It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
628 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Levada Trails Of Madeira TM

Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Levada Trails Of Madeira

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Levada Trails Of Madeira trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Levada Trails Of Madeira reviews verified by Reevoo

62 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Levada Trails Of MadeiraScores 8.8 out of 10 based on 62 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Margaret

Lancaster
What an amazing island and leader. We saw places we would never have found independently. As a lone traveller I liked that we all ate together and our excellent guide dealt with the bookings. The food was a bargain and delicious.We ate in a variety of restaurants from casual to posh.
Not too much travelling each day.
Filipe (the guide) found lots of varied walks. We followed the levadas from source to coast and on the last day he succeeded in getting us all to the top of the highest mountain in Maderia along a spectacular path. We loved it!
There was always an opportunity for treats; whether that be cakes or swimming in rock pools. The plantlife, especially the Agapanthus was one of my highlights.
Many thanks to Filipe for a great holiday
Could't score max for trip as choice of flights from Manchester was very limited. I didn't think a flight that landed at 1.00am on the day of first walk was acceptable or reasonable so went day before with extra costs.
Confirmed traveller: 17 September 2016
Published on: 24 September 2016
(10 out of 10)

Sarah

Berkhamsted
Overall a great trip which we would thoroughly recommend. The Leader Jenni was very knowledgeable on the history, geology and climate of the island and was able to reorganise some of the itinerary affected by the recent fires to provide a busy and active schedule. Particularly enjoyed eating at Paul do Mar watching the sunset whilst eating at Mak Tub and the meal the following evening at a friend's house.

Didn't find the walking too hard except the Balcony Walk which tested our fitness (partially due to the heat), but was still enjoyable with great views.
Confirmed traveller: 11 September 2016
Published on: 22 September 2016
(8 out of 10)

Fabiana

Bologna
It was an interesting trip. Madeira is very wild and full of nature to explore. If you are a good walker and enjoy the nature, this trip is very recommended.
I missed to visit more beach and swim in the sea.
Confirmed traveller: 27 August 2016
Published on: 14 September 2016
(6 out of 10)

Liv

Newton St. Loe
Madeira is stunningly beautiful, and the walks were well planned to provide a great variety of terrains across different parts of the island. The group was great, although 15 is verging on too large. Generally, it was a good trip, marred by just one problem - although this put a serious dampener on the whole trip - which was the guide. He was a nice guy, and his knowledge of the local environment was extensive and genuinely enthusiastic, but he took the "let's exploit the customers" to extremes. While it's generally known that tour leaders will recommend restaurants where they can get a free meal and better, a small commission, a recommendation is one thing. When it turns into a situation where the trip is dominated by regular arrangements with friends in different towns, and group members are effectively press-ganged into coming by pushing the "antisocial" tag on them in front of the group, that's something else. In this case, we were asked verbally about arrangements for meals in front of the group every night, and on some occasions told we had to commit the night before because his friend needed to know how many pieces of fish or chicken to buy. Mostly the food was really good (not always), but meals averaged 25 euros without drinks. That's about 10 euros more than a decent restaurant in Funchal. It was also inevitably limited in choice, and usually took about an hour and a half to serve after the group arrived, so we'd end up not eating til 9:30pm. Since meals were also often in a different village to where we were staying, that meant dinner typically took three hours and we wouldn't get back to the hotel until after 11pm. If you didn't want to participate, no alternatives were ever offered, and ultimately it caused some quite major tensions in a group that otherwise got on brilliantly. I know it's hard to control, but Explore seriously needs to keep a check on this.

The other thing - what on earth was all the waiting about for? Why the constant constant extended coffee stops after leaving the hotel right after breakfast en route to a walk that starts fifteen minutes away? Or on the way back after a five hour walk in the sun where you really just want a shower or to jump in the pool?
Confirmed traveller: 11 June 2016
Published on: 18 June 2016

Thanks for your feedback regarding the above Explore holiday, we’re glad to hear you enjoyed your trip. It’s disappointing however, that you were not as impressed with your Explore Leader, Benny, especially as has worked with us for a couple of years and always receives great feedback. We did address your points with Benny and he has explained that he will always recommend dining venues that are away from the tourist areas, so our groups can experience the local culture and try traditional food. We must also note that while it is common for restaurants to give our leaders a free meal, it is against company policy for our leaders to accept any commission. Although it is entirely optional to choose where you eat for non-included meals, Benny also advised that he will always give other options to the group, but in certain areas they are limited.

(10 out of 10)

Gaynor

Shipley
Although the trip is promoted as moderate one walk in particular was very tuff. If you have bad knees or hips this is not for you, Madeira has a lot of steps. Our tour guide Benny was excellent, his passion and knowledge of the island shone through.
Confirmed traveller: 11 June 2016
Published on: 14 June 2016
(10 out of 10)

Karen

Essex
This walking week in Madeira exceeded expectations. Filipe, our guide, was fantastic. He was so passionate about sharing his love of Madeira with the group, and is incredibly knowledgeable and excellent at sharing this knowledge with us. I feel like I really learned so much about Madeira. Our coach driver Victor, was equally friendly and helpful. I was genuinely impressed with every bit of the organisation for the trip, especially liked having dinner organised and eating together.

The walks were brilliant, loved every second of them, even when I found some walks difficult or challenging. The descents can be quite tricky and there is a section of levada walk with sheer drops. Unfortunately we did not have great visibility on the last walk up to Pico Ruivo, but the little bit we could see between the clouds was worth the challenging walk, just beautiful.
This was my first holiday with Explore, it definitely won't be my last. I have already started searching for my next trip!

Thank you Explore! Thank you Filipe!!!!

TIP: I use Nordic poles, however the walks are not really suitable for proper Nordic walking, they are too narrow and the terrain changes too frequently. In the end, I used the Nordic poles only as walking poles instead.
Confirmed traveller: 28 May 2016
Published on: 09 June 2016
(10 out of 10)

Helen

Manchester, UK
This was a very well-balanced tour in terms of pace and variety of walks, giving us an excellent overall introduction to Madeira. Hotels were located in beautiful quiet areas - even in Funchal where the hotel was handily centrally located. All were of a higher standard than we expected, rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. The distances between stopovers were generally short, allowing plenty of time for coffee stops. The walks were generally easy apart from the last day in the high peaks and some ascents/descents could be hard on the knees (take your walking poles!). Please note the tour notes need to be updated - we did complete the route from Pico Arieriro to Pico Ruivo, as there is a path with secured ladders around the original closed route. We ate as a group in a variety of restaurants, sometimes in the hotels, all of a very high standard (try the fish dish scabbard with banana!) and a highlight in Paul do Mar was a meal in a local's home, prepared by him in his kitchen, felt like we were invited friends. The trip was full of little added extras - visits to Madeira wine cellars in a local village, sampling freshly made ponchas.
Top highlight has to be our tour leader, Filipe Gomes. We were so lucky to have such an excellent guide - he was such a pleasure to meet and was so passionate about sharing his knowledge of all the flora & fauna of Madeira. His organisational skills were faultless and yet he managed to organise the group without it seeming forced, his style was very relaxed. We felt perfectly safe in his competent hands. He made the holiday one of the most enjoyable we've had (so far!) with Explore. Please do continue to appreciate him as he has to be one of your top tour leaders, thank you!
Confirmed traveller: 28 May 2016
Published on: 04 June 2016
(10 out of 10)

Doe

Letchworth Garden City
Excellent tour and an excellent tour leader.

He was extremely knowledgeable about everything on the tour especially the flowers, plants and the walks. I knew that I was in safe hands and he held the group brilliantly.
Thank you for such a good holiday.
Confirmed traveller: 28 May 2016
Published on: 08 June 2016
(10 out of 10)

Joan

Wiltshire
Superb mountain walk on first day, which we would have had to miss if our brilliant leader Filipe had not swapped our itinerary round due to path maintenance. Very different scenery on the walks in different parts of the Island, and wonderful flowers.
Accomodations all excellent and in good positions. Leader Felipe had excellent local knowledge and knew how to avoid busy paths. Also knew great places to eat, one highlight a meal in a local village house watching the sunset from the terrace. He also was very enthusiastic and informative about Madeira.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 21 May 2016
Published on: 11 June 2016