It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
650 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Customer Feedback

Read reviews


Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.


Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Reviews for Cycle Japan

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Cycle Japan trip available at present.

Please select a date:


Cycle Japan reviews verified by reevooReevoo

9 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Cycle JapanScores 9.1 out of 10 based on 9 reviews
(8 out of 10)


Brompton Northallerton
It was a good insight into Japanese culture ,and the cycling was very scenic and easy paced. The Japanese guides were excellent and could not do enough for us
Confirmed traveller: 14 October 2016
Published on: 25 October 2016
(8 out of 10)


Very enjoyable tour, lots to do and see, cycling well organised, good food, good company.
Confirmed traveller: 03 June 2016
Published on: 11 June 2016
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

The holiday was fantastic and a great introduction to Japan.
The cycle route was well thought out and the varied itinerary meant that every day had its own highlight; from cycling through the tea house district in Kyoto to cycling on the sand at Chirihama beach.
In the evening a soak in the onsen and a hot sake was the perfect way to relax.
Confirmed traveller: 06 December 2015
Published on: 14 April 2016
(9 out of 10)


Amazing scenery as we cycled along the coast of the Noto peninsula which is totally unspoilt Japan ... Cycling across some of the bridges with the wind in my hair was mega memorable and a peak experience. The kindness of the tour guide and cycling team were awesome and made my first ever serious cycling holiday wonderfully pleasurable and inspiring.
Confirmed traveller: 30 October 2015
Published on: 03 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

This tour was a great way to see and experience rural Japan The hybrid bikes were great,well maintained We were very well looked after by Richard(tour leader) and Takashi and Ukkey our Japanese cycling guides The first day of cycling is on basic city bikes exploring Kyoto which was fun and interesting The next day you travel by train to Kanazawa where we met Takashi and Ukkey with the bikes,then cycle around Kanazawa Next day you start the tour of the Noto peninsula,the route is very safe,lots of pretty scenery,at times quite undulating and a few challenging hills The hotels/guest houses are all of a good standard,once you start cycling the peninsula the evening meals are limited to the places you stay at,the food was good very Japanese Lunches were generally picnics picking food up at a local supermarket The highlight for me was the first day of the peninsula where we cycled approx 6km on the beach The Onsen baths at each of the hotels/guest houses were a delight especially after a hard days cyclingRichard was a great tour leader,fun and interesting Takashi our cycling guide was very good,full of information about the areas we passed through
Confirmed traveller: 08 June 2015
Published on: 12 March 2016
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

We loved every minute of this tour! Riding along the Sea of Japan was absolutely beautiful, visiting the various temples, gardens and historical sites along the road was a great way to learn about Japan. The food was incredible. A cold beer and very hot onsen was a great way to end every cycling day. For us this was the trip of a lifetime. The leaders were very organized, great company and a lot of fun to spend time with. Support van was more than we anticipated, very good bikes.
Confirmed traveller: 04 May 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

I am the tour leader for this tour. I can honestly say this is my favourite tour that I am involved in. The scenery on the Noto Peninsula is stunning and cycling is the best way to see it. Some days are challenging, but everyone in the group has been able to complete it. The food is fantastic.The Japanese guides are extremely friendly, knowledgable and professional.
Confirmed traveller: 16 April 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015