It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
650 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Backroads Of Kerala CKB

Visiting: India
Trip Duration 13 Days
 

Reviews for Backroads Of Kerala

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Backroads Of Kerala trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Backroads Of Kerala reviews verified by reevooReevoo

21 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Backroads Of KeralaScores 9.0 out of 10 based on 21 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Dorothy

Edinburgh
The food at the Planters Homestay was excellent. Our guide took good care of us and was very informative. Loved the varied scenery especially cycling through the tea plantations.
Confirmed traveller: 01 December 2016
Published on: 05 December 2016
(9 out of 10)

Tracey

March
The whole of the tour was excellent and the guide local knowledge was extremely good and his plant knowledge was excellent
Confirmed traveller: 17 November 2016
Published on: 18 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Sally

Saldanha Bay, W. Cape, South Africa
This was a really great trip. Our tour leader, Nishan, was an excellent leader with a good sense of humour and a lot of knowledge. The cycling was probably more 'moderate' than 'easy' as there were some pretty serious hills, but it was all good, and our cycling was always finished by lunch time, giving us the afternoons to do other things, which we really enjoyed. We saw a great variety of countryside, from the fishing boats on the coast to the backwaters of Kerala and the mountains of the rubber and tea plantations. The homestays were much better than I had anticipated and the food was excellent everywhere. Apart from the cycling, I enjoyed the boat trip on the backwaters the most. I also enjoyed the homestay with Sally and Joseph and their daughter Liji. (Gaaby's Homestay). The hotels were all very good. The bicycles were very good, and cycling through the traffic was a bit hair-raising but great fun! I would love to do another trip like that, and of course, it was really made for me by being part of such an exceptionally nice group.
Confirmed traveller: 04 November 2016
Published on: 06 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Juliet

bradford on avon , Wiltshire
I enjoyed every moment of this holiday... I am quite fit but not a very experienced cyclist and found the cycling manageable but take a little issue with the word 'undulating' as some of the hills were only achievable with the amazing support of the rest of the group; one in particular, Don, who would ride to the top and then turn round and accompany me as i slogged up the hill ...he should get a discount on future trips! The group was only 7 of us and although varied we got along well and looked after each other. Kerala proved a very special place and our guide, Harish, and Pintu the mechanic along with the drivers made a very effective team who contributed greatly to our enjoyment and my sense of achievment. My only request would be more hotels with a pool if at all possible !
Confirmed traveller: 27 October 2016
Published on: 01 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Theresa

Worthing, West Sussex
This was the perfect balance of challenging excercise & opportunities to relax. Cycling is the best way to see Kerala, you have much more contact with the place & the people, who are the most friendly people in the world, we would have missed a lot of interaction with the people of Kerala if we were in a vehicle. One of the highlights was staying in the homestays, where we were made to feel very much at home, & had the opportunity to learn more about their day to day lives, & experience some of the best home cooking you will ever come across. A well designed & well organised trip, free of any worries, & full of wounderfull memories!
Confirmed traveller: 27 October 2016
Published on: 29 October 2016
(10 out of 10)

Ruth

Portsmouth
Everything was fantastic and our tour leader was excellent
Confirmed traveller: 08 April 2016
Published on: 09 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Joanne

Really good trip around Kerala. Would have been good to have a second night at the second hotel with a pool (only one night there). Next hotel okay but location poor - no pool and on the highway so couldn't even go for a walk. Food great, leader and mechanic excellent. Cycling was interesting with the traffic and temperature but easily achievable.
Confirmed traveller: 18 March 2016
Published on: 23 March 2016
(9 out of 10)

David

Melrose
A really enjoyable tour. Although it was very hot and humid with above average temperatures even for Kerala the cycling was manageable especially as most days we reached our destination by lunchtime giving us the afternoon to relax! However very useful to have the (air conditioned) bus with us for some of us to escape into occasionally.

Highlights were undoubtedly the cycling in the hills and tea plantations going up to and down from Periyar. Also accommodation in the homestays and some of the Keralan food was delicious.
Confirmed traveller: 26 February 2016
Published on: 09 March 2016
(10 out of 10)

Richard

High Wycombe
We had a fantastic team leader, Vishnu, who led the party and his team exceptionally well.
He was personable, flexible, confident dealing with the unexpected and exceeded my expectations - which few people/companies seldom achieve.

The cycling was just right for me, and the highlight was an optional 16 km uphill ride to a magnificent rack pool that we all swam in.
Confirmed traveller: 01 February 2016
Published on: 19 February 2016
(10 out of 10)

Yvonne

Glasgow
Tour was very well organised and distances, route perfect for an "Easy" trip. Varied landscape with visits to suitable sights en route. Our tour leader Vishnu and his assistant Mish were very cheerful, helpful and supportive. The bike mechanic super competent . Vishnu knew exactly where to shelter from the sun under trees etc for the group to regather. I'm a single female now who much appreciated being cosseted by the whole team! It was very hot 28 to 35 degrees the water provided at every opportunity was much appreciated. Personally I enjoyed the tea plantation area, the first beach hotel with sea within easy distance. The food was great and the places Vishnu took us to to eat at both lunch time and in the evening. The cruise on the backwaters and ferry crossings all interesting. Many thanks for a lovely holiday.
Confirmed traveller: 29 January 2016
Published on: 10 February 2016