It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
619 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Have you considered?

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Spirit Of Laos LA

Visiting: Laos , Thailand
Trip Duration 16 Days
 

Reviews for Spirit Of Laos

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Spirit Of Laos trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Spirit Of Laos reviews verified by reevooReevoo

28 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Spirit Of LaosScores 8.0 out of 10 based on 28 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Colleen

Honolulu
Good, in-depth introduction to the country of Laos. Luang Prabang, Nong Khiaw and Phonsavan were the highlights. The food was an unexpected pleasant surprise. Bars and restaurants and shopping in Luang Prabang were a highlight. The eerie Plain of Jars did not disappoint and the chill time in Nong Khiaw along the Nam Ou river was wonderful . We could easily have spent a week just exploring more of the northern small villages along the river, such as Muang Gnoi and others, instead of two days.

That said, I would suggest skipping the Wat Tomo in the south, disappointing to say the least. And the hike to the village in the south (after crossing the burning hot sand) was uneventful, especially when we had to cross an even longer portion of burning hot sand to get back to the boat.

The serendipitous encounter with the locals on women's day at the Tad Lo waterfalls was one of the most memorable events. The owner brought us all free bottles of beer, plates of food and welcomed us to join their celebration of women with a dj and boisterous music. Our group was pulled in to dance with the local women. It was all good fun!

All in all, a great holiday!
2 of 3 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 11 March 2017
Published on: 16 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Richard & Jan

Maresfield
This was an highly enjoyable tour which included all the major sights and attractions of Laos. The various temples were wonderful and happily we were not over templed. The drives from town to town and the trips in to the countryside were excellent with Kuang Si waterfall a highlight. The visits to the hill tribes were fascinating without being intrusive. This was a well put together tour with just the right amount of group activity and free time.

The only reservations we would have was with the accommodation. In most of the hotels there was no bar or lounge in which one could relax, the only place to do this was our bedroom and many of the bedrooms had no chair and the rooms were small. The exceptions were the Sinouk Coffee Resort, the Villa Muang Khong and the Royal Princess Larn Luang Hotel . The hotel in Luang Prabang, the Villa Kieng Kham Hotel, was one which we feel you should not use again. The rooms were so small that there was nowhere to put a case and the shower room was awash after each shower. The staff were not particularly helpful. In general this hotel felt more suited to backpackers than an Explore
group.

Finally we cannot praise our tour leader, Soun, highly enough. We could interact easily with him and he was extremely informative regarding his country. His organisation was excellent and transporting us from A to B worked without a hitch. His friendly communication with the Lao people enabled him to answer our questions to them without seeming to interfere in their lives and he added some extras (at no extra cost) to the tour as he thought that they were things that were not in the trip that we should see. His sense of humour was always in evidence and he readily joined in with the teasing of the group. A tour leader can make or break a tour and Soun certainly made ours.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 12 February 2017
Published on: 14 February 2017
(8 out of 10)

Martin

Cambridge
It's a busy trip covering many aspects of Laos. The people are very friendly and usually allow tourists to watch and take photographs happily. Fortunately there is only one long drive since some roads are in poor condition, especially in the north of Laos. The standard of the hotels varies a lot so don't have high expectations.

The highlights are Luang Prabang (even though it's very touristic) and the 4,000 islands day which requires some impressive organisation. Some of the most interesting moments occurred on the road and these depend on luck and on the tour leader to make the most of the opportunity.

Tips:
1. There are several free evenings and it is worth having a guide to restaurants at least in Luang Prabang (in most other places there is little or no realistic choice).
2. Take warm clothes for the evenings on the Bolaven Plateau as it is surprisingly cool after the heat of the low lands.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 11 February 2017
Published on: 02 May 2017
(9 out of 10)

Kim

london
I loved the trip. Hotel in Luang Prabang wasn't very good but apart from that accommodation was fine.
the tour leader - Soun made the trip really enjoyable and interesting.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 11 February 2017
Published on: 14 February 2017
(8 out of 10)

Sheila

Surrey
A well paced tour with a variety of activities and sites to see. The walks were a highlight as was the time spent in Luang Prabang. The free time was mostly appreciated but as the tour progressed it was added to ( I felt for the benefit of the tour leader not the group). That, added to the changes of hotels which found us a distance from the towns, meant it was not easy to get to restaurants in the evening.
Visits to schools and the interior of villager's houses were intrusive and I avoided them if I felt I would not insult the tour leader, a delicate balance.
The food was great, particularly at the lunch stops which Soun often pre-ordered to save time. Places where we had group meals also served good Laos food.
Not having the last meal in Bangkok was disappointing.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 01 February 2017
Published on: 08 February 2017
(8 out of 10)

John

Amesbury
This was a great trip to an often overlooked country. The tour takes in most of the main areas of interest of the country and gives one ample opportunity to learn about Lao culture and its troubled recent history.

Our guide (Sous) didn't overburden us with long lectures about education, the economy etc but when asked fielded any information we wanted on these sort of topics. His own life story gave a useful insight into the hardships suffered by the Lao people.

There were no major highlights for me. There was stunning scenery, great waterfalls interesting markets and local villages but if pushed my high spot would been our good sightings of the river dolphins - not achieved by all groups.

My only tip is to ensure that you bring enough US$ with you to cover the visa and tips kitty. ATMs are everywhere so if you are concerned about carrying lots of cash you don't have to but be aware that some don't accept VISA cards and you will be charged a small transaction fee each time you use one
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 29 January 2017
Published on: 15 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

Paul

North Yorkshire
Wonderful country to visit, with friendly people and fabulous food. A really varied set of places visited. Trip organization was excellent by the guide. Sometimes things in the hotels didn't work but that was to be expected!

Surprises: excellent coffee in quite a few places, some stunningly good food in better places in Luang Prabang, just how much impact the US bombing of the country still has after all this time.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 28 January 2017
Published on: 01 February 2017
(8 out of 10)

Roger

wolverhampton
Nicely judged itinerary Only issue some of timings of travel optimistic and occasional extras put in which were perhaps not needed Weakest part was perhaps coffee plantation which altho lovely setting had uneven accommodation
1 of 3 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 03 January 2017
Published on: 04 January 2017
(7 out of 10)

Yoke

London
This trip covered an extensive area from the far north to the southern reaches of the country and provided a varied view and experience of the country.

Highlights were the colonial buildings of Luang Prabang, the longboat and kayaking trip from Nong Khiaw and the visit to Wat Phou.

Ensure that you have appropriate footwear for wading through streams and paddling a kayak.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 31 December 2016
Published on: 10 January 2017
(8 out of 10)

Aileen

London
Highlights were Luang Prabang Old Town, Kuang Si Waterfall, the hike to the waterfall at Muang Ngoi then kayaking on the Nam Ou river, wandering around Wat Phou. I would have made the River Dolphin watching an "optional" rather than inclusive and it could have been better explained that there are only 6 left and that sightings in the dry season are rare. I would also change the hotel in Luang Prabang as the Ban Lao was far below the standard of the others on the tour. Sinouk Garden Coffee Resort needs to improve their "tour" of the coffee plantation. The "guide" knew very little about the processes involved and just pointed us towards two very faded posters for information. It would have been helpful to have a sampling of the various coffees available which would also have boosted sales of the beans afterwards. The checkin at the hotel in Bangkok on the last day of the trip was farcical and wasted too much time - it was as if 14 people had just wandered off the street looking for a room rather than having been booked months in advance. This was probably due to the fact that it was handled by the Thai agent rather than Sounthone our tour leader.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 31 December 2016
Published on: 01 January 2017