It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
646 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Levada Trails Of Madeira TM

Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for Levada Trails Of Madeira

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Levada Trails Of Madeira trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Levada Trails Of Madeira reviews verified by reevooReevoo

69 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Levada Trails Of MadeiraScores 8.8 out of 10 based on 69 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Diane

Dunfermline
Hi
I thought the tour was fantastic .It far exceeded my expectations. Each day the walk we undertook was suitably challenging and varied in its nature. Although there was no particular walk which was "the best " ,we did do a walk on day 4 in the centre of Maderia ,which replaced the scheduled walk up Pica du Arieiro.It was absolutely fabulous and when we emerged onto the top of the ridge ,the views were simply breathtaking. The accommodation offered in all hotels were great ,however a step above the rest was the Hotel Paul du Ma and the outside pool was fantastic.Two meals that Jenny organised were particularly good .The first was the meal in the bar outside the Hotel du Mar - the fire scorched Makeral was delicious .The second on at the Marine Biologist,s house was also amazing - it was just lovely to be in his house ,as well as great food The part of the holiday which most exceeded expectations was our guide Jenny. She was fabulous- from being highly organised to being emphathetic to everyone's needs she made sure that everything ran very smoothly .Most noticibly though was her in depth knowledge of many of the aspects of Maderia ,including culture,nature and history .Thanks Jenny we really enjoyed your company. We stayed an extra 2 days after the tour had finished and whilst we enjoyed it ,the Explore tour definetly gave us a less commercial and more authentic view of Madeira.We will rave about this holiday to our friends!
Confirmed traveller: 17 October 2016
Published on: 23 October 2016
(7 out of 10)

Lea

Wells, Somerset
Overall it was quite a good trip, but what was very disappointing was that of the five walks, only two were on the Levadas. The reason I booked this trip was that the title said Levada Trails, but this is such a misrepresentation of the trip. It should be entitled 'Walks in Madeira' or 'Walks and Levada Trails.' If I had known it was mostly walking up and down some very steep hills, I would not have gone on this trip. It has put me off doing another walking holiday.
Confirmed traveller: 08 October 2016
Published on: 16 October 2016
(10 out of 10)

Ann

Sydney
Highlights : Porto Monitz,Santana. The levadas .
Amazing group dinners .
Great group all got on well !
Benny : our tour leader .
Professional ,informative ,calm and a great sense of humour .
More walking days !
Confirmed traveller: 01 October 2016
Published on: 11 October 2016
(10 out of 10)

Nigel

Cambridge
Highlights.

Wonderful balance between Hiking and relaxation. Inspired accommodation based around the island minimising a daily commute between hotel and walks that provided an delightful insight into regional climate and cultures.

Our tour guide Filipe possessed excellent local knowledge stimulating opportunities to discover local customs and community lifestyles incl. drink/food/places/things to do.
Confirmed traveller: 01 October 2016
Published on: 08 October 2016
(8 out of 10)

Helen

Halstead, Essex
Madeira is very special and this holiday allows you to see much of it. Staying in four different places was a definite bonus and the hotels just seemed to get better and better.
Ours was a small group of just seven and we got on very well but I was impressed by the way Felipe, our guide, worked to help the group gel. It was also very nice indeed that Paul, our driver, who spoke such excellent English, felt such a part of the group. All in all, it was a lot of fun.

I didn't feel very fit and would have preferred a bit more of a build up to the most challenging walk which was also our last one. Walk 1 was a great introduction to the geology of the island and just about the right level. Walk 2 is the classic laurel forest walk and also a good level. Walk 3 felt rather short but replaced a walk made unviable by the recent fires - and anyway - it rained that morning. Walk 4 was just a little too easy and didn't make the most of the island's dramatic scenery, flora or geology. Walk 5 is an absolute must but I still struggled a bit.

A hat or cap is a must, ideally with a chin strap.
Confirmed traveller: 01 October 2016
Published on: 04 October 2016
(10 out of 10)

Tracy

Brighton
Madeira is beautiful and the walks covered several different environments: from lush mini-rainforests to caves and mountains. Our tour lead, Bennie, was fabulous throughout - entertaining, informative and good company. He took us to some great local restaurants we would not have found ourselves, and the food was delicious: empetadas, scabbard fish, and tuna... to name a few of my favourites! The group was a great mix of characters and we had a lot of interesting conversations and fun. An opportunity to stay in one of the smaller towns along the coast would have been a nice opportunity to experience local hospitality, but all in all this was an excellent trip!
Confirmed traveller: 24 September 2016
Published on: 01 October 2016
(9 out of 10)

Roger

staveley, cumbria
very well organised. no complaints at all. If anything I think the trips could be a bit more adventurous
Confirmed traveller: 24 September 2016
Published on: 28 September 2016
(9 out of 10)

Robin

London W5
Extremely well organised both by Explore and on the ground by wonderful guide Felipe Gomes. Great walking, lovely small group, awesome scenery - Madeira a wonderful island with vg food & v friendly people. Can't wait to go back.
Confirmed traveller: 17 September 2016
Published on: 16 October 2016
(9 out of 10)

Margaret

Lancaster
What an amazing island and leader. We saw places we would never have found independently. As a lone traveller I liked that we all ate together and our excellent guide dealt with the bookings. The food was a bargain and delicious.We ate in a variety of restaurants from casual to posh.
Not too much travelling each day.
Filipe (the guide) found lots of varied walks. We followed the levadas from source to coast and on the last day he succeeded in getting us all to the top of the highest mountain in Maderia along a spectacular path. We loved it!
There was always an opportunity for treats; whether that be cakes or swimming in rock pools. The plantlife, especially the Agapanthus was one of my highlights.
Many thanks to Filipe for a great holiday
Could't score max for trip as choice of flights from Manchester was very limited. I didn't think a flight that landed at 1.00am on the day of first walk was acceptable or reasonable so went day before with extra costs.
Confirmed traveller: 17 September 2016
Published on: 24 September 2016
(10 out of 10)

Sarah

Berkhamsted
Overall a great trip which we would thoroughly recommend. The Leader Jenni was very knowledgeable on the history, geology and climate of the island and was able to reorganise some of the itinerary affected by the recent fires to provide a busy and active schedule. Particularly enjoyed eating at Paul do Mar watching the sunset whilst eating at Mak Tub and the meal the following evening at a friend's house.

Didn't find the walking too hard except the Balcony Walk which tested our fitness (partially due to the heat), but was still enjoyable with great views.
Confirmed traveller: 11 September 2016
Published on: 22 September 2016