It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
619 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Levada Trails Of Madeira TM

Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Levada Trails Of Madeira

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Levada Trails Of Madeira trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Levada Trails Of Madeira reviews verified by reevooReevoo

101 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Levada Trails Of MadeiraScores 8.9 out of 10 based on 101 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Lynda

Essex
Firstly, praise to the tour leader Felipe, he was attentive, informative on all aspects of the island, flora and fauna. I cannot praise this tour leader enough.
The island was so beautiful, and the walks were perfect.

I thoroughly enjoyed this trip!
Confirmed traveller: 17 July 2017
Published on: 19 July 2017
(10 out of 10)

Rosie

Leicester
As a first time solo traveller I found the tour well organised and the guide Felipe was great, nothing was too much trouble for him. Fantastic experience all round and I am looking to book another tour later in the year
Confirmed traveller: 15 July 2017
Published on: 19 July 2017
(8 out of 10)

Winfried

Bietigheim
Very nice trip to escape from your "normal" life for a few days,
highlights surely the walks on the Sao Loorenco Peninsula and from Pico Arieiro to Pico Ruivo.
Confirmed traveller: 27 May 2017
Published on: 09 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Colin

Bookham
We enjoyed all the walks and moving about to experience different areas of the island. Our tour guide Filippe was excellent with a good knowledge of the plants, places and island. A couple of times we had the option of a short further walk with Filippe for a better view/more height etc and although I didn't do this, my husband did and a convenient shady place was available for us to wait at until the others returned. Filippe was very patient, good humoured and easy to chat with, looking after us all very well. It was unexpected but good to have Filippe arrange a multitude of things including our evening eateries, transport from airport (after a delay), transport back to airport, all the transport to walks and during our trip, and some visits to local bars, viewpoints, trips to
shops to buy lunch to take with us for the walks.
The hotels were fine but maybe the one in Funchal we stayed in could get a bit hot in summer - there was a fan but I don't think any air conditioning and it seemed hotter in the town. However it was in a good location for exploring the town, seafront and sights such as the tropical garden, so we appreciated that aspect. This hotel (with Explore and Filippe's help no doubt) were good to store our bags and allow us to use the pool on our last day after checkout, enabling us to explore some more and relax before leaving the Island.
Our two minibus drivers were punctual, always ready to help with bags and also looked after us well. It was reassuring to know they were available during our stay should we need picking up or transporting to the next hotel in the event of illness etc.
Our fellow group travellers were amenable and we enjoyed walking and socialising with them.
Thank you to Filippe and the Explore team,
Confirmed traveller: 27 May 2017
Published on: 13 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Liz

Liverpool
Small friendly relaxed island with plenty of unexpected added extras from Filipe. Time to relax each day after the walk before dinner. Recommended
Confirmed traveller: 27 May 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(7 out of 10)

Maria

mossend bellshill
I liked madera our tour gide was great, I did not like the hotel, did not like having to keep changing hotels, the people were very nice, would have liked to have evening meals in the hotel instead of having to go to a resturant, finding a toilet was a nightmare and very rare and when there was one it was appalling. I would not go again.
Confirmed traveller: 27 May 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017

Hi Maria, thank you for your feedback I am sorry to hear this trip wasn’t to your liking. On reviewing your itinerary, this is a point-to-point, rather than a centre based, trip. As such, as you progress round the island you move on in your accommodation. On the whole, dining in the hotel restaurants tend not to offer the best value for money or a great reflection of the local cuisine. Eating out in the evening with the local night life is normally considered a bit of a highlight! When walking out on the trails if you need to answer the call of nature outside of stopping for coffees or lunch, it’s public restrooms – which can be a bit variable in their cleanliness.

(8 out of 10)

Claire

Great varied itinerary, with a dramatic arid coastal walk followed by lush levada trails then a superb day in the volcanic mountains. However Weds walk was relatively boring, feeling suburban & much less scenic except for the last steep decline to the hotel so a few people felt that a mountain based walk would have been more interesting. A word of caution, not recommended for any with a fear of heights or vertigo as there was a lot of exposure. Excellent guide who was knowledgeable & happy to share his passion for Madeira.
Confirmed traveller: 27 May 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Dirkje

Leicester
This tour is fantastic and gives the opportunity to walk the different landscapes of Madeira; the barren rocks of the peninsula, the Lavadas and the high interior. The walking is fairly easy, but there are some tricky descents. A walking pole is very useful.

Filipe the tour leader was one of the best leaders I have met on any Explore trip. He was knowledgeable about the island, the flowers and birds. He made sure everybody was happy and suggested alternatives if someone couldn't do a walk or part of a walk.

I recommend the trip to anyone who is interested in walking, flowers, birds and beautiful scenery

Dineke
Confirmed traveller: 27 May 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Diane

Westmount,QC/Canada
It was my first trip with Explore and I do not regret it! Filipe our guide was just amazing! He was always helpful ans respectful. He was very organized and he was doing a briefing every night for the next day. We were very well informed thanks to him. The drivers were very good also. I felt safe and secureThe landscapes were incredible and everything exceeded my expectations.

Thank again Filipe for this amazing trip !

Diane
Confirmed traveller: 27 May 2017
Published on: 06 June 2017