It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
593 Matching trips
Site Search

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

The Lycian Way LW

Visiting: Turkey
Trip Duration 8 Days
 

Reviews for The Lycian Way

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the The Lycian Way trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

The Lycian Way reviews verified by Reevoo

24 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
The Lycian WayScores 8.9 out of 10 based on 24 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Mark

birmingham
it was a very good well balanced trip, as someone whos never been to turkey before i left wanting to see more.
the walking was just about the right length and the food was lovely.
Confirmed traveller: 21 May 2016
Published on: 04 June 2016
(9 out of 10)

Paula

Tring
Great trip, good food, really fun group. Lots of highlights including very atmospheric call to prayer at George House. Staying at the village house sitting round the fire drinking tea and listening to the owls. Having a laugh while enjoying the walking and great scenery. Zenab was a very good guide, well organised and accurate with her timings and good fun as well. In the trip notes it said to take sleeping bags, but they weren't needed and took up half my case!
Confirmed traveller: 22 May 2016
Published on: 26 May 2016
(5 out of 10)

Patricia

I'm sorry not to recommend this holiday but the accommodation in the early part of the walk was poor, hence the marking. Although the classification for the second and third stops was basic, I found the Gey House unacceptable: a large group would find themselves in dormitory style accommodation sleeping on the floor - not good. There is sufficient, inexpensive en-suit accommodation available along the route and having access to an individual WC and shower is essential following a long days walk; so much better than waiting in a queue. The hotel accommodation towards the end of the week was good.

Zep - the Guide, was excellent; good natured, enthusiastic, energetic and a lot of fun, I couldn't have asked for more, she is one of the best guides ever.

The walk itself is over rough stone so boots and walking poles are essential.

This holiday has the potential to be so much better, so come on Explore - review and upgrade this trip to deliver en-suite accommodation throughout the holiday, produce an itinerary with a more even daily distribution of hours/distance walked in order to avoid the long second day and you'll have a best seller on your list.
Confirmed traveller: 14 May 2016
Published on: 25 May 2016

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments, Patricia, although we’re disappointed that you didn’t enjoy your stay at the village house. My own experience, and indeed that of other customers as described below, was that it was a charming place to stay with great hospitality from the local family – I’m very sorry you didn’t find it the same.

We do offer ensuite accommodation during the majority of this trip, but the idea behind both the village house in Gey and, to a similar degree George’s House in Faralya, is to be able to meet a local family, try some traditional home cooked food and enjoy the hospitality of a small Turkish village –
Something I feel both sets of accommodation do offer. Although there are limited facilities at the house in Gey, they are clean and, certainly when I was there with a full group, had enough hot water for everyone, albeit in a rota system.

Being able to offer this sort of accommodation for two nights out of seven gives us the opportunity to introduce people more to the lifestyles of those in rural Turkey and also allows us to put money back into the local community. Our trip notes are clear that the accommodation on these two nights is basic, however I will be writing something more detailed to describe both George’s House in Faralya and the Village house in Gey as a result of your feedback.

I’m sorry you couldn’t recommend this trip because of the accommodation, but I am very pleased that you rate Zeynap (Zep) so highly – she is a great leader and very passionate about the trip, which comes across in all the feedback we receive.

(10 out of 10)

Launa

GLOUCESTER
There were 6 in our group which was a good size to manage. Our tour leader was professional, friendly, approachable with a sense of fun, nothing was too much trouble for her. The sample of village life was the highlight of my trip, staying in their homes and eating their local cuisine, they were warm and humbling, always doing their utmost to make your stay memorable. The walking was varied, accommodation comfortable and the food was excellent. It is a great idea to have a mix of walking and relaxation on the final day. Transfers were on time the whole trip ran exceptionally smoothly. Well done Explore, it's my first trip with you and certainly will not be the last ................
Confirmed traveller: 21 May 2016
Published on: 25 May 2016
(8 out of 10)

Anne

Bournemouth
I enjoyed the views and terrain that this trip took me through. I think the range of accommodation gave a good flavour of life in the more rural parts of the trip and I enjoyed that experience. read the trip notes.. Basic accommodation is exactly that so don't expect anything more.. If you're not sure then ask for more information.
Confirmed traveller: 14 May 2016
Published on: 18 May 2016
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Breathtaking scenery, delicious food, great group and brilliant Turkish tour guide Zeynep. Although this was my 3rd trip to Turkey I felt like it was my 1st. Trekking was a really good way to experience Turkey, a great introduction to Turkish history and culture.*A highlight of the trip for me was the first day, it rained so much that we were all soaked to the skin despite rainwear! We stopped for lunch at a family farmhouse and ate the most delicious pancakes I've ever tasted, I couldn't stop eating them!
Confirmed traveller: 22 October 2015
Published on: 14 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Elizabeth

Zürich
Theo old ways were lovely and the guide Zeynep was so friendly and experienced ans we had grest Fun together. It was a pleasure to walk with her and great to have a local guide who had good relationship with the local people. The village houses were very basic but I did not mind. The people were so hospitable and it was great to meet them. I was a bit worried about the lenghts of the alks as I am just medium fit but it was ok and I am proud and glad I made all of them and did not have to travel with the luggage.
The hotel in Kas was not nice and
not friendly, very dull, a typical worn out big hotel. I would have preferred to stay in a small more local pension or guesthouse even if it would have been less comfortable. Thats my only critic. Otherwise everything was perfect and very well organized
Great mixture of nature, walks, people and culture. And thanks for doing it with just two people.




llllll
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 24 October 2015
Published on: 24 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

The tour went smoothly from start to finish. We were fortunate in having an enthusiastic and helpful guide, as well as a great mix of people, from late 20's to 70's. The guide was very dedicated and interacted well with all members of the group, making lots of helpful suggestions. She was very informative and was also interested in what other members of the group had to say.
Confirmed traveller: 10 June 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Karen

Manchester
There wasnt one single highlight, because every day was varied. The walking was incredible, and the boat/swimming day was great fun. My tip would be to get yourself fit before you go, then make the most of the experience and company.
Confirmed traveller: 07 June 2015
Published on: 09 October 2015