It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
608 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Kerala Backwaters KB

Visiting: India
Trip Duration 9 Days
 

Reviews for Kerala Backwaters

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Kerala Backwaters trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Kerala Backwaters reviews verified by reevooReevoo

34 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Kerala BackwatersScores 8.1 out of 10 based on 34 reviews
(8 out of 10)

David

Cambridge
The area was interesting and varied and was a pleasant surprise. the climate was very good. All the local people were extremely friendly and keen to make it a good trip.
Confirmed traveller: 18 March 2017
Published on: 22 March 2017
(8 out of 10)

Richard

Leamington Spa
Overall it was a good introduction to Kerala though at times it felt as though we were spending a disproportional amount of time on the coach. It was a long way to go to Munnar for such a short visit. I enjoyed our time in Thekkady and would have preferred an option of more time in the Periyar National Park. It was good to have the contrast of the busy old Fort Kochi with the more relaxed country areas.
Confirmed traveller: 09 March 2017
Published on: 24 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Nick

Newcastle upon Tyne UK
A quick insight into Kerala. This is more than a trip to the backwaters. You experience Kochi, a booming Indian city before climbing high into the mountainous Ghat hills. There you are surrounded by tea plantations, you visit spice gardens, have cooking experiences and walks in an extensive national park full of wildlife. Eventually you have time to visit and relax on the backwaters in a home stay and house boat. All this makes for an exciting and fulfilling time in a very interesting part of India.
Confirmed traveller: 03 February 2017
Published on: 09 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Dennis

Thoroughly enjoyable throughout the week. Group leader excellent and professional' helping me (an older traveller) whenever help was required
Houseboat the highlight for me followed by the homestay by the river and the walk through the National Park.
Confirmed traveller: 30 January 2017
Published on: 02 February 2017
(8 out of 10)

Nilima

London
There wasn't enough point of interest in Kochi. I would have like to have walked in the tea plantation rather just stopping by the road to take photographs.
The hotel in Munnar needs to have sign posts to the breakfast room. As a group we would have enjoyed another night on the houseboat,even though we kept going around a circles.
The home stay was nice, but it was ashame that the hosts didn't have a greater understanding of English/western culture.
Confirmed traveller: 29 January 2017
Published on: 14 February 2017
(8 out of 10)

Barry

London
Cochin itself didn't have many points of interest, but the other locations made up for it. It would have been nice to take a walk through a tea plantation rather than just looking at them. The houseboat was a highlight and even though we travelled in circles most of the group would have been happy to stay another night there.
Confirmed traveller: 29 January 2017
Published on: 02 February 2017
(8 out of 10)

Patricia

Betchworth
This is an exploration not a holiday! It is great for seeing the real life of Indians living in both the highlands and river deltas of Kerala. Some of the poverty is shocking but that itself is educational. The scenery in the Western Ghats is stunning.
All the accommodation is good but the home stays and the boats are fairly basic. Do not expect to eat Western food, it is almost impossible to avoid curry at breakfast, lunch, or dinner.
Sanitation during journey stops can be pretty basic.
Confirmed traveller: 29 January 2017
Published on: 02 February 2017
(10 out of 10)

Andrzej

Stevenage
The minibus was very cramped for 13 adults, our luggage went in separate transport.
Confirmed traveller: 05 January 2017
Published on: 08 January 2017
(8 out of 10)

Margaret

Horsham
This short tour was a good introduction to Kerala. The accommodation was varied with 2 excellent hotels, one poor hotel and a poor Homestay. Coach journeys to and from the tea growing area were very long, and made longer by having to stop frequently at ATM's to try to get Indian rupees. My highlight was the stay in Thekaddy and the walk in the National Park. I would have liked to stay longer here. The hotel in Cochi was lovely, but well out of the city so long tuktuk journeys into the city were needed for evening meals. Services in this hotel were very expensive - it cost over £10 to have one pair of trousers and one Tshirt laundered. At present changing money is very difficult and future tour members need to change as much as possible at the airport despite the very poor exchange rate there - we got only 67 to the pound when the internet suggested 78-80.
Confirmed traveller: 30 December 2016
Published on: 03 January 2017
(9 out of 10)

Jean

Lancaster, UK
This is a very interesting and varied tour covering the backwaters of Kerula and the hill station tea areas inland. There is a lot of road travel by minibus on roads best described as interesting, our only criticism of this is that a few more photograph stops to capture a bit more of the landscape would have been welcome but would also of course increased travel times.
The hotel and home stay accommodation was excellent. We were less taken by the houseboat. There is a real danger that the houseboat operators are killing the goose that laid the golden egg. At times it was like following a line of traffic down the M1. Personally I preferred the cruise in the large canoe. The food on the houseboat was good and the accommodation was ok, but the overall cruise was the least attractive part of the tour.
The visit up to Munnar was interesting, allowing a glimpse of the past life of the tea planters as well as a little insight into the current ways of life. The contrasts between the different parts of Kerula was as interesting as it was unexpected.
Our guide and driver were both excellent and bent over backwards to try and accommodate everyone's wishes. We were a small group of eight and all got on well together. A couple of people did rather suffer from the heat (it reached nearly 40C) but our guide helped them through that with no real disruption to the programme.
All in all we throughly enjoyed this tour and would highly recommend it. I have just dropped a single point because of the houseboat.
One final plea to anyone who does visit. Please be careful not to drop plastic bottles. Much of India indeed much of the world is slowly drowning in a sea of discarded plastic. We must try and set an example no matter how small if we wish to continue to travel and enjoy such beautiful places.
Confirmed traveller: 17 April 2016
Published on: 24 April 2016