It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
642 Matching trips
Site Search

Other trips you might like

Have you considered?

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Reviews for Loire Valley Cycling

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Loire Valley Cycling trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Loire Valley Cycling reviews verified by Reevoo

7 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Loire Valley CyclingScores 9.9 out of 10 based on 7 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Nigel

Leatherhead
This was our second cycle trip with Andrew. We'd booked it as we had so enjoyed Canal du Midi. In fact, I think there were five of us who were Andrew returners.

He provides great routes, some good hotels and most importantly for us a nice balance between the collective tour and the individual / couples. For example, there is a group meal on the first and last nights and in between you're free to choose what you do. He also organised some pre-dinner drinks in the garden of one of the hotels. We had two dinners on our own and two with others on the trip.

Also whilst on the first day we were very much altogether on the ride, on certain other days there was scope for varying the pace.

The hotels were well-located and fine with a bar / restaurant in two of them (we watched some of the Euro matches!). The hotel in Azay-le-Rideau has a very nice style. Amboise is a bit functional but it’s only for one night.

The cycle routes were great - riverside, countryside, through forest and the occasional hill which everyone seemed to cope with. Each day we’d buy ourselves a picnic lunch and Andrew would recommend a good place to eat it, usually by a lake or a river or with a good view.

Sightseeing highlights for us were Chateau de Chenonceau, the gardens at Villandry, the chateau at Azay-le-Rideau.

Tip: on the last day we chose to do the longer and hillier ride to the Abbaye de Fontevraud which was great. It’s where Plantagenet Kings Henry II and Richard-the-Lionheart are buried and there’s lots to see there. We did the audio-tour. The ride back is pretty easy with a great picnic spot by the remains of a windmill looking down to where the Vienne joins the Loire. It was excellent!


Tip: This was a great holiday which we rounded off with a couple of extra nights in Tours which has a nice cathedral, a medieval town centre and plenty of restaurants (we ate Lebanese, Italian and Thai and stayed in the Hotel Colbert which was very much an Explore type place but which we found on trip advisor). A nice bit of chill before taking the train home.

Thank you Andrew for another great holiday. We take our fourth Explore cycle trip in September!
Confirmed traveller: 09 July 2016
Published on: 30 July 2016
(9 out of 10)

Alvin

Edmonton
This tour was just as I had imagined. Wonderful. Our tour leader Andrew was excellent. Although the accommodation was certainly adequate, I would have been happy to pay a little more for a little higher end hotel.
Confirmed traveller: 09 July 2016
Published on: 20 July 2016
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

The flowers, the food, the chateaux, the slow meandering rivers, the green weeds under the clear water, the reflections of the bridges on the water. The first day when we cycled along the river bank. The picnics, the wine tasting at Montmousseau. All were amazing parts of the Loire bike trip. The heat of the day gave way to the refreshing cool temperature of the wine cave as we sampled the local vintages. Walking through the chateau of Chinonceaux in the footsteps of people from the centuries past was spectacular. We cycled through the corn fields and the sunflowers to Amboise. Seeing Leonardo da Vinci's model of the wooden bike gave us a good appreciation of our hybrids. The longest day's ride was broken up by magnificent chateaux, lovely countryside, some villages that dated back to the twelfth century and, of course, ice cream! The charming village of Azay le Rideau hosted our two night stop. We drank wine and ate cheese in the old school yard and spent a wonderful day exploring the gardens of Villandry. Following the la Loire past the fairytale castle of la Usse, we lay under trees by the slow flowing river where we had our picnic lunch. We arrived in Chinon below the mighty fortress steeped in the history of Joan of Arc. Our final day in this area took us to the Abby of Fontevraud. A day of pastry shops, sunflowers, vineyards, and winding riverside trails brought our cycling week to a wonderful close. Our last evening was spent wandering the wonderful streets of Chinon admiring the architecture of centuries gone by. Attentive, enthusiast, caring, capable, funny, informative, intelligent, just splendidly wonderful! The best! Andrew is an exceptionally wonderful guide. I would highly recommend booking any of his trips; you will be rewarded with a great trip!
Confirmed traveller: 15 September 2015
Published on: 12 March 2016
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

The cycling in the Loire Valley was a pleasure from start to finish, largely due to the experience, organization and equipment provided by Andrew, our guide and leader. He took a special interest in each of the participants, offered alternatives to suit individual taste, and kept the trip light-hearted and enjoyable. The personal change for me was the third day of the trip, the longest, but the routes Andrew chose and the pace he suggested made it possible for my aging body not only to complete it, but to enjoy it. Bravo!
Confirmed traveller: 24 August 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

The final days cycling with the whole group, led by Andrew, was great fun. I will never forget the wine route ride - we completed it in style!Andrew was simply wonderful. He was a great tour leader who was highly organised, very informative and clearly knowledgeable. He was great fun and had a super sense of humour. I enjoyed his style and approach to this tour very much.
Confirmed traveller: 26 August 2014
Published on: 07 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

It so difficult to choose the highlights it was all brilliant! This tour is my second with Andrew and once again met and exceeded my expectations. Andrew’s tours specialise in patisserie stops - my favorite was La Maison de Rabelais by the chateau drawbridge in Langeais. My highlights included:- The Chateau at Chenonceaux, Lunch outside the chateaux at Usse, Dinner in the hotel in Amboise Visiting Clos Lucé Hotel in Azay le Rideau just up from the Chateau Gates Impromptu wine tasting tour in Chinnon - it was a bank holiday in France so the cave were closed so we bought our own wine in the supermarket cycled the route and did our own tasting. Following a different route to the Loire a velo cyclists! The gardens at Villandry The optional hills! Monmousseau wine tasting Cycling up the hill to Chinnon on the last day without having to stop! Brilliant! Andrew's daily briefings and tour maps were excellent and easy to follow, we generally started out at 9:30, stopped for cake at 11, lunch at 12:30 visited a chateau in the afternoon and then arrived at the hotel in good time to shower before going out to dinner! Andrew specialises in patisserie stops and recommendations for places to eat were really good.
Confirmed traveller: 19 August 2014
Published on: 12 March 2016
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

The grandeur of the chateaux/ monuments and the amount of effort which has been made in restoring and preserving them caught me by surprise. As for this specific tour, the tour maps are so clear and detailed that I felt confident enough to navigate on my own and therefore also do some stretches of the cycle route on my own (which means- at my own pace), so there were some parts of the route (through forests or fields) where I enjoyed that total solitude of just having the wind of my face as company. On the other hand, it was also have fun to have other people's company at other times (particularly when taking route detours, and at meal times!) and the group spirit was pleasant.Very professional and tried his best to cater for everyone's various preferences during the week. A lot of thought has gone into the design of his trips and it shows in the quality of the itinerary, his recommendations, the maps and general support he provided (e.g. always on hand to repair punctures)
Confirmed traveller: 14 July 2014
Published on: 11 December 2015