It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
632 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Levada Trails Of Madeira TM

Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Levada Trails Of Madeira

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Levada Trails Of Madeira trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Levada Trails Of Madeira reviews verified by reevooReevoo

76 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Levada Trails Of MadeiraScores 8.9 out of 10 based on 76 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Sandy

Gloucestershire
Despite inclement weather, our tour guide Bernadino was able to use his own extensive experience, when necessary, to pick alternative trails that were equally amazing, different and challenging, whilst somehow keeping us away from the touristy or busy trails.
The walks were brilliant. Some highlights that will never be repeated! Walking up in the mountains above the clouds, or along waterfalls cascading around us as we walked along a levada. Do take a backpack to carry clothing for all weathers as we did experience the four seasons on a single day. Do take a good bright torch for the tunnels. If you suffer from vertigo, then you may find the going a little tough. Some bits of the trails are on narrow ledges overlooking deep gorges. Often with a hand rail, but not Always! Our group was great...lots of team spirit and support for anyone who needed it. And Bernardino was encouraging, but did not interfere, and let you get on with it, whilst still keeping the group together.
Vegetarians... you shouldn't expect too much. The options were somewhat limited. But fish and meat eaters, prepare to rejoice as these options were superb.
A great trip.
Confirmed traveller: 18 February 2017
Published on: 25 February 2017
(10 out of 10)

Linda

Dublin, Ohio USA
Excellent trip! Bennie was one of the premier guides that we have ever had.
Confirmed traveller: 18 February 2017
Published on: 20 February 2017
(10 out of 10)

Julia

LOUGHBOROUGH
The trip was PERFECT!

I will never forget the stunning landscapes, endemic flora/fauna...

I loved every hotel and the places we stopped.

The Leader Bernardino Viera was just EXCELLENT! He made this trip WONDERFUL! He is an experienced tour leader, organised and very friendly with all of us. He guided us thorough beautiful sceneries and local places. If I come back to this beautiful island, I would ask him for advice again.
Confirmed traveller: 18 February 2017
Published on: 20 February 2017
(10 out of 10)

Christopher

Bristol
Excellent tour leader, good company in the group and excellent walking routes.
Confirmed traveller: 18 February 2017
Published on: 20 February 2017
(10 out of 10)

Renate

Benny was a great tourguide - full of enthusiasm and an ambassador for Madeira. Loved his personal restaurant recommendations and the impromptu dried fish & Madeiran wine cellar tour. My favourite walk was up yhe Pico Ruivo. I'd recommend walking poles as there was a lot of steep downhill decents. The improvement I would make is having a free day in the middle of the tour, rather than in Funchal as you can book earlier or later flights. After three days strenous walking it would have been good to have a free day to give your legs a rest!
Confirmed traveller: 11 February 2017
Published on: 14 February 2017
(9 out of 10)

David

Brussels
A very enjoyable week with our excellent guide Benny. He is very informative and enthusiastic about his island - and he has a great sense of humour. The group got on well together, helped both by Benny and by prodigious quantities of Portuguese wine.
All the hotels were fine with the exception of the one in Porto Muniz where the staff ranged from indifferent to downright unfriendly.
Some of the walks could have been a bit longer/more challenging, I think.
Best walk - Pico Ruivo. Best hotel - Paul do Mar.
Confirmed traveller: 11 February 2017
Published on: 13 February 2017
(10 out of 10)

Diane

Dunfermline
Hi
I thought the tour was fantastic .It far exceeded my expectations. Each day the walk we undertook was suitably challenging and varied in its nature. Although there was no particular walk which was "the best " ,we did do a walk on day 4 in the centre of Maderia ,which replaced the scheduled walk up Pica du Arieiro.It was absolutely fabulous and when we emerged onto the top of the ridge ,the views were simply breathtaking. The accommodation offered in all hotels were great ,however a step above the rest was the Hotel Paul du Ma and the outside pool was fantastic.Two meals that Jenny organised were particularly good .The first was the meal in the bar outside the Hotel du Mar - the fire scorched Makeral was delicious .The second on at the Marine Biologist,s house was also amazing - it was just lovely to be in his house ,as well as great food The part of the holiday which most exceeded expectations was our guide Jenny. She was fabulous- from being highly organised to being emphathetic to everyone's needs she made sure that everything ran very smoothly .Most noticibly though was her in depth knowledge of many of the aspects of Maderia ,including culture,nature and history .Thanks Jenny we really enjoyed your company. We stayed an extra 2 days after the tour had finished and whilst we enjoyed it ,the Explore tour definetly gave us a less commercial and more authentic view of Madeira.We will rave about this holiday to our friends!
Confirmed traveller: 17 October 2016
Published on: 23 October 2016
(7 out of 10)

Lea

Wells, Somerset
Overall it was quite a good trip, but what was very disappointing was that of the five walks, only two were on the Levadas. The reason I booked this trip was that the title said Levada Trails, but this is such a misrepresentation of the trip. It should be entitled 'Walks in Madeira' or 'Walks and Levada Trails.' If I had known it was mostly walking up and down some very steep hills, I would not have gone on this trip. It has put me off doing another walking holiday.
Confirmed traveller: 08 October 2016
Published on: 16 October 2016
(10 out of 10)

Ann

Sydney
Highlights : Porto Monitz,Santana. The levadas .
Amazing group dinners .
Great group all got on well !
Benny : our tour leader .
Professional ,informative ,calm and a great sense of humour .
More walking days !
Confirmed traveller: 01 October 2016
Published on: 11 October 2016
(10 out of 10)

Nigel

Cambridge
Highlights.

Wonderful balance between Hiking and relaxation. Inspired accommodation based around the island minimising a daily commute between hotel and walks that provided an delightful insight into regional climate and cultures.

Our tour guide Filipe possessed excellent local knowledge stimulating opportunities to discover local customs and community lifestyles incl. drink/food/places/things to do.
Confirmed traveller: 01 October 2016
Published on: 08 October 2016