It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
608 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Reviews for Little Tibet

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Little Tibet trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Little Tibet reviews verified by reevooReevoo

14 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
Little TibetScores 8.8 out of 10 based on 14 reviews
(7 out of 10)

Maria

London
Drive from Manali to Leh. Scenery beautiful, roads treacherous at times. Golden temple Amritsar splendid.some hotels very very basic
Confirmed traveller: 08 August 2017
Published on: 16 August 2017
(10 out of 10)

David

Keynsham. Bristol
Great trip. Hotels very good. The overnight camp ok but pits for toilet outlets seriously need to be assessed. They were too close to the tents, like right at the back and need to be deeper. Very smelly.
Confirmed traveller: 08 August 2017
Published on: 15 August 2017
(9 out of 10)

Ken

London
The tour exceeded my expectations. The scenery is stunning, the people we met on the way were so friendly and welcoming, and the organisation of the tour was great. And not forgetting our tour leader Sanjeev, he was brilliant!
Confirmed traveller: 08 August 2017
Published on: 12 August 2017
(10 out of 10)

Rob

Hampshire
What a true adventure! From magical Amritsar to beautiful Alchi this trip ticks all the boxes if mountains, religion (Sikh, Buddhism and Hinduism) and seeing a really different way of life are your thing. The roads are terrifying at times with huge drops and no barriers (especially the Rotang La) but the drivers are steady and confident. Sanjeev, our guide, was fantastic throughout. Leh and Manali were busier and more commercial than we expected but the rural places like Keylong, Sarchi, and Alchi were real treats. Altitude is a challenge ,even after the highest points are passed and you think you are acclimatised, but Sanjeev was attentive and saw to it we got treatment if needed. Don't let that put you off - this is a wonderful adventurous trip even if you have travelled to other parts of India before. We had a lovely group of 14 people and the one thing we would have liked more of was walking in the mountains. The hotels are pretty grim and Explore could do with reviewing the choice of some of them. However, all round, this trip comes highly recommended by us!
Confirmed traveller: 08 August 2017
Published on: 10 August 2017
(8 out of 10)

Sue

Harrow
A fabulous trip with many highlights and some downsides – in particular spending two days in Dharamsala / McCleodganj which was very touristy and clogged with traffic. I think Explore should consider removing this from the itinerary or reducing the stay to one day as I felt it added nothing to the trip. The replacement hotel there, “Whispering Winds” (or Bleak House in my book) was truly dreadful but gave the group something to bond over! I enjoyed the second part of the trip more than the first and found the road trip along the Manali – Leh highway and the Sarchu camp challenging (not least due to suffering altitude sickness). Highlights for me included the Golden Temple at Amritsar (magical at sunset); charming Alchi and the stunning frescoes at the Gompa there; the fantastic spectacle of the Hemis Festival (which lived up to my expectations) and the beautiful mountain scenery of Ladakh. Our tour guide, Pema, was fantastic, looked after all of us with such care and attention and did his utmost to ensure we all enjoyed our holiday.
Confirmed traveller: 09 July 2017
Published on: 20 July 2017

Hi Sue, thank you very much for your feedback, and we’re really sorry about your stay at the Whispering Winds Resort. Our original hotel was temporarily closed at the last minute before our stay, and unfortunately due to the busy period in the area we were left with very limited options. The standard of the hotel was not as expected, and we’re sorry it had a negative impact on your trip. Please be assured this was an unusual situation and we will not be using this hotel again. I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed the trip overall and especially Pema’s company as tour leader.

(8 out of 10)

John

Sheffield
We really enjoyed this trip, particularly the journey over the passes which was a real experience. Our guide,Pena, was excellent, and was always there to help when needed.
The only downside was our stay at Dharamsala which came early in the holiday and became a big topic of conversation throughout the holiday. The hotel (if I can call it that), Whispering Winds Resorts was way below the standard of Explore, running water down the walls, through open electrics, and no hot water. Driving up to McCleodganj for a meal was a real nightmare, one big traffic jam, so we ended up eating at 10.00pm, before having to come back down the mountain to our candle lit hotel!
It was such a shame and needs sorting out.
Confirmed traveller: 09 July 2017
Published on: 18 July 2017

Hi John, thank you very much for your feedback, and we’re really sorry about your stay at the Whispering Winds Resort. Our original hotel was temporarily closed at the last minute before our stay, and unfortunately due to the busy period in the area we were left with very limited options. The standard of the hotel was not as expected, and we’re sorry it had a negative impact on your trip. Please be assured this was an unusual situation and we will not be using this hotel again. I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed the trip overall and especially Pema’s company as tour leader.

(9 out of 10)

Terence

Inverness
The trip starts at the Golden Temple of Amritsar and consists of a road journey up through the Himalaya to the Buddhist enclave of Ladakh. Plenty of temples, monuments, monasteries, gompas and Buddhas with high altitude travel (beware) and great views too. Overall the accommodation was good, but Whispering Winds (The Hotel M replacement in McLeodGanj) was a place definitely to avoid. Full marks to Pema, our guide who sorted out another place for two of us who got the worst rooms. The Sarchu tented camp on the other hand was surprisingly very comfortable. A shame we didn't get an audience, or at least see the Dalai Lama. Highlights were the spectacular Golden Temple, a much bigger complex than I expected, the mountain scenery, and the Hemis Festival, where we got front row seats. Finally, I would have liked to have had time for some walking trips in the mountains.
Confirmed traveller: 09 July 2017
Published on: 17 July 2017
(10 out of 10)

Lorna

Glasgow
Little Tibet - July 2016

A fabulous trip, crammed full of activities and experiences. Loved the monastery visits and festivals a must for anyone interested in Buddhism or amazing geological scenery. The pace was so brisk, it was hard to remember what and where we had just been, it was truely full of splendid highlights, fabulous people and had a real calm/ chilled atmosphere. I would suggest investigating anti altitude sickness remedies or pop to the Dr. as these are extremely high altitudes and my group all felt the effects to one extent or another on the trip, I would also make sure and take a sleeping bag liner and towel if you are fussy about sparkling crystal clean linen (this was only applicable in one or two places). Spare battery pack for your camera as you will click non stop and don't want to run out of charge during the day, as happened to me a couple of times. I would book this trip again in a heartbeat, it was well organised and flawless, our safety and comfort was always a priority.
Confirmed traveller: 06 August 2016
Published on: 03 October 2016
(9 out of 10)

John

Kilmarnock
We have travelled many times with Explore.
This trip was awesome!
Confirmed traveller: 31 July 2015
Published on: 01 October 2015
(8 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

The tour highlights were the the Tibetan Buddhist monasteries, the festival at Daktok, the trip over the Himalayas and Amritsar.Sorab was the best tour leader I've had and his organisation was invisible. He made us feel completely safe and therefore relaxed.
Confirmed traveller: 09 April 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015