It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
522 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Brochures

Our latest  brochures are available now, with over 450 adventures for you to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 1,843

Gift Vouchers

Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with over 600 tours & experiences to choose from. The perfect gift idea for any occasion.

The Lycian Way LW

Visiting: Turkey
Tour Duration 8 Days
 

Book now!

Reviews for The Lycian Way 5 out of 5 based on 11 ratings.

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the The Lycian Way tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
4.5 , 27/11/13

Name

Susan Melville

Tour Name

The Lycian Way

Tour Code

LW

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

"So many! Views of the coast, wonderful walking , experiencing typical village life in the village houses and immersing myself in the past in Patara."

Tour Leader Name

Bayram

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Excellent. No fuss but always there. I felt looked after but not smothered. His professionalism inspired confidence. His local knowledge added to the holiday. He was available 24/7 if we had needed him. I hope we didn't! Hope you had a bit of peace Bayram!

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Relax. You are in for a cultural and walking treat.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

This was my first holiday alone. By day 2 I was planning where to go next. Explore is at the top of my list of tour operators for 2014. Thank you

 
5 , 07/11/13

Name

Thomas

Tour Name

The Lycian Way

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The guests on the tour were half boys & girls, 30's thru 50's, some married but no one brought spouses, so we had lots of fun.

Tour Leader Name

özgür sönmez

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Leader was attentive, organized, knowledgeable about the history and knew many people along the way. After the guests and the places he took us to, he was the best part of the tour, even ahead of the food, which was excellent!

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

You should be ready for long seriously uphill hiking, maybe an hour between breaks. Otherwise, in the morning when the guide asks, "who would like to ride the luggage bus to the next camp?" and everyone looks at you, please raise your hand!

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

The evening stops were a good mix of venues, from itsy three meter cabins for two to the sooo relaxing Hotel Pataros. If there was anything I would have liked more of, it would be more contact with the local people, especially in the villages.

 
4 , 15/08/13

Name

Ross

Tour Code

LW

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The walking along western sections of the Lycian Way was surprisingly varied and unspoilt, but the real highlight for me was the final day in Kas and around Kekova / Simena which really is a stunning area of the Meditteranean coastline and a place that rightly earns the name "Turquoise Coast".

Tour Leader Name

Bayram

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Bayram did a good job of leading a group of 17 of us through the coastal countryside of southern Turkey, by allocating backmarkers each day and keeping a good eye on people walking at different paces.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Early / late season departures that are Saturday-to-Saturday don't use a direct charter flight to Dalaman, but use the scheduled services of Turkish Airlines with a change in Istanbul instead. This makes for quite long travel days at the beginning and end of the trip with early starts and only a brief opportunity to visit the Greek village of Kaya Koyu on day 2 of the trip.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

The walking is mostly on good trails and, as a regular hillwalker, I found the going quite straightforward. Accommodation is comfortable throughout (although cosy in the village homestays) and there was no need to bring a sleeping bag, even for the cooler month of April. The itinerary states that swimming is available most nights, but none of the swimming pools were filled in April due to it being too early in the season for all of the tourist facilities to be open.

 
5 , 15/08/13

Name

Marie

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The archaeological ruins at Patara

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Ozgur was very informative and knowledgeable. He made sure there were frequent stops to keep the group together, which were also appreciated as it was hot!

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Take your trekking poles - they are needed for some intense descents on day 2

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

It was a wonderful mix of trekking, scenery, different locations (e.g. staying with a family in a small village) and the food throughout was spectacular! Being a vegetarian I did not have high hopes but the food was truly amazing and was well catered for.

 
5 , 15/08/13

Name

Ellen

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The scenery was varied and spectacular. However, it was the unexpected special moments that made the trip. Sipping sage tea and singing in front of a blazing fire after an evening's walk; sharing daily life with our homestay hosts; meeting an orange-juice vendor at a trailhead; dining under the stars; watching the pancake-maker prepare our next-day lunches.

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Our local guide, Bayram Dinc, knew off-the-beaten-track paths that took us to Lycian ruins. He seemed to personally know everyone we passed. He was superb. Also very sensitive to the varied hiking abilities of his participants

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Be prepared for steep descents on gravel surfaces. The hike can be challenging in spots but well-worth the effort.

 
5 Jane Rigby, 12/10/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The ever-changing and often dramatic scenery.  The warm hospitality at George's Place, Faralya and the village house near Bey where the food was fantastic and they gave us fresh honey comb.

Read more
 
0 Emma Stace, 30/04/12
This was a pretty much perfect holiday. The walks were well balanced and varied – with every day having a slightly different flavour to it. Before going I did worry whether I would be fit enough to do the walks, but it was absolutely fine and all the challenging bits did, is make me feel like I’d earned my meals in the evenings – and the food was definitely one of the highlights of the trip! (If you are a veggie as well, don’t worry – you will not feel left out). Beautiful views, loads of ruins and trees laden with fruit along the way… The holiday was also helped by having amazing weather – beautiful blue skies every day without being too hot for walking (I went in mid October). Particular highlights were the two nights not spent in hotels – made the holiday feel a lot more special, and the boat trip on the last day felt like utter luxury and heaven after the week of walking. Our tour guide, Bayram was fantastic too – obviously very experienced and knowledgable and I didn't have to worry about a single thing. The one thing I regret is that I should have booked an extra night in Kas at the end for one more lazy day of shopping and sightseeing. Couldn’t recommend the holiday more.
 
0 Pauline Stubbs, 16/05/11
Despite some unseasonable rain currently plaguing Turkey, a beautiful week for a bird's eye view of some of Turkey's most spectacular west Mediterranean coastal scenery, only occasionally   meeting a trio of other hikers. Tortoises,   butterflies, varieties of insects and flowers were abundant however.An unexpected honour was to be able to join in an evening with the villagers of Gey saying farewell to 3 young men off to do military service with traditional music, dancing and singing   Typically in Turkey we passed ancient sites and tombs and in the last 24 hours saw 3 completely different ancient theatres in Patara,  Kalekoy and Kas.Some of the terrain underfoot is uneven ranging from limestone pavement to loose stones on narrow quite precipitous ledges but the hike  is graded moderate to strenuous and is totally worth   it...(LW - 17th April 2010)
 
0 Nigel Howard, 29/12/10
A great trip. There was a large variety of beautiful scenery and some special highlights amongst the walking, including a roman viaduct, an ampitheatre, with ancient ruins, and of course the sunken city. Plus throw in a beach that made the Times top 10 in the world. Advice - early in the season its cold at night on the first two nights as you are staying at quite a high altitude, so be prepared. Explore allowed us to break our journey in Istanbul on the way home - for no extra charge. (LW - 10th April 2010)
 
0 Paul Johnson, 22/09/10
For anyone that’s got just a week to spare, this is a great trek. The scenery is fantastic, the food is excellent and plentiful, and the local Explore leader could not have been more helpful and pleasant. The accommodation used varied but was always clean, one of the highlights being the family house in the village of Gey where you have the option of sleeping on the roof under the stars. The walk and boat ride from Kas on the last day was excellent and nicely finished off a perfect holiday. (LW- 10th May 2010)
 
0 Mary Hayward, 21/09/10
Walking in sparkling sun with the Med far down below. Delicious food, in our 'village home' particularly; and the patience and encouragement of our leader, Bayram, getting us across the steep slippy bits I would normally freeze at! And, as always, good company. (LW- 1st October 2009)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  3. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  4. Tour name (i.e. Inca Trail Trek)
  5. Tour Code (i.e. PQ)(*)
    Please enter the tour code of your trip.
  6. What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  7. Tour leader name
  8. How Was Your Explore Tour Leader?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  10. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  11. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  12.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA