It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
608 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

The Lycian Way LW

Visiting: Turkey
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for The Lycian Way

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has its own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the The Lycian Way trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

The Lycian Way reviews verified by reevooReevoo

30 reviews

Reviews from:Sort by:
The Lycian WayScores 9.0 out of 10 based on 30 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Val

Hereford
This was a great tour made brilliant due to our leader Paul and the group of 10 of us. The walking was only slightly challenging but the views were spectacular. The second 2 nights accomodation were a bit basic (no sleeping bags needed) but were clean and comfortable and the home made food at both places was wonderful. Paul's knowledge of Turkey - it's history, wildlife and current affairs was tremendous. We went around some ancient sites where he could tell us stories to interest us even in the middday sun. We also had an afternoon at Patara Beach to go in the sea and on the final day we were on a boat to see a sunken city and moored up for swimming and a BBQ. The great thing about this trip is the variety of walking, culture,food and lovely weather,
Confirmed traveller: 15 May 2017
Published on: 20 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Nicola

Lewes
Excellent trip. The itinerary was interesting and varied - lots of walking, historical sites and a little down time on the beach, and the boat trip on the last day was a wonderful treat!
Confirmed traveller: 15 May 2017
Published on: 10 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

Don

Nottingham
I went with my daughter after recovering from a nasty cancer the year before. It was a really important break for me as it showed that I am fit enough for active trips and was great to spend time with my daughter. I loved the scenery, my fellow trekkers, the excellent group leader, the walking, the stays at the village houses and contact with the hospitable local people and wildlife. I was even bowled over by the richness of the history (not my favourite interest) and myths of the region. It was really good value as food and drink was cheap. I bought a sleeping bag liner with me (a sleeping bag is not necessary) and got all my gear in a cabin luggage case. I'd looked forward to doing this trip for many years and it certainly did not disappoint. Turkey is a beautiful and culturally rewarding country to discover.
Confirmed traveller: 15 May 2017
Published on: 08 June 2017
(9 out of 10)

Jack

Good walking with fascinating context and a surprising range of world-class scenery and historical sites. Great value, we spent very little during the week. Our group leader was outstanding: personable and relaxed, but professional and knowledgeable. Turkey feels undervisited and we were well looked after, kept busy, and made to feel very welcome by everyone - lots of chances to get off the beaten track and meet locals. Beautiful beaches, wild horses, nomadic beekeeping, ancient tombs, chilling on a boat, fermented milk drinks... An excellent week, thank you very much to everyone.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 15 May 2017
Published on: 05 June 2017
(10 out of 10)

Helen

Bristol
Zep, our guide was excellent, very informative and efficient. She was always cheerful and caring with a positive outlook. There were eight of us in the group and we all got on well together and with our wonderful guide made the trip so much more enjoyable. There was a mixture of walking with ancient history and great scenery. Didn't need a lot of spending money as most meals included and our visits to restaurants were good value. No need for a sleeping bag. The accommodation was very good and the village house was much better than I expected and a good
experience.
Confirmed traveller: 24 September 2016
Published on: 29 September 2016
(9 out of 10)

Paula

Tring
Great trip, good food, really fun group. Lots of highlights including very atmospheric call to prayer at George House. Staying at the village house sitting round the fire drinking tea and listening to the owls. Having a laugh while enjoying the walking and great scenery. Zenab was a very good guide, well organised and accurate with her timings and good fun as well. In the trip notes it said to take sleeping bags, but they weren't needed and took up half my case!
Confirmed traveller: 22 May 2016
Published on: 26 May 2016
(9 out of 10)

Mark

birmingham
it was a very good well balanced trip, as someone whos never been to turkey before i left wanting to see more.
the walking was just about the right length and the food was lovely.
Confirmed traveller: 21 May 2016
Published on: 04 June 2016
(10 out of 10)

Launa

GLOUCESTER
There were 6 in our group which was a good size to manage. Our tour leader was professional, friendly, approachable with a sense of fun, nothing was too much trouble for her. The sample of village life was the highlight of my trip, staying in their homes and eating their local cuisine, they were warm and humbling, always doing their utmost to make your stay memorable. The walking was varied, accommodation comfortable and the food was excellent. It is a great idea to have a mix of walking and relaxation on the final day. Transfers were on time the whole trip ran exceptionally smoothly. Well done Explore, it's my first trip with you and certainly will not be the last ................
Confirmed traveller: 21 May 2016
Published on: 25 May 2016
(5 out of 10)

Patricia

I'm sorry not to recommend this holiday but the accommodation in the early part of the walk was poor, hence the marking. Although the classification for the second and third stops was basic, I found the Gey House unacceptable: a large group would find themselves in dormitory style accommodation sleeping on the floor - not good. There is sufficient, inexpensive en-suit accommodation available along the route and having access to an individual WC and shower is essential following a long days walk; so much better than waiting in a queue. The hotel accommodation towards the end of the week was good.

Zep - the Guide, was excellent; good natured, enthusiastic, energetic and a lot of fun, I couldn't have asked for more, she is one of the best guides ever.

The walk itself is over rough stone so boots and walking poles are essential.

This holiday has the potential to be so much better, so come on Explore - review and upgrade this trip to deliver en-suite accommodation throughout the holiday, produce an itinerary with a more even daily distribution of hours/distance walked in order to avoid the long second day and you'll have a best seller on your list.
Confirmed traveller: 14 May 2016
Published on: 25 May 2016

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments, Patricia, although we’re disappointed that you didn’t enjoy your stay at the village house. My own experience, and indeed that of other customers as described below, was that it was a charming place to stay with great hospitality from the local family – I’m very sorry you didn’t find it the same.

We do offer ensuite accommodation during the majority of this trip, but the idea behind both the village house in Gey and, to a similar degree George’s House in Faralya, is to be able to meet a local family, try some traditional home cooked food and enjoy the hospitality of a small Turkish village –
Something I feel both sets of accommodation do offer. Although there are limited facilities at the house in Gey, they are clean and, certainly when I was there with a full group, had enough hot water for everyone, albeit in a rota system.

Being able to offer this sort of accommodation for two nights out of seven gives us the opportunity to introduce people more to the lifestyles of those in rural Turkey and also allows us to put money back into the local community. Our trip notes are clear that the accommodation on these two nights is basic, however I will be writing something more detailed to describe both George’s House in Faralya and the Village house in Gey as a result of your feedback.

I’m sorry you couldn’t recommend this trip because of the accommodation, but I am very pleased that you rate Zeynap (Zep) so highly – she is a great leader and very passionate about the trip, which comes across in all the feedback we receive.