It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
625 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews


Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.


Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Kingdom Of The Ashanti GN

Visiting: Ghana
Trip Duration 15 Days

Reviews for Kingdom Of The Ashanti

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Kingdom Of The Ashanti trip available at present.

Please select a date:


Kingdom Of The Ashanti reviews verified by reevooReevoo

10 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Kingdom Of The AshantiScores 8.5 out of 10 based on 10 reviews
(9 out of 10)


Full on travelling!, particularly in high traffic areas of Kumasi. Fascinating country. Armstrong was a very professional guide who enabled us to meet with a variety of people and to understand how they lived. All but one of the group got bad stomachs, and food was certainly not a highlight of the trip! Nevertheless a great experience with exceptionally friendly people who made us feel very welcome. Highlights? - the football game we watched on TV in WA, Mole National Park, the Lobi people and their way of life, and the fishing communities we visited on the coast. We felt exceptionally safe everywhere, noting that we saw no-one smoking, almost no-one drinking.
Confirmed traveller: 02 September 2017
Published on: 09 September 2017
(8 out of 10)


A very good and varied tour. My highlights were having an audience with an Ashanti king, and a visit to a former slave castle - for vastly different reasons.
Confirmed traveller: 19 March 2017
Published on: 24 March 2017
(9 out of 10)


Lots of interaction with local groups and village chiefs. Visited many of the local villages and experienced the difference between the customs of the various local ethnic groups. Some fairly long, arduous driving days.
Confirmed traveller: 19 March 2017
Published on: 23 March 2017
(9 out of 10)


People, wildlife, scenery. Lots of variety, meals were acceptable not much choice but this is all they have so fine
Confirmed traveller: 18 March 2017
Published on: 22 March 2017
(9 out of 10)


Having said that I would recommend this trip, it would come with certain reservations. I would have to mention the long road journeys and the poor quality accommodation, and be sure I gave as much of my experiences to whomever it were.
Confirmed traveller: 04 December 2016
Published on: 15 December 2016
(7 out of 10)


My wife and I really enjoyed the trip.
I actually think I've learnt alot from it both of the Ghanaian culture and the history.

We have no doubt the local crew and the local people were all vibrant and friendly.

we were made to feel very welcome. There is absence of any numbers of other tourists in the country. The vast number of Europeans we saw were either teachers, Aid workers or driving around in those white UN type Landcruiser vehicles. Made to feel like a real exploration and an adventure.

We really enjoyed our time in the north at Wa and Bolga areas. This is truly rural and you get to see some real culture as you are invited into the villages of adobe houses. Had a fun time at Bul where the Lobi family gave a true show with drums and dancing.

If you feel charitable and wish to give items such as childrens clothes, bras, soap, razors or similar save it for the north where the residents may appreciate it more. Although they do have access to shops if they travel of course.

Monkey feeding at Boabeng Fiema was never to be forgotten. Outstanding experience and would have liked to stay longer. But to get the monkeys to attend you feed them and if you stayed too long the monkeys would get so fat they'd fall out the trees.

Pleased to say I was enlightened further about the history of the slave trade. I had a pre-conceived idea about european involvement but considering we followed the slave route all way from Burkina Faso border down to Elmina Castle I realise it was much farther reaching. It was fascinating and sad to hear about the different stages and actually see the landmarks and stations along the route.

Our guide "Yao" (born on a thursday, is what it means) was a mine of information. He seems to know something about everything in Ghana and we learnt so much from him. Even how to do the clicking finger hand shake which is the de rigeur amongst the locals.

Accomodation is not perfect. It is some of the best in the area and that may not be what you want? Keep an open mind and be ready for simplicity or facilities in an out of order condition. This is Africa, so patience, empathy and a sense of humour should be packed with you every day.
Confirmed traveller: 30 July 2016
Published on: 06 September 2016
(9 out of 10)


An interesting and enjoyable trip with many highlights...............

The national parks - coming face to face with an elephant at the beginning of the Mole foot safari, conquering the canopy walkway at Kakum ,( which I had had no intention of doing - go up to the start it doesn't look that scary and there is an option of a short cut, I changed my mind and paid at the end) and feeding the mona monkeys at Boabeng-Fiema monkey sanctuary.

The villages in the north - it felt a privilege to be invited into the villages by the chiefs and learn about their lives and customs, We shook hands with the chief and sampled the local hooch .

We attended a funeral and a royal festival where we met the King of Ashanti. Both ceremonies were accompanied by traditional music and singing.

We learnt about the slave trade . Starting in the north we were shown how villagers built their houses to keep the raiders out and visited the Pikworo Slave Camp. We followed their route to the coast , passing through Assin Manso where the slaves had their last bath and finishing at St George's castle Elmina from where the slaves were transported. All very interesting and thought provoking.

Our guide Yao was very good. He was very efficient and patient. He was knowledgeable and always willing to answer questions, sharing the answers with the rest of the group. He had a great sense of humour.

There are some early starts and long driving days, sometimes on poor bumpy roads. There was always something to catch the eye.
Our driver Rafiou did an excellent job.

We had a few very short power cuts so do take a torch and know where it is!
There was wifi in most of the hotels ,some signals better than others . My iphone did not connect in the north but androids did.

Overall a great trip
Confirmed traveller: 10 April 2016
Published on: 09 May 2016
(9 out of 10)


Luzern, Switzerland
The first 3 days were a little poor. After, every day was full of interesting encounters.
I liked the colourful markets, the nice people, especially in the north, and the experience "Africa". Do not compare with Europe, it is different, its Africa.
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2016
Published on: 30 April 2016
(8 out of 10)


Roswell Georgia
The tour leader sat in the front with the driver and would sporadically start explaining with his base voice which was drowned by the car noises, he would pick the traveller sitting directly behind him and concentrate on her all through the trip. We were only 4 travelers, he would go into detail what we shall be doing the next 2 days, and when I would not show he would say you were sleeping at that time compared to Noah who lead the trip into Burkina Faso, he would not compare. He was arrogant etc. I would rather not elaborate. The highlight of the trip was the King's Festival ,the king graciously welcomed to meet us and have photo op.
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2016
Published on: 16 April 2016

We really appreciate your feedback regarding your trip to Ghana – we’re sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your Explore Leader. We usually receive great feedback about Yao and we have received positive comments from the rest of your group, so it’s a shame you did not form the same impression - we will address your concerns with him for future trips. We’re glad to hear that there were some highlights for you and you did enjoy your overall experience.

(8 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Remote villages of the north of Ghana, funeral celebrations, audience with an Ashanti Chief, foor safari in Mole NP.Although Yao started off a little serious and stern, he relaxed and warmed to the group after a few days. He was very informative and had a great sense of humour, as did our driver Kwame.
Confirmed traveller: 17 February 2014
Published on: 07 November 2015