It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
621 Matching trips
Site Search
E-Bike available

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Puglia on Two Wheels CIP

Visiting: Italy
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Puglia on Two Wheels

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Puglia on Two Wheels trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Puglia on Two Wheels reviews verified by reevooReevoo

31 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Puglia on Two WheelsScores 9.1 out of 10 based on 31 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Damien

Newbury
A great weeks cycling around Puglia combining some culture and plenty of great food, a perfect little introduction to Italy. The cycling had a few more hills/undulations in that than i thought it might but everyone in the group had no issues getting up and down the other side. The roads were generally good and the Italian drivers mostly far more courteous than the British ones I'm used to, Routes were good and plenty of opportunities to stop for a coffee or visit.
The hotels were all good apart from the first hotel in Altamura which wasn't the best, I got put in a single room on the top floor which was boiling and really suffered from the street noise but they arranged to move me the next night and it was much better.
Food on the trip was great, I loved the anti pasti selections we had and tried many things I wouldn't normally eat at home, picking up lunch from a local bakery for a picnic was both tasty and cheap. Ernesto was a brilliant tour leader, really friendly, knowledgeable and took us to some great places to visit and eat, there's loads of positive feedback on this holiday about him and having been on the trip its absolutely justified.
So many great places on the trip but my personal favorites were Matera and Monopoli. The winery we visited had some lovely wines including a stunning white with a local grape variety and it was brilliant to go to a restaurant in Alberobello which stocked them in the evening. Loved the trip and I'd totally go back to the area again. Just one bit of feedback for Explore, if you pay for a room on your own it should be the same standard as the rooms people sharing have not a single box room as I experienced on the first night.
Confirmed traveller: 28 May 2017
Published on: 12 June 2017
(7 out of 10)

Richard

Wokingham
Hopping for easy cycling was a lot of hills enjoyed the food and different towns
Confirmed traveller: 28 May 2017
Published on: 12 June 2017
(8 out of 10)

Neil

Lovely towns and countryside plus exceptional food. Ernesto was a charming character and chose good restaurants for us.

However, the routes were rather complicated and relied on riders following route notes and maps individually, as the group spread out and did not periodically reassemble. It can be hard to follow a list of 35/40 junction notes per trip. I personally don't like map reading and prefer to follow a leader, with regular regrouping stops for water and snacks which is what I'm used to on equivalent Exodus trips. Several of us got lost at times!

Highlights were Matera and especially Monopoli, which was a charming town with nearby beaches, worth a visit on its own.
Confirmed traveller: 28 May 2017
Published on: 12 June 2017
(8 out of 10)

Robert

Okehampton,Devon
I was somewhat surprised that there was only one member of staff to accompany us on the cycling when I have been used to two, one at the back and one at the front.I was also expecting a back-up vehicle in case of breakdowns, tiredness etc.Fortunately only one bike had a problem; but more seriously one person got left behind and got lost as there was no "whipper-in" at the back of the peleton.

Otherwise the actual route was beautiful and very well designed / chosen. Our guide was helpfulness personified. The hotels were adequate. We really enjoyed the stay in Monopoli and the experience in Matera was unique.

The visit to the Olive factory and the Winery were excellent.

The bikes were also very good indeed.

Our guide was really very organised : maps and route plans> And he was a really nice, helpful guy with excellent english.
Confirmed traveller: 28 May 2017
Published on: 09 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

David

Maidenhead
I would wholeheartedly recommend this trip.
It was a gastronomic and cultural delight interspersed with some "undulating" cycling.
We went from an antipasti tasting menu in Altamura to fabulous seafood in Monopoli. Along the way taking in olive oil tasting, wine tasting, home made mozzarella, not to mention gelato!
Ernesto was the perfect guide making the trip seem effortless, and imparting plenty of knowledge about the lives and loves of his country.
The highlights for me were the town of Matera and riding past a field of freshly cut fennel; sights and smells.
The hotel quality rose as the trip proceeded and the boutique hotel apartments in Monopoli were the perfect resting place for the last two nights.
A must for cyclist who love Italy.
Confirmed traveller: 28 May 2017
Published on: 09 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

Martine

Southampton
Excellent holiday. This holiday had a perfect ratio of cycling and spare time. Our guide Ernesto arranged for visits to a local bakery, farm, olive farm and vineyard, all were very good and a great way to see and taste local produce. The cycling was a good mix of terrain and time in the saddle. We visited some lovely towns and were given time in each to explore them. Ernesto also took us to some great restaurants arranging for us to have tasting menus so a great way to sample the local food and wine. A few days we had picnic lunches which was better than eating in restaurants every day and we had plenty of 'gelato' stops. All in all a great holiday, enhanced by the expertise of Ernesto, Thankyou.
Confirmed traveller: 28 May 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

Stephen

Chelmsford
A fantastic, well thought out, cycling tour through Puglia. Great scenery and culture lead by a superb, knowledgeable guide (Ernesto).
Food was amazing and the wine delightful. One of the best cycle trips I have been on (and I've been on quite a few). Full marks to the Explore team!
Confirmed traveller: 07 May 2017
Published on: 14 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

Bridget

Cheddar
Great holiday. Fantastic guide Marianella and beautiful countryside and towns. We had fantastic weather and swam in the sea many times as well as cycling. The hotels were great. My favourite thing apart from the cycling and swimming and making new friends was the picnics at lunch time. A really great week.
Confirmed traveller: 07 May 2017
Published on: 12 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Caroline

Manchester
A great first trip with Explore! We didn't know what to expect but it was the perfect mix of cycling and culture for us in a lovely part of the world. We enjoyed the variety of the places we stayed, with Matera and the days cycling around the Valle D'Itria (including olive oil tasting, wine tasting and spectacular gelato) being particular highlights.


Our guide Ernesto was a gem and lived up to his billing in these reviews; he made the trip effortless for us (apart from the 'undulations') and organised some great Tasting menus . The rapport of the group also helped make it a fun and relaxing experience with lots and lots of laughs.

Whilst some of the accommodation was very good (Monopoli in particular) the hotels in Alberobello and Altamura were a disappointment. Not enough to spoil the trip but worth looking at other options.
Confirmed traveller: 03 October 2016
Published on: 20 October 2016
(10 out of 10)

Mark

Willenhall
The tour from start to finish was amazing and the group were a good match. Ernesto was a wonderful guide and we could not have asked for a better person to lead our holiday. From the design of the tour and places we visited the trip was better than we could have imagined. Ernesto's passion for the local culture and kind and easy nature made for excellent days and nights out. The places he picked for our meals were fantastic and we saw and tasted a lot more that we ever imagined. Our first ever both Explore and cycling holiday and we would definitely do both again. The only thing to maybe change is the first days cycle is harder than expected and longer apart form that no complaints:)
Confirmed traveller: 02 October 2016
Published on: 18 October 2016