, Tenby
Explore trips suit me down to the ground as all the hard work of organising a holiday is done by a very experienced tour company. I do not have to worry about what flight to catch or what bus to get as it is all done for me and I can enjoy the ride.
Confirmed traveller: 21 August 2015
Published on: 30 September 2015
(10 out of 10)

Dean

Swansea
I was apprehensive about doing this as it was my first ever time alone on holidays let alone a full 21 days exploring 3 countries but the group I was with were all fabulous people and it turned out to be the best time in my life.
Confirmed traveller: 08 August 2015
Published on: 29 September 2015