It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
548 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Brochures

Our latest  brochures are available now, with over 600 adventures for you to choose from.

Gift Vouchers

Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with over 600 tours & experiences to choose from. The perfect gift idea for any occasion.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 1,843

Kerala Backwaters KB

Visiting: India
Tour Duration 12 Days
  • Keralan houseboat
  • Kovalam
  • Cochin
  • Kathakali dancer
  • Santa Cruz Basilica, Cochin
  • Tour Style: Classic
  • Tour Type: Small Groups
  • Tour Pace: Moderate
  • Tour Comfort: Standard
 

Book now!

14 reviews for this tour

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Kerala Backwaters tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
10 Kathleen Quinlivan, 04/03/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

There were so many highlights on this tour, however the beauty of the Tea Plantation was a joy and I should have loved to spend longer in that area. The visit with Sally and Joseph at Mancombu Village was a night I shall never forget. They were so welcoming and friendly and willing to talk about their way of life. The food Sally prepared was excellent.

Read more
 
10 , 18/02/14

Name

Marylou Evans

Tour Name

Kerala backwaters

Tour Code

KB

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

So many highlights but for me, meeting Meena and Indira, the elephants, was a dream come true. We washed Meena and showered with her and then Indira took us for a ride. such beautiful animals. I felt very humbled by the experience

Tour Leader Name

Rejanish

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Rejanish was the best of the best. He was aware from the very first day of individual needs. He managed to fit in extras when they were requested and he was full of knowledge of all the places we visited. Rejanish was fun, confident and made our whole Indian experience very special.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Don't take too many clothes, you can get them laundered and you can buy clothes so cheaply or have them made in a day. Take hand gel and loo roll and sandals are great as they are easy to take on and off. Go wit an open mind and just enjoy!

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

It was the perfect way to see many parts of southern India on a budget. Take part in all the activities so you experience everything, try eating out in the local cafes and try the street food, it's amazing. We have fallen in love with india and its people and can't wait to go back

 
10 Jenny Brown, 22/03/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Excellent trip as filled out on your form before leaving Kerala.

Read more
 
10 Peggy, 07/03/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Backwaters boat tour, Homestay, Periyar, Joining Festival

Read more
 
8 Drusilla Isabel Nicholson, 17/01/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

"Unscheduled - attending a big wedding (the groom was a friend of the tour leader) and New Year's Eve at the YMCA

Scheduled - the houseboats on the waterways"

Read more
 
6 Janet Dunn, 17/01/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Cooking class in Kovalam

Read more
Our Response

Depending on the time when a customer books, flight availability can change. It is of course always possible to book any of our holidays on a Land Only basis, however many of our customers prefer to be ATOL protected.  

 
8 Peter Fellowes, 26/11/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The energy of the country and the lovely countryside. The backwaters were lovely and peaceful.

Read more
 
10 Steve, 23/08/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Watching sun set over Kochi and chinese fishing nets as we sat on sea front veranda eating our lobster , which probably only came to £5 each with wine.

Read more
 
10 Steve, 23/08/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Watching sun set over Kochi and chinese fishing nets as we sat on sea front veranda eating our lobster , which probably only came to £5 each with wine.

Read more
 
10 Daphne Major, 17/07/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

We loved the time spent on the backwaters, just gliding through the emerald green waterways, with glimpses of timeless village life - women washing clothes, children swimming and men shepherding ducks across the water or collecting sand from the depths. Everyone smiled and waved as we went by. We were impressed by the facilities on the boat - we even had our own en suite! We also enjoyed the homestay on the backwaters - the family were very welcoming - the two grown-up children spoke excellent English and taught us to play a typical Indian board game - we lost, of course! The house was on the edge of a rice field, with goats and chickens running around the garden. It was a real village atmosphere.

Read more
 
0 Naomi, 11/01/12
I loved every day of this holiday. Kerala is a hidden jewel I had not even heard of a year before our trip. Of all the highlights, my favourite things were the three days relaxing on the backwaters (it was like being in paradise) and trying the local food (which was so full of flavour and not nearly as spicy as I was expecting - probably dampened down for westerners!). Our tour guide and driver really added to the experience and were both fun and knowledgable.
 
0 Roy Brown, 11/02/11
Highlights - Kerala Backwaters on the boat. Tea plantations. Unexpected. - We had a very long flight home via The Maldives. We had to stay on the plane for an hour on The Maldives runway. Throughout the booking procedure I was never informed that we would be stopping at The Maldives. All my Explore paperwork made no mention of this. So it felt like Explore had been rather underhand in this matter. (KB - 11th January 2011)
 
0 John Sturley, 31/12/10
Highlights were the houseboat, homestay and cooking demonstration/meal at the tour leader's family home. (KB- 30th November 2010)
 
0 Sarah Campbell, 22/09/10
Waking up to the sounds of the Arabian Sea outside the hotel was a good start, relaxing on the boat whilst sailing through the backwaters was making it heavenly. Fantastic time playing with the kids at the home stay then checking you had no leeches in your socks at Periyar- this tour was so chilled and fun, it was the perfect unwinding holiday. If you fancy trying some toddy, learning to make a curry and maybe even trying your hand at Chinese net fishing in Fort Kochi this is a fantastic trip. They call Kerala God's Own Country - it certainly is! (KB- 1st December 2008)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  3. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  4. Tour name (i.e. Inca Trail Trek)
  5. Tour Code (i.e. PQ)
    Invalid Input
  6. What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  7. Tour leader name
  8. How Was Your Explore Tour Leader?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  10. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  11. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  12.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA