It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
590 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Customer Feedback

Read reviews


Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.


Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Kingdom Of The Ashanti GN

Visiting: Ghana
Trip Duration 16 Days

Reviews for Kingdom Of The Ashanti

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Kingdom Of The Ashanti trip available at present.

Please select a date:


Kingdom Of The Ashanti reviews verified by Reevoo

4 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Kingdom Of The AshantiScores 8.5 out of 10 based on 4 reviews
(9 out of 10)


An interesting and enjoyable trip with many highlights...............

The national parks - coming face to face with an elephant at the beginning of the Mole foot safari, conquering the canopy walkway at Kakum ,( which I had had no intention of doing - go up to the start it doesn't look that scary and there is an option of a short cut, I changed my mind and paid at the end) and feeding the mona monkeys at Boabeng-Fiema monkey sanctuary.

The villages in the north - it felt a privilege to be invited into the villages by the chiefs and learn about their lives and customs, We shook hands with the chief and sampled the local hooch .

We attended a funeral and a royal festival where we met the King of Ashanti. Both ceremonies were accompanied by traditional music and singing.

We learnt about the slave trade . Starting in the north we were shown how villagers built their houses to keep the raiders out and visited the Pikworo Slave Camp. We followed their route to the coast , passing through Assin Manso where the slaves had their last bath and finishing at St George's castle Elmina from where the slaves were transported. All very interesting and thought provoking.

Our guide Yao was very good. He was very efficient and patient. He was knowledgeable and always willing to answer questions, sharing the answers with the rest of the group. He had a great sense of humour.

There are some early starts and long driving days, sometimes on poor bumpy roads. There was always something to catch the eye.
Our driver Rafiou did an excellent job.

We had a few very short power cuts so do take a torch and know where it is!
There was wifi in most of the hotels ,some signals better than others . My iphone did not connect in the north but androids did.

Overall a great trip
Confirmed traveller: 10 April 2016
Published on: 09 May 2016
(8 out of 10)


Roswell Georgia
The tour leader sat in the front with the driver and would sporadically start explaining with his base voice which was drowned by the car noises, he would pick the traveller sitting directly behind him and concentrate on her all through the trip. We were only 4 travelers, he would go into detail what we shall be doing the next 2 days, and when I would not show he would say you were sleeping at that time compared to Noah who lead the trip into Burkina Faso, he would not compare. He was arrogant etc. I would rather not elaborate. The highlight of the trip was the King's Festival ,the king graciously welcomed to meet us and have photo op.
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2016
Published on: 16 April 2016

We really appreciate your feedback regarding your trip to Ghana – we’re sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your Explore Leader. We usually receive great feedback about Yao and we have received positive comments from the rest of your group, so it’s a shame you did not form the same impression - we will address your concerns with him for future trips. We’re glad to hear that there were some highlights for you and you did enjoy your overall experience.

(9 out of 10)


Luzern, Switzerland
The first 3 days were a little poor. After, every day was full of interesting encounters.
I liked the colourful markets, the nice people, especially in the north, and the experience "Africa". Do not compare with Europe, it is different, its Africa.
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2016
Published on: 30 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Remote villages of the north of Ghana, funeral celebrations, audience with an Ashanti Chief, foor safari in Mole NP.Although Yao started off a little serious and stern, he relaxed and warmed to the group after a few days. He was very informative and had a great sense of humour, as did our driver Kwame.
Confirmed traveller: 17 February 2014
Published on: 07 November 2015