It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
547 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Have you considered?

Brochures

Our latest  brochures are available now, with over 600 adventures for you to choose from.

Gift Vouchers

Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with over 600 tours & experiences to choose from. The perfect gift idea for any occasion.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 1,843

Lawrence's Arabia JD

Visiting: Jordan
Tour Duration 9 Days
  • The Monastery, Petra
  • Magnificent Petra
  • Camel ride in Wadi Rum
  • Jerash
  • Tea in the desert, Wadi Rum
  • Tour Style: Classic
  • Tour Type: Small Groups
  • Tour Pace: Busy
  • Tour Comfort: Standard
 

Book now!

24 reviews for this tour

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Lawrence's Arabia tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
9 , 06/12/13

Name

Jacinta Connolly

Tour Name

Laurence's Arabia

Tour Code

JD

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Climbing up the steps to the monastery in petra had got to be one of the highlights. The site was amazing. Our guide was supportive to everyone in the group. He carried my bag as my back was hurting he was encouraging throughout.

Tour Leader Name

Awad Hajara

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

I can't say enough about our tour leader. Awad was such a friendly, approachable character. He tended to each persons individual need. He created a great atmosphere and always had a smile on his face, always ready to listen and especially answer questions! I was beginning to wonder by the end of the tour whether he had a built in search engine in his brain as there was no question he didn't have the answer to. He was extremely intuitive and he really made my holiday and the rest of the group's so enjoyable.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

I would advise them to try to sleep out under the stars in the desert. I did and it was unforgettable!

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Would've preferred another nights stay camping in the desert. I plan to go back to Jordan and do a trekking tour as I enjoyed the camping and walking parts of the holiday so much. The local people are very friendly and very polite. Everything went without a hitch and is like to thank all the team at explore especially Awad Hajara Fir making my holiday to Jordan an unforgettable experience!

 
9 , 06/12/13

Name

Mary Fry

Tour Name

Lawrences Arabia

Tour Code

JD

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Now this isn't an easy question, but I have to say that walking through the Siq and seeing the Treasury in Petra was absolutely amazing.

Tour Leader Name

Mohammed

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Mohammed was an absolute star. His knowledge of the history of the whole area was unbelievable. I don't think there was a single question that he couldn't answer. His command of the English language was superb which added to his already high inter personal skills. Mohammed allowed the group plenty of time to take photos and generally enjoy the ambiance of the places that we visited. I cannot speak highly enough of him, and I know the whole group felt the same.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Make sure that you bring clothing that covers at least the shoulders if you are a woman to prevent unneccessary attentention when in Amman. Walking around petra and Jerash can be hard underfoot so make sure you have a good pair of comfortable walking shoes or trainers. Plenty of sun cream too!

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Nothing other than I thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. The tour itself was pitched just right, and the people in the group were lovely. Thanks.

 
10 , 16/10/13

Name

Rupert

Tour Code

JD

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

For me it was watching the sun set at Wadi Rum. Being able to explore Petra, the people where really enthusiastic about their country, and happy to talk to you. The trip to little Petra was well worth doing.

Tour Leader Name

Mohammed AL- Falhat

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Mo could not have been more helpful, friendly and informative; he really knew his subject and in no small way made the tour brilliant.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

I would suggest that you do some walking beforehand as this will make Petra more manageable.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

More trips in Jordan

 
10 , 16/10/13

Name

Rupert May

Tour Code

JD

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

There were a great number of high lights but Petra and the Crusader Castles had to be up there and the trip to little Petra.

Tour Leader Name

Mohammed AL- Falhat

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Mo had a great deal of knowledge and was very friendly and extremely helpful . He helped to make the trip great .

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Make sure you walk a bit before you go there is a lot of walking in Petra.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

More trip to Jordan.

 
10 , 15/08/13

Name

Brian

Tour Code

JD

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

So many, Jerash was a surprise, Petra of course magnificent, the Dead Sea quite an unusual experience! But possibly the time at camp at Wadi Rum and sleeping outside under the stars

Tour Leader Name

Mohammed

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Mohammed was fantastic,very knowledgeable,excellent English and very organised,he involved everybody during the tour and made it a truly memorable experience.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

. I would advise that you should take in all you see,the Jordanian people seem genuinely pleased to see you , their is a lot of history to take in and it is worth reading up a bit beforehand. Jordan is a relatively small country and this tour pretty much covers all the main places to see and is well paced,though when in Petra there is a fair bit of walking and climbing if you want it.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

The first day of the itinerary implies you can see Amman,but the group flight gets in after midnight ,we actually got to hotel at 4 am, so day one is already gone - rather misleading.

Our Response

Thank you for your review. We have looked at the tour notes and agree with you that we need to either change the flights for this tour, or inform customers that seeing Amman on the first day of the itinerary will depend on your flight times. Our Operations Manager is currently discussing this with the Product Manager who plans this itinerary, with a view to making any necessary changes.

 
10 , 15/08/13

Name

Barry Hazel

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

"What a great country and the tour packed so much in that it's really hard to pick one stand-out moment. So I have to opt for two, the first being that moment that I first saw The Treasury at Petra in daylight and the second sleeping under the stars at Wadi Rum and seeing the Milky Way and the next morning's sunrise. This is my third Explore Tour and I can't wait for the next :-)"

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Our tour leader knew his country and its' history very well and proved more than capable.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Don't miss the camel trek at Wadi Rum and make sure you eat the seafood in Aqaba.

 
10 , 15/08/13

 

Read more
Our Response

"Thank you for your review. After each tour, our tour leaders will write a report about the tour and send it to their Operations Manager at our head office in Farnborough. We have been made aware of the fire exits at the Toledo Hotel in Ammen. We treat such safety issues with paramount importance. Our tour leader has assured us that he will check the fire doors when checking in to the hotels, and change hotels if this is not adequate.

We have also asked our tour leader to inform customers that you can purchase goods at a cheaper price at Amman airport."

 
10 Sue, 04/04/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Having tea in a bedouin tent.

 

Read more
 
8 Carole Bell, 28/03/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

 

Petra - especially the climbs up to the Monastry and also the track to view the Treasury from above (even though our guide tried to talk us out of this one) - glad we didn't listen & used our own guide book, its perfectly safe and signed all the way.

 

 

Read more
Our Response

Thank you for your feedback. The currency advice is good for those arriving on late flights. Our Operations Manager for the Middle East has been discussing your comments on your tour leader Mohammed Abdallah with him via our agent; he gets very good feedback, but we will do all we can to help him do even better.

 
8 Phil Risdale, 28/03/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

 

Visiting Petra and floating in the Dead Sea

 

 

Read more
Our Response

Thank you for your comments. Your advice on getting currency in advance is good, and we appreciate that. Your tour leader has had very good feedback from the majority of the questionnaires and subsequent letters, but we want our leaders to meet the expectations of all group members, and so your comments on organising group meals and advising on restauarants have been addressed with him.

 
10 Ali, 01/03/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Hard to pick a highlight - it was all so memorable! But maybe walking up to the High Table of Sacrifice in Petra, and then watching local Bedouin youths show off by sitting on top of the Monastery hundreds of feet off the ground!

Read more
 
10 John Sturley, 07/01/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Christmas Eve (afternoon & evening) and all-day Christmas Day in Petra, and Boxing Day in a bedouin-style camp at Wadi Rum.  What more can you ask for.  Another dream fulfilled thanks to Explore.

Read more
 
10 Jen, 09/11/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

"Exploring Kerak castle.  Petra, of course, especially the Siq, and the achievement of making it up the path to the viewpoint.  Sleeping under the stars in Wadi Rum - don't be put off by tales of ""critters"" or fear of the crazy driving of the locals.  Sleep outside - how often can you gauge the passage of the night by the rising and setting of the stars?  Snorkelling in the Red Sea - colourful fish just like the pictures in a book, and without even trying.  And negotiating for a pack of real Arabic coffee in the market in Amman. :-)"

Read more
 
10 Anne Golding, 12/07/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The visit to Petra was unsurpassable. It is an awe-inspiring place and I would love to return.  Our tour leader, Mandy, ensured that we got the very best out of our free time there too.

Read more
 
0 LB, 20/02/12
Petra and the night we spent in the desert were absolutely the highlights of this trip!! petra is fantastic by day and especially by night. the desert is unbelievably beautiful although very cold at night, the starry sky unforgettable!!
 
0 Ed Shepherd, 11/07/11
An absorbing trip with a fun group of people. Mandy was a super leader and our local guides were all brilliant. This trip allowed plenty of time for relaxation with plenty of optional activities. The historic sights are awesome. The only change I would make is to start a separate tour covering the sights of northern Jordan. A terrific country to visit with a deep culture.  The Jordanians are very welcoming and kindly. Highly recommended for anyone wanting to experience the Middle East in a fun manner. (JD - 11th June 2011)
 
0 JD, 08/07/11
Had an overall fab time, great group, Jordanian people exceptionally friendly. Initial trip to Jerash is stunning. Petra was amazing as expected and lunar eclipse at Wadi Rum just topped an amazing trip off. Dont forget insect repellant at Wadi Rum - repellant not necessary at other stops. Make sure walking sandles/shoes are well broken in as Petra is big. Enjoy. (JD - 18th June 2011)
 
0 Becky Powney (Explore Staff), 02/06/11
If you are looking for a memorable holiday then this is the one for you, visit one of the 7 wonders – prepare to be amazed!! Petra is BREATH taking – we spent 2 full days here and it still wasn’t long enough! Jordan has something for everyone,
Relax and read your Explore brochure while floating on the dead sea
Keep fit by snorkelling in the red sea followed by a wonderful lunch and a cold drink – HEAVEN !! (JD - 5th May 2011)
 
0 Nicola Cowan, 16/05/11
I've wanted to go to Jordan, especially Petra half my life and it certainly didn't disappoint. It's a beautiful, diverse country with lovely people and some fantastic food. The hotels were all of a very high standard, and as usual in very good locations. We travelled mostly by bus but the 4x4 through Wadi Rum was great fun. There unfortunatly wasn't much time in Amman so we didn't see what it had to offer, an extra day there would have been nice. Other than that the trip is well formed and takes in the highlights for just about the right length of time I'd say. The highlight for me was Petra by night, a quiet walk through over 2000 candles towards the Treasury, then some story telling and music before you head home. It's optional at about £12.00pp but well worth it, lovely. (JD - 19th March 2011)
 
0 Malachy Burns, 23/12/10
The start of the trip was very relaxed especially as I was on a land only deal and met the group at a different time. The timings of the excursions was very well planned given the full ininerary. Aquaba could have been given another day, possibly. The highlight was Petra. I rented a horse with 3 other members of the group and had a guide take us on the second day on a 2 1/2 hour ride showing us differing views of the site. I have his details and could thoroughly recommend Explore using him.  The camel ride and the night and sunrise in the desert was magical. I would love to do a week camping and travelling through the desert, camp to camp. The scenery and colours were amazing.  Thankfully nothing unpleasantly unexpected, Petra again just kept on giving more and more to see- beautiful. I would not however recommend Petra by night. I did take all other extra trips including the baths and enjoyed them all. (JD - 24th October 2010)
 
0 Monika Caswell, 23/12/10
A great trip if you only have a week free - Jordan is small enough to cover the main attractions in that time. Good mixture of culture and nature, busy days and relaxation. I enjoyed every aspect of it even if the hotel in Petra was not the best and the group size (20) (JD - 21st October 2010)
 
0 Nicola, 12/11/10
The main highlight for me was the incredible archaeological site of Petra.  I’d also highly recommend the option of snorkelling above the beautiful coral and fish in the Red Sea.  We didn't expect cloud cover and a thunderstorm in Wadi Rum, but it added to the experience!  The poor standard of 4WD driving was disappointing, but overall this is a fantastic ‘must do’ trip! (JD -September 16th 2010)
 
1 Mark Sargeant, 14/10/10

An excellent week long tour of Jordan's many highlights taking in the magnificent ruins at Jerash and Petra to the camel trek to Wadi Rum and snorkelling at Aqaba. Seeing Jordan during Ramadan and the explosion of activity at night was a bonus rather than a hindrance. The varied and busy schedule made for a number of real highlights. The very early morning walks to the best viewing sites at Petra (as recommended by our guide) gave the group wonderful views of the ruins and the mountain secenery as we felt we had the site to just ourselves. If you part the hard work into these morning walks then you can relax and enjoy the rest of Petra during the intense heat of the day. The first view of the Monastery was the best moment of the trip. The journey to Wadi Rum via Lawrence's Pillars of Wisdom, a great camel ride and the fast dune driving was a terrific experience and sleeping out under the stars is a must. I would certainly recommend the snorkelling trip to Aqaba - good snorkelling & swimming in warm seas, the fact that the local Aqaba boat company provided a huge and handsome boat just for our group when they could have put the Explore family trip on board with us to save themselves costs was a particularly good touch. I have been on a dozen snorkelling trips all over the world and this was a luxourious boat ride compared to most. The food on board was excellent too.    In future I would recommend that the tour stays for a couple of hours more at the Dead Sea site than we had - after a busy week and swimming in the salty water it would have been good to have had a bit of extra time at the super swimming pool at the resort. Other than that the itinirary, organisation and tour leader (s) were excellent. Recommendations for good eating sites were spot on. (JD - 22nd August 2010)

 
0 Lisa Miller, 21/09/10
We celebrated New Year's Eve in Petra, singing and dancing courtesy of the Jordanian men, amazed other tourists as we rode camels into Wadi Rum where we watched the sun sink over the mountains before sleeping overnight in a traditional bedouin tent, a luxury boat trip on the Red Sea with wonderful snorkeling contrasted with floating in the Dead Sea, visited the baptismal site on the Jordan river, saw ancient pilgram routes and wonderful mosaics, clambered around forts that hide tales of historic battles fought, and did I mention the delicious foods - Jordan was a surprise and a delight in every way. (JD- 27th December 2009)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  3. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  4. Tour name (i.e. Inca Trail Trek)
  5. Tour Code (i.e. PQ)
    Invalid Input
  6. What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  7. Tour leader name
  8. How Was Your Explore Tour Leader?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  10. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  11. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  12.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA