It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
638 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Levada Trails Of Madeira TM

Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Levada Trails Of Madeira

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Levada Trails Of Madeira trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Levada Trails Of Madeira reviews verified by reevooReevoo

84 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Levada Trails Of MadeiraScores 8.9 out of 10 based on 84 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Simon

Aberdeen
Benny was a great tour leader. He is very enthusiastic and personable and knows the island very well. He tweaked the itinerary so we were in the best place at the best time and the levadas we travelled were beautiful and unfrequented. A great trip - highly recommended.
Confirmed traveller: 08 April 2017
Published on: 14 April 2017
(10 out of 10)

Ashley

Worcester UK
Although rated moderate in difficulty, I found the descents quite difficult, because they are so steep. I can walk for 5 hours in the UK with no problem in the Cotswold’s or Brecons but the descents in Madeira are much steeper. Don’t be put off by my comments, my age is the wrong side of 65, just make sure you prepare and take a walking pole, there’s usually a wire rail for the other hand.
Difficult to mark the hotels with just a figure they are all good for what they are, but they aren’t 5 star. Three of them on our trip had pools and at the Pensao Residencial Salgueiro we sat and watched the sun rise over the sea at breakfast, amazing site. (Don’t go if you like to lie in bed)
Our leader, Jenny, was wonderful, informative, and firm when necessary, arranged dinner and accompanied us. She must have been doing 12 hour days.
Confirmed traveller: 01 April 2017
Published on: 08 April 2017
(9 out of 10)

Richard

Cheltenham
An excellent tour made more so by an outstanding leader in Jenny Alves and good travelling companions. Jenny was a font of knowledge and was not flustered by any setbacks such as an extended road closure preventing our being able to do our first planned walk. A plan B was immediately implemented and we enjoyed an early view of a levada before walking along a cliff path. Despite being an endurance runner Jenny set a sensible pace for mere mortals whilst also giving interesting facts pre and during the walks. The 500 metre descent (in 1.6km) at the end of day four was a serious descent as was the balcony walk in total but compensated for by the glorious views. We ate well one highlight being a 9kg red snapper cooked in salt shared between the 15 of us. Tour thoroughly recommended.
Confirmed traveller: 01 April 2017
Published on: 08 April 2017
(9 out of 10)

Diane

Thailand
Excellent trip with very pretty scenery. Except for the last hiking day and one long descent on an earlier day, the trails were long but relatively flat as they followed the levadas. I was surprised at how much of the trails was paved with stones making it easy to walk.
Confirmed traveller: 01 April 2017
Published on: 03 April 2017
(9 out of 10)

Joanne

Philadelphia
really great overall picture of Madeira. The walks with more of a view were more enjoyable.
Confirmed traveller: 18 March 2017
Published on: 23 March 2017
(10 out of 10)

Susan

Oxford
This was an excellent tour in a beautiful island. Jenni was a fantastic guide, full of enthusiasm and knowledge. Her recommendations made a special trip even more special. The highlight for me was the balcony walk with its spectacular views.
Confirmed traveller: 04 March 2017
Published on: 07 March 2017
(9 out of 10)

Sandy

Gloucestershire
Despite inclement weather, our tour guide Bernadino was able to use his own extensive experience, when necessary, to pick alternative trails that were equally amazing, different and challenging, whilst somehow keeping us away from the touristy or busy trails.
The walks were brilliant. Some highlights that will never be repeated! Walking up in the mountains above the clouds, or along waterfalls cascading around us as we walked along a levada. Do take a backpack to carry clothing for all weathers as we did experience the four seasons on a single day. Do take a good bright torch for the tunnels. If you suffer from vertigo, then you may find the going a little tough. Some bits of the trails are on narrow ledges overlooking deep gorges. Often with a hand rail, but not Always! Our group was great...lots of team spirit and support for anyone who needed it. And Bernardino was encouraging, but did not interfere, and let you get on with it, whilst still keeping the group together.
Vegetarians... you shouldn't expect too much. The options were somewhat limited. But fish and meat eaters, prepare to rejoice as these options were superb.
A great trip.
Confirmed traveller: 18 February 2017
Published on: 25 February 2017
(10 out of 10)

Linda

Dublin, Ohio USA
Excellent trip! Bennie was one of the premier guides that we have ever had.
Confirmed traveller: 18 February 2017
Published on: 20 February 2017
(10 out of 10)

Julia

LOUGHBOROUGH
The trip was PERFECT!

I will never forget the stunning landscapes, endemic flora/fauna...

I loved every hotel and the places we stopped.

The Leader Bernardino Viera was just EXCELLENT! He made this trip WONDERFUL! He is an experienced tour leader, organised and very friendly with all of us. He guided us thorough beautiful sceneries and local places. If I come back to this beautiful island, I would ask him for advice again.
Confirmed traveller: 18 February 2017
Published on: 20 February 2017
(10 out of 10)

Christopher

Bristol
Excellent tour leader, good company in the group and excellent walking routes.
Confirmed traveller: 18 February 2017
Published on: 20 February 2017