It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
604 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Read reviews

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Kerala Backwaters KB

Visiting: India
Tour Duration 9 Days
 
Reviews for Kerala Backwaters

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Kerala Backwaters tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Kerala Backwaters reviews verified by Reevoo

17 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Kerala BackwatersScores 7.6 out of 10 based on 17 reviews
(7 out of 10)

Graham

Loughborough
The backwaters cruise was the best, closely followed by the spice gardens and tea plantations and great mountain scenery. Although the trip says 9 days, it's actually only 7 days, and there is quite a bit of travelling around so you may want to book some extra time chilling out on your own after (or before).
Confirmed traveller: 04 January 2016
Published on: 21 January 2016
(7 out of 10)

Rachel

Essex
Fabulous place to visit, although there was a lot of travelling, 2 full days on a coach, normally travel in minibuses but was a coach due to the size of our group.
Highlight was the visit to the Peniyar National Park, change in itinerary meant we could spend longer there.
Also due the large group we were split into 2 groups for the homestay and the house boat, it was nice to get to know people better although missed the others
Confirmed traveller: 22 November 2015
Published on: 18 January 2016
(8 out of 10)

Elaine

Leeds
Firstly, our guide Reg was exceptional. We did everything on the itinerary-and more. He treated every one of us the same and nothing was too much trouble-the success of the trip owes a lot to him. Highlight of course was the backwaters and the night on the boat-the food was the best on the tour. I was dubious about the homestay but again it was a highlight with our hosts being very welcoming-Gaaby personally directed the homestay visit and took us on the tour with the canoe ride back-with singing! This short trip is a really good introduction to the beauty which is Kerala. You will see colour and sights around every corner. You will meet happy, welcoming people. You will taste amazing flavours and you will take many memories away with you. Embrace Kerala with open arms and heart and it will embrace you and be in your heart forever.
Confirmed traveller: 04 January 2016
Published on: 05 January 2016
(9 out of 10)

Marea

Mylor near Falmouth Cornwall
All the outings were brilliant.

My only negative comment was on our first evening we were taken to a restaurant in Cochin. The food was expensive by other standards & only OK. My criticism is that there were no prices next to any of the drinks. The prices they were quoting seemed expensive.

I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this trip to others. I do feel however that once one books the trip & has queries to iron out that one should receive a direct dial number as I have spent up to 35 mins queuing to get through to a member of your team.
Confirmed traveller: 01 November 2015
Published on: 10 December 2015
(8 out of 10)

Julia

Dorking
Highlights
- being amidst the culture - and not the tourist spots. Being with the Kerala people in their society and being part of that for a very short time. Experiencing how they use the river, & live far simpler and slower lives than us in the UK
- being on the roads - the tut tuts; whole families plus the goat on mopeds
- seeing the wildlife, e.g. drongos, orb spiders, giant squirrels, kites, fruit bats and monkeys
- sailing along the river at sunset
Confirmed traveller: 01 November 2015
Published on: 09 December 2015
(1 out of 10)

Sharon

Ask how many people are on the trip as explore exceeded their maximum. We used a large bus to travel and for the most part, it could only travel 20km/hr. You can only imagine how mere 100 km felt like. I would also ask if the tour leader has knowledge of the area. the trip I was on, did not. I stopped asking questions about the region, the birds, the type of trees byday two. One day, when we finally asked for a bathroom break, he consulted the driver as he had no clue where to stop for decent ones. We stopped at one restaurant only to find out they did not have food to accomodate the large group. I missed several prepaid activities because I had to make a choice whether to eat or participate in the activity.

In spite of paying a single supplement, I had to share 3 out of the 8 days.

The backwater trip was the highlight.
Confirmed traveller: 22 November 2015
Published on: 02 December 2015

We’re sorry that you weren’t aware of the single room options for this trip. On this departure the single room availability was only available for 8 nights. We do make this clear in the tour notes, and the single room option availability is detailed on a night by night basis for any tour, and the price for the available nights is detailed on the dates & prices tab by departure date. Although this was the usual bus we use on this tour, we are discussing your comments regarding its speed and size with our agent to consider whether we need a different vehicle.

(7 out of 10)

Christine

Newcastle
Jungle walk, houseboat and honestly great
Hotel trident fabulous

Group too large however which made catering for needs of group difficult and bus too large. Itinerary had not mentioned three five hour coach journeys which was too much in one week. Tea museum closed on a Mon which meant change of plan and meant we couldn't enjoy facilities of treetops accommodation due to time limits.
Group leader tried hard nut had not got sufficient knowledge of cochin.
Confirmed traveller: 22 November 2015
Published on: 24 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

So many highlights but for me, meeting Meena and Indira, the elephants, was a dream come true. We washed Meena and showered with her and then Indira took us for a ride. such beautiful animals. I felt very humbled by the experienceRejanish was the best of the best. He was aware from the very first day of individual needs. He managed to fit in extras when they were requested and he was full of knowledge of all the places we visited. Rejanish was fun, confident and made our whole Indian experience very special.
Confirmed traveller: 18 February 2014
Published on: 07 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

Jennifer

London
Highlights: Dutch Palace in Cochin, martial arts demo in Periare, whole Backwaters experience - home stay, cycling & houseboat. All brilliant.
Tips: if time is not limited, book to arrive a day early and a couple of extra days at the end as a week is quite short for such a distance.
Confirmed traveller: 01 November 2015
Published on: 04 November 2015
(8 out of 10)

Abigail

north Spain
Floating down the backwaters watching local life, the perfect way to de-stress. Cochin is an amazing city so worth taking the time to explore
Confirmed traveller: 22 February 2015
Published on: 04 October 2015