It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
646 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Kilimanjaro - Lemosho Trek KC

Visiting: Tanzania
Trip Duration 10 Days
 

Reviews for Kilimanjaro - Lemosho Trek

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Kilimanjaro - Lemosho Trek trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Kilimanjaro - Lemosho Trek reviews verified by reevooReevoo

29 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Kilimanjaro - Lemosho TrekScores 9.3 out of 10 based on 29 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Dave

York
Our guide - Whitely - was just tremendous. He turned a good trip into a great trip and I feel I enjoyed the whole experience much more as a result. It's little things, like being the first group out of camp in the morning to ensure we had a good spot the following night, that really made a difference. Then there was the singing, the good food, the happy porters. Hard to fault really!.
Top tip that I got beforehand - a nailbrush is a godsend (and made me friends with others in the group). A better kitlist as part of the trip notes would be a good improvement ( a separate page to use for packing, with mandatory/optional etc)
Confirmed traveller: 23 October 2016
Published on: 30 October 2016
(9 out of 10)

James

Wokingham
This was the first time I had travelled alone and I was slightly apprehensive at the start. My concerns were soon allayed as the whole trip was well organised and moved seamlessly without any disruption. The highlight undoubtedly was reaching Uhuru Peak after an exhausting climb through the night to Stella Point, then onto Uhuru. Throughout the tour, our lead mountain guide Julius (aka 'Whitey') and his team were outstanding in their support and encouragement. All in all, an outstanding holiday, adventure and life experience!
Confirmed traveller: 23 October 2016
Published on: 26 October 2016
(8 out of 10)

Steven

Rushden
This is the longest route which gives best acclimatisation and hence probability of success. Extremely well organised. The group leader and guides could not do enough to ensure we summit ed and enjoyed the entire trip.
Confirmed traveller: 16 October 2016
Published on: 21 October 2016
(10 out of 10)

Jane

Manchester
An amazing experience, made all the more memorable and successful because of the guides, mainly Whitey - he was excellent. There were of course highs and lows, as you would expect from such an enormous challenge but our group got on well, our team of porters supported us every step of the way, and with willpower we made it! I would highly recommend this trek to anyone, but don't foolishly think it will be easy, you do need to prepare and ensure you have the proper equipment. In hind sight a day or so either side would have been welcome but it didn't take away from the overall adventure. You will love it!!
Confirmed traveller: 09 October 2016
Published on: 16 October 2016
(10 out of 10)

Norman

London
Gruelling eight day trip to climb Kilimanjaro.
Excellent leader named Chunga Zitto who along with his four supporting guides, gave us the very best chance of success.
Highlights for me were the gloriously clear night skies.
Best tip from me is that this trek is not a walk on the park and that you have to be pretty fit to undertake this journey plus you need a good level of endurance and determination. Early mornings, cold nights and altitude issues are all part of it.
Having said this, all in all, a wonderful experience.
Confirmed traveller: 24 September 2016
Published on: 28 September 2016
(8 out of 10)

A

Do not underestimate how difficult this is. Summit night is around ten hours of walking, about seven of those are up very steep rock paths at night and its difficult to drink or eat as everything is frozen.

Though would I recommend climbing Kilimanjaro - yes! without doubt.

The kit is also expensive on this trip but this depends on what tier of explore customer you are. Some explore customers are given expensive bags (the bag cost me over fifty pounds) and water bottles for free and some customers (like me) have to pay for this themselves. I don't know why explore have these levels.

Chunga, the guide, was excellent!
Confirmed traveller: 20 August 2016
Published on: 07 November 2016
(9 out of 10)

Luke

London
Chunga and the rest of the team were excellent, really supported us along the way helping us to a successful summit!
Confirmed traveller: 20 August 2016
Published on: 31 August 2016
(9 out of 10)

Timothy

Bournemouth
A fantastic trip, with a good group ranging in age from 17 to 60+. Well organised, and the success rate showed the benefit of opting for this slightly longer tour, and giving greater time for acclimatization. The Tour leader "Jimmy" was wonderful, always smiling and singing, endless encouragement but was also able to be serious when the time warranted this - an inspiring character. He was ably backed up by a great group of guides and "soldiers".

What would I benefit from knowing if I was going on this trip - I would would take a large hand sanitizer gel for each person. Crocs worked well in the camp, and are light to carry. Wet wipes are a requirement.

A great trip - I would recommend to anyone reasonably fit with a good sense of adventure.

Tim
Confirmed traveller: 14 August 2016
Published on: 04 October 2016
(9 out of 10)

Iain

Shetland
The team-leader, guides and porters (including cooks & sewage engineer) provided excellent service. But the equipment supplied by AsHanteTours left a little to be desired, in that the zips for several sleeping tents and the men's toilet frequently jammed and would leave gaps. The food was adequate/good, but whether it was cook's understanding of European cuisine, or the food supplied by AsHanteTours, meant that we were presented with some unusual food combinations, at times.
Confirmed traveller: 14 August 2016
Published on: 29 August 2016
(10 out of 10)

Nadia

Surrey
It was a amazing journey I took, unfortunately I had acute altitude sickness on the last day of the summit, however our guide Jimmy and his team was very professional. Excellent, excellent 1st job. 😊
Confirmed traveller: 14 August 2016
Published on: 25 August 2016