It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
549 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Brochures

Our latest  brochures are available now, with over 600 adventures for you to choose from.

Gift Vouchers

Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with over 600 tours & experiences to choose from. The perfect gift idea for any occasion.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 1,843

Levada Trails Of Madeira TM

Visiting: Portugal
Tour Duration 8 Days
  • Spectacular balcony walk
  • A-framed house
  • Strelitzia Reginae
  • Walking trail
  • Walkin along the cliff path of the Sao Lourenco Peninsula
  • Tour Style: Classic
  • Tour Type: Small Groups
  • Tour Comfort: Standard
  • Trek Grade: Moderate

9 reviews for this tour

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Levada Trails Of Madeira tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
10 Anne Diamond, 11/04/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Looking back at where I had just walked and feeling amazed that I had made it. Also it was a lovely group of people and great to spend time with them.

Read more
 
9 , 06/12/13

Name

Maggie Palmer

Tour Name

Levada Trails of Madeira

Tour Code

TM

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Madeira is such a beautiful sub-tropical island all year round - the Levadas are lush and give breath taking views from the mountains to the sea. The group bonded well and we relaxed, joked and ate wonderful food and the local rum drink called 'Poncha'. We even got to swim in the sea on the last day after seeing dolphins from a boat; the hotesl had pools we could swim in and one had a jacuzzi and another a sauna - I would thoroughly recommend this trip to all who enjoy walking.

Tour Leader Name

Skye

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Skye is great fun and very well organised - so you can relax knowing everything is taken care of down to the last details.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Make sure your walking fitness is quite good although you dont need to be an athlete - Skye monitored our fitness levels to start with and helped those who were not so confident.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Cant wait for my next trip!

 
10 , 05/09/13

Name

Colin Fielding

Tour Name

Levada Trails of Madeira

Tour Code

TM

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The last two walks, high into the mountains were very special. To be above the clouds, blue skies letting the warm sunshine through, accompanied by new friends must be pretty close to Utopia. The actual Levada trails were also very scenic and completely different to the mountain walks. Witnessing water apparently travelling uphill was fascinating (an optical illusion formed by the relative slope of the adjacent hills !). Olympic standard Pooh-Sticks course too (isn't that what the Levadas were built for ? :o)

Tour Leader Name

James Connery

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

James did his job excellently, advising us on the relevant history, wildlife, restaurants, ecology, activity organisation etc even during his moments of 'time off' he helped retrieve lost articles via a series of phone calls to taxi companies. An interesting, versatile and intelligent guy. He knows the routes so well and endeared himself to everyone in the group (of 13). He arranged group meals for every evening, although stressed that it was not compulsory. Given the short time at each location, this made things much easier. Well done.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Bring a travel kettle !!! None of the hotels have in-room tea/coffee facilities. Make sure your footwear is geared towards lots of downhill walking. I bought oversized walking boots a week before departure as the previous pair were ok for uphill and flat. Best decision I made for sure !

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

We were extremely lucky with the weather. One brief downpour and one misty morning, otherwise it was perfect. Would not have enjoyed doing some of the walks in the wet. Group ranged from mid 30s to early seventies but got on just fine. Pack spare layers of clothes as you WILL sweat/perspire depending on gender :o) I would have found descents much harder without walking poles. Madeiran toilets on the walks are as rare steak tartare so be warned!

 
6 , 15/08/13

Name

Angie

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Getting lost on the exits of levadas and getting totally soaked by the amazing storm!

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Quite selfish but very cool and laid back

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Try to go for a trip guided by locals

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

no

 
10 , 15/08/13

Name

Paul Mccormack

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Swimming in the sea pool at Port Moniz

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Great. Really clear instructions. Very knowledgable and set a good pace for the group walks

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Bring a good camera and a penknife or similar to prepare a packed lunch

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Wonderful trip, Skye is a great guide. Varied walks building in difficultythrough the week. Good hotels and plenty of activities in the evenings. Good to have time to look around Funchal.

 
0 Barry Cox, 15/06/12

I write to thank you most sincerely for your helpful and flexible attitude over the matter of my wife, Katie's, broken ankle sustained a few weeks before our departure. By allowing our trip to Madeira to go ahead in spite of her injury you enabled us to enjoy yet another excellent Explore holiday. I dare say that not many travel companies would have been so accommodating and your customer-centred attitude was a refreshing change to the legal risk-averse approach which so often rules these days

Read more
 
0 JH, 27/10/11
One of the most beautiful places in the world. Each day of hiking was different.Scenery was spectacular. Accommodation and food great. (TM -4th September 2011)
 
0 Tony Mochan, 27/10/11

Varied scenery on the walks - from rainforest to orchard, mountain to hillside.  A great trip to appreciate the different aspects of Madeira.  Don't expect to lose any weight, as the food is excellent.  Cake & coffee after a walk is apparently a tradition of Madeira!  Plenty for the meat lovers, as well as the fish eaters. 

If you don't like heights, at least two of the walks may not be for you, but the views are stunning if can do this.  Don't forget the bug spray, and apply it even when you think there aren't any there!  As always with these holidays, it's the group that makes it, and Explore always seem to manage to pull it off!  The group experience was a highlight for me, but also getting a glorious second place was the tobogan ride from Monte back into Funchal on the free day (ignore the taxis and buses - it is a less than 20 minute walk back to the hotel from the end point), as well as the last day walk, which really had me believing in the need for gloves (which I had originally laughed at on reading the trip notes).  Quiet at night.  Not one for partygoers, unless you are prepared to make your own entertainment as we did! (TM -18th September 2011)

 
0 Cat Morrissey (Explore Staff), 29/12/10
Stunning scenery, wonderful views and fabulous food. The locals are friendly and the culture is very laid back. On the free day, book onto the optional boat trip to watch dolphins and swim in the sea - a lovely way to un-wind after a week of walking on this gorgeous island. (TM - 5th September 2010)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  3. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  4. Tour name (i.e. Inca Trail Trek)
  5. Tour Code (i.e. PQ)
    Invalid Input
  6. What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  7. Tour leader name
  8. How Was Your Explore Tour Leader?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  10. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  11. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  12.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA