It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
652 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews


Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.


Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Kerala Backwaters KB

Visiting: India
Trip Duration 9 Days

Reviews for Kerala Backwaters

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Kerala Backwaters trip available at present.

Please select a date:


Kerala Backwaters reviews verified by reevooReevoo

24 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Kerala BackwatersScores 8.0 out of 10 based on 24 reviews
(9 out of 10)


Lancaster, UK
This is a very interesting and varied tour covering the backwaters of Kerula and the hill station tea areas inland. There is a lot of road travel by minibus on roads best described as interesting, our only criticism of this is that a few more photograph stops to capture a bit more of the landscape would have been welcome but would also of course increased travel times.
The hotel and home stay accommodation was excellent. We were less taken by the houseboat. There is a real danger that the houseboat operators are killing the goose that laid the golden egg. At times it was like following a line of traffic down the M1. Personally I preferred the cruise in the large canoe. The food on the houseboat was good and the accommodation was ok, but the overall cruise was the least attractive part of the tour.
The visit up to Munnar was interesting, allowing a glimpse of the past life of the tea planters as well as a little insight into the current ways of life. The contrasts between the different parts of Kerula was as interesting as it was unexpected.
Our guide and driver were both excellent and bent over backwards to try and accommodate everyone's wishes. We were a small group of eight and all got on well together. A couple of people did rather suffer from the heat (it reached nearly 40C) but our guide helped them through that with no real disruption to the programme.
All in all we throughly enjoyed this tour and would highly recommend it. I have just dropped a single point because of the houseboat.
One final plea to anyone who does visit. Please be careful not to drop plastic bottles. Much of India indeed much of the world is slowly drowning in a sea of discarded plastic. We must try and set an example no matter how small if we wish to continue to travel and enjoy such beautiful places.
Confirmed traveller: 17 April 2016
Published on: 24 April 2016
(8 out of 10)


Highlight of the tour was definitely Rej our tour leader. Rej was knowledgeable, full of interesting facts and stories, organised fantastic optional activities, was always on hand to help or provide a solution (even when my partner was sick) and best of all fun. Everything ran so smoothly and the group had a great time. Rej is a great ambassador to Explore and would love to do another tour with him. We really loved seeing the elephants, the beautiful scenery of Munnar, cruising the Allepy backwaters, cycling, staying with a local family, eating from a banana leaf, riding a tuktuk, learning how tea is made. Too many things to mention.

The cleanliness of the houseboat and homestay rooms could be improved. The houseboat we hired was a bit tired which was a shame but the food and crew were great.

Overall we had a really great trip and can't wait to see what else explore has to offer.
Confirmed traveller: 17 April 2016
Published on: 21 April 2016
(8 out of 10)


As with most Explore trips, this one packed a great deal into a short space of time. There was something for everyone: cultural events, lifestyle, cuisine and wildlife. My main problems were that I would have liked a little more detail at times: not knowing in advance when we could change money, for example.

Also, the only occasion where we were in the same place for two nights running and could have had clothes laundered was when we were at the homestay where only limited hand washing could be done.
Confirmed traveller: 17 April 2016
Published on: 18 April 2016
(9 out of 10)


This is a good introduction to southern India. Kerala is one of the more affluent states in India so there was not the level of poverty/begging perhaps found in other parts. It is a very lush and tropical area due to the 2 monsoon seasons.The itinerary was relaxed with no early starts, although there were 3 long driving days of 4/5 hours each but there were sufficient stops and places of interest along the way to break the journeys up. The highlights were eating local food and street food, the spice garden and cooking our own meal in Thekkady. The trip notes said it was advisable to take a beach towel (it was not explained why this was required), a mosquito net and some warmer clothes but I didn't need any of these for my trip in late March/early April. Just to mention I had technical problems obtaining my e-Visa but overcame this by using a third party.
Confirmed traveller: 03 April 2016
Published on: 08 April 2016
(9 out of 10)


As there were only 4 in the group it felt as though we were able to do things that may not have been possible in a larger group. For example, we had a cooking lesson followed by a meal, and were all able to participate in the cooking. This was, for all of in the group, one of the great highlights. The knowledge of Tour Leader Rej made our visit to the spice gardens in particular really interesting and informative. The Homestay and Houseboat were a very relaxing way to finish the trip after the busier first few days. The whole visit was really enjoyable with delicious food all the way! Rej and the whole team looked after us extremely well.
Confirmed traveller: 03 April 2016
Published on: 07 April 2016
(9 out of 10)


Accommodation was great however the Trident hotel was far away from Cochin and was pricey for meals and drinks. Would rather have stayed in the town in a lesser quality hotel so I could at least look around Cochin. Would also have preferred two nights on the rice barge and one night home stay. The home stay family were lovely but not much to do there so changing that would be something I'd recommend because at least on the backwaters you have the views, the cool breeze and the AC.
Confirmed traveller: 13 March 2016
Published on: 15 March 2016
(9 out of 10)


Hayling Island, Hants
This was quite a busy trip but provided a wide variety of experiences which gave us a great insight into life in Kerala. It was lovely to be on the water for some of the time and the rice boat was a particularly enjoyable part. We all wished it could have been longer.
The home stay was interesting and our hosts were delightful people. Above all our guide Rejnish helped to make it a wonderful trip. Nothing was too much trouble and he always went the extra mile to accommodate our requests, with good humour. He was a real fun person. We also had an excellent driver, Kuriyan, who drove safely on difficult roads. He was always smiling and courteous.
Confirmed traveller: 06 March 2016
Published on: 08 March 2016
(7 out of 10)


The backwaters cruise was the best, closely followed by the spice gardens and tea plantations and great mountain scenery. Although the trip says 9 days, it's actually only 7 days, and there is quite a bit of travelling around so you may want to book some extra time chilling out on your own after (or before).
Confirmed traveller: 04 January 2016
Published on: 21 January 2016
(8 out of 10)


Firstly, our guide Reg was exceptional. We did everything on the itinerary-and more. He treated every one of us the same and nothing was too much trouble-the success of the trip owes a lot to him. Highlight of course was the backwaters and the night on the boat-the food was the best on the tour. I was dubious about the homestay but again it was a highlight with our hosts being very welcoming-Gaaby personally directed the homestay visit and took us on the tour with the canoe ride back-with singing! This short trip is a really good introduction to the beauty which is Kerala. You will see colour and sights around every corner. You will meet happy, welcoming people. You will taste amazing flavours and you will take many memories away with you. Embrace Kerala with open arms and heart and it will embrace you and be in your heart forever.
Confirmed traveller: 04 January 2016
Published on: 05 January 2016
(7 out of 10)


Fabulous place to visit, although there was a lot of travelling, 2 full days on a coach, normally travel in minibuses but was a coach due to the size of our group.
Highlight was the visit to the Peniyar National Park, change in itinerary meant we could spend longer there.
Also due the large group we were split into 2 groups for the homestay and the house boat, it was nice to get to know people better although missed the others
Confirmed traveller: 22 November 2015
Published on: 18 January 2016