It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
629 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Backroads Of Kerala CKB

Visiting: India
Trip Duration 13 Days
 

Reviews for Backroads Of Kerala

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Backroads Of Kerala trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Backroads Of Kerala reviews verified by reevooReevoo

30 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Backroads Of KeralaScores 8.8 out of 10 based on 30 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Margaret

Westhill, Aberdeenshire
Really enjoyed the trip. Highlights were cycling along the coast.
There were a lot of hills which I didn't expect as the cycling was graded as easy. It should be regarded easy/moderate.
Confirmed traveller: 18 February 2017
Published on: 20 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Joyce

North Berwick
Fantastic tour, a great mix of scenery from beaches/coast, to backwaters, rubber and tea plantations. Highlights? Loads! Backwater cruise and relaxing time at Planters home stay with flat cycling through rice paddies on quiet roads. Great meals(don't go if you don't eat curry!) and our leader tried to ensure we had the opportunity to try local specialties. Trip up to mountain top to view sunset and sunset cruise on last day. Friendly people. Visit to coastal fishing village.
This trip was graded easy but we thought it should be easy/moderate as some days the "undulating "terrain was quite steep, especially in the heat! I found it quite a challenge. Great backup from our wonderful support team and the bus is always there if you need a rest. Don't let this put you off as Kerala is a really lovely destination.
Confirmed traveller: 18 February 2017
Published on: 20 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Roger

Andover
My first trip with Explore and it was excellent. I would recommend this trip to anyone of a reasonable fitness. I am not a regular cyclist but found this quite manageable.

The accommodation was very good, and the Homestays were very pleasant, the families were most welcoming and friendly. One evening the ladies of the party were offered the chance to try on Saris and looked much better than the men in their Dhoti's?

As we cycled we were repeatedly waved to by the local people especially the children who were fascinated by us. Everyone was very friendly.

The food was excellent all the time and no one came down with a bad stomach.

A very well organized trip.
Confirmed traveller: 04 February 2017
Published on: 06 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Chris

Nottingham
This was an excellent trip! We loved Kerala (wonderful people, excellent food, varied scenery). I was initially rather apprehensive about the amount of cycling involved, but coped quite happily (apart from a couple of steep hills, for which I needed a fair amount of encouragement and some gear changing lessons) and didn't ache at all. (Bottom cream, a gel seat cover and cycling gloves highly recommended!) Most of the cycling was in the mornings, to avoid the worst of the heat, which allowed plenty of time for relaxation. Our Tour Leaders, Vishnu and Nishant, were very supportive and patient, as were the back-up team, and keen to tell us about their country. There were too many highlights to list separately. A few, like our Bollywood dance lesson at one of the homstays, a mountain top musical interlude (thanks, Nishant) and a visit to a local school, were not on the itinerary. A lasting memory will be the hundreds of happy smiling faces we saw as we pedalled through the beautiful landscapes. As a non beer drinker, I had a very abstemious fortnight, which did me no harm, and I did develop a taste for lime soda. Do not expect to lose weight on this trip as the snack stops counterbalance calories burnt by cycling. If anyone has time to extend their trip, perhaps returning to a beach, we discovered that we could have stayed very cheaply in Verkala - worth considering.
Confirmed traveller: 03 February 2017
Published on: 11 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Penelope

Nottingham
This was a brilliant holiday in a wonderful place! The variety of the area - coastal and up country was fantastic. Our two guides were very good and the variety of the accommodation was great. Maybe some of the cycling was more than 'easy'. Not too keen on the Hotel Regant Lake Palace - the accommodation was very pleasant, as was the food - it was it's location that was poor - if it had a swimming pool it would have been a better place to spend the afternoon. It would have been good to mention the difficulty in getting a beer in some places, and also getting money out wasn't always easy - either by ATM or currency exchange. It would have been useful if the home stays had soft drinks as well as water. It would have been useful to have PA on the bus to enable the guide to talk to us all about the areas that we were driving through.
Confirmed traveller: 03 February 2017
Published on: 05 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

John

Northampton
We had a good group of people everyone got on well the group leader fish was great.
The trip was organised excellent food was good and because of the leader we tasted food that we would not tasted before. On the hole great trip thanks.
Confirmed traveller: 30 December 2016
Published on: 05 January 2017
(9 out of 10)

Deborah

UK
This was a great tour. The cycling was varied (coastal, through rice fields, tea plantations, towns, etc.) and there was a lot of free time to relax in the afternoons. The highlights were cycling through miles of tea plantations and through the various towns with school children and locals shouting 'hello' and 'Happy Christmas' as we passed. The Tea Planter's Homestay was lovely - set in beautiful gardens and a lovely family running the accommodation with great food.

For me, the cycling was just the right degree of challenge with easy cycling days as well.
Confirmed traveller: 29 December 2016
Published on: 30 December 2016
(10 out of 10)

Dorothy

Edinburgh
The food at the Planters Homestay was excellent. Our guide took good care of us and was very informative. Loved the varied scenery especially cycling through the tea plantations.
Confirmed traveller: 01 December 2016
Published on: 05 December 2016
(9 out of 10)

Tracey

March
The whole of the tour was excellent and the guide local knowledge was extremely good and his plant knowledge was excellent
Confirmed traveller: 17 November 2016
Published on: 18 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Sally

Saldanha Bay, W. Cape, South Africa
This was a really great trip. Our tour leader, Nishan, was an excellent leader with a good sense of humour and a lot of knowledge. The cycling was probably more 'moderate' than 'easy' as there were some pretty serious hills, but it was all good, and our cycling was always finished by lunch time, giving us the afternoons to do other things, which we really enjoyed. We saw a great variety of countryside, from the fishing boats on the coast to the backwaters of Kerala and the mountains of the rubber and tea plantations. The homestays were much better than I had anticipated and the food was excellent everywhere. Apart from the cycling, I enjoyed the boat trip on the backwaters the most. I also enjoyed the homestay with Sally and Joseph and their daughter Liji. (Gaaby's Homestay). The hotels were all very good. The bicycles were very good, and cycling through the traffic was a bit hair-raising but great fun! I would love to do another trip like that, and of course, it was really made for me by being part of such an exceptionally nice group.
Confirmed traveller: 04 November 2016
Published on: 06 November 2016