It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
646 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Land of the Golden Fleece GF

Trip Duration 16 Days
 

Reviews for Land of the Golden Fleece

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Land of the Golden Fleece trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Land of the Golden Fleece reviews verified by reevooReevoo

16 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Land of the Golden FleeceScores 7.2 out of 10 based on 16 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Patricia

Great Sutton
An excellent trip. Lot's of churches - but you know that before you go from the trip notes before you go. No early morning starts compared to some trips I've been on. Mostly great hotels. Food is quite adequate , although it can become a bit boring - but lot's of salads. Problem I found was that a lot of the meals consisted of lots of dishes - but you didn't know how many more would appear so difficult to pace yourself!! Excellent tour guide.
Confirmed traveller: 09 October 2016
Published on: 16 November 2016
(10 out of 10)

Stephen

Nottingham
This was a great trip - we had clear views of Mt Ararat everyday we were in Yerevan which was a brilliant start and of course a great backdrop to all our photo's. The group gelled immediately which always helps to make the trip a lot more fun. Our tour leaders were both very knowledgeable and enthusiastic about their respective countries and led the tour in a very capable way balanced with a good sense of humor. A great trip with good food and many varied landscapes and of course the many churches and ancient sites - not to forget the local wines which just had to be sampled and enjoyed.
Confirmed traveller: 02 October 2016
Published on: 10 October 2016
(6 out of 10)

Gary

Folkestone
Enjoyed the holiday but felt it could have been more varied and unable to appreciate scenery fully because of limitations of the transport
Confirmed traveller: 14 August 2016
Published on: 29 August 2016
(8 out of 10)

Paul

London
It is really hard to identify an actual highlight as I enjoyed it from start to finish. A lot of driving in Georgia and I think the itinery could be linked a little better. The tour leaders were two of the best I have ever had. Armena in Armenia was excellent and Alex in Georgia was outstanding. Alex had to deal with two particularly rude customers who she handled with absolute professionalism.
Confirmed traveller: 22 May 2016
Published on: 26 May 2016
(9 out of 10)

Sally

Chesterfield
Amazing landscapes - varied and breathtaking; great to learn more about two fascinating countries (past and present). Pack for all weathers and be prepared for long journeys - but this is a positive not a negative! Make sure you have decent walking shoes and be ready to learn...
Confirmed traveller: 11 October 2015
Published on: 23 October 2015
(4 out of 10)

Nick

Oxford
Both Armenia and Georgia are fascinating countries well worth visiting. The Explore tour in Armenia was well designed and led by a guide who was passionate about her subject.

The tour in Georgia was not well designed. We criss-crossed the country spending far too much time in the bus and too little actually visiting sites.
Confirmed traveller: 11 October 2015
Published on: 21 October 2015

We’re sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the section of the itinerary in Georgia. Your feedback has been taken into consideration and the itinerary is currently being reviewed by our product manager.

(8 out of 10)

Lorraine

Abingdon
The highlight of the trip for us was the opportunity to visit two countries that were once under Soviet occupation and are, in their different ways, emerging into the 21st Century. We thoroughly enjoyed both Tbilisi and Yerevan - two cities that are totally different in atmosphere and topography, both with excellent museums and cafe culture. The Treasury in the very understated Museum of Art in Tbilisi was fascinating (a guide is essential as there aren't any captions at all, let alone English captions) and the 'dancing fountains' in Yerevan's main square were captivating (every evening through the summer except Tuesdays). The locations of all the churches and monasteries were wonderful. An emphasis on some of the older, perhaps less restored, sites would have been of more interest to us, and a couple of the days were rather rushed. The day trip to Batumi should be part of the itinerary, rather than an optional extra, as it was well worth the extra time in the bus. Overall, an excellent trip.
Confirmed traveller: 27 September 2015
Published on: 21 October 2015
(8 out of 10)

Lesley

Manchester
Yerevan, scenery, Tbilisi, Caucasian mountains, stalins museum but I think the trip could be condensed into about 11-12 days, I think a little was spread over a lot, but other than that, I enjoyed it
Confirmed traveller: 26 July 2015
Published on: 03 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

This is an OK sort of tour but would not make my top twenty list. With hindsight I would not book this tour in the summer. The heat is brutal and the haze so great the mountains are mostly obscured especially in Armenia. Also, bring a good book as the hotels are mostly located in out of the way places.
Confirmed traveller: 03 December 2014
Published on: 07 November 2015