It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
638 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Discover Jordan JD

Visiting: Jordan
Trip Duration 9 Days
 

Reviews for Discover Jordan

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Discover Jordan trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Discover Jordan reviews verified by reevooReevoo

84 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Discover JordanScores 9.3 out of 10 based on 84 reviews
(9 out of 10)

John

Extremely enjoyable short tour with a well informed and popular guide. Incredible value for money, one of the cheapest tours Explore do, but you get Petra, Red Sea snorkelling and the Dead Sea as well as a chance to experience a safe and beautiful country. Also, as its in the Middle East, I found the the people who are attracted to this tour are likely to be seasoned travellers who are willing to be adventureous, easy going and fun to be around. Our tour guide Mo even gave a tour on the day off and was always keen to make sure all the group were having a great time. Tip: bring beach shoes for the dead sea as the rock salt at the edge is very rough, it can cut and then stings in the salt water.
Confirmed traveller: 16 April 2017
Published on: 22 April 2017
(9 out of 10)

Brian

London
The tour included a wide range of activities from archaeological site visits to snorkelling in the Red Sea. The tour guide was exceptional: experienced, knowledgeable, patient and with a great sense of humour. The highlight was having over two days in Petra, half the time with the tour guide the remainder being free to explore on your own. The tour leader, group size, and itinerary enabled you to gain a real insight into the country in a short time.
Confirmed traveller: 10 April 2017
Published on: 12 April 2017
(10 out of 10)

Natasha

Melbourne
We did the Discover Jordan 9-day tour and had an absolutely amazing time! It was a large group (18 people), presumably because April is peak tourist season in Jordan. The airport process was fairly smooth (someone met me from the flight, went through the visa process, then I was handed over to a driver for the transfer into town).

Our tour leader Moayad (Mo) was fantastic! He had a never-ending highly informative commentary about the sites that we were visiting, and it enhanced the experience of the places we saw to know a little about the history and perspective - you can tell he really loves his job, even though he must answer the same questions time and time again! The other reviews of Mo as a tour leader were not wrong!

The tour starts and ends in Amman, but depending on what time your flight arrives, you may not have much time to explore the city itself. Fortunately we had the full day prior to the tour meeting on day 1 to explore Amman (highlights: the citadel, the amphitheatre, the souks - especially the amazingly fresh produce, and the Hashem falafel restaurant!). I must admit to not knowing much about Jerash (roman ruins), Mt Nebo (views over the Dead Sea to Israel and purported resting place of Moses), Madaba (6th century mosaic biblical map), or Shobak (crusader castle).

The highlight was undoubtedly Petra. We had 3 nights or 2 full days, and this meant we had plenty of time to explore many of the hiking trails. There was a great balance between a guided tour by Mo (from the Siq to the Basin), and then free time to see/do what we wanted at our own pace. We were also fortunate to be able to do the Petra by Night tour (optional). 2 full days allowed us to hike to the Monastery, the High Place of Sacrifice (and then down the Wadi Farasa trail), and then the Al Khubtha trail to get the view looking down to the Treasury.

The next highlight was Wadi Rum. The 4WD off-road experience was mostly driving through the desert; 4 of the vehicles took the accoustomed route, but our Bedouin driver had heaps of fun being truly "off road" by swerving and accelerating and going up and down the undulating landscape in a thrill-seeking fashion! There wasn't much time to explore the desert on your own; by the time we arrived in the afternoon, we had our camel-riding (optional) experience, and then there was a short amount of time before sunset and our Bedouin meal. Yes, the train and the train line can be seen and heard from the camp; some people would have preferred to be further in the wilds of the desert. I didn't mind so much - the train is an important part of the economy, and we were still clearly in the desert having a camping experience.

Snorkelling at the Red Sea was beautiful (and an amazing BBQ lunch that was cooked on the boat), and floating in the very salty Dead Sea was a great experience.

The food was delicious, and one of our dinners in Petra was the local chefs showing us how to prepare makloubah (upside down chicken). We even stopped at roadside market stalls to taste traditional bread cooked on coals in the sand, and eat green chick peas and green whole almonds!

Breakfast buffets had a range of local and international options, and the hotels were reasonable (Petra: no in-room wifi, and others were disappointed about the lack of kettle!).

The tour was over far too quickly, but we had an absolutely fabulous time with some great people and a wonderful leader, and I would definitely recommend this trip to others!
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2017
Published on: 17 April 2017
(9 out of 10)

Swapna

London
our guide Moayad was fabulous, he explained things very well and made the sites interesting and understandable. the hotel in Petra was poor - tired-looking decor in rooms, no kettle to make a tea or coffee, hardly any TV channels. Overall Jordan is a lovely country to visit and this trip gave a great introduction to it.
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2017
Published on: 15 April 2017
(10 out of 10)

S

North west
If you're thinking about visiting Jordan but are in two minds, definitely go. It's an incredible country and this trip shows off some of its highlights. Everyone we came across was wonderfully welcoming and friendly. Our guide moahad was immensely knowledgeable and really brought the history to light. One of the best holidays I've ever been on. If you like cheap, authentic eats, consider exploring to local towns in the evening.
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2017
Published on: 12 April 2017
(8 out of 10)

Lindsey

York
Great tour, lots to see in and do in the wonderful country of Jordan. Highlights include Petra, floating in the Dead Sea and the warm and welcoming people. A little more time in Wadi Rum would have made it a perfect itinerary.
Confirmed traveller: 21 March 2017
Published on: 04 April 2017
(10 out of 10)

Raksha

Baldock
Fantastic tour, Moayed was the best tour leader, he made the whole experience enjoyable and threw a very positive light on Jordan. We will spread the word.
Confirmed traveller: 20 March 2017
Published on: 24 March 2017
(10 out of 10)

M

Canada
If I could give a 10+ to our amazing leader Moayad I would. This is an epic trip and he made it even more so! every single day we thought "it can't get any better" and it DID! the extra day in Petra is a real differentiator of this tour. And if you are reading older reviews, don't worry, they have completely revamped the Bedouin camping experience and you are well in the desert. Do the camel ride, forget about the Petra at night experience. Do snorkel in the Red Sea even if you've never done it.
Take this trip - it is totally memorable. 10++
Confirmed traveller: 19 March 2017
Published on: 02 April 2017
(10 out of 10)

Kelly

Bedford
This was a fantastic trip! The highlights were:
* Petra which was incredible and so much more than just the Treasury (which was fantastic). Having the 2 days was great as it gave the opportunity to explore the whole site. The walk down from the high altar was stunning!
*Wadi Rum - amazing! If anything, our time here was too short. Would have loved to explore more of it. The stay in the camp added to the experience.
*Red Sea - this was an optional excursion and was initially a bit uncertain because of being sad to leave Wadi Rum but it was great! We had a lovely diving boat to ourselves and the 2 snorkel sessions were stunning.

We had Little Petra added to the itinerary as well which will hopefully remain on there as it was a joy to visit and really interesting. It was a nice addition and a lovely introduction to Petra.

I would highly recommend a trip to Jordan! It is a fantastic country and I felt safe throughout. This trip also gives you the chance to experience the 'highlights' in a relatively short space of time.
Confirmed traveller: 19 March 2017
Published on: 26 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

David

West Sussex
This trip exceeded my expectations. Mo, our tour leader, was excellent - very friendly, knowledgeable and professional. He ensured that everything went to plan.

The highlights for me were:
(a) Petra - it's a much larger than I imagined and so having two days to explore the site was fantastic.
(b) Wadi Rum - great to spend time in the desert and stay overnight in a Bedouin camp. The camp was located in a remote location. It was great to trek across the desert for over an hour from the camp back to the road (and our coach). The 4x4 drive into the desert was great, although shorter than I expected. It would have been good to explore more of Wadi Rum.
(c) The Red Sea - we had a fantastic day on the Red Sea as an optional excursion. We were on a large and luxurious diving boat, snorkelled in two locations to explore the coral reefs and fishes, and had a lovely lunch on board.
(d) The Dead Sea - not the prettiest of locations, but great fun floating in the sea, reading a newspaper, and covering ourselves in the healing mud!

We felt very safe in Jordan. The crime rate is very low, and there were no signs of trouble arising from ongoing tensions in the Middle East. The tourist police accompany groups during their stay in Jordan - they have been doing this for years - so don't be surprised to have a uniformed and armed police officer on the coach.

The food was excellent and the itinerary worked well. I was pleased with the recent change to include Little Petra.

Well done, and thank you, to everyone at Explore for another great holiday adventure.
Confirmed traveller: 19 March 2017
Published on: 24 March 2017