It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
606 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Reviews for Puglia on Two Wheels

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Puglia on Two Wheels trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Puglia on Two Wheels reviews verified by Reevoo

18 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Puglia on Two WheelsScores 9.2 out of 10 based on 18 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Stuart

Buxton
A good mixture of cycling with some challenging sections but generally easy. A nice un-explored part of Italy to visit without to many tourists as yet. The highlights for me were the beautiful unspoiled towns of Altamura, Matera, Alberobello and Monopoli by the sea. Food was fantastic as always in Italy.
Confirmed traveller: 29 May 2016
Published on: 15 June 2016
(10 out of 10)

Sally

Hampton
We had the most fantastic time exploring Puglia. The cycling during the day was interspersed with some excellent cultural trips - a guided walk round the old town of Matera, the visit to a traditional bakery, watching mozzarella being made followed by an al fresco lunch in the farmyard, a wine tasting evening, the Castel del Monte and the ruins at Egnazia to name but a few. Ernesto is an excellent tour guide, he was so interesting and well informed, he brought Puglia alive for me! His choice of restaurants and special/unusual hotels was superb. The cycling was not totally 'easy', there were some 'undulations' as Ernesto liked to call them, but it was the most fabulous way of soaking up this lovely part of Italy.
Confirmed traveller: 29 May 2016
Published on: 07 June 2016
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

London
A really enjoyable holiday.
Ernesto, the tour leader, put together a great combination of cycling and culture, with visits to a castle, a traditional bakery, an organic farm to see mozzarella being made, an oil mill, a guided tour round Matera.
The cycling was mostly on quiet roads (some rather poorly surfaced though). The distances are not too long, but include some pretty steep hills. A nice ride on the coastal road to finish the holiday off.
Tip: take your own saddle!
Confirmed traveller: 29 May 2016
Published on: 02 June 2016
(10 out of 10)

Alan

Bewdley
The week was planned to give us a wonderful balance of interesting rides and an insight into the culture of Puglia, with many excellent meals to give us a taste of the local offerings. Don't expect to lose weight on this tour.
Ernesto is a superb guide, treating us as responsible adults but always available to help in any way that we needed. He was informative and knowledgeable.
The highlight of the week was the time spent in and around Monopoli, a beautiful seaside resort, where our accommodation was of a very high standard. I was tempted to miss the flight home and to stay for the rest of the summer.
Our tour was the last full week of April and we had one day when the weather was decidedly chilly (think February in the UK) so don't just pack for sunny days.
Although the tour is graded as easy, we did seem to take in a fair number of hills. Also, we cycled on every day . . . so no free days.
As a regular traveller with group holidays, this is one of the best trips that I've been on.
Confirmed traveller: 01 May 2016
Published on: 10 May 2016
(10 out of 10)

Clare

Godalming
A well balanced combination of cycling, culture and cuisine! The towns and demonstrations en route were all fascinating in their own way and the accommodation in both Matera and Monopoli were particularly intriguing and comfortable. Extremely well lead by Ernesto and Fabio who was learning the ropes of tour guiding, so with 2 guides we were well educated and cared for. If travelling at the same time of the year I would recommend bringing some warm clothing/layers. Our first day was wet and apparently the coldest it has been for 18 years! The rest of the week was dry and warmer but still around 15 to 20 degrees with a cool wind.
Confirmed traveller: 01 May 2016
Published on: 09 May 2016
(10 out of 10)

Janet

Bewdley
Cycling, food, museums, landscapes, churches, small towns and villages with unique buildings and more great food. Our guide, Ernesto planed the most picturesque cycle routes and recommended some great restaurants. Some of the accommodation definitely had the wow factor and we were grateful for central heating in our rooms during a surprisingly chilly April week.
Confirmed traveller: 01 May 2016
Published on: 02 May 2016
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

This was a great week's activity holiday. We went in early May and had: * super weather - no rain * interesting towns and visits ('Name of the Rose' castle; mediaeval fair at Altamura; troglodyte Matera, fishing port Monopoli) * abundance of wild flowers * a nice group of 10 * great food and drink * and fun cycling! Puglia was really nice and refreshingly un-touristy. The cycle routes were well planned with generally very little traffic except when approaching / departing the towns. Nice mix of inland and by the sea. Our highlights were: * cycling on lanes with wild flowers and nice views * stops for fab Italian ice-cream * a couple of local 'taster menu' evening meals * good opportunities for landscape photography (but I missed the large wild boar in the national park!) Excellent planning, English and style of leadership. Good choice of restaurants and food experience - bread, pasta, olive oil and wine. And, ladies, not only knowledgeable and charming but good looking too!
Confirmed traveller: 31 May 2015
Published on: 12 March 2016
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

The experience was cultural, gastronomical, social, vigorous and safe. The penultimate ride into Monopoli was so picturesque I felt like we were on a movie set being filmed. The final day just came together weather-wise combined with archaeological site visit, beach visit and beautiful Adriatic costal ride back into Monopoli.Ernesto was and excellent tour guide, very good with both the tour participants and locals alike having excellent communication skills in both Italian and English. He was very helpful, always available to answer multitudes of questions whist at the same time appearing to stay in the background. It made a great change to be so well looked after not only during cycling but also during the evening when we were taken out in to the best restaurants to we ate and drank the best food and wine from the region, all caringly suggested by Ernesto. How wonderful it was for me not to have to think, plan, arrange or organise anything for a whole week and how lovely it was to be looked after so well by such a charming, humorous, knowledgeable, cultured and eloquent person.
Confirmed traveller: 13 May 2015
Published on: 08 March 2016
(9 out of 10)

Ella

The trip was a fantastic combination of cycling, sightseeing and amazing food! We visited some beautiful little towns and it felt like we were off the main tourist trail. The cycling was hard enough to feel like you'd done something to justify that extra gelato but not all consuming.
Ernesto was a brilliant leader. Knowledgeable, enthusiastic, approachable and always had a smile on his face. I couldn't fault him.
Confirmed traveller: 04 October 2015
Published on: 30 October 2015