It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
603 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Have you considered?

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Read reviews

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Shogun Trail JS

Visiting: Japan
Tour Duration 13 Days
 
Reviews for Shogun Trail

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Shogun Trail tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Shogun Trail reviews verified by Reevoo

20 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Shogun TrailScores 8.6 out of 10 based on 20 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Stuart

Bristol
Really good introduction to Japan, which is a great country for tourists. The use of local transport, mainly, is real fun and interesting. Spontaneous lunch in the Tokyo City Hall canteen was unusual. We had expected the people to be polite, but were pleasantly surprised by how friendly they are. The highlight probably was the inn on the southern island, after a slightly hairy sea crossing. So welcoming and interesting.
Confirmed traveller: 09 October 2015
Published on: 27 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

K

Exeter
The itinerary was very diverse, covering traditional culture to modern aspects of Japan. It offered a large variety of activities, including walking part of the shogun trail, visiting Hiroshima, the golden pavilion, having a Japanese bath and taking a tour of the Geisha district in Kyoto. We were even fortunate enough to meet a Maiko. Mark, our tour guide was excellent. I would highly recommend this tour.
Confirmed traveller: 09 October 2015
Published on: 22 November 2015
(8 out of 10)

Eugenie

Kyoto - I loved!!!!
I was not partial to Nagasaki, but I think I was the only one. Waiting for a 11.15am departure was dragging time.
Tokyo Inn, most impersonal hotel chain. I thought Explore policy was a bit different on accommodation e.g. not using chains. Recognise area was good but so very impersonal. Loved the experience on the island.
Our guide was fabulous!
Confirmed traveller: 16 October 2015
Published on: 11 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Great trip, Shogun Trail Japan.. Exceeded expectations, well paced tour through several very interesting cities and some lovely country areas. He was fantastic, very knowledgeable about Japan, very good fun and extremely well organised.
Confirmed traveller: 24 April 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Another well organised explore trip. Highlights many and varied: bullet train at 200mph, black eggs, geisha and rice paddies. Kyoto the best cityWell organised, great at treating each member of group as an individual and excellent choice of restaurants. Especial thanks for the geisha and lighthouse. Coped well with changes in itinerary caused by the weather Please tell him that the international terminal at Fukuoka airport is not in quite the same place as the domestic one!
Confirmed traveller: 14 April 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015
(7 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Highlights were Kyoto and Hirado. Loved the overall experience of Japanese life but felt less time could have been spent in Tokyo and more maybe in Kyoto.William had a lovely sense of humour and his English was excellent. Maybe his only downfall was age - he was obviously very young - however he still made the trip very memorable.
Confirmed traveller: 30 April 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

Robert

Northants
Generally a very interesting and varied trip giving a great feel of the culture and history of Japan, a fascinating place. So many different temples, modern architecture and historical areas to see, experience the bullet train and the tranquillity of the southern islands. Food was excellent especially in the ryokans and the onsen hot baths very relaxing.
The Japanese people are very friendly and polite and the country is amazingly safe.
Take comfortable shoes, there is a lot of city walking. Do your research on Tokyo so you can make the most of the first day as you do not meet the tour leader until the evening.
Mark, our leader was fantastic and made a very memorable trip.
Confirmed traveller: 31 October 2015
Published on: 04 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

Vicky

Norwich
The highlights were Kyoto, Hiroshima Peace Park, seeing Mount Fuji, travelling on the bullet train and the night view of Nagasaki from Mount Insa. I'd recommend for people to consult their guide books before they go, especially for Tokyo and Kyoto, so they can decide what they would like to see in their free time as there is a lot to see.
Confirmed traveller: 30 October 2015
Published on: 02 November 2015