It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
608 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Land of the Golden Fleece GF

Trip Duration 16 Days
 

Reviews for Land of the Golden Fleece

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Land of the Golden Fleece trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Land of the Golden Fleece reviews verified by reevooReevoo

22 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Land of the Golden FleeceScores 7.4 out of 10 based on 22 reviews
(4 out of 10)

Claudia

Dallas
The distances travelled are very long. The bus provided in Armenia was appropriate but the one in Georgia was very unconfortable and the air conditioning was not good enough. This situation made the trip unbearable due to the high temperature. The itinerary is not good at the end of the trip for those not going to Azerbaijan. There are long distances to travel on the last day for places that are not worth visiting. Such places are plai padding to get closer to the country mentioned and does not make sense.
Confirmed traveller: 06 August 2017
Published on: 10 August 2017

Thank you for your feedback Claudia, I’m sorry to hear that you were disappointed with some aspects of the trip. We do note that this particular itinerary is full on, which means very early starts and long busy days – you will also see from the map that there is a lot of distance to cover in 16 days. However, in Georgia, the routes we use are limited by the local infrastructure as there is only one main road – so this can mean using the same route more than once in order to visit certain sites. From the feedback we’ve received, the sites we visit are usually well received, so I’m sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

(10 out of 10)

Hugh

Atlanta
Great leaders/guides that were well versed in the history of their respective countries. They fed us manageable portions of the rather complicated history of both areas.
The tour covered as much of the area that time allowed. We were left with the marvelous feeling that there was more to discover if we decided to return. Not a bad thing!
The accommodation ranged from small hotels to lodging in the homes of locals. The food was particularly good and plentiful in the local homes. No one left the table hungry.
The drivers of our transportation were great. Navigating some of the streets/areas took a master to pull off. The trip is worth it for that convenience alone.
This was our fourth trip with Explore, with another pending in September. We usually travel alone, but enjoy the ability to see more with a lot less hassle by joining the small groups that Explore typically has. Great group of people on this tour.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 04 June 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Inese

Coventry
Alex, the tour leader in Georgia is fantastic. She loves explaining Georgian history and is an excellent storyteller. She is also supremely organised and capable. One of the very best!
Armenia and Georgia are very beautiful.
Confirmed traveller: 21 May 2017
Published on: 03 July 2017
(8 out of 10)

Victor

Southampton
Excellent tour of 2 interesting countries with varied itinerary and 2 informed guides who are passionate about their home land we saw lots of churches and monasteries which were interesting
Overall a nice trip well worth undertaking
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 21 May 2017
Published on: 09 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

B

Spring, texas
While the tour was rather fast paced, it provided me with an education and experience that travel shows or websites could never provide. The local tour leaders were the best in their field and their enthusiasm and knowledge of their perspective countries really enhanced this journey ten fold. I now have a much better understanding of this part of the world and would gladly book another trip with Explore in the future.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 21 May 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Patricia

Great Sutton
An excellent trip. Lot's of churches - but you know that before you go from the trip notes before you go. No early morning starts compared to some trips I've been on. Mostly great hotels. Food is quite adequate , although it can become a bit boring - but lot's of salads. Problem I found was that a lot of the meals consisted of lots of dishes - but you didn't know how many more would appear so difficult to pace yourself!! Excellent tour guide.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 09 October 2016
Published on: 16 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Stephen

Nottingham
This was a great trip - we had clear views of Mt Ararat everyday we were in Yerevan which was a brilliant start and of course a great backdrop to all our photo's. The group gelled immediately which always helps to make the trip a lot more fun. Our tour leaders were both very knowledgeable and enthusiastic about their respective countries and led the tour in a very capable way balanced with a good sense of humor. A great trip with good food and many varied landscapes and of course the many churches and ancient sites - not to forget the local wines which just had to be sampled and enjoyed.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 02 October 2016
Published on: 10 October 2016
(6 out of 10)

Gary

Folkestone
Enjoyed the holiday but felt it could have been more varied and unable to appreciate scenery fully because of limitations of the transport
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 14 August 2016
Published on: 29 August 2016
(8 out of 10)

Paul

London
It is really hard to identify an actual highlight as I enjoyed it from start to finish. A lot of driving in Georgia and I think the itinery could be linked a little better. The tour leaders were two of the best I have ever had. Armena in Armenia was excellent and Alex in Georgia was outstanding. Alex had to deal with two particularly rude customers who she handled with absolute professionalism.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 22 May 2016
Published on: 26 May 2016
(9 out of 10)

Sally

Chesterfield
Amazing landscapes - varied and breathtaking; great to learn more about two fascinating countries (past and present). Pack for all weathers and be prepared for long journeys - but this is a positive not a negative! Make sure you have decent walking shoes and be ready to learn...
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 11 October 2015
Published on: 23 October 2015