It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
534 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Have you considered?

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 2,720

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast tours and experiences to choose from.

Levada Trails Of Madeira TM

Tour Duration 8 Days
 
Reviews for Levada Trails Of Madeira 4.5 out of 5 based on 24 ratings.

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Levada Trails Of Madeira tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
4.5 David Warriner, 06/06/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

This tour was very good well paced gradually working up to the Friday when we assended Pico de Ruivo the highest peak. A varied selection of walks the leader considered everyone in the group and helped slower members of the group to achieve their goals. We were very lucky with the weather and had good views on most days.

Read more
Our Response

We’re sorry that the change of airport caused you problems as you’d already booked a hotel at Gatwick. While flight times do indeed change, sometimes airlines also alter the departure airport and this is out of our control. It’s worth noting that a change between London airports is classified in our Booking Conditions as a minor change. We also apologise for the delay acknowledging the change of passenger name on your booking. We were waiting for confirmation from the airline who were then delayed in getting back to us by the airline strike.  On a positive note, we’re pleased to see that you enjoyed the tour overall and we appreciate your comments about the Tour Leader and drivers.

 
4.5 John, 30/05/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

This was my first Explore holiday. I had a great time. The walking was amazing; the variety is well thought though and gives experience of a range of what Madeira has to offer. We were fortunate with the weather with two decent days at the end for the highest and most scenic routes. The evening meals were well planned and the hotels were good.

Read more
 
4.5 John Isted, 20/05/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

This was our first Trekking holiday with Explore, having done a few non-trekking holidays before. As it was classified as Moderate, we wanted to use it as a gauge for future walks. We were amazed by the diverse landscapes that Madeira offered from the lush Northern side to the desert like Eastern peninsula. The walks were challenging in parts (for an averagely fit 48 & 54 year old), the coastal walk was not a stroll along the prom with an ice-cream. All walks were safe and the group helped those people with vertigo. My highlight was the Peek Walk done on the last day.

Read more
 
4.5 Lynne & Phil Paine, 27/04/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

This was our first organised holiday. We were not disappointed,it was well organised and thought through. The walks were varied,showing of the islands spectacular scenery. The restaurants in the evening allowed use to try excellent local cuisine at sensible prices.

Read more
 
5 Paul, 13/04/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

This was my first explore trip (and it will not be the last). The Levada trail walks are simply stunning. We had fantastic weather too. The hotels were all great and comfortable. We had fantastic meals out and about. I particularly enjoyed tasting the local wine, and the Mojitos at a great bar in Paul do Mar. Getting to the highest point in Madeira was a challenge for me, but so glad I did it! (a big thank you to Julie, Chris and Benny)! It was a fantastic diverse group of people on the tour and we had some great laughs. It was a pleasure to spend the week with them.

Read more
 
4 Mark Raby, 30/03/15

Please Review Your Overall Experience And What Your Highlights Were

All the walks were really good and interesting. Despite having no head for heights I had no problem negotiating the trails despite the vertiginousness of some of the paths. I'd also like to highlight the accommodation and the food, especially the fish dishes. All really good. The weather was a bit disappointing; quite a lot of rain and windy at times.

 

Read more
 
4.5 Sally Mundin, 23/03/15

Please Review Your Overall Experience And What Your Highlights Were

The walking was a little bit tougher than most people were expecting but ultimately worth every step!! It is a beautiful, rugged island with such dramatic scenery that belies it's little island status. It was great to get a round the island tour of the country and there was more diversity than I was expecting. The levadas are staggering and beautiful in their engineering and work brilliantly as routes for walking. The view from the highest peak were amazing and well worth the walk - the final stretch from the car park is not as far as it looks so do make the effort!!

 

Read more
 
4.5 Jacqueline Locker, 09/03/15

Please Review Your Overall Experience And What Your Highlights Were

Great guide, great group and great scenery

 

Read more
 
5 Margaret White, 26/11/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Completing the Balcony Walk. We had perfect weather conditions in that it was very clear and the scenery was spectacular. It was very challenging in the diversion (part of the route had collapsed and so we had to use an alternative path)but we were walking in temperatures in the high 20s.

Read more
 
4.5 Claire Ryder, 26/11/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The balcony walk, the walk through the waterfalls... everything!!

Read more
 
4.5 Dave , 02/10/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Overall ... Fabulous views, good weather (most of the time) and great company. For my wife, getting up for a dawn swim at Porto Moniz. For me, the balcony walk and the feeling of achievement whilst downing the post walk beer.

Read more
 
5 Keith Stark, 08/06/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

All of the walks were memorable with so many great sights to see. We were blessed with beautiful weather all week so even when we were on the "Balcony Walk" which was the highlight for me, we were treated to superb views and looking down on the clouds surrounded by blue sky was awesome.

Read more
 
4 Keith McKenzie, 10/05/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Stunning views and a great bunch of people to enjoy them with, especially at evening meal times.

Read more
 
5 Julie Christensen, 09/05/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

All the walks were stunning and surprisingly varied for such a tiny island. We did a coastal walk, two levada walks and two mountain walks. They were all beautiful, a good length (roughly 5 hours) and achievable by your "average joe" fitness-wise (with a few steep bits to give you a bit of a workout). Definitely recommended for scenic walkers."

Read more
 
5 Debbie, 14/04/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

No worries, no cares, no responsibilities - just like going for a week away with school many moons ago. We were given accommodation, taken out for meals and followed the tour leader all day with no fear of getting lost. A really relaxing experience.

Read more
 
5 Anne Diamond, 11/04/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Looking back at where I had just walked and feeling amazed that I had made it. Also it was a lovely group of people and great to spend time with them.

Read more
 
4.5 , 06/12/13

Name

Maggie Palmer

Tour Name

Levada Trails of Madeira

Tour Code

TM

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Madeira is such a beautiful sub-tropical island all year round - the Levadas are lush and give breath taking views from the mountains to the sea. The group bonded well and we relaxed, joked and ate wonderful food and the local rum drink called 'Poncha'. We even got to swim in the sea on the last day after seeing dolphins from a boat; the hotesl had pools we could swim in and one had a jacuzzi and another a sauna - I would thoroughly recommend this trip to all who enjoy walking.

Tour Leader Name

Skye

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Skye is great fun and very well organised - so you can relax knowing everything is taken care of down to the last details.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Make sure your walking fitness is quite good although you dont need to be an athlete - Skye monitored our fitness levels to start with and helped those who were not so confident.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Cant wait for my next trip!

 
5 , 05/09/13

Name

Colin Fielding

Tour Name

Levada Trails of Madeira

Tour Code

TM

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The last two walks, high into the mountains were very special. To be above the clouds, blue skies letting the warm sunshine through, accompanied by new friends must be pretty close to Utopia. The actual Levada trails were also very scenic and completely different to the mountain walks. Witnessing water apparently travelling uphill was fascinating (an optical illusion formed by the relative slope of the adjacent hills !). Olympic standard Pooh-Sticks course too (isn't that what the Levadas were built for ? :o)

Tour Leader Name

James Connery

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

James did his job excellently, advising us on the relevant history, wildlife, restaurants, ecology, activity organisation etc even during his moments of 'time off' he helped retrieve lost articles via a series of phone calls to taxi companies. An interesting, versatile and intelligent guy. He knows the routes so well and endeared himself to everyone in the group (of 13). He arranged group meals for every evening, although stressed that it was not compulsory. Given the short time at each location, this made things much easier. Well done.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Bring a travel kettle !!! None of the hotels have in-room tea/coffee facilities. Make sure your footwear is geared towards lots of downhill walking. I bought oversized walking boots a week before departure as the previous pair were ok for uphill and flat. Best decision I made for sure !

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

We were extremely lucky with the weather. One brief downpour and one misty morning, otherwise it was perfect. Would not have enjoyed doing some of the walks in the wet. Group ranged from mid 30s to early seventies but got on just fine. Pack spare layers of clothes as you WILL sweat/perspire depending on gender :o) I would have found descents much harder without walking poles. Madeiran toilets on the walks are as rare steak tartare so be warned!

 
3 , 15/08/13

Name

Angie

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Getting lost on the exits of levadas and getting totally soaked by the amazing storm!

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Quite selfish but very cool and laid back

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Try to go for a trip guided by locals

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

no

 
5 , 15/08/13

Name

Paul Mccormack

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Swimming in the sea pool at Port Moniz

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Great. Really clear instructions. Very knowledgable and set a good pace for the group walks

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Bring a good camera and a penknife or similar to prepare a packed lunch

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Wonderful trip, Skye is a great guide. Varied walks building in difficultythrough the week. Good hotels and plenty of activities in the evenings. Good to have time to look around Funchal.

 
0 Barry Cox, 15/06/12

I write to thank you most sincerely for your helpful and flexible attitude over the matter of my wife, Katie's, broken ankle sustained a few weeks before our departure. By allowing our trip to Madeira to go ahead in spite of her injury you enabled us to enjoy yet another excellent Explore holiday. I dare say that not many travel companies would have been so accommodating and your customer-centred attitude was a refreshing change to the legal risk-averse approach which so often rules these days

Read more
 
0 JH, 27/10/11
One of the most beautiful places in the world. Each day of hiking was different.Scenery was spectacular. Accommodation and food great. (TM -4th September 2011)
 
0 Tony Mochan, 27/10/11

Varied scenery on the walks - from rainforest to orchard, mountain to hillside.  A great trip to appreciate the different aspects of Madeira.  Don't expect to lose any weight, as the food is excellent.  Cake & coffee after a walk is apparently a tradition of Madeira!  Plenty for the meat lovers, as well as the fish eaters. 

If you don't like heights, at least two of the walks may not be for you, but the views are stunning if can do this.  Don't forget the bug spray, and apply it even when you think there aren't any there!  As always with these holidays, it's the group that makes it, and Explore always seem to manage to pull it off!  The group experience was a highlight for me, but also getting a glorious second place was the tobogan ride from Monte back into Funchal on the free day (ignore the taxis and buses - it is a less than 20 minute walk back to the hotel from the end point), as well as the last day walk, which really had me believing in the need for gloves (which I had originally laughed at on reading the trip notes).  Quiet at night.  Not one for partygoers, unless you are prepared to make your own entertainment as we did! (TM -18th September 2011)

 
0 Cat Morrissey (Explore Staff), 29/12/10
Stunning scenery, wonderful views and fabulous food. The locals are friendly and the culture is very laid back. On the free day, book onto the optional boat trip to watch dolphins and swim in the sea - a lovely way to un-wind after a week of walking on this gorgeous island. (TM - 5th September 2010)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  3. Your Tour (*)
    Invalid Input
  4. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  5. Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  6. Tour leader name
  7. Do you have any feedback on your tour leaders performance?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  8. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  10. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  11.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA