It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
652 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews


Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.


Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Levada Trails Of Madeira TM

Trip Duration 8 Days

Reviews for Levada Trails Of Madeira

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Levada Trails Of Madeira trip available at present.

Please select a date:


Levada Trails Of Madeira reviews verified by reevooReevoo

68 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Levada Trails Of MadeiraScores 8.8 out of 10 based on 68 reviews
(7 out of 10)


Wells, Somerset
Overall it was quite a good trip, but what was very disappointing was that of the five walks, only two were on the Levadas. The reason I booked this trip was that the title said Levada Trails, but this is such a misrepresentation of the trip. It should be entitled 'Walks in Madeira' or 'Walks and Levada Trails.' If I had known it was mostly walking up and down some very steep hills, I would not have gone on this trip. It has put me off doing another walking holiday.
Confirmed traveller: 08 October 2016
Published on: 16 October 2016
(10 out of 10)


Highlights : Porto Monitz,Santana. The levadas .
Amazing group dinners .
Great group all got on well !
Benny : our tour leader .
Professional ,informative ,calm and a great sense of humour .
More walking days !
Confirmed traveller: 01 October 2016
Published on: 11 October 2016
(10 out of 10)



Wonderful balance between Hiking and relaxation. Inspired accommodation based around the island minimising a daily commute between hotel and walks that provided an delightful insight into regional climate and cultures.

Our tour guide Filipe possessed excellent local knowledge stimulating opportunities to discover local customs and community lifestyles incl. drink/food/places/things to do.
Confirmed traveller: 01 October 2016
Published on: 08 October 2016
(8 out of 10)


Halstead, Essex
Madeira is very special and this holiday allows you to see much of it. Staying in four different places was a definite bonus and the hotels just seemed to get better and better.
Ours was a small group of just seven and we got on very well but I was impressed by the way Felipe, our guide, worked to help the group gel. It was also very nice indeed that Paul, our driver, who spoke such excellent English, felt such a part of the group. All in all, it was a lot of fun.

I didn't feel very fit and would have preferred a bit more of a build up to the most challenging walk which was also our last one. Walk 1 was a great introduction to the geology of the island and just about the right level. Walk 2 is the classic laurel forest walk and also a good level. Walk 3 felt rather short but replaced a walk made unviable by the recent fires - and anyway - it rained that morning. Walk 4 was just a little too easy and didn't make the most of the island's dramatic scenery, flora or geology. Walk 5 is an absolute must but I still struggled a bit.

A hat or cap is a must, ideally with a chin strap.
Confirmed traveller: 01 October 2016
Published on: 04 October 2016
(10 out of 10)


Madeira is beautiful and the walks covered several different environments: from lush mini-rainforests to caves and mountains. Our tour lead, Bennie, was fabulous throughout - entertaining, informative and good company. He took us to some great local restaurants we would not have found ourselves, and the food was delicious: empetadas, scabbard fish, and tuna... to name a few of my favourites! The group was a great mix of characters and we had a lot of interesting conversations and fun. An opportunity to stay in one of the smaller towns along the coast would have been a nice opportunity to experience local hospitality, but all in all this was an excellent trip!
Confirmed traveller: 24 September 2016
Published on: 01 October 2016
(9 out of 10)


staveley, cumbria
very well organised. no complaints at all. If anything I think the trips could be a bit more adventurous
Confirmed traveller: 24 September 2016
Published on: 28 September 2016
(9 out of 10)


London W5
Extremely well organised both by Explore and on the ground by wonderful guide Felipe Gomes. Great walking, lovely small group, awesome scenery - Madeira a wonderful island with vg food & v friendly people. Can't wait to go back.
Confirmed traveller: 17 September 2016
Published on: 16 October 2016
(9 out of 10)


What an amazing island and leader. We saw places we would never have found independently. As a lone traveller I liked that we all ate together and our excellent guide dealt with the bookings. The food was a bargain and delicious.We ate in a variety of restaurants from casual to posh.
Not too much travelling each day.
Filipe (the guide) found lots of varied walks. We followed the levadas from source to coast and on the last day he succeeded in getting us all to the top of the highest mountain in Maderia along a spectacular path. We loved it!
There was always an opportunity for treats; whether that be cakes or swimming in rock pools. The plantlife, especially the Agapanthus was one of my highlights.
Many thanks to Filipe for a great holiday
Could't score max for trip as choice of flights from Manchester was very limited. I didn't think a flight that landed at 1.00am on the day of first walk was acceptable or reasonable so went day before with extra costs.
Confirmed traveller: 17 September 2016
Published on: 24 September 2016
(10 out of 10)


Overall a great trip which we would thoroughly recommend. The Leader Jenni was very knowledgeable on the history, geology and climate of the island and was able to reorganise some of the itinerary affected by the recent fires to provide a busy and active schedule. Particularly enjoyed eating at Paul do Mar watching the sunset whilst eating at Mak Tub and the meal the following evening at a friend's house.

Didn't find the walking too hard except the Balcony Walk which tested our fitness (partially due to the heat), but was still enjoyable with great views.
Confirmed traveller: 11 September 2016
Published on: 22 September 2016
(8 out of 10)


It was an interesting trip. Madeira is very wild and full of nature to explore. If you are a good walker and enjoy the nature, this trip is very recommended.
I missed to visit more beach and swim in the sea.
Confirmed traveller: 27 August 2016
Published on: 14 September 2016