It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
621 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Discover Jordan JD

Visiting: Jordan
Trip Duration 9 Days
 

Reviews for Discover Jordan

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Discover Jordan trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Discover Jordan reviews verified by reevooReevoo

99 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Discover JordanScores 9.3 out of 10 based on 99 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Jennifer

Redditch
Petra was the highlight.
The desert camp was good but they left the fluorescent lights on all night which rather ruined the stars. Also, the people who led the camel ride were incompetent, leading to a member of our party breaking his hip falling off, and another person falling off.
Confirmed traveller: 04 June 2017
Published on: 13 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

N

London
Discover Jordan is one of the best explore trips I have been on. Jordan is a beautiful and safe country, with really friendly and accommodating people. The highlight for me was Wadi Rum, and camping under the stars. The camp was nice, it had a shower and a toilet - but it is a shared tent (or you can take your sleeping bag outside). Petra and Jerash were also lovely, although a bit of a longer tour in Amman would have been nice. Overall I'd definitely recommend this tour!
Confirmed traveller: 28 May 2017
Published on: 20 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Paul

WGC
Wonderful tour, great bunch of fellow Explorers. Jordan was not the 'little Egypt' I'd expected, it was surprisingly pleasant. Petra is the obvious highlight (make the trek to the monastery and prepare for a wow! moment), but Jerash is not to be missed, if only to marvel at the scale of it. A few minus points: Kerak removed from itinerary for what seemed a lame reason and no tour of Amman to include the Roman sites. And then there's Wadi Rum. I'm not into camping so I won't knock it for that, but the day of arrival involved a lot of wasted time, especially for those not going on the camel trek. Seven hours simply surviving in the desert heat was not good.
Confirmed traveller: 28 May 2017
Published on: 15 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

James

London
Saw some unbelievably fantastic sights especially the beauty of the night sky. Very knowledgeable guide.
Don't take binoculars - they confiscate them at the airport!
Confirmed traveller: 28 May 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Dorothy

Arlington, TX
Great sites, great guide Saleh, but could do better with hotel accommodations.
Confirmed traveller: 28 May 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

Daniel

Auburn Ca.
Our leader was excellent. I got sick on the trip he got me a doctor and stay with me until the doctor released me. Very interesting trip I liked Petra.
Confirmed traveller: 22 May 2017
Published on: 09 June 2017
(8 out of 10)

Clive

Zurich
This trip covers a lot of ground, from the north to the south. Jerash is a good beginning, in spite of the fact that the site is not well maintained by the authorities. The mosaics at Madaba and Mount Nebo are must-sees. Petra, of course, is magnificent, and the inclusion of a two-day ticket in the tour price is very good value. Although it is bound to be in demand, I found the Dead Sea experience tedious and could be left out, likewise, the night as a Bedouin experience, unless you can really sleep outside and see the stars - there are just too many so-called 'Bedouin encampments' for it to be anything like genuine. However, the route to the camp, stopping at the desert rock formations was exceptional.
Confirmed traveller: 21 May 2017
Published on: 13 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

Linda

Wakefield
A fabulous trip which encompassed far more than I had ever imagined. Petra was, of course, the highlight but there were so many other things which were wonderful - snorkelling in the Red Sea, floating on the Dead Sea, the ancient monuments, historical places and fabulous people. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable, had excellent English and I cannot praise him enough for the way he guided us through our trips in Jordan.

Be prepared for extreme heat (well into the 40's when I was there in May), for sandstorms in the desert and for a great deal of walking in hot, dry & dusty conditions.

The Jordanian people are friendly, the food is good and the place itself feels safe. Enjoy!
Confirmed traveller: 21 May 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(8 out of 10)

Elizabeth

Baltimore, MD
Petra was absolutely as magical as I could have dreamed. A lot of hiking to see make the most of the two days, but really worth every step.

The optional snorkeling tour was a great value. The snorkeling was fantastic, food was great, and the boat crew extremely helpful.

Our tour guide, Mohammed, was outstanding. He was kind, funny, and really took care of everyone.
Confirmed traveller: 21 May 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

Colin

Wolverhampton
A fabulous tour of a wonderful country. There were some fears from family and friends regarding security but at no time did I feel worried. We even had our own personal tourist policeman accompanying us! Jordan is a diverse destination with amazing natural beauty and great history and archaeology. Nowhere is this more summed up than in Petra. Whatever you have seen/read heard about this place, bin it now because its bigger, more spectacular, more beautiful and more stunning than you can ever imagine. Pack some sensible shoes because to fully get the Petra experience, you need to walk, climb steps (lots and lots!), occasionally scramble and wander around this place. The 2 days spent here were well worth it especially if you can get a early start to miss the tourist rush around lunchtime.
Earlier in the week we wandered around roman cities, crusader castles and ancient churches and stopped to look at stunning views over mountains and gorges.
The desert experience was equally good. 4wd off road, stopping to see rock art, drink tea with Bedouins and arriving at our camp for the night. The camels arrived and off we went for a couple of hours to see the wonderful desert vista from a different angle. Back to the camp for lovely food, some chat and coffee and waiting for the darkness to reveal the curtain of stars. Some slept outside on mattresses, some in chalet type accommodation and some in communal Bedouin tents. Don't forget a torch. When the lights go out, its pitch black!
Onto Aqaba for the luxury and large motor cruiser to take us to the reef for snorkelling. Towels, mask and snorkel, a meal and all soft drinks included in the price. The reef I saw was not quite Attenborough quality but better coral than I've ever seen.
Onto the Dead Sea for a bizarre weightless experience floating in the sea, then getting covered in black mud before a nice relaxing swim in the lovely pool.
Every day was a new thing to see, with several stops for point of interest, watching workers make mosaic gifts, seeing bread baked in the sand and countless other similar things. Hotels were excellent quality, transport was very comfortable, with a/c and wi fi.
Costs were kept down as most of the admission charges and tips and all breakfasts, transport etc are included in the holiday price. Meals prices are reasonable and drinks can vary hugely depending where you buy them.
The group was a good mix of age, gender, singles, couples, friends all with a story to tell and I don't think anyone felt left out or excluded and all got on very well.
Mo, our guide, was amazing - friendly, helpful, charming, funny, supportive and a walking encyclopaedia of all things Jordanian. Yes the trip is full on with little "down time" and quite a few hours in the coach but if any of you are wondering if this is the trip for you, I cannot recommend it highly enough. A massively under rated country begging to be explored.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 23 April 2017
Published on: 27 April 2017