It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
590 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Backroads Of Kerala CKB

Visiting: India
Trip Duration 13 Days
 

Reviews for Backroads Of Kerala

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Backroads Of Kerala trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Backroads Of Kerala reviews verified by Reevoo

15 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Backroads Of KeralaScores 8.9 out of 10 based on 15 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Ruth

Portsmouth
Everything was fantastic and our tour leader was excellent
Confirmed traveller: 08 April 2016
Published on: 09 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Joanne

Really good trip around Kerala. Would have been good to have a second night at the second hotel with a pool (only one night there). Next hotel okay but location poor - no pool and on the highway so couldn't even go for a walk. Food great, leader and mechanic excellent. Cycling was interesting with the traffic and temperature but easily achievable.
Confirmed traveller: 18 March 2016
Published on: 23 March 2016
(9 out of 10)

David

Melrose
A really enjoyable tour. Although it was very hot and humid with above average temperatures even for Kerala the cycling was manageable especially as most days we reached our destination by lunchtime giving us the afternoon to relax! However very useful to have the (air conditioned) bus with us for some of us to escape into occasionally.

Highlights were undoubtedly the cycling in the hills and tea plantations going up to and down from Periyar. Also accommodation in the homestays and some of the Keralan food was delicious.
Confirmed traveller: 26 February 2016
Published on: 09 March 2016
(10 out of 10)

Richard

High Wycombe
We had a fantastic team leader, Vishnu, who led the party and his team exceptionally well.
He was personable, flexible, confident dealing with the unexpected and exceeded my expectations - which few people/companies seldom achieve.

The cycling was just right for me, and the highlight was an optional 16 km uphill ride to a magnificent rack pool that we all swam in.
Confirmed traveller: 01 February 2016
Published on: 19 February 2016
(10 out of 10)

Yvonne

Glasgow
Tour was very well organised and distances, route perfect for an "Easy" trip. Varied landscape with visits to suitable sights en route. Our tour leader Vishnu and his assistant Mish were very cheerful, helpful and supportive. The bike mechanic super competent . Vishnu knew exactly where to shelter from the sun under trees etc for the group to regather. I'm a single female now who much appreciated being cosseted by the whole team! It was very hot 28 to 35 degrees the water provided at every opportunity was much appreciated. Personally I enjoyed the tea plantation area, the first beach hotel with sea within easy distance. The food was great and the places Vishnu took us to to eat at both lunch time and in the evening. The cruise on the backwaters and ferry crossings all interesting. Many thanks for a lovely holiday.
Confirmed traveller: 29 January 2016
Published on: 10 February 2016
(8 out of 10)

Clive

Sandy
Riding by the Arabian Sea, the Wetlands, Periyar and Thekaddy. You need to be reasonably confident in traffic which can occasionally be busy.
Confirmed traveller: 01 January 2016
Published on: 06 February 2016
(7 out of 10)

Jisabella

London
The first few days cycling were fairly flat and followed the coast with views of sea and palm trees. We got excited when we passed an elephant on the way to a temple festival. Very hot! Long sleeves, high necks, and sun block essential. You can't take your eyes off the road for long as you need to look out for potholes.The tour moves on past Varkala to the Keralan backwaters. Later on the tour starts climbing uphill towards the cooler weather in the Cardamon Hills, passing rubber plantations, and eventually tea plantations. The days with shorter distances are mainly uphill. (The tour cycles in the mornings from about 9am but it is really hot by 10am). Lots of water bottles available on the bus. The support bus and bike van follow the tour so you feel safe and supported and you can stop cycling if the heat gets too much.
Confirmed traveller: 01 January 2016
Published on: 17 February 2016
(10 out of 10)

Keith

Malvern
Cycling, food, local people, scenery, diversity of area and activities.
Confirmed traveller: 29 November 2015
Published on: 05 December 2015
(10 out of 10)

Catherine

Manchester
Highlights: Meeting Vishnu (Prasad)the Explore leader - the Explore team need to do what ever they can to keep Vishnu, they are very lucky to have him. He was brilliant, he did so much for the group that he helped to make the holiday. I cannot praise Vishnu highly enough, he interacted with us all which helped the group to mingle, little things he did - Vish was happy to answer any questions. He is going to be a hard act for the next Explore guide on a future trip that I go on to follow.
Meeting Kishore (the bike mechanic)
Other highlights - meeting the rest of the group, the scenery, the cycling and the food - yummy!

Tips: Just book it as you will have a brilliant time (maybe don't pack so much)
Confirmed traveller: 27 November 2015
Published on: 01 December 2015
(8 out of 10)

Marian

Dorset
Good for anyone who enjoys cycling and great food
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 27 November 2015
Published on: 05 December 2015