It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
633 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Backroads Of Kerala CKB

Visiting: India
Trip Duration 13 Days
 

Reviews for Backroads Of Kerala

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Backroads Of Kerala trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Backroads Of Kerala reviews verified by reevooReevoo

36 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Backroads Of KeralaScores 8.8 out of 10 based on 36 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Gary

Doncaster
Great value tour and the best way to see and experience Kerala.
Confirmed traveller: 04 March 2017
Published on: 06 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Judith

Uttoxeter
This is an excellent trip. Kerala is beautiful, and this trip enables you to see its highlights, combined with a reasonable amount of activity. The traffic in towns is a bit manic, but cycling is mostly on quiet roads. Bikes are in good condition. Days are varied, with loads of included activities and opportunities - boat trips and dining experiences for example, and some optional ones well worth doing, especially the ayurvedic massage. Our leaders Krishna and Deepak were excellent, as were the support staff of drivers and bike mechanic. We visited the coast, the waterways, tea plantations and historic cities. Plenty of wildlife opportunities especially in the waterways, where we were lucky enough to see dolphins in an estuary. Food is fantastic, people are welcoming, it's lovely and warm -a brilliant trip.
Confirmed traveller: 04 March 2017
Published on: 06 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Susan

Hemel Hempstead
This is a wonderful trip, packed with lots to see and do. Kerala is beautiful and the best way to appreciate the diverse scenery is on two wheels! I am a novice cyclist so was very grateful for the support I received from our guides, Deepak and Krishna. Different members of the group also gave me lots of encouragement coaxing me through tricky traffic and getting me up the hills! Everyone made this a very memorable holiday for me.
Confirmed traveller: 03 March 2017
Published on: 09 March 2017
(10 out of 10)

Marie

Hampshire
Great cycling and excellent leaders. For the most part, the cycling finished around lunchtime which was just as well as it got extremely hot for some people (February).
Lots of places to go to and things to see.
Confirmed traveller: 03 March 2017
Published on: 08 March 2017
(8 out of 10)

Doug

London
Cycling is absolutely the best way to see Kerala. Every day the terrain was different: coast, backwaters, hills, tea plantations, forest etc.
Confirmed traveller: 03 March 2017
Published on: 07 March 2017
(8 out of 10)

Margaret

Westhill, Aberdeenshire
Really enjoyed the trip. Highlights were cycling along the coast.
There were a lot of hills which I didn't expect as the cycling was graded as easy. It should be regarded easy/moderate.
Confirmed traveller: 18 February 2017
Published on: 20 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Joyce

North Berwick
Fantastic tour, a great mix of scenery from beaches/coast, to backwaters, rubber and tea plantations. Highlights? Loads! Backwater cruise and relaxing time at Planters home stay with flat cycling through rice paddies on quiet roads. Great meals(don't go if you don't eat curry!) and our leader tried to ensure we had the opportunity to try local specialties. Trip up to mountain top to view sunset and sunset cruise on last day. Friendly people. Visit to coastal fishing village.
This trip was graded easy but we thought it should be easy/moderate as some days the "undulating "terrain was quite steep, especially in the heat! I found it quite a challenge. Great backup from our wonderful support team and the bus is always there if you need a rest. Don't let this put you off as Kerala is a really lovely destination.
Confirmed traveller: 18 February 2017
Published on: 20 February 2017
(6 out of 10)

Bev

Shrewsbury
Having been on an "easy" Explore cycling trip to Vietnam/Cambodia we were expecting more of the same. Kerala was definitely not "easy" with some fairly steep hills (called undulating by our guide!) and far more traffic on the many main roads we cycled. The group was also rather large (16) with a vast difference between the fittest and not so fit which meant long waits for the slowest to catch up meaning the group was often spread over a few kilometers on the hillier parts. Some of the group were also disappointed that there was no time for some of the optional rides.

The standard of some of the hotels was also disappointing - we certainly didn't expect luxury, but would expect cleanliness as standard! Some of the rooms were really dirty.

Highlights of the trip were the flat coastal rides alongside the beach and the stunning scenery of the paddy fields, tea and rubber plantations. The river cruise along the backwaters was truly magical. Our guide was brilliant as were the support team, particularly the mechanic. The food was absolutely fantastic and we tasted many different snacks along the way. The home stays were also great experiences.

The reason we wouldn't recommend this tour is that we feel it is deceptively rated for hobby cyclists..it should really be easy/moderate. I also feel Explore could have explained more about the problems with currency and also mentioned that Kerala is a dry state so cyclists might have difficulty in finding a cold beer at the end of a hot day's cycling!
Confirmed traveller: 17 February 2017
Published on: 03 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Roger

Andover
My first trip with Explore and it was excellent. I would recommend this trip to anyone of a reasonable fitness. I am not a regular cyclist but found this quite manageable.

The accommodation was very good, and the Homestays were very pleasant, the families were most welcoming and friendly. One evening the ladies of the party were offered the chance to try on Saris and looked much better than the men in their Dhoti's?

As we cycled we were repeatedly waved to by the local people especially the children who were fascinated by us. Everyone was very friendly.

The food was excellent all the time and no one came down with a bad stomach.

A very well organized trip.
Confirmed traveller: 04 February 2017
Published on: 06 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Chris

Nottingham
This was an excellent trip! We loved Kerala (wonderful people, excellent food, varied scenery). I was initially rather apprehensive about the amount of cycling involved, but coped quite happily (apart from a couple of steep hills, for which I needed a fair amount of encouragement and some gear changing lessons) and didn't ache at all. (Bottom cream, a gel seat cover and cycling gloves highly recommended!) Most of the cycling was in the mornings, to avoid the worst of the heat, which allowed plenty of time for relaxation. Our Tour Leaders, Vishnu and Nishant, were very supportive and patient, as were the back-up team, and keen to tell us about their country. There were too many highlights to list separately. A few, like our Bollywood dance lesson at one of the homstays, a mountain top musical interlude (thanks, Nishant) and a visit to a local school, were not on the itinerary. A lasting memory will be the hundreds of happy smiling faces we saw as we pedalled through the beautiful landscapes. As a non beer drinker, I had a very abstemious fortnight, which did me no harm, and I did develop a taste for lime soda. Do not expect to lose weight on this trip as the snack stops counterbalance calories burnt by cycling. If anyone has time to extend their trip, perhaps returning to a beach, we discovered that we could have stayed very cheaply in Verkala - worth considering.
Confirmed traveller: 03 February 2017
Published on: 11 February 2017