It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
549 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Brochures

Our latest  brochures are available now, with over 600 adventures for you to choose from.

Gift Vouchers

Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with over 600 tours & experiences to choose from. The perfect gift idea for any occasion.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 1,843

Kilimanjaro - Lemosho Trek KC

Visiting: Tanzania
Tour Duration 10 Days
  • Challenge on the horizon
  • Tour Leader of the Year 2012, Julius White (left)
  • Reaching the summit
  • The summit!
  • Way above the clouds
  • Tour Style: Classic
  • Tour Type: Small Groups
  • Tour Comfort: Basic
  • Trek Grade: Challenging to Tough
 

Book now!

11 reviews for this tour

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Kilimanjaro - Lemosho Trek tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
10 Maria, 17/03/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Everyday a highlight, a challenge achieved reaching each camp, peak in altitude until the top of the highest free-standing mountain in the world at 5895m. A highlight was the transition between all the different types of vegetation, microclimates and landscapes, going from the lowlands of subtropical Moshi, to the rainforest, then moorland and heather where trees start to disappear for less vegetation and fewer plants. After the semi-desert, comes the arid landscape of the summit, with intense sunlight, cold some snow and ice. With ten hours walk through the night from the last camp on summit day, the most memorable moment was approaching Uhuru peak, walking still very slowly, tired, and seeing the green post from far. Flashing back memories of all the efforts, realising that we all made it to the very top of Africa and it was all so worth it. Another memorable moment was the singing and dancing of the crew, the whole group and others joining in and the tour leader sharing the upbeat spirit of their culture.

Read more
 
10 Michelle Laverick, 06/03/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

I really couldn't fault any part of the trek. The group were fantastic, the weather was great the support crew were out of this world and I have to say I have never sung so many songs whilst trekking before. Oh and getting to the roof of Africa was the icing on the cake. Summit day was tough but incredible.

Read more
 
9 , 27/11/13

Name

Alan Maskiell

Tour Name

Kilimanjaro - Lemosho Trek

Tour Code

KC

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

I guess you would have to say making the summit on my 40th birthday but I would also have to include the night after the summit at Millennium Camp when I was presented with a birthday cake and sing-along by all the guides and porters. How the cake made it up to the camp still amazes me... Thank you

Tour Leader Name

Whitey

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Whitey and the assistant guide Wingod where great.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Don't underestimate how challenging it will be but also don't let this put you off; it is a fantastic experience.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Through the expertise of Whitey our guide, the route we took and shear determination we all made it to the summit....

 
10 , 04/10/13

Name

Jan

Tour Code

KC

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The most memorable moment has to be standing at the top of Kilimanjaro and looking out over the top of Africa. A close second was the hug with someone a week early had been a total stranger and now through the tour group we shared tiers together in disbelief that we had actually managed it.

Tour Leader Name

Whitey

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

The group of eight mixed aged from 16 to 63 worked well together and we all soon became friends looking out and helping each other but the key was our tour leader "whitey" always happy, always encouraging and totally professional.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

"It is tough, it is an adventure not a holiday. Walking poles are a MUST and buy the very best sleeping bag as it extremely cold at nights and with out a good nights sleep the trekking each day will be hard. Read up on altitude sickness as you will get it in some form and take the recommended drugs anything to make the trip easier and more memorable for all the good reasons."

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Its no so much physical fitness you need but the ability to live for a week in a small tent on something that resembles the moon. With Moon dust getting into everything, well beyond what wet wipes can deal with as they just move the dirt around and the small bowl with a mug of hot water the only way you have to keep clean. On most holidays you sit and say "this is the life" on this trip its more like "Can we make it through this ordeal" but when its over what a high!

 
8 Tony Jackson, 07/03/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Reaching the summit of Uhuru Peak, as well as the inspirational signing and dancing of the support team!

Read more
 
10 Steve Moss, 29/10/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

There were many highlights, but the best pint was seeing my friend, Andy, who I thought hadn't made the summit, appear, in pain, but grinning, at Uhuru Peak.

Read more
 
10 David Jones, 23/08/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

I think it was seeing Kibo for the first time on the way to Moir Huts. It was such a spectacular - if daunting - sight. Every day was a highlight though as the route is so varied in terms of landscape. And arriving at each camp site where our wonderful porters had set everything up for us.     

Read more
 
10 Christopher Henry Brown, 17/07/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Reaching the summmit was a fantastic feeling and one of the most memorable experiences of my life, it was worth every bit of effort to get there. The entire trek, from base to summit and back to base, was wonderful with some awesome scenery.

Read more
 
0 Emma Davis, 20/02/12
This trips counts as both the most challenging and the most fun of my life. Reaching the summit brought tears to my eyes. The sense of achievement is so real.    While we were in the hotel at the beginning of the climb, we had the best advice...don't think about the climb as a whole, just concentrate on each day as it comes and eventually you'll get there.     Make sure you bring wet wipes and spare toilet tissue. Also, whatever the other websites say, don't bring Mars bars or any chocolate with caramel. There's nothing more frustrating than being desperate for a sugar fix and trying to gnaw your way through something with the consistency of a brick.
 
0 SL, 27/10/11
Getting to the top!!  Great company of the other members of the group.  Get fit for this trip and ensure your training involves steep ascents/gradients.  It's worth being fit you will make the top without too much pain! (KC -3rd August 2011)
 
0 Dr Arvinder Lander, 27/10/11
Reaching the summit of Kilimanjaro - The porters - A shower and a real bed at the end! (KC -3rd August 2011)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  3. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  4. Tour name (i.e. Inca Trail Trek)
  5. Tour Code (i.e. PQ)
    Invalid Input
  6. What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  7. Tour leader name
  8. How Was Your Explore Tour Leader?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  10. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  11. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  12.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA