It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
625 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Reviews for Little Tibet

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Little Tibet trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Little Tibet reviews verified by reevooReevoo

18 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Little TibetScores 8.9 out of 10 based on 18 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Helen

Fleetwood
Very good tour which I would recommend. Many highlights but in particular loved Keylong and the drives over the passes. Have to have respect for the drivers on this trip, not roads for the fainthearted. Good guide in Sorab and also local guide who joined us in Leh and showed us round the monasteries over our last 2 days before flight back to Delhi
Confirmed traveller: 20 August 2017
Published on: 31 August 2017
(10 out of 10)

Valerie

Braintree
This is an incredible tour. The scenery is amazing and the chance to learn about the Tibetan culture and way of life gives the trip real depth. The itinerary was very well planned, allowing for slow acclimatisation to the altitude in the Himalayas. Nobody in our group suffered from altitude sickness as a result. The standard of the accommodation was excellent. I would not describe the pace of the tour as ' full on'. Except for two 4.30 am starts ( one for the flight to Delhi and the other to drive to Leh), we had mainly 9.00 am starts. We also had a few hours of free time most afternoons. Our tour leader was Sorab. He was excellent, and made the organisation of the tour seem seamless. He could not have done more to make sure we all had a great time. The food on the tour was fantastic. It was easy to wash clothes through, as they dried overnight. The 15kg weight limit for the flight to Delhi ( including hand luggage) means it is worth cutting back on luggage. I would recommend taking walking boots, as some of the walks involve walking over rugged terrain. I was glad to have taken an umbrella and a rain coat, as during the monsoon it did rain very heavily for a few short periods! It is worth bringing warm clothing ( thermals) for the night camping at Sarchu. I would thoroughly recommend this tour.
Confirmed traveller: 20 August 2017
Published on: 26 August 2017
(9 out of 10)

Elizabeth

Hatfield
A great trip with a fantastic leader ( Sorab ). A trip that includes every type of weather; hot and humid in Amritsar, monsoon rain in Mccleod Gunj, warm and damp in Manali and finally clear,sunny days with cool nights in Leh.
A major part of this trip was learning about Sikhism, Hinduism and Buddism, visiting holy places relating to these religions.
The road trip is not for the faint hearted, I have great respect for the drivers on the Manali - Leh road.
Before this trip I was concerned about suffering with AMS but Sorab ensured that the group was correctly acclimatised to reach over 5000 metres.
Confirmed traveller: 20 August 2017
Published on: 25 August 2017
(7 out of 10)

Maria

London
Drive from Manali to Leh. Scenery beautiful, roads treacherous at times. Golden temple Amritsar splendid.some hotels very very basic
Confirmed traveller: 08 August 2017
Published on: 16 August 2017
(10 out of 10)

David

Keynsham. Bristol
Great trip. Hotels very good. The overnight camp ok but pits for toilet outlets seriously need to be assessed. They were too close to the tents, like right at the back and need to be deeper. Very smelly.
Confirmed traveller: 08 August 2017
Published on: 15 August 2017
(9 out of 10)

Ken

London
The tour exceeded my expectations. The scenery is stunning, the people we met on the way were so friendly and welcoming, and the organisation of the tour was great. And not forgetting our tour leader Sanjeev, he was brilliant!
Confirmed traveller: 08 August 2017
Published on: 12 August 2017
(10 out of 10)

Rob

Hampshire
What a true adventure! From magical Amritsar to beautiful Alchi this trip ticks all the boxes if mountains, religion (Sikh, Buddhism and Hinduism) and seeing a really different way of life are your thing. The roads are terrifying at times with huge drops and no barriers (especially the Rotang La) but the drivers are steady and confident. Sanjeev, our guide, was fantastic throughout. Leh and Manali were busier and more commercial than we expected but the rural places like Keylong, Sarchi, and Alchi were real treats. Altitude is a challenge ,even after the highest points are passed and you think you are acclimatised, but Sanjeev was attentive and saw to it we got treatment if needed. Don't let that put you off - this is a wonderful adventurous trip even if you have travelled to other parts of India before. We had a lovely group of 14 people and the one thing we would have liked more of was walking in the mountains. The hotels are pretty grim and Explore could do with reviewing the choice of some of them. However, all round, this trip comes highly recommended by us!
Confirmed traveller: 08 August 2017
Published on: 10 August 2017
(8 out of 10)

Sue

Harrow
A fabulous trip with many highlights and some downsides – in particular spending two days in Dharamsala / McCleodganj which was very touristy and clogged with traffic. I think Explore should consider removing this from the itinerary or reducing the stay to one day as I felt it added nothing to the trip. The replacement hotel there, “Whispering Winds” (or Bleak House in my book) was truly dreadful but gave the group something to bond over! I enjoyed the second part of the trip more than the first and found the road trip along the Manali – Leh highway and the Sarchu camp challenging (not least due to suffering altitude sickness). Highlights for me included the Golden Temple at Amritsar (magical at sunset); charming Alchi and the stunning frescoes at the Gompa there; the fantastic spectacle of the Hemis Festival (which lived up to my expectations) and the beautiful mountain scenery of Ladakh. Our tour guide, Pema, was fantastic, looked after all of us with such care and attention and did his utmost to ensure we all enjoyed our holiday.
Confirmed traveller: 09 July 2017
Published on: 20 July 2017

Hi Sue, thank you very much for your feedback, and we’re really sorry about your stay at the Whispering Winds Resort. Our original hotel was temporarily closed at the last minute before our stay, and unfortunately due to the busy period in the area we were left with very limited options. The standard of the hotel was not as expected, and we’re sorry it had a negative impact on your trip. Please be assured this was an unusual situation and we will not be using this hotel again. I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed the trip overall and especially Pema’s company as tour leader.

(8 out of 10)

John

Sheffield
We really enjoyed this trip, particularly the journey over the passes which was a real experience. Our guide,Pena, was excellent, and was always there to help when needed.
The only downside was our stay at Dharamsala which came early in the holiday and became a big topic of conversation throughout the holiday. The hotel (if I can call it that), Whispering Winds Resorts was way below the standard of Explore, running water down the walls, through open electrics, and no hot water. Driving up to McCleodganj for a meal was a real nightmare, one big traffic jam, so we ended up eating at 10.00pm, before having to come back down the mountain to our candle lit hotel!
It was such a shame and needs sorting out.
Confirmed traveller: 09 July 2017
Published on: 18 July 2017

Hi John, thank you very much for your feedback, and we’re really sorry about your stay at the Whispering Winds Resort. Our original hotel was temporarily closed at the last minute before our stay, and unfortunately due to the busy period in the area we were left with very limited options. The standard of the hotel was not as expected, and we’re sorry it had a negative impact on your trip. Please be assured this was an unusual situation and we will not be using this hotel again. I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed the trip overall and especially Pema’s company as tour leader.

(9 out of 10)

Terence

Inverness
The trip starts at the Golden Temple of Amritsar and consists of a road journey up through the Himalaya to the Buddhist enclave of Ladakh. Plenty of temples, monuments, monasteries, gompas and Buddhas with high altitude travel (beware) and great views too. Overall the accommodation was good, but Whispering Winds (The Hotel M replacement in McLeodGanj) was a place definitely to avoid. Full marks to Pema, our guide who sorted out another place for two of us who got the worst rooms. The Sarchu tented camp on the other hand was surprisingly very comfortable. A shame we didn't get an audience, or at least see the Dalai Lama. Highlights were the spectacular Golden Temple, a much bigger complex than I expected, the mountain scenery, and the Hemis Festival, where we got front row seats. Finally, I would have liked to have had time for some walking trips in the mountains.
Confirmed traveller: 09 July 2017
Published on: 17 July 2017