It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
612 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Levada Trails Of Madeira TM

Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Levada Trails Of Madeira

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Levada Trails Of Madeira trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Levada Trails Of Madeira reviews verified by Reevoo

50 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Levada Trails Of MadeiraScores 8.7 out of 10 based on 50 reviews
(7 out of 10)

Jacqueline

Leeds
Highlight of the trip was the Balcony walk up to the highest peak on Madeira. Only disappointment was the absence of views at the top due to the cloud cover.
We went to the Tropical Gardens in Funchal on the free day, highly recommended. Take the bus and allow at least 3 hours to explore the beautiful flora and fauna.
Confirmed traveller: 16 May 2016
Published on: 26 May 2016
(10 out of 10)

Karen

Frimley, Camberley, surrey
Despite weather and colds, Ben was superb host ,cheerful and nothing too much trouble. Would go back in a heartbeat and hope I got dry weather next time!
Confirmed traveller: 23 April 2016
Published on: 04 May 2016
(9 out of 10)

Neale

Cambridge, UK
Benny the tour leader was excellent - hugely knowledgeable about Madeira's history and especially its flora. He knew exactly when to pause and when to push on, and made some adjustments to the itinerary (to avoid crowded levadas) that really improved the experience - in fact we would have liked him to have been given more freedom in choosing walks and hotels. Some of the mountain walks were quite tough - this isn't just easy strolling along gentle levadas, although there is some of that. It's difficult to pick walks as highlights since they were all great; food highlights were the ones organised by Benny - the Rasta Red Snapper supper, barbecue in the hills and supper in Jardim do Mar. I normally avoid anything that smacks of an organised factory tour, but the Rum distillery was an experience not to be missed. This was our first Explore! trip but I'm sure it won't be the last.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 30 April 2016
Published on: 02 May 2016
(10 out of 10)

Weiwei

London
Such a wonderful and challenge trip which I had not ever done in my life. The sceneries are spectacular and the tour leader is very experienced and caring. I have learned a lot about the history and natural world of Madeira. I will definitely visit again in deferent season. Highly recommend.
Travel tip: comfortable waterproof shoes and walking sticks.
Confirmed traveller: 30 April 2016
Published on: 01 May 2016
(9 out of 10)

Patrick & Lynda

Elora, Ontario
We would definitely recommend this tour. Madeira is a beautiful island & the hiking trails showed the wide variety of landscapes on the island. Jenni our tour guide was fantastic & showed a true love & knowledge of her country. The balcony walk was spectacular!!This was our first Explore tour & plan to participate in future tours. Lynda & Pat
Confirmed traveller: 02 April 2016
Published on: 28 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

Les

The walks were much easier than I had anticipated. This was partly due to the limitations imposed by the bad weather that we encountered on several days. Nonetheless, I would still grade this trip as easy overall.

The guide was very resourceful, making sure that we got the best out of the trip given the conditions.

I would recommend this trip to anyone looking for a week of gentle walking and nothing really challenging.
Confirmed traveller: 23 April 2016
Published on: 25 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Richard

Gloucestershire
Wow what a trip.....! An amazing island ... fabulous itinerary... lovely people .... and a fantastic leader who made the whole thing truly wonderful. Thanks EXPLORE! we'll definitely be booking another adventure with you soon!
Confirmed traveller: 02 April 2016
Published on: 10 April 2016
(7 out of 10)

Julie

Dorset
The highlight of the trip for me was 'the balcony walk'. We had fabulous weather and walked above the clouds. The views were stupendous. If you have a fear for heights then this trip is not for you.
Confirmed traveller: 26 March 2016
Published on: 04 April 2016
(6 out of 10)

NK

Not a moderate grading at all, 3 very easy levada was which were very sedate. The first and last day hikes, including the balcony were brilliant. The balcony walk especially.
Confirmed traveller: 26 March 2016
Published on: 29 March 2016
(8 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Very well organised trip with a knowledgeable and enthusaistic guide (Jenny).
The tour was meant to be moderate but save the balcony walk on the final day, it may be more appropriate to classify the remaining parts of the walk as easy. Beautiful scenery throughout. Just take note that some of the walks may be substituted for others due to climatic conditions, although luckily this did not happen for us.
Some amazing meals organised for us by the guide for dinner, to sample local authentic local cuisine.
Confirmed traveller: 26 March 2016
Published on: 29 March 2016